Reviews: WE Full Metal Desert Warrior Socom 4.3 FDE Airsoft Gas Blowback Pistol (Tan)

$110.00 $80.00

This item is currently Out of Stock

37 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-WE-053
Location: U14-118 WSO4-M1

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 37 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4   
by Vincent D. on 2014-03-26 13:53:29
"This gun is great, after you replace the o-ring and get a better recoil spring
I give it 2 stars stock
by Patrick W. on 2013-12-22 06:13:43
"I got this gun around September and have absolutely loved it!!! I've used it in multiple milsim matches and have just ripped through the other players!

Pros:
Heavy duty metal
Massive power from green gas/propane
can add mock silencers and laser/lights
nice feel when shooting
Can change the grip if you buy another 1911 grip
gives your enemy's a nice bruise ;)

Cons:
The safety pin fell off of mine but i think it was because my holster is a USP one
if you don't fill the mag properly then you wont get more than 3-5 shots out of the gas
the paint scratches very easily, but just don't drop it on concrete
would be better with maybe a black or OD Green paint job
other than that nothing!!!
by Scuba S. on 2013-09-09 03:05:29
"Real Steel Comparison:  Kimber Pro CDP II 4" and WE DW 4.3

Weight:
Kimber (fully loaded, no rail): 2lbs 4oz
WE DW (fully loaded, with rail): 2lbs 4oz
*Numbers rounded to the nearest .5 ounce on a postage scale*
*Lightweight laser grips installed on both*

Pros: 
Almost exact copy of a Kimber
Accurate 4.3
Nice kick, FPS
So far no misfires or magleaks
Price

Cons:
Weak paint
Front sight tan and not removable (just paint it)
Nothing else

There's lots of great reviews already for the DW so I won't go into FPS or accuracy again, but it's GREAT for a barrel of this length. So far, no mag leaks either. Just a real steel comparison:

I'm even more impressed than I expected with this. Next to a real steel Kimber, the WE Desert Warrior looks exactly identical in shape/size. So close that it makes me think the mold for the DW was made from an actual 4" Kimber. Surprisingly, they also weigh almost exactly the same.

It's a pretty solid GBB overall...once you fix the wobbly rail by removing it and putting a piece of card stock between it and the gun. The slightly wobbly slide is not so bad because that means a lot more tolerance for dust/dirt and less prone to jams or malfunctions. You don't need tight slides to shoot plastic BB's accurately, and many will argue the same for real bullets. (But not Kimber - extremely tight tolerances on the real steel) 

The paint does scratch easily, but a light coat of silicon oil helps. Same as gun oil on real steel. Also, if the slide scratches, I have an excuse to paint it black and make a custom two-tone...

If you think this is heavy, it's because it's the same weight as the real gun loaded with full clip of .45 ACP! This says tons about the great feel of the DW in your hand - its just like holding a real steel Kimber, and this is actually very light for a 1911. Kimbers are built to keep the weight down, complete with aluminum frames and slides. Something to keep in mind while carrying this. It's great for training if you plan on owning a Kimber or already do, and ammo is a lot cheaper.

Most real steel 1911 grips fit, along with any made for the TM 1911's! 

Full-size and 4.3 use the same sized grips. The standard hardwood grips from the Kimber fit, with some effort, but the main thing is that they fit without modification. This opens up a world of options, not to mention custom stuff. I also managed to fit the airsoft Hurricane Laser Grips, but had to add pieces of card stock (cigarette box) and duct tape as shims around the inside of the pressure switch. Otherwise, the pressure switch stayed activated. But after that, it works perfectly every time. 

This is so close of a replica, I'm pretty sure other real steel parts would fit too, like the Wilson Combat mag-wells. I havent seen any airsoft single-stack mag-wells, but the real steel is only about $35. I haven't tried it, but it hooks over the bottom grip screw, which is in the same place on the real steel. Of course, never put airsoft parts on real steel, but the other way around is usually fine for external parts..

So for any Kimber owners, or non-Kimber owners, who want a nice Kimber replica to mess with, this is it. Oh yea, and it outperforms any GBB of this size that I've ever owned since like, the '90's when metal slides were hard to get. I can't actually say I've owned many, though...but I assume it does fine at stuff like CQB or backup for a sniper. You just can't miss with this gun, for the price. And if you own a Kimber, or want one, just buy this too already. You won't be disappointed!
by Margaret C. on 2013-08-21 11:55:06
"Great gun, I love the realistic blowback acting, very accurate and good price for the full metal construction. The only problem I had is that with the mock silencer when snug on the gun, WILL NOT FIRE, but I was able to make it loose, so the gun could fire. Very nice gun overall.
by joe a. on 2013-08-15 11:05:47
"very nice pistol for the price. comes decently packaged and has a very nice weight and feel to it. shoots fairly accurate especially for a pistol with a 4 inch barrel. the kick is nice, finish is good, and it also comes stock with a blue anodized 6.03 tight bore inner barrel!! you cant beat this gun for the price. WE Tech has really turned over a new leaf in its quality over the years.
by steven o. on 2013-04-07 18:00:11
"Great gum came with m3 tac light and suppressor (i bought with it) pros weight,looks/heavy, shots amazing..... cons scratches a little easier cant put suppressor on all the way and shoot slide wont come back but overall 5/5 i love the gun
by ANCEL R. on 2013-01-09 14:51:36
"By far the BEST WE Pistol I have ever owned. And one of the best Pistols I have owned and used on the market, especially at this price point. I own 3 of these, and I think I always will. At least as long as I am an Airsofter. I initially purchased this model so that i had a backup to my TM version of the same model. Figured keeping things the same would translate into more effective fielding. And I was right. my Review will be based on performance AND in comparison to the TM model.

Pros:
Value
Full Metal Consturction (Including Slide) (TM Slide is Plastic)
Realistic Feel (Compared to my 4.3" real Steel)
TM compatible Mags
Accurate to 90 feet (With .20's)
TM compatible Parts (More on this later)
Rail (Pro and Con)

Cons:
Heavy (Compared to TM, but not really a Con)
Gas efficinecy not as good as TM (Prob Because of Slide weight)
Finsh not extremely Durable (Paint chips easily)
Magazine Capacity (Design limitation, not really a flaw)
Magazines not really durable, developed Leaks quite fast (Fixed with simple Tricks)
Rail (This falls in this category because of limitations on Holster options)


Whn comparing performace to the TM, the WE falls slightly short because of Gas efficiency and range. I attribute this to the Slide weight difference. When I swapped the Slides to the different lowers, as well as the Piston/Compression parts, I saw the same performance, but they followed the slides. Plastic TM slide caused the gun to perform better on both platforms. The Weight of the WE Slide made it feel much more realistic and a ittle more enjoyable to shoot (Stronger felt recoil), but that was overshadowed by the lack of efficiency. For a sub $100 Pistol, WE hit a Home Run IMHO.

I suggest all users lubricate their seals extremely well. I developed Leas in my WE mags that I never encountered with the TM mags. But a quick take down and lubing of all O-rings, and I havent had issues with this model or the mags since. I have owned quite a few of these, new and used, and havent been disappointed yet. The TM and one WE are over 2 years old. The others are less than 6 months old. I highly recommend this gun to anyone looking for a 1911 model. Keep in mind that this model has a Rail, so Holsters will not be easily found for this setup. I had to make a Custom Kydex Holster for mine.
by Lisa H. on 2012-12-11 18:30:49
"This is my first has blowback pistol and I have to say it is amazing

Pros

Grip
Good fps
Rail
Nice iron sights
3 hole trigger
Tan
Blowback
Decent price

Cons

Slide sticks (easy fix)
Heavy
by Nash C. on 2012-06-25 19:27:46
"I just wanna start off by saying that this is a really great gun, especially for indoor/CQB Fields, i got this gun as it is my first gas gun and my only one right now


Pros
Great tan look
Nice color contrast
Full metal excluding the side panels and air nozzle
Perfect for CQB and pistol games
1 10 second load can fire 2-3 magazines


Cons
The paint scratches easily
The glued orange tip is very hard to remove
Thats about it
by Michael B. on 2012-05-29 18:29:21
"Very nice looking pistol. Well built frame and slide. Black paint on the levers comes off rather easily but makes it look weathered. That's a plus in my book. The magazine has a thick bumper on the base that doesn't allow green gas can valves to reach the charging point. You need to buy the adapter but Evike sells it for a couple of bucks. See below.

Matrix CNC Gas Can Extension Metal Adapter (For Gas Mag with Deep Charging Valve)

Had to rate it in the middle for two reasons;
First, because WE doesn't advise the deep charge valve requirement.
Second, when I did order the adapter it worked great but the gun came with a leaky mag. Argh!
I'm sure the warranty squad will take care of things and the gun will be up and running "sound as a pound".
by Mark I. on 2012-02-01 13:50:45
"I am just gonna cut to the chase. I can start off by saying that this gun is great! The full metal weight adds for a very realistic feel. The rail on the bottom is perfect for flashlights. The threaded barrel is perfect for mock silencers for players who like the tactical look. The gun shoots at around 300-320 fps and is extremley accurate. When i got it i didn't even need to change the hop-up. The gas system is very efficient and you can run through a normal 2 magazines with 1 7 second injection of gas. The sights are perfect. The other thing i like about it is that you get a carrying case when you purchase this gun. I am not sure if it was out of the kindness of evike or if everyone gets it. But all I know is that this is a great gun. There is only one drwaback for this gun. The normal magazine for the gun is an meu mag. The valve is soo deep into the mag that most green gas cans nozzles cannot reach the valve. This is not a problem for propane users but for green gas users, it is. If you are going to purchase this gun, you will need to get a nozzle extender for your green gas can which can be purchased from your green gas manufacturer. If you do bot want to go through this trouble, you can purchase a spare we cqb master mag which works with all green gas types. Other than that, this gun is very worth the money and you will not be disappointed.
Pros
Great heavyweight feel
Very realistic feel
accurate
Great for cqb
99$ with a carrying case
nice trigger pull

Cons
meu mags are not efficient with most green gas cans
by robbie b. on 2012-01-14 22:46:53
"its a great gun it will not let you down in the field. full metal construction and many other freatures



pros:
full metal
accurate
light trigger pull
more compact than other 1911's
heavy
comes with a gun case

cons:
i got a leaky mag with mine
sights wobble
needs to be lubricated constently
slide some times locks up
over time assembly gets a little difficult



over all about a 8/10 but in is going to be very reliable in the field you know its gonna go band every time

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 37 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4