Reviews: APS V.2 Full Size UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft AEG w/ Metal Gear Box

$165.00

19 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-APS-UAR-B

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Sean B. on 2016-07-08 15:21:09
"Before I start by listing my issues with this gun I would like to start with the pros. I like the look and feel of this gun, its unique and you don't see everyone carrying this around when you meet other people at airsoft events. I like the fact it is a bull pup rifle, although it is built for cqb it can be utilized for taking on farther targets. I like the simplicity of removing the spring to change the fps limit. Not lets list some cons I have, I had this gun for about a month before the motor stopped working. I read so many comments about how well his gun works and I am very disappointed by the fact that it now occupies a corner of my house collecting dust. I loved this gun when it was working but hopefully I can get it fixed soon......
by isaac k. on 2016-06-04 13:50:41
"i used this gun 2 times then the gear box broke. has low fps and feels like a made in china kids toy
by Lazaro R. on 2015-12-07 07:08:45
"I have had this gun for a full year before the trigger selector broke... The UAR still works, the place I went to repair it did not do such a good job (local Miami place). In order to fully repair the trigger selector I would have had to spend the same amount that I did to purchase it, to repair it.

All and all... this is a great gun, while it was running, I never had a complain... it was light weight, small and compact for CQB, but it had the range for a field, even without swapping out the "long range spring" it came with. Which was easy to do... Even adding a new muzzle was easy.
by Lance R. on 2015-10-29 06:56:55
"Great design concept. This will definitely get attention on the field. The execution of the UAR is flawed though. I understood before getting the UAR that there would be magazine compatibility problems, but that was easily resolved. I used the upgrade spring exclusively in this, and the UAR came in at a consistent 1.49 - 1.51 Joules. The stock Hopup is metal, and had a decent seal with the nozzle. Bucking tore after 1500 bbs, and was replaced with a ProWin AK hopup chamber and madbull bucking. Performance in shot consistency improved marginally.

The Version 3 gearbox is decent, but I don't believe it was intended to be used with the upgraded spring on a normal basis. After a year of use, and 8,000 - 10,000 bbs later the gearbox was removed for maintenance. I discovered that several teeth were broken on the gears, and yet performance did not seem to be any different than when I first used the UAR. Piston was in need of replacement after finding a few cracks.

The trigger on the UAR seemed to be more like a two stage trigger, quite a bit of play in the linkage before the trigger made contact with the tripper on the gearbox. This was easy to remedy with a set screw located inside the UAR, but the gearbox will need to be removed to access this screw. Once changed, trigger response improved due to slack being removed from linkage. Still has the same firm squeeze.

All-in-all, not a bad design, with modifications, and upgrading the gearbox, or replacing with an HPA system.
by Ryan L. on 2015-08-19 11:04:38
"I have actually owned two of these rifles, version 1 and version 2. In the version 1 I had issues with the battery, and the feeding. The battery was no big deal, there are easy work arounds. However the feeding issues killed it. I tried multiple brands of magazines, high-cap and mid-caps. Maybe 1 in 10 would feed. It went back. Then they brought out version 2, saying they addressed both the battery and feeding issue. Surprise, it still didn't feed worth squat, same issues as the first.

It's a great concept design, and to be honest, if they could fix the feed issue, I would buy another, but until then, no chance.
by Darrin L. on 2015-08-08 19:02:24
"This gun is reliable, I left it outside all winter in the freezing cold and it still works!

The range is great too!

However, the mags that come with the gun do not work, however, m4 mags work great!


Also, you need a red dot sight, since you need to aim!
by Mike M. on 2015-02-16 20:20:55
"Great design, but very poor execution. Hopup, linkages, even the motor all fail far too quickly. The manufacturer came up with a great idea, but simply didn't have the ability to make it work well. It boils down to being a cheap gun with a good design. I bought both versions and now on my third repair of the V2, an only slightly better product. Buy a gun from any reputable manufacturer, not this one.
by isaac k. on 2014-12-08 20:36:54
"This gun is really good for intermedanats. The only cons are the mags from your other gun (m4,ak47,ext.), the place you put your battery is really small so you can not put many different types of bateries in the gun.
by david p. on 2014-08-10 20:51:37
"This gun is a piece of garbage!! It has a POORLY designed magwell and will drop the mag out all the time just from movement.
This gun is designed solely to attract young buyers because of its looks, I bought it for my son and he is regretting it big time!!
I have done every magwell/magazine mod that is out there and still poop!
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this lemon.
by Gabe Z. on 2014-06-12 12:52:33
"This was a great gun for cqb but not particularly for outdoors.
Everything worked great but do not use the upgraded spring it comes with. This gun is not ready for that spring and mine broke when I used it.
by Matthew B. on 2014-04-29 01:05:20
"I was given this rifle as a birthday present from a friend and I was skeptical when I first received it being I have owned bullpup rifles before and they were terribly unreliable but I would have to say this rifle is absolutely fantastic! Very reliable even when I started using heavier bbs. Another problem I have had with other bullpup rifles is I'm left handed and bullpup rifles are usually a left handed persons worst enemy! Not with this rifle though it is completely ambidextrous! Sadly this rifle doesn't come with any iron sights or battery and one problem I have had is that you cannot disassemble this rifle being you have to take off the flash hider to disassemble it but other then that I find this rifle near perfect!! Definentally happy with this rifle!!
by Michael B. on 2014-01-21 20:49:17
"Anyone considering buying the APS UAR should first search the Interwebs for information about the serious feeding problems it has. A design defect combined with poor quality control results in magazines not sealing properly, with the result that BBs won't feed. This doesn't seem to happen with all UARs, but for many of them it results in a gun that's practically useless. I regret buying this gun and I would strongly urge others to avoid it.
This is unfortunate because it is otherwise a nice gun -- a unique design with some nice features. (That's why I gave it 2 stars instead of just 1.)
P.S.: I bought this gun in December 2013, after APS issued its "improved" version to address a problem where mid-cap magazines wouldn't fit. That issue seems to be unrelated to the feeding problem.
Also FYI Evike honored an RMA for this gun but although the returned item will feed from the stock small magazines, it still won't feed BBs from any hi-cap magazine that we have tried unless we push the magazine firmly up into the body, and keep holding it there -- obviously not a workable solution in the field.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2