Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Summer Sale! 20% OFF (Exclusions apply, see details)   Use Code: SUMMER2017

FN Licensed Open Bolt SCAR-L CQC Airsoft GBB Rifle by WE (Color: Black / CO2 Mag)

30 Customer Reviews

by Sam O. on 11/07/2016
"This gun is incredible. This is my first GBB rifle and I've been eyeing it and researching it for the past 4 years, and I finally got it. I'm a mechanical engineer, so my attention to detail is very important. I've disassembled and cleaned this gun 4 times already, so I'll give you all the rundown.

Unboxing

Standard cardboard box. Once opened, the gun is in a plastic bag sitting in a cardboard layout along with the magazine, speedloader and manual which is in English. (YES!!!)

First impression

Beautiful. Holy cow. This is amazing. That's pretty much it. It looks and feels great. Weight is very evenly distributed. Machine work is gorgeous and has a very sturdy feel.

Externals

Full CNC aluminum upper receiver, CNC aluminum side and bottom rails, polymer stock and cheek riser, polymer lower receiver, plastic orange tip, steel outer barrel, aluminum front sight, steel rear sight, steel charging handle knob, steel bolt catch release, potmetal magazine release, steel screws. potmetal buttstock baseplate.

Internals

Potmetal bolt carrier, potmetal charging handle beam, potmetal trigger group, polymer nozzle, potmetal hop-up unit, steel spring guide, steel recoil spring, rubber recoil buffer. The tolerance between some of the internal moving parts is a bit high, but does not affect performance.

Disassembly

I don't own a real Scar-L, but from pictures online, it looks to be exactly like the real one. Very easy to get to anything and everything. Pull out the front pin of the lower receiver, slide lower receiver forward a little and lift up. Gently slide stock down and remove all internals.

Performance

Kicks like a mule! Very loud bang and clack as the bolt carrier hits the hop-up unit. That's where most of the sound comes from. On semi, you can shoot all 30 rounds with CO2 left over. On full auto, you can shoot 20-25 rounds with full power but the last 5-10 rounds struggle. Loading the magazine is easy, but takes some time and force to get the BB's past the lip.

Side Notes

You'll see many videos tell you the "tool" that comes out of the front of the gas tube is for detaching rails. This is FALSE. Before people review this rifle, they really need to test their claims, The tool is used to disassemble the rifle. The tool loosens the 6 hex screws on the sides of the rifle so you can remove the barrel and hop-up assembly. You can also use the tool on the front sight to move it left or right. ALWAYS maintain this rifle. Lube before every use. The potmetal internals actually aren't that bad. They don't look like they'll break, but they will wear down for sure. The RA-Tech Steel replacements may be a good idea after some time. The hop-up is SO sensitive. You turn it one degree too much and it flies straight up. So go slow with it.

Final Thoughts

I'm very happy with this rifle. Nice kick, great performance, good quality product honestly. Moral of the story: If you take of it, it'll take care of you. And in the heat of battle, you want a reliable weapon. Make those shots count, you only have 30! (Plus other magazines you carry) It's actually surprising how long 30 rounds on semi auto last.

Happy Airsofting!
by Joshua H. on 12/07/2014
"This was my first airsoft rifle. That being said, I don't really have many other guns to compare it to, except the few others that I have used of my friends. I like that it has felt recoil and realistic functionality. I saw a video of a real SCAR-L being taken apart, and even the internals look insanely similar to real thing.

Good:
Nice feet per second level (I got an average of 370 while using .25 g BBs)
Very nice finish on the upper receiver (anodized I believe)
Smooth negative 14mm threads
1:1 pistol grip
Streamline (the gun is not bulky)
There are several YoutTube modifications to make WE GBBRs into HPA guns

Bad:
People with bigger fingers might have trouble adjusting the hop up
Mags are known to (and mine personally) to leak eventually [can be fixed by applying sealant over the gasket]
Could use a longer barrel
Not as customizable as an M4
There are a respectable amount of upgraded parts on Evike

Suggestions:
Longer barrel (you should only use 6.03 or bigger)
Upgrade to steel bolt carrier (is somewhat expensive at $100)
I would only use .30 g BBs (with .25 g BBs, I was getting deviation at a little under 100 ft until I went up to .30 g)
Field strip and maintain the gun after every game or every 10 mags you put through it.
(LOOKS AMAZING WITH A SUPPRESSOR)
by Jake J. on 06/07/2014
"Disregard shotty reviews on this gun. This is one of the better GBBR out there, and any poor reviews are either due to outlying duds, user error, or users who do not know how to maintain their GBBRs.

Pros
-efficient (for GBBR).
-upgrades seems to scale as you would expect

Cons
-bolt carrier slide will break.
-stock sights seem to aim VERY low.

On another note, the "square-ish" bolt carrier design on the SCAR and PDW seem to have less tolerance and, thus, perform better then the M4 bolt carrier
by Jon C. on 02/21/2014
"This is a great gun. I know that some people do not like the quality of WE, but I know from personal experience that WE has high quality guns, though with the SCAR, the cheek riser button breaks after mild use, so put up another one. With that said, do not hesitate to buy this amazing gun. It will not let you down.
by Joshua A. on 02/04/2014
"This is one awesome GBBR from WE tech and just a great GBBR in general. As always WE needs to improve on their packaging skills (cardboard box with zip ties and no cushion) yet it work. The rifle is very solid externally with a metal one piece upper and FRP( fiber reinforced polymer) for everything that isnt metal. It feels solid and is the most solid externally of all of WE's GBB's. internally its pretty much the same as WE's other gbbr's. steel bolt catch, hammer lock, and full auto trigger bar. everything else is some kind of metal but it is still durable and cheap to replace.

The bolt carrier group is solid as is everything else in this rifle. It shoots with a high ROF for a GBB and sounds very loud with a nice metal clack for every round. The recoil is very nice considering how light the bolt is. Its also accurate, at 75 feet i can hit a six inch target on full auto easily. If you maintain this gun like you would a real one it will last you a long time. Dont dry fire the gun ( no gas or bb's, just racking and letting the hammer fall) so you dont chip the bolt at the rear. tighten every screw you can find after skirmishing or shooting, clean and lubricate it, and this gun will last a long time.
by Maria Eugenia R. on 10/12/2013
"my first airsoft gun and its amazing!!:
Pros
1. realistic body
2. awesome blowback feel
3. sturdy
4. mag release button is easy to reach (i have small hands xD )
Cons
bolt catch sometimes works sometimes not, but is ok for me
heavy: you will NEED A SLING FOR THIS
i feel that te gun "eats" a lot of gas
OVERALL: GREAT WEAPON for me, it wont let you down ;)
by Joshua K. on 05/22/2013
"Great gun and is very realistic. The Scar hold a special place in my heart with all its tactical advantages and super duper awesome rails. I decked mine out with a holographic sight, laser/ light combo with pressure plates, a vertical grip, and stubby flash hider/screw on silencer. It is a champ to use great for CQB and overall just sexy in general.

-------------
Pros
--------
sexy
fps
realistic kick
folding stock
up gradable parts
rail space
metal construction
-------------
Cons
--------
Gas Mags can be gas hogs
Hop up can suck to adjust
as always mags for gas blowbacks are expensive
by jaime g. on 05/21/2013
"WOW this gun is amazing..................... I have had this gun for 1 year now.ok so its gas quality is going to get you about 1 mag and a half off another in 70 degree weather.It takes we m4 open bolt mags and they feed perfectly. Also my gun is perfectly fine after ofer 50k shots and all you need to do is lube it.
pros-
Cqb if you use .25 it shoots around 350 with them

mags efficiency is great

sooooooo much kick

Evrey thing is built to last

this gun is worth it

acurate like up to 150 feet away

intimidating

evrey one wants to touch and hold it

Cons-
well the price is up there but it is quality

out off stock but there coming back in july

good luck aiming down youre sights when shooting because the sight picture is messed up by the 3rd shot
i recomend a good optic

you dont have it.
by Matevos P. on 02/21/2013
"I absolutely love this gun. It kicks hard, shoots accurately, and is very efficient with gas.
The only issue is that mine shoots hot at around 420 FPS, so I cannot use it most places.
Pros: EVERYTHING ABOUT IT EXCEPT.......
Cons: It fires a little hot.
by Kirk C. on 12/07/2012
"This is my first GBBR and I love it! very handsome finished on par with the VFC AEG version, very nice recoil & great accuracy with the iron sights. My SCAR delivers about 360fps at 51 degree out door with no leaky mags yet.

PROS- Very nice in and out with a good price tag.
Realistic blowback & sound, never turn my head back to aeg again.

CONS- Weak pistol grip, have to replace it with a magpul.
Heavier than an aeg.
Expensive magazines.
by Maureen C. on 11/28/2012
"Pros:
Trademarks
Looks and feels great
Recoil is awesome
Really accurate
Very gas efficient
Easy takedown
Cons:
Bolt catch doesnt work unless u hold the mag up in the magwell hard(not a big deal)
Dont extend the stock and rest the gun on the butstock, the stock will break, but is easily fixed by popping the piece back in
*Other than that this gun is awesome i personally used to only go with KWAs for GBB's but now i can say WE has been added to the list of good GBB's
by Daniel V. on 06/21/2012
"I just bought my second SCAR-L. The first one I converted to the carbine barrell which is longer and make the rifle look more like the real deal. The second one I left in the CQC configeration. The rifle is very realistic in take down and it is a real pleasure to use. Good kick, easy to clean and lube, and the dry fire feature is great. No regrets at all with this one.
by Eric L. on 04/09/2012
"I just got this gun a month ago and it is absolutely amazing. The realism of this gun is incredible, all the parts on the gun are metal and high strength polymer plastic. When fired, the gun makes a very distinct sound and is very loud, so in other words its not for stealth. This gun has so much recoil that if you fire it with the stock folded it has muzzle raise. Also a very good gun for optics, on the top rail it has numbers, so if you have an acog and you want to switch it out for a rds, you can put the acog back on the same number and it will still be sighted in.

Pros
good accuracy at medium range
very adaptable for different optics, grips and other accessories
good attention to detail

Cons
sometimes under full auto the stock will collapse if not all the out or in.
uses a lot of gas unless on semi

over all a great gun!
by Im C. on 03/21/2012
"I must say this is a great gun.
When I first ordered this gun it sadly came broken (the clip that locks the stock straight was broken off) But I recieved help and great customer service from a C.S. Rep named Richard.
Now onto the gun itself
Pros-
-Great kick
-Pretty good accuracy
-consistant FPS (mine shoot about 390-400 w/.2 and about 340-360 w/.25s)
-Not as much of a gas guzzler as other GBBs
-Solid construction
-Bolt continuously locks back

Cons-
- You NEED a grip for this, it is quite off-weighted
- farely heavy
-The screws on the bottom rail are loose when it comes, make sure you tighten them
- The screw driver that is built into the gas chamber is very loose (I just took mine off cuz it kept falling out
- TERRIBLE SHIPPING!!!
This gun doesn't ship with any bubble rap, styro-foam, nothing
Overall this is a great gun, make sure to get an extra mag with it!!
by Brian C. on 02/26/2012
"This is one of the best guns I've used so far. Chronoed right at 400 pretty consistently which is right in the indoor ranges in my area. Trades are nice but to me not needed. Recoil is pretty close to real steel, feels a little higher than a. 22. Make sure if you use the thumb break method put the charging handle on the weak side or it WILL bite your thumb (I know from experience). All in all great gun for milsim guys, makes you want to toss all your aegs in the trash.

Pros
Realism
Weight is spot on to real steel
Recoil (it has it)
Real cap (milsim)

Cons
Real cap (skirmishers)
None

If you want the most realistic experience buy this (and other) gas gun.