Reviews: Matrix Turbo High Speed Performance Airsoft AEG Motor - Long Type

$45.00 $35.00

29 Customer Reviews
Model: MO-Turbo-L
Location: D6-124

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Alvin Y. on 2015-06-25 00:53:26
"high rof motor/ not reliable or safe for your gun as is. i rate 2/5

if you are looking for a quick upgrade for high rof, i recommend lithium batteries or other motors with strong pinion gears already attached.

longer review below

powerful magnets ( i hear they are one of the strongest in airsoft. from my experience, a G&G stock motor magnets could barely carry a small hex key and the matrix motor magnets can carry a wrench the size of my arm)

pinion (i hear it has one of the worst pinion gears. to confirm mine are chipping with little use. pieces of the pinion metal got into my gearbox. one of the gears was affected and now has a chip in it too. I worked for hours shimming. the gears were not rly affected. the pinion is almost destroyed. this must mean the pinion is weak. DO NOT USE THIS PINION or risk damaging other parts of your gun.

these matrix turbo motors actually require more time and money to be used reliably. (pinion replacement needs strength or special pinion replacement tool which costs money. A new pinion costs money. for people with time and money, replace the pinion and you'll have a great motor with high rof and high torque.
by Sam W. on 2015-05-09 20:00:08
"I bought this motor a few weeks ago for my g&g gr 15 and i am very impressed! I did not realize how fast it would shoot because for some reason i was using an 8.4 v. I purchased a 9.6 and this thing sounds like a polarstar but way cheaper!

Super high ROF!
Awesome trigger response
Thats all you need right?

The grip can get really hot but sometimes i play at night so it warms me up lol
by kyle r. on 2014-05-23 16:56:23
Fast (obviously)
Does not eat up battery
Very magnetic (if bbs were metal I'd be out instantly. Its just really magnetic)
Heavy... for a motor (makes my gun more balanced.)
Did I mention fast
by Dan S. on 2013-10-31 00:54:23
"Buyers beware, just confirmed that WITHOUT MODIFICATION, this will NOT fit into Tokyo Marui's P90 motor cage (Possibly P90s of other brands as well).

The problem is that the heads of the 2 black screws that secure the base plate of the motor are way too thick for the motor cage to shift far enough to latch back together.

The simple fix I've found is go to a hardware store and look for metric 0.5mm x 10mm screws that have comparably more flushed heads.

Once you got the new screws, simply replace the original black screws ONE AT A TIME (keep one black screw securely in place so you can screw the new screw in without the base plat popping open on you, as you'll need to use some force to fit the new screws all the way down. Once the first new screw is in tight, you can then remove the 2nd black screw and replace it with another new screw, again, make sure it sits all the way down.)

Also, originally there are 2 washers on each of the black screws (4 total), remember to place at least one washer in each of your replacement screws before screwing them in.

Obviously once you've done this you'll void all warranty, so do it at your own risk.

Once it's all fitted together properly, this motor performs flawlessly. If not a bit hot, which's a common problem for all the high speed motors anyway. So try to avoid doing long bursts with these high speed motors installed.

1 star deducted for the fitting problem and time spent replacing screws, but otherwise it works really well.
by Robert K. on 2013-10-09 17:13:58
"This is a great motor! The neo magnets are very strong. I put this particular motor in my Echo1 ST6 with a MOSFET and 16gauge wire. The stock motor with a M110 and the upgraded wire setup was getting about 14-15rps (tested with an excortech chrono). I put a M120 and this motor into the gun with a shim job, it now shoots at 23rps! The only problem i had was that the pinion on the motor was slightly to large for the opening in the gearbox, with a quick mod to the gearbox it worked fine.

Its a neodymium motor
Huge increase in rof

Pinion was slightly to large
by Evan W. on 2013-04-30 20:01:55
"Awesome high-speed motor. If you're looking for ROF, this is your choice. Is a little loud, but that doesn't matter too much. High quality and super fast, but does heat up quick. It can handle the heat, though.
by James R. on 2013-02-18 15:47:41
"If i only had 1 word 2 say about this motor, it would b AWSOME! I put this motor in my echo1 scar-L tan and it increased my ROF 250%! B4 i bought this motor, ppl used to make fun of me because of how slow my gun shot. Now there running away and scream after i waste a whole midcap into them in a matter of seconds. This is probably the best possibly motor ever!

All metal
Strong magnets
Fires as soon as u pull the trigger

NONE!!!!!! YEAH!!!!!!
by Joseph W. on 2012-12-20 08:49:19
"This is a great motor for high speed applications. I had it paired with a AIM Top Tornado Speed gearbox in an M16 and was achieving around 25 rounds per second with a 9.6v large type. You will want two things with it though: first you'll want a vented motor plate because this motor gets pretty hot (to be expected). second, as everyone else says you will definitely want a different pinion gear. I wouldn't even fool with the stock one as it will strip. I must say though the motor magnets are so strong that when it does the metal shreds will go down and stick to the motor (not all of them, but alot of the shreds). Personally, I was flanking a team with a friend and this stripped right as our postions were compromised which left us totally screwed. Other than the pinion gear its great though.

Very high speed
Pulls up to an M120

Pinion gear is crap
Gets pretty hot
by Debbie M. on 2012-12-10 20:31:00
"This is a good motor for price but i do suggest buying a new pinion gear mine has already stripped after no more than a few hundred shots. The rof is good as long as you have a weaker spring.

old jg motor with 8.4 m120 spring shot 12-13
old motor 9.6 shot 15-17

new matrix motor with 8.4 m120 shot 15-16
matrix motor 9.6 shot 19-22

this is a decent motor besides a few cons

weak pinion gear
heats up a little fast but not to bad
with to strong of spring the gearbox can lock up so don't use over m120
by Tim R. on 2012-07-30 14:16:55
"Bought this motor to upgrade a GR15 for a friend. It's alright. Like all high speed motors, it heats up quite a bit. It doesn't have a whole lot of torque either, but that's also expected. It does have very strong magnets and is constructed quite well. However, the pinion gear is garbage. Stripped after no more than 500 rounds with perfect shimming to the bevel. New SHS pinion shows no wear after several thousand rounds on the same shimming and set up.

-good quality
-alright price

-pinion is crap
-heats up and doesn't have a lot of torque (compared to SHS, Lonex, and AMP high speed motors)a

This motor is something to consider, but the other options tend to be cheaper and slightly better.
by Jason S. on 2012-07-06 14:01:33
"Great motor for the money. I haven't used it in a game yet, but tested the fire rate:

Original motor
7.4v Tenergy lipo - 10 rounds per second
11.1v kong power lipo - 16 rounds per second

This motor
7.4v Tenergy lipo - 16 rounds per second
11.1v kong power lipo - 21 rounds per second

This is in an A&K Masada gearbox with a Modify 120+ spring shooting around 390 with .25s.

I'm please as I can now use my 7.4v in the gun as the 11.1v really doesn't fit very well... we'll just see how long it lasts.
by Kevin T. on 2012-05-11 14:37:47
best buy par none i see some of the reviews on here saying it "can" pull an m120 it will pull it with 22 rps with the Matrix gearbox (with a lipo)

-High ROF

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3