Reviews: Echo1 MTC 3 Full Size (Modular Tactical Carbine) Airsoft AEG Rifle

$259.99 $199.99

20 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-E1-MTC3

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Matthew D. on 2016-05-09 05:52:50
"I received this gun from a Box of Awesomeness and i'm extremely impressed. The gun came with a full rail set up, 2 high cap mags, a fore grip, m4 magwell, 8.4v 1100mah battery, and charger. For a beginner it is a nice set up to get you started but some things can easily be added or changed to make the gun even better. First I got some new Midcap mags because the metal high caps had all sorts of feeding issues. Switched to a 9.6v 1600mah small type battery and almost get 20rps (rounds per second). Added a red dot because it's hard to use the iron sights with a mask since they are so low profile. Put a bipod foregrip for more stability when prone. Finally changed the inner barrel to a mad bull 6.03mm x 407mm barrel with a 30mm x 190mm mock supressor to cover up that extra barrel length. All additions were easily done because of how easy it is to take apart and all the included rail space.

With all the changes I made I was able to hit people out at 250 ft pretty consistently. I am shooting at about 410fps so definitely higher then what was advertised. But at the field I play it's fine, I just can't go full auto,

PROS
Looks really cool and unique
Very solid feel, no rattling parts
High rate of fire
Accurate at long range
Tons of rail space
Adjustable stock with cheek riser
Ambidextrous selector switch
Takes m4/m16 mags

Now for the CONS list, these are things I've herd of and were minor issues that didn't really kill the quality of the gun. Just should be noted but may not happen to everyone

CONS (sort of...)
Magwell pin starts to fall out. Never happened to me but seems to happen to a lot of other people
Battery compartment width is a little tight but can modified.
Charging handle can get stuck but was able to go inside the gun and file some things down so no longer an issue.
Really low iron sights. Just put on a sight.
Single point sling. I like it but could be an issue for some.

In conclusion I love this gun! It out performs a lot of other guns out there and is a great package for beginning players, great working gun for intermediate players, and a great platform for those who want to start modifying the internals. Sure there are some weird issues but those issues helped me learn about the gun and come up with pretty good solutions on my own. In turn this also helped me learn about airsoft in general. This gun has the range and accuracy to be a DMR but shoots fast enough to be a great LMG support type weapon. I highly recommend this to anyone, just be aware of potential issues and there really won't be any.

Also there is a great video on YouTube for teardown if you want to learn how to get inside and change some things around. Hope this reveiw helps!
by Barrett F. on 2016-03-13 20:36:08
"I am leaving this review about a year and a half later, This gun is good don't get me wrong but there are some issues. For a starter gun it's great and even as an intermediate gun. but here are the pros and cons

Pros
- Unique look, it's an m4 g36 hybrid from hell
- Good performance, it has a good use of battery life, good aim, good rate of fire
- Good polymer body and metal front reciever

Cons
- Hop up is kinda weird a lot of your bb's will spin up
- The fact that it's not designed after a real rifle might get some judgmental looks at milsim events

Overall I would definitely recommend this rifle but you could also get an m4 that performs better for cheaper, but you sacrifice style and unique features when you do that. For a unique player this is great!
by Richard G. on 2016-03-03 15:49:20
"Its a good gun over all. the battery could be a little stronger and the mag well pin falls out alot so just put a zip tie in and ur problem is fixed
by Alex D. on 2015-11-24 21:57:27
"Got this gun from a BoA. It is fantastic. It fielded well, and I was continuously surprised by its range. Only thing I do not like is the battery compartment. It is time consuming to get into and it is a tight fit. So you are limited, or you can try to mod it. In the end, this gun is well worth your time.
by Stephen V. on 2015-09-03 22:50:18
"Have two. Love em' both. Nice metal rail space and can heave some bb's down range. Comes with grip... (I added a giant red dot) - good to go! Locktight your pins people. Battery is impossibly tight unless you get it in just the right spot. I dremeled just a hair off my two stocks for ease of battery changes. No probs yet! :)
by Noah L. on 2015-08-25 23:55:42
"I've had this rifle for about a month or so, and I'm honestly loving it. I really recommend it to anyone who likes the H&K rifles but want something that sticks out a lot more than usual or wants a G36C with an EXCESSIVE amount of rail space,

PROS:
- Nice looking and feeling. all of the externals look good and feel good. I'm especially fond of the stock with the thumb hole and the cheek riser. the metal rails are a bit uncomfortable on bare hands (but hey! it comes with a foregrip!)
- Heavy. This rifle has a lot of weight to it and it's lovely, could be a con if you want something light. And even with all the weight it's well balanced.
- Good Performance. I've yet to try it with a 9.6v (as it's in the mail still) but with the stock battery the rate of fire still feels pretty decent. I am able to hit a can repeatedly from about around 70 feet, a piece of A4 paper at 100, and a human sized target at about 150 feet. There is a noticeable deviation in bb trajectory at the longer distances, as to be expected.
- Really easy to disassemble and reassemble. Great for teching and adjusting things internally. echo1 has a good youtube video about it.
- M4 Magwell. This is a great thing about the rifle, a lot of mags are really loose in the magwell but it does enable you to mooch ammo off every m4 user on the field so you will never run out of ammo (as long as people are nice enough).
- Rail space. You will not run out. Ever. There's just so much of it.
- Metal Hi-Caps Included. Enough said, they are a fantastic feel and a good weight(one of mine broke though). The straight style one looks cool which is a plus.
- Compatible with JG G36 parts. I've gone back and forth between the default hand guard and a JG G36 handguard, the four holed one, it covers up the standard length outerbarrel and gives it a cool spacegun/laser gun aesthetic which turns heads. I've permanently replaced the outerbarrel with the longer G36 outerbarrel, it looks a lot better than the smaller barrel with the default handguard and allows a longer innerbarrel. And with the JG handguard installed with the JG outerbarrel makes it look like an assault rifle SL8!
- Almost fully ambidextrous. As a ambidextrous guy who shoots lefty this is fantastically convenient! The only down side is it's hard to get the mag release which is on the left side of the rifle.

CONS:

- Way too much hop up out of the box. The hop up has a maddog nub which is rather stiff. It's easily solved by using either a different nub, if accessible, or using a small radial file to shorten the arm that presses the nub down (echo1 has a video showing this too!).
- Terrible Sights. They are essentially pistol sights on a rifle. A big problem I have with it is that you cannot use the cheek riser and the integrated sights at the same time. It definitely needs some sort of attached optic.
- Magwell pin is very lose. I actually lost mine and couldn't find one, if you have problems I'd recommend picking up a G36C handguard pin as they have a nice locking mechanism and they fit perfectly in the pin slot and is nice and stiff.
- Mag release kind of sucks. I mentioned it already but I realized it's not very comfortable to use even when firing right handed. Not a big thing but It's not optimal.

All in all the Echo1 MTC 3 is a awesome looking, feeling, and shooting rifle. I highly recommend it!
by Ryan N. on 2015-08-24 20:14:13
"I've used this for about a year and it's very cool.

PROS:
Looks very cool and stands out from every gun on the field
Lightweight
Decent rof of 20 rds per sec with a 9.6
Changeable magwell to take m4 or g36 mags
Very comfortable rails system
Unique mag release
Low profile iron sights
Lots of rail space
Cool sl9 stock
Durable

CONS:
PIN THAT HOLDS THE MAGWELL IS VERY LOOSE GET A NEW PIN FOR IT!
Iron sights are very blocky; you can't make precise shots with them
Mags that come with do not feed well
Charging handle jams
Unevenly balanced
Crazy hop-up even on the lowest setting
The stock's butt is plastic so it's uncomfortable to shoulder without a vest on

Overall this gun is great for intermediate players because starters will have an unusual platform to begin with.
by jordan d. on 2015-08-05 19:30:14
"To start off, I've had this gun for about half a year prior to writing this review, but that shouldn't change anything.
Once i got the gun, i was hype for new gun, etc etc, it came with everything it said it would, a battery, 2 mags, the gun, and a foregrip. The grip itself is fairly poor quality, it doesn't feel secure to me on this gun, or any of my other rifles for that fact, but its ok because it comes with the gun.
My first time handling it was awesome, it has a solid weight to it, looks like a G36, but it uses regular STANAG magazines. First thing i noticed was the iron sights, they literally look like the front rail and back rail were raised and just had a notch removed from them, lime they're incredibly low profile and hard to use. I shrugged that off and just put a sight on it, because i had a spare.
I charged the battery, put the battery in the incredibly small slot, which requires an allen rench to get into, and fired off a few hundred rounds to get the hop up right and whatnot.
I took it out that weekend for my game, and it was durring the winter too, it started off rough, the mags didn't feed as good as my others so i left them in my trunk after 15 minutes. Then about halfway through the day i notice that the magwell is extremely wobbly, and the pin holding it together was half out, so i had to push it back in of course, then about 30 minutes later in the middle of a firefight, not my mag, but the entire magwell falls out into the snow. The pin fell out, and i wasnt able to recover it, so i had to tape the thing back together and i had even put a stick in it to hold it together.
All in all the gun looks solid, but im fairly upset with how it performed, with feeding problems and the gun falling apart midgame.
Pros :
Looks bad*ss
Solid weight
Fairly well balanced
Comes with a lot of goodies
Uses normal STANAG magazines
Cons
Magazines feed poorly
Horrible battery compartment
Foregrip is cheap plastic
Poor construction
Small irons (could be pro or con)

One last note is that it may have been my individual product not performing up to par, but i personally wouldn't recommend this.
by Alexander K. on 2015-03-20 09:34:30
"All in all, I love this gun. the battery is insanely hard to get out of the stock. but that's about the only con about this gun. comes with so much its a great starter pack for me. the grip that comes with is actually really sturdy, had a bit of trouble putting it on. I really recommend getting this gun if you're starting out.
by Jon C. on 2015-02-25 04:12:11
"Just got this in yesterday, From what I have seen so far this is a good gun for the price.

Pros:

Lots of rails

Foregrip included, (Foregrip is a single piece that slips over the rails and has a knob on the bottom to tighten it up, feels like it could break off if it was bumped too hard)

Popped my 9.6v battery in to test and it has an amazing rof

the two mags that come with it are nice and snug in the gun, no wobble at all

The low profile iron sights are really nice

Cons:

foregrip feels like it could easily break off

battery compartment requires an allen wrench, (included) to access

Iron Sights are not adjustable

All in all, I think this will be a beast of a gun for my airsoft matches. The rate of fire with the 9.6 really surprised me and I reccomend swapping out the stock battery for one as soon as possible. The gun feels really nice and isnt bulky to hold or carry
by Joeseph B. on 2015-02-05 19:58:36
"Let's start this review off buy admitting to ourselves that this airsoft gun looks AMAZING! I have a pros and cons about this gun, but overall, I would say that I you are looking for something unique, reasonably priced, in a package deal, and gives you good, game ready performance right out of the box, this is your gun. It has both solid internals and externals.

Pros:
The gun looks AMAZING and unique! You will definitely be recognized whichever field you play at. Looks KILLER with a red dot scope on top
It has a SOLID weight to it (can be a pro or con) yet it still remains evenly balanced despite having a full metal RIS on the front
This gun has rails on rails on rails to add literally everything you could think to add. These rails are both standard 20mm weaver rails AND are full metal for added durability
The response time with this trigger assembly is great for an AEG
Comes with a vertical grip AND 2X mags (useful no matter what level you play at) a battery and wall charger (good for beginners who want to get out and play!)
Well packaged in it's box
Great internals. I have shot thousands of bbs with this and haven't had a problem internally
Cons:
I have had issues with both of my mags feeding into the gun (you will need to REALLY wind the wheel to get the to work. Other than that they work just fine)
The orange tip is not removable to my knowledge
Limited on what type of battery you can use (not a huge issue)
Quite a hefty gun (I LOVE this about it but I know others do not)
Iron sights are terrible (you WILL need to buy some kind of sighting system to use this gun effectively)
The hop up system doesn't seem to be working correctly (I have had a lot of trouble with this trying to patch it so that the bbs don't fly upwards)
No bolt catch. This makes adjusting the hop up tricky but not impossible

*I know that makes a very long list of cons, but I still gave this a 5 out 5 because even with those cons, this airsoft AEG is still a SOLID buy for beginners and experience players alike.*
by jonathan p. on 2015-01-02 13:46:10
"Got this gun for Christmas it is great and love it had a hard time fitting the magazine in at first but after awhile it slid in and fired perfectly. It doesn't come with instructions so if you don't know how long to charge the battery that can be a problem in which can be easily fixed with a smart charger. Fires amazing and is super accurate. I love the feel of the stock and the rails are very solid

Pros
Amazing look and feel
great rail space very solid
fires accurate and fast
sturdy
ambidextrous
comes with 2 magazines

Cons
Hard to switch between safe semi and auto
no instructions
magazines are hard to fit in at first
battery semi hard to get in and out of gun

All in all an amazing gun :)

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2