Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Holiday Extended Phone Support Hours M-F 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Holidays! 20% OFF with coupon code: HOLIDAY20 (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

G&P Full Metal M4 WOC GBB Airsoft Gas Blowback Rifle Challenge Kit (Model: AR-15 Navy Seal Skull-Frog)

26 Customer Reviews

by teresa n. on 08/01/2011
"this gun is great, and its parts are made well.
but when they say "challenge" they mean it...it is hard.
but i do say its worth it and it looks nice when its done.
another great deal from evike.com
by Aaron M. on 07/24/2011
"So I recently bought this and this is my run down on it:
Some of the gun parts like the bolt carrier and hop up are covered in the factory grease that i would recommend cleaning off and putting your own on. Other than that it does come with an instruction manual that takes you through most of the steps. BEWARE THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL IS A LITTLE BIT OUTDATED AND DOESN'T INCLUDE ALL ASSEMBLY. The Instruction manual leaves out some things like the hop-up assembly.

pros:
-keeps you busy for a while
-worth every penny
-good stock recoil
-very nice feel to it
-good quality parts

cons:
-some parts can be very tricky if you don't know what you are doing (like me)
-be careful not to break anything while assembling. (some parts are really hard to get in)
-some parts might need extra items for them to work properly (i had trouble putting the gas system together cause some parts seem to be missing or something.)

conclusion: overall this is the best gbb m4 u can buy for this price. It is hands down amazing after you are done building it. This is well worth every penny spent and if you have the time, knowledge, and money and looking for a gbb rifle that won't necessarily break the bank this is exactly what you are looking for.
by justin h. on 12/03/2016
"I bought this exact kit 3 years ago, took me a good 6 hours to build it and it did not work once it was done. The magazine I purchased with the kit (since the kit does not include one) was a standard mag by King Arms and it was awful. I picked up a G&P PMAG and the rifle worked pretty well after that, now I have filed the magazine well so it is wider to fit GHK G5 mags and I recommend them over the other two options. Right from the beginning the buffer tooth broke in half so every time I field stripped the rifle the buffer and buffer spring flung out, doesn't effect functionality just annoying. The bolt carrier and nozzle assembly are not very good out of the box so I picked up a King Arms High Power bolt for field play and those work 100% wonderful. I never liked auto on gas rifles so I bent the hammer spring forward so that it's tension is much higher and you can clearly here a loud "clink" when dry fired. This tension makes semi auto fire every time regardless of temperature outside but auto will not work correctly. With a bit of testing i'm sure you can find a perfect middle ground between the two. Over time I replaced the hammer, trigger and auto sear with steel components and would recommend doing so to anyone thinking about these kits but note that if you run a steel hammer make sure it has the roller bearing on top or it can rub the aluminum bolt and cause quick wear. My charging handle broke in half as well so now I need one of those but other than that it functions great on semi and I love the feel of using this weapon in game. I bought a MAGPUL challenge kit as well and that one worked great out of the box, but that was a newer release so maybe these newer kits will work out of the box with just the G&P mags. My hop up and barrel are still stock and I don't mind them at all. The barrel is accurate and the hop up never adjust unintentionally so I love that once it's set it never moves on you. I also leave my barrel stock because if I go tighter that KA High Power Bolt and Nozzle will make this rifle fire in the high 400fps range and that's to high for a CQB size M4. It already is around 400 with .25 gram BBs.

Conclusion, if you want a rifle you can say you built this is a great one. I'll list a recap of what I needed right away.

- G&P PMAG(or modify to GHK G5 mags)
- Steel Buffer Stop(not required to fire but will break)
- Stronger Charging Handle(real steel works with minor grinding of side flanges.
- King Arms High Power Bolt and Nozzle

There are many wonderful parts for these rifles over seas as well, but to get this rifle out on the field these are all things you can do through Evike and some custom work. Hope this review was helpful.
by David T. on 08/17/2016
"This is a very realistic and super high quality rifle. However, they weren't kidding when they called this a challenge kit. There are only 21 steps, but almost every single step involved quite a bit of frustration. Some smaller parts needed to be filed down to fit property. The instruction was a photo copy of a photo copy, so the resolution was terrible. There was not much writing in the instruction, only low quality pictures. Double and triple check every step before you put the parts together because the fit is extremely tight, and it will be a pain to undo some parts to correct your mistakes. But once this gun is assembled, it is absolutely amazing. The realism is the best in the business. Everything is metal. The recoil is strong, and very loud. This gun comes with a steel barrel tip as well as a plastic orange one. Do not ever take this out in public without a gun case. Do not fire it in the back yard if you have neighbors around. You are just asking for trouble. I have used both propane and duster gas with great result. The duster gas would be perfect for indoor use as it does not smell, and the velocity is lower. But don't forget to use silicone oil if you are not using green gas. There are some build videos on Youtube that are very helpful, especially one made by a guy name Jedi.
by Alex H. on 09/26/2015
"here is what I've experienced the build kit is nice and easy to understand how to put together if you have basic mechanical skill the exterior is built well I was missing the barrel all together but I called evike and they had it shipped to me Pronto so good service evike thanks now back to the gun it has a break in period once assembled so don't get butt hurt if it doesn't run like you want but once I broke it in I went to the nearest field and really put it through its paces. The stock bolt and bolt catch were worn out after play, the mag catch broke and extensive wear on the trigger group parts. Now keep in mind this is a build kit so if it's not perfect replace parts, there are parts that I would get that are made out of steel are the bolt, bolt catch, mag catch, ( trigger group eventually) buffer lock.

OK
Pros
Good base for a butt kicking custom build
Teaches you (know your rifle)!

Cons
Patience lots of patience
Break in period
Lots of tweaking
major operating parts need to be replaced with steel aftermarket parts
Not skirmishable right after being put together (BREAK IT IN!)
by Zane R. on 09/24/2013
"A great gun a little shaving and filing required but overall easy to assemble the one complaint I have is that I got a matrix hard kick buffer and didn't realize it until I shot it and it broke my buffer catch
by Ricky M. on 09/20/2012
"First off it will cost less than 100$ to upgrade to better parts not 200-250$

This gun is pretty cool it didn't have the barrel nut, sling plate and a casul nut but evike sent me the parts except the casul nut.
Anyways had to shave down the magwell a lot to get the mag to even go in then the nozzle too because the bolt wouldn't go all the way forward even win shooting. Once I got it shooting good it is extremely accurate and shoots insanely far!!!

Pros:
Nice body
Internals are pretty decent(you need to oil EVERYTHING!!!)
Solid
Shoots far
Fun to build

Cons: needs modifications to before shooting it's not just build and play
Didn't come with everything to finish had to wait an extra week

Overall this is a fun build but if your looking for a skrimish ready gun then get a kwa lm4 this is a project and kind of a money pit
by Alex D. on 08/17/2011
"Very good quality, and price. Instruction manual is a big help to get this together.

PROS:
Feel
'mostly' great quality
price
HIGH POWER nozzle ~480
LOW POWER nozzle ~400
not much to upgrade to make this skirmishable
recoil is strong

CONS:
assembly required
aluminum internals, not steel
no magazine (they're $33 not bad)
non-adjustable nozzle, only 2 nozzle settings
shoots too HOT
have to replace bolt catch with steel
have to replace charging handle latch
receiver wobble (minimal)
requires modifying the firing block
no recoil spacers
6.08mm barrel

highly recommend getting an adjustable nozzle to shoot slower.. or hotter ;)
by Kris P. on 07/16/2011
"Picked this up today and started tooling around with it. It's definitely a challenge. It took me 3 hours to get through the first 3 steps (trigger, and 2 of the 3 selector switch components), the third part of it has me pulling my hair out. Instructions are a little iffy, but if you approach it logically you should be able to get through it. It seems like there are a few specialized tools needed to help compensate for the spring/tension components. I'm not sure if they already exist, or if I'm going to have to fabricate a few things. Either way, lots of fun. Good way to learn the intimate internals of a GBB weapon. Good night, and good luck.
by John N. on 08/13/2015
"Like the other reviewer I recieved this kit missing a few parts and the whole outer and inner barrel. I called evike and they are currently looking into it. Will update this review once everything is solved. Thanks.
by Michael H. on 08/11/2015
"Just picked this up from the Evike Warehouse yesterday. After the long drive home and cracking open the box, I had found the first piece on the instructions was missing. Along with that there was various bolt, springs, the barrel, the inner barrel, and many more pieces missing from my box. Not really sure how this was even allowed to be handed out. Will be making the journey back to the Evike Superstore tomorrow to try and address this issue.