Contact Us Tel:(626) 286-0360 Store Locations
Phone Support M-F 7am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
FREE SHIPPING for orders over $129! New deals released hourly and daily. See Deals Here!

A&K / Cybergun FN Licensed "Middleweight" M249 SAW Machine Gun (Version: M249 Para / Black)

38 Customer Reviews

by Aidan M. on 03/21/2021
"So after putting about almost 15,000 rounds through this, I think i'm qualified to make a review on how I like it so far before I put major upgrades on it. So lets start off. I'm making a review on the MK.1 to be specific so that way I don't cause confusion. This is the Middleweight which basically means other then the stock, internals, outer barrel and bipod. The rest of the Exterior is hardened polymer. Which after awhile of using it, I've gotten tired of and I will be making a Conversion to a Metal Exterior. The Range on this Gun is meh, I recommend that you either upgrade internals or if your pushing up in a game, make you M4/AK support with you because you won't be making those longer range shots. So far ive had great reliability using the box mag so no problems there. For the price this is a excellent starting LMG Platform and it has lots of space to make upgrades on.
by Andrew M. on 10/27/2020
"As a long time airsofter and a brand new LMG user, I had my suspicions about trying to find an LMG that worked not only for my wallet but also me as a person. At first I was considering just getting a Shrike since they seemed to be compact and maneuverable enough for me to lug around for a full day's play while also having the option to utilize single fire to accommodate a number of fields' rules. Granted, the price tags on what are really just M4 platforms who have gained a little weight in some areas wasn't all that appealing. After having my eye on what would have probably been LMG's that were way too heavy I settled on getting this one, and I managed to order it right when Evike was having their week to give back to their customers that had just passed so I got this for even more of a better price! The parts of the LMG that have always been plastic still are, make no mistake, but the main body is what used to be metal and I cannot be more thankful that it isn't because I cannot imagine what it must be like for this thing to be even heavier than it already is.

Pros:
Weighs less than the standard A&K MK46 (according to the description but I believe it)
Still awesome looking
The most important parts are still metal, especially the gearbox
Its an LMG
Quick Change Spring System. Need I say more?

Cons:
The box mag it comes with, even when it is empty, adds a significant weight to it, could not recommend the smaller 1500 round mag more, color really doesn't matter unless you *have* to make it match.
A few plastic pieces of mine have pretty sharp edges, so those will need to be rounded out or at the very least sanded down so they don't poke so hard.
The rear Iron Sights are un-adjustable so I took them off bc less weight means fun on the field for longer.
The buttstock that comes stock with the gun, coming from an AEG rifleman, is not my cup of tea, there is a plastic sling hoop on the top of the stock that has a tendency to jab your cheek, I plan on replacing this with the para stock in the future to add more compactness
The lid, i guess you can call it, on the pistol grip has a tendency to open at random whenever I am gripping a little low on the pistol grip, not a huge problem considering there is no motor in the pistol grip but just annoying all the same.


Overall, I could not be happier with my purchase, there is a single screw that holds in the front bottom rails that doesn't seem to tighten no matter what I try but the rail already doesn't move at all so it is not much of a complaint. Additionally, I have only had trouble having metal Hi-Cap magazines to fit into my magwell, but that is not much of an issue since all of my mid-caps (KWA and ARES) fit just fine. Can't wait to field this thing.
by Dave H. on 08/15/2020
"Very sturdy and well put together LMG.
by Colton D. on 02/24/2016
"If your looking for a saw,this is a great choice and great price for what you get,the gun feels great shoots good,hop up isn't the best but gets the job done,only problem I have had is the trigger switch,but hey replacements are only 10 bucks,and very easy too install,over all awesome gun,very happy with it
by alp s. on 10/28/2012
"First of all this gun is a beast.. its pretty heavy, and i am not talking about we m14 heavy i am talking about
real steel heavy. When i first held this gun, after 2 or 3 days later i had scratches all over my hand :))
MEANING it is all rock solid and fully metal,fully. the only problem is the box mag. its cheap plastic and mine jammed the day i bought the gun. But its a minor problem,i fixed it.

so for the pros and cons (i am a collector, so pros and cons in my book)

Pros
-heavy
-realistic
-rof
-its not loud (trust me when you see it you expect way more sound)
- its echo1 :)
-there is a huge space for the battery in the stock.
-easy hop up access
-wear frikin gloves your hand nearly bleeds (full metal)
-great bipod

Cons
-the cheap plastic box mag. A&K saws use the same box mag\ dont even bother buying A&K mags.
solution until you fix the box mag= *use m4 mags*

i give this gun a 10 out of 9.5 because of the box mag
by Michael T. on 06/13/2012
"One word BEAST! I fielded this gun and held the other team in thier base for a good hour till the ref told me i had to go respawn. lol It's a game changer. The box mag is tricky at first and M4 mags arent to good. Super real.

Pros.
rate of fire
range is medium
fairly powerful
realistic
holds 2500 rounds
heavy
all metal
can take m4 mags but doesn't work that well because you have to wind them

cons.
box mag is tricky at first
m4 mags don't work well
that's about it great gun
by mike m. on 04/08/2010
"this gun is really good almost to accurate for a support weapon but oh well. it is heavy but that is why it is under heavy weapons and you should not buy if you are weak so do not complain about the weight(it has a bipod for a reason) the box mag is tricky at first and needs the right bbs for it to operate correctly

Pros.
cool
rate of fire
range is medium
fairly powerful
realistic
holds 2500 rounds
heavy
all metal
comes with a 9.6
can take m4 mags but doesn't work that well because you have to wind them
field striping is a breeze unlike a m16

cons.
box is tricky at first
m4 mags don't work well
that's about it
by Nicholas B. on 09/07/2009
"GREAT DEFENSIVE GUN. get two of these on your team and nobody will want to charge you. I bought one a year ago, but I'm more of an offensive player so I loan it to team mates but it was well worth the money to have that kinda cover behind me. Great gun! I've fallen in love with Echo 1's. at first I was a bit hesitant because of their price. the main thing that keeps their price down is the plasic bodies but this baby is mostly all metal. and Echo 1 now makes an M-4 metal body gun and the Scar, both are great guns and shoot really hard. much better out of the box than some of my upgraded guns.
by Tom C. on 03/05/2009
"I have had mine for about a month and used it in battle once. It is very intimidating but is also very heavy but surprisingly accurate The only problem Ive had is the trigger sticks every now and then. I went up agenst someone who had the CA version I think the Echo 1 has a better ROF but cannot store a large batt. And to clarify i know some of Echo 1's guns The SAW as a matter of fact is a re-stamped a&k but slightly upgraded the only major difference is around 50.00
by allan r. on 01/15/2009
"I HAVE THIS GUN AND ITS GREAT. ROF IS GREAT WIEGHT IS GREAT. I HAVE THE RAIL SYSTEM ON MINE AND YOU DONT WANT TO PUT THE GRENADE LAUNCHER ON IT. IF YOU DO BE READY FOR A VERY FRONT HEAVY WEAPON THAT WILL TIRE YOU OUT BEFORE THE GAME STARTS. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE IS THAT I WANT TO BUY EXTRA BOX MAGS MADE BY ECHO 1 AND ITS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE. GOING THROUGH THE SITES THESE ARE THE BEST MAGS. MINE JAMMED ALITTLE (LIKE ALL MAGS TEND TO DO AT SOME POINT) AND ALL I DID WAS STRETCH OUT THE COIL THAT HOLDS THE BBS AND LET IT GO AND IT WAS ALL GOOD. AGAIN GREAT GUN
by Christopher M. on 01/13/2009
"One word, AWSOME!
I have carried this lug through 4 differen encursions. It is sick. None of my team members got hit when I layed down some rounds.

To Patrick B
Sounds like you got the bunk one of the batch. I have only updated the barrel but nothing else and this gun does great. The 2800 box mag is fun but loud when I haul down the trail. So I picked up a dozen 200 round m16 mags and use those for field work and use the box mag in building cover.
by montana s. on 12/29/2008
"Hey the the SAW does have the foregrip strap ring it does on the real ones to trust me ive carried the real version in IRAQ 2 times
by Wallace W. on 11/10/2008
"You can get it upgraded at evike.com but the gearbox that come with the Echo1 or A&K M249 is already reinforced. Use it until it breaks, evike sells the reinforced complete gearbox if you ever break your gearbox. The gearbox is really strong already.
by Gene F. on 11/01/2008
"how do i get a special order from evike to reenforce the gearbox?
by Joshua A. on 10/14/2008
"The gearbox isn't reinforced but if you ask them to reinforce them for you then they will. You just gotta pay for the labor. Still.. it's a pretty good deal =D