Reviews: Matrix Gen. II Steel 3000rd Electric Auto-Winding Drum Magazine for AK Series Airsoft AEG

$60.00

20 Customer Reviews
Model: MAG-MG-B06
Location: D6-008

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Diego C. on 2014-01-30 21:20:51
"Really bad quality. Everything is hot glued in place and the whole thing screams that the motive behind the whole deal was "get me outta the factory as fast as possible". The soldering job was awful and I actually had to go back in and fix it, as it came with some wires not being connected. Took me about 2-3 hours to finally get it in functional condition.
by justin c. on 2013-12-29 19:07:33
"horrible quality.

I say this because i opened the mag up to install batterys to see that the feed tube WAS hot glued into place. where the feed tube met the gears it had broke off.

also it took nothing for a connection to break off the motor.

so ive put about 4 hours into this box mag for it to work half as well as i expected for $50. if your using a 8.4v battery the motor inside that mag may be able to keep up.

cheap china stuff at its finest.
by kyle m. on 2013-05-18 21:35:45
"I got this 2 days ago and it is flat out amazing! For only $50 you get a mid-quality drum mag. It feeds very fast and never has a misfeed. I use this on my Aftermath Ak47 and it looks cool and works very well.
by Jason S. on 2012-07-24 17:43:01
"Great item!

Pro:
Looks good on your AK!
Never need a spare mag.
Loading is fast
Works on my G&P, Echo1, JG and SRC AK, yes, I have lots of 'em
The entire mag outer casing is made out of steel, very high quality finish.
Remote pressure switch included.
durable, had mine for over a year now
Battery lasts a long time

Con:
None
by Daryl D. on 2012-05-30 12:29:55
"Purchased 2 of these units for echo1 redstar ak47.

The problems:
1. Cheap junk electric motor.
2. Does not feed fast enough with the battery pack it comes with.
3. Will fall out of the gun. It did this on 4 different echo1 redstar ak's.

The good and fixes:
1. Easy to work on to upgrade. Although I do have a full machine shop, so that does help. Replaced junk electric motor with new 12V motor from jameco electronics. This new motor is 3 times faster on its' rpm's. This fixed problem #1.
2. Since it is steel I was able to mount a new battery pouch on the outside. Manufactured and wired up a 4 C123 battery pack. This is wired in series. With the new motor and battery pack, I do not have to stop firing until I run out of bb's. Also the battery pack has lasted 5 full game days without replacement. That is somewhere around 12000 to 15000 bb's. Problem #2 fixed.
3. The drum is steel not pot metal (aka zinc) construction. Welded a piece of metal and shaped it and fixed problem #3. Now it stays in the gun very securely.


So in a nutshell if you have a $1000 mill, $300 welder, skills to use them, can solder and have $50 for parts, you can make these magazines something to be reckonded with.
by Daniel W. on 2012-05-09 13:07:05
"My friend and I both own this drum magazine and there seems to be a number of problems due to cheaping out on the design.

The hotglue that they use is obviously not going to work with metal so i don't know why the used any form of adhesive, i just taped it down and it seems to work.

The wires inside are of a very weak gauge and my friends wires came undone so he had to re-solder them.

I don't know if it's just mine or not but the wire that has the pressure pad on it that plugs into the drum magazine on the outside well im not sure if it's supposed to snap in or something but as soon as my wire gets any movement it will fall out of the plug which is very annoying. Unless i tape it down which obviously i don't want to do but it seems like it is the only thing, the wire will fall out.

It does feed well though.
by eric p. on 2012-04-13 22:50:17
"good but my broke after 1 or 2 months

pros:3000 rds
fast winding
fits on my ak very tight and good

cons:bbs got stuck in the winding gears
loud when winding
50$ not too cheap

over all fun,good,but loud and bbs gets stuck
by brandon b. on 2011-11-17 19:01:16
"very great drum mag looks incredable on my echo1 lmg, when i first got it it had problems fitting in but nothing one peace of tape couldnt fix, it feeds great but my batterys died, how ever its easy to open and replace, quality is top notch.
by Jonathan Q. on 2011-04-03 18:17:07
"So far, this mag has done well for me. The only problems I've come across deals with the wiring, and it is a minor thing, a quick fix. One of the contacts for the wires came loose, but I'm sure a little soddering will fix it, also the plug for the pressure switch popped off inside the drum. Still, an easy fix, a little super glue and it's right back where it was.

It worries me a little due to its weight, but there is only a little wiggle. However, with the problems I've encountered, I realise it's been through a lot of abuse and withstood. I highly recommend this drum mag if you plan to lay down some suppressing fire, flank an entrenched position to hose down the group hiding there, or simply if you find yourself with not enough ammunition in your standard clips.
by Adam S. on 2011-01-25 22:54:53
"This is the best thing ever when it comes to running an ak past 25 bbs per second. This think feeds like non other. Just get it you won't regret it.
by KENNETH d. on 2010-12-25 13:41:14
"Great buy, all steel on the outside, plastic gears on the inside (but thats with ALL drum mags) runs off four AAA batteries and winds FAST. high capacity, simple, and has the pressure cable and switch to plug and play. At this price, a must have for AK series users. Great for when the firefights require a support gun with just the switch of a magazine
by Jeramie C. on 2010-12-25 06:04:29
"I have had this drum mag for years and never had a misfeed. the only problem I had was the battery died to quickly, to alleviate this problem I installed deans plugs and installed a 7.2 v NiMH battery, now it keeps up with my 32 rps SRC AK ADV no problem. It's been dropped, kicked, fallen on top of and it still works awesome.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 20 reviews)

Pages:  1  2