Contact Us Tel:(626) 286-0360 Store Locations
Phone Support M-F 9am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
FREE SHIPPING for orders over $99! New deals released hourly and daily. See Deals Here!

EMG Colt Licensed M4 SOPMOD Block 2 Airsoft AEG Rifle with Daniel Defense Rail System (Model: 9.5" MK18 / Black)

14 Customer Reviews

by Kyle L. on 11/05/2020
"I’ll start by saying, I really enjoy this gun. I had been on the hunt for a full metal colt M4 for a while and when this came up on sale for $280, I scooped up the 9.5” Mk18. The Daniel Defense RIS was exactly the styling I was looking for too so it was a win/win. I waited quite some time to leave this review so I could really get a feel for the weapon but the gun is built up and in use now so it’s time. I purposely haven’t alter anything for internal performance yet to see how it would do and it is a quality gun. I will be upgrading the hop up and barrel in the extended future but, for now, this is exactly what I was looking for.

Pros
- Shoots well and quite accurate for a shorter barrel rifle
- Great exterior quality. Very solid.
- Colt DD trades
- Built in mosfet
- Good Internals (could still use upgrades like any gun)
- Worth the price; even better if you can wait it out and pick it up on sale!

CONS
- It’s a bit heavy for a smaller rifle (if you fall into the weight-weenie category) but for a full metal gun, it’s as expected.
- The fake gas tube on mine was quite loose so it was VERY rattly; even louder than running with a high cap magazine due to this issue being metal on metal constantly tapping against each other. This could have been solved by taking off the rail and gluing it in but I just bought 25 ft of paracord for $6 and weaved it through the RIS. Worked amazingly well, was super cheap, very easy, and it even added a little unique aesthetics the gun too.
- The gun said it’s wired to Tamiya but it was standard Deans. Really just came down to having to buy more equipment to move to dean lipos but it’s nice once you upgrade, I guess. Con but a long term pro.
by Michael P. on 08/06/2020
"I just received this item today and I love it. Its build quality is superb and it performs great. For the price I was hoping it would shoot a little quicker but im using a 7.4v so don't quote me. The markings and trades look great and are not going anywhere. The trap door on the high cap mag broke but that was my fault but it did break easily. When I got mine i didn't get the fancy stock instead i got the standard stock but I prefer the standard stock anyways. The gun is as solid as a rock and is definitely not breaking any time soon. The only slight problem i have with this gun is that it came with a few scratches and didn't look too clean but it wasn't bad just minor scratches. Also my gun did have a wobbly gas block which iv'e yet to get to but i can tighten it and the stock is a little wobbly but nothing some tape can't fix! All in all, if you want a MK18 that will last you, get this. Honestly this gun should be way more popular. This is my first M4 and King Arms gun so I have high hopes and plans for it in the future. Hopefully this review helped someone out there looking for a MK18 or M4A1! Have a nice day (or night)!
by Ronald M. on 05/10/2020
"I am in love with this rifle! Snappy trigger with a 11.1. I usually don’t see many reviews on what mags fit in some rifle so I want to help some out. I only use Dytac Hex Mags in my builds. These mags fit perfectly with this gun. Remember, this is a King Arms body. But over all EMG did an amazing job with this rifle. The hopup is good but it can be upgraded. I definitely want the Block 2 next!
by jake m. on 04/14/2020
"I’ve had my tan block 2 for about 3 months and have no complaints so far.
The stock it comes with is a bit underwhelming so I swapped it out for a magpul stock which fits perfect with very little wobble
Overall the gun is super solid and with a quick shs hs motor swap it can shoot around 30rps with an 11.1 easy. However the stock motor it comes with is still a neo motor and doesn’t need to be replaced.
If you’re looking for a mk18 I’d highly recommend this
by Brad B. on 01/06/2020
"I bought the tan block ii from the shop that I work at and so far so good. If you didn’t know the OEM is king arms.

Pros:

- mosfet
- wired to deans
- QC spring
- decent motor out of the box
- steel tooth rack piston
- great trigger response on an 11.1
- respectable ROF
- proper markings
- proper colors
- locking mock bolt for easier hop up adjustment
- shoots around 380 with .20s (I run .30s)
- very nice build quality

Cons:

- the mag it comes with is pretty much trash
- orange tip was a little bit annoying to get off
- mock has tube is a little wobbly
- accuracy and range are kinda meh for the price tag



Overall it’s a really nice gun and it saves you a bunch of time and money instead of building a block ii from the ground up like I was going to do before this came out. It definitely feels like a $300+ gun, kinda wish the performance was a little bit better but it’s definitely not bad.
by Christian G. on 01/03/2020
"Got myself the MK18 MOD 1 with the tan rail, grip stock.
The gun is solid and the Colt trades are definitely neat.
The guns does in fact have a QCS system, in-line mosfet, and 8mm bearings.
Also has a working bolt catch feature.
Authentic DD trades on the rail too.
They also have Military Action 19tpa torque motors installed, which was super nice to see.
The piston does also have full metal teeth with the 2nd to last tooth removed.
Does have a 1 piece metal hop up unit.
The gearset looks solid and the gun is decently shimmed.
The rest of the internals are pretty average. Brass ported cylinder. Polycarbonate piston head and cylinder head. Standard nozzle with no o ring. The stock compression is ok. Gun shot around 410-420 fps before and after taking it apart. The spring guide does have bearings btw. Gun is also wired to deans.
Orange tip is easy enough to remove after digging out the metal pin and forcefully threading it off clockwise.
Be aware that the charging handle must be pulled back and UP if u want to separate the upper reciever from the lower reciever, the same must be done for putting the upper and lower back together. Very happy with the gun and I definitely see myself getting the tan Block II variant at some point as well.
by Lucas R. on 12/29/2019
"Pros
-shoots straight
-looks cool
-lots of rail space

Cons
-wobbly stock
-sharp rails
-weak charging handle extension
by Alexander S. on 12/18/2019
"just received this the MK18 with tan furniture and holy shit can i tell you how happy i am with this thing. Not only does it look super cool but its full metal and feels amazing. The tan furniture is badass and this is for sure a great feeling and looking gun. What shines the most to me is the internals. For a gun you can buy and play right out the box, it is amazing. The trigger response is amazing and feels so good, range is perfect and you will for sure hit your shots and the ROF on full auto is crazy.

Pros
-AWESOME LOOKING AND FEELING
-shoots great for a gun right out of the box
-can for sure take a beating
-compact for CQB but also has that sweet ass range.
-Amazing trigger response and ROF
-obviously extremely custom

Cons
-the little caps on the stock of mine keep falling out so i had to put some tape on them which isnt a really big problem
-has a tight magwell and has a hard time fitting some of my midcaps, but since i bought this off someone else it came with 4 mags that fit so it wasnt a big deal
-the battery i have is too big for the rifle so i need to extend the buttstock almost fully outwards to even fit my battery and i cant use the secondary smaller butt piece or else i cant fit the battery in so i need to play with my battery sorta exposed but it for sure wont fall out.
-my friend told me the orange tip it comes with was an absolute pain to remove but once you get it, it will screw off very easily and you cant easily put a suppressor on.
-sometimes the gearbox will lock up on semi but a quick switch to full auto and back to semi is an easy fix
by Gabriel L. on 12/05/2019
"Got the gun a week ago and will update accordingly.
Externally she is a beauty. The DD hand guard is flawless and the lower receiver is made from a solid piece of aluminum. The markings are engraved into the receiver so there is no way they will fade away, although I would have liked if they had some color in them. The crane is nothing to write home about. It works as it should and has decent space for the battery, I believe an 11.1 nun chuck Titan Battery should have no problem fitting there.
IT IS WIRED TO DEANS which, at least for me, is wonderful.
Trigger response with a Titan 7.4 is phenomenal and the sound it makes when firing is very pleasing. There's none of that "springy" sound, and the whole gearbox assembly makes a nice "thump" when firing.
For being made mostly out of metal it's surprisingly light.

The one thing I dislike is the old-style pistol grip; it's bigger than average and it's very uncomfortable to hold but it is also fairly easy to change. Oh, and the stock iron sights. They are not bad it´s just that the aperture hole is tiny.

Overall a nice looking piece. Will update after field testing. A must buy if you want a MK18 just for the looks
by Andrew P. on 10/25/2019
"First, to answer a couple of questions.
1.) Yes, the bolt catch is fully functional
2.) The gearbox is not G&P, it is OEM'd by King Arms. However, this isn't such a bad thing as I'll discuss later
3.) The gun is rear wired to deans out of the box, not Tamiya
4.) Yes, the DD rail is fully licensed, and the lower receiver does have engraved Colt trademarks.
5.) The upper receiver, lower receiver, DD handguard, outer barrel, and buffer tube are all made of metal.

(Using a 7.4v 15c LiPo)
Out of the box, this is gun is an absolute beast for CQB. The in-line MOSFET and the reinforced internals meant that I could basically feather the trigger non-stop without any issues. I'd recommend upgrading to a lighter trigger spring to better feather the trigger if you are semi-locked. Full auto is also stupid fast, even with a 7.4 lipo. If you don't plan on completely upgrading the gearbox, I would not recommend using an 11.1v LiPo if you're planning on using this gun at arenas that only allow semi only. Using an 11.1v 20 C battery would make my gun over-cycle, meaning that "semi" turned into a 2 round burst. Not really a necessary upgrade, but having a stock (such as a PTS EPS stock) with bigger battery space than the regular SOPMOD stock would make things more convenient as there was a lot of wiring that needed to be crammed into the buffer tube and stock.

Overall, this gun is well worth the money for both beginners and veterans alike. If you're in the market for a CQB length M4, this is the one to get.
by Ramil B. on 01/19/2021
"If you want a more detailed review of the internals and such, the other reviews will be more helpful for that. This is just from my own experience. This is my first review as well, so take that as you will.

The rifle itself is fairly solid out of the box. Some have mentioned the gas block and/or the buffer tube lock ring being loose. For mine, the gas block is solid, but the buffer tube lock ring was loose which really wasn't that much of an issue. If you don't have a proper armorers wrench, you can still tighten it a bit by hand and it'll be fine.

The stock it came with can be a bit difficult, yet sturdy, if you're looking to try and take off the butt plate, or even take out the entire stock itself off the buffer tube. Its so sturdy that I decided to just switch it out with my magpul stock just to make it easier and quicker to access the battery compartment.

The pistol grip is rather aggressive, mostly in angle. Another issue I had personally was that it didn't sit flush to the trigger guard like I'm used to so the corners are a bit hellish for my middle finger. I did look into it with my brother's real steel m4 and reference images for other real steel and replica M4's, and it seems that some models just sit flush and comfortably while others, also, jut out a bit. Nothing a bit of sanding can't fix, or just getting another pistol grip can't handle.

As far as magazines are concerned, I didn't have many variations to test with. The Specna and PTS polymer mags I had were a tight fit. Not smooth going in, but they're solid once clicked in. The bamf mag I had laying around definitely would not click in, but then again I've always had trouble with that for my 416. The mag it had come with out of the box was a King Arms TWS polymer mag which slotted in like a dream, but.. definitely do your research on that mag.

I haven't been able to test the gun fully as the last battery I had meant for Deans... exploded, but if I'm able to edit this review, I'll add that in. 4/5 since the gun itself is great minus the small personal nitpicks I had. Minus 1 just because the mag was delivered broken but, after reading the reviews of it, not really surprised. Hope this helps!
by Chalida O. on 12/04/2020
"This Mk18 is very good
I would say it is a very good starter gun but by the budget it might be a little high on the price. You get what you pay for though.
The externals are very good and is a great replica of the actual fire arm. The weight is very nice not to light and not to heavy and its built perfectly.
The internals are also well made from King Arms. Didn't expect them to add their own internals but its very nice. The only concern for the gun is the battery space. Wired to the stock with a very small battery compartment might be bad for those who are playing milsim for straight hours and not taking any breaks.

-GOOD-
very nice externals
no shaking or wobbling parts
Internals are very good hasn't broke after a month worth of use

-BAD-
Unless the mosfet is changed you must only you 7.4v otherwise semi would be shooting burst instead of semi with 11.1v
Separating the receivers must be done by pulling the charging handle while separating
Battery is very small( Titan 7.4v 6000mah has a very tight fit and sticks out a little) would recommend changing the stock

These are what I think of it. I have 2 other friends that run the same gun and they have the same problem so it's not just me who is suffering from this problem. Thankful that Evike has many solutions to fix it.
by Zach V. on 06/08/2020
"Purchased the Black 9.5 MK18 thinking that it would come with the Slim stock in the pictures, It does not. It comes with a plastic SOPMOD stock that is a little rattly. Overall the gun shot well with a Titan 7.4v 3000mAh Battery, very accurate with .20's. I have not chronoed because I don't currently own one, but I can tell it is shooting somewhere between 370fps-420fps. Package came with Gun and Mag only, no manual but a small card with a qr code to "register" the gun. Only plastic parts on the gun are as follows: Stock, grip, and flash hider ( No black flash hider included; only orange ). The metal is very sturdy, nearly the same durability as my AR-15. The plastic magazine is a pretty cheap Hi-Cap, I will be purchasing some Mid-Caps. I would suggest this gun to any Airsoft newbie or veteran.
by Pavlos P. on 12/06/2019
"Just got this yesterday and this is more of an overview than a review.

Pros:
Wired to deans
Amazing CNC machined high torque motor
Nice externals
Good trigger response

Cons:
Rotary hop up(cmon its 2019 why are these even a thing any more)
Included sights seem really cheap
Stock orange flash hider is a pain to get off because its pinned not set screwed
Safety works very inconsistently. If the gun is straight up and down the selector works really well, but if you tilt the gun sideways or have it pointing down the gun will still shoot in same and sometimes you go to semi and you have to wait before pulling the trigger.

Overall pretty good, I think that last issues is just because I got a Lemon.