Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Store Locations
Extended Phone Support Hours 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
New Evike Outpost Locations! SAVE 20% with coupon code: EVIKEOUTPOST (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

Shadow Op MB01 Type96 MK96 APS-2 Airsoft Bolt Action Sniper Rifle (Color: Desert)

235 Customer Reviews

by Max M. on 08/10/2017
"Realistic weight, comes lubed, great accuracy, good scope and bipod.
Only complaint is the rail for the bipod is wobbly.
by cody s. on 06/23/2017
"After owning this gun for several months it has not failed me in the slightest. Has great range, not to heavy , very accurate, good mag complicity for a sniper rifle but the only thing that bothers me it the hop up. It is pretty hard to get to but aside from that this is a great gun and would highly recommend this.
by Charlie R. on 02/19/2017
"I think this gun is very dank, read the rest of my review. Me and my friend were having a sniper battle in the woods. He wasn't calling his hits though, so i got triggered. I snuck up behind him and shot his in the back of the neck; he cussed me out, but it was well worth it. He ended up having to get the .46 gram novorich bb surgically removed from his neck, this gun has POWER!!!!!
by Charlie R. on 02/18/2017
"This gun has some serious power. I got mad at my friend and shot him with this gun at point blank range, it hit him right in the forehead. He was crying for hours.
by Brit M. on 04/04/2016
"Very excellent gun, shoots like a beast. I have had this gun for over 4 years and hasn't failed on me yet. Recommend .20's and up for best performance and fps. Check out Angel Customs for the upgrades, I upgraded with their internals for this gun and fps increased a lot.

PROS:
-Shoots accurate
-Bolt slides smoothly(might take some uses to ware it in)
-High fps
-External of mag is metal
-Safety trigger
-Sling ports on both sides and ends of gun
-Lower receiver made of strong plastic
-External and internal barrels both metal
-All internal parts made of metal except like 1 or 2
-Easy to take apart and upgrade

Cons:
-Bipod is crap, recommend buying a better quality
-Sling isn't too good, cheap metal ends will snap due to the weight of the gun
-Safety trigger doesnt work to well (You really don't need one, recommend upgrading to a better trigger box)

Overall this gun is one of my favorites, clean the gun every once and a while and make sure bolt slide is greased for smooth bolt-action
by Kent C J. on 03/02/2016
"This is a good gun, but please read the rest of my review.

I got this my upgrade to my UTG SOFT-M324 Gen 5 Master Sniper. That is a nice gun but I never should have wasted money on it because upgrading it is a pain in the rear. You can upgrade everything on the the MB01 except the stock, LOL. Everything. But first...

Is it confusing? Heck yeah it is! Is this an L96, an MB01, an APS2 or an S368? Made you look! No one knows, that's my conclusion. Yes, No, All Of The Above.

Out of the box: It goes together very easily. The speed loader comes with a little thingy that helps you shovel BBs into the MB01 mag. It's funky but it works fine. The first thing I did was load it up and fire a few. At 30 feet I was getting a 2" group using Cobb's .28 BBs. That's right out of the box with a dirty barrel. I noticed right away that it does not have the FPS of the M324. Not surprising as it's barrel is much longer.

Next, I took it apart. You really want to be careful when you do this.

*** Important *** If you don't intend to upgrade this gun soon I highly recommend that you not open it up! There is really no need unless something crazy is going on. That, and use good, polished BBs. It's the single best thing you can do for any AirSoft gun!

First I removed the barrel from the upper receiver. Loosen one small allen and unscrew the barrel. No big deal. It comes right apart and, contrary to internet myths, there is not too much oil or grease on anything. Remove the magazine guide attached to the barrel with a small phillips head and it slid right out. Brass barrel with two cheeseball spacers. You want to tape these in place. The HopUp is a basic one piece unit. The adjuster is a fairly coarse affair so a little turn can go a long way. The barrel is held in place in the HopUp unit with a pressure fitting that you can loosen with a small crescent wrench. Don't bend the barrel... if you remove the barrel from the HopUp you need to take note of the brass washer you will leave behind in the HopUp. Not much to see...

Next I wanted to see the cylinder. * Caution *. Remove the bolt housing with an allen wrench (it has thread tightener on it for a reason). When it is removed you want to carefully pull the piece that it secures back and off. There are small pins in the bolt and bolt holder that you want to pay close attention to. Pull it apart slowly and carefully and note the exact location of everything. Really.

I pulled out the cylinder and glanced at it - not too much grease. I didn't open it up.

I put everything back together.

My conclusion is that A) don't do this unless you are confident. B) they took care assembling it wherever they do this so that you have a usable rifle right out of the box. I didn't take any special care re-assembling it and the quality of the pieces shows. It works fine but I need to make sure I return the bolt solidly to make sure the BB is seated properly or else it will totally jam and freak out. Tightening the bolt holder by 1-2 thousands might fix this.

My recommendations: 1) Upgrade Barrel to 6.01mm SS and HopUp to an AEG version with new Bucking. 2) Metal Trigger 3) Upgrade Cylinder, Spring and Piston (with head to match HopUp).

That's my plan and I predict I will have a monster that places .28-.30 BBs with crazy accuracy and FPS.

Pros:
Accurate right out of the box.
Plastic trigger is really good with a solid piston guide. Really. I hope a metal upgrade can match it.
Easy to dis-assemble.
Easy to re-assemble.
Easy to Upgrade (and you will want to).

Cons:
Mine didn't come with a cleaning rod, just a plastic thingy that can slid down the barrel and clear a jam, not hold a cleaning cloth.
While I haven't adjusted it, the Allen Screw that adjusts the HopUp seems too loose and coarse. If you can't upgrade I would add some thread seal to this ASAP.
The rail adapter that attached to the front of the rifle in unforgivably loose fitting. I rolled my eyes at all the reviewers that mentioned this until I got this gun. Given what UTG does and is capable of, they should have just made a decision to re-machine this piece so it fits properly. I wrapped some tape on mine...
by Ryan L. on 11/16/2013
"This is a great gun. the only problem I had with it was the hard to reach hop up chamber. The bolt pulls very easily and comfortably. The bipod screws are crap but i don't mind it. Great price
by wesly r. on 02/11/2013
"i received this gun about four months ago ,first i just have to say that this gun is extremely accurate to begin with.the hop up is very strong and easily reachable with an allen wrench that is given with the sniper,the hop up can send .43 bb in the air and also because the high fps 420-450 fps.the bi-pod that is given with the gun is alright for being full metal,its really easy to take of and but on.next it already comes with an full meta trigger box so getting the UTG upgrade kit would be perfect for the next step in upgrading.overall this gun is well worth the money and without any upgrades you can hit targets up to 250ft accurately which i did have done with my gun.

pro:high quiality body and internals
high fps
extremely accurate
heavy (not to heavy but good for realism)
easy to pull the bolt back
comes with full meta gear box

cons:havent found any yet
by ethan p. on 12/31/2012
"This gun is completely great for beginner and expert snipers. Its is EXTREMELY ACCURATE! It has a weight of about 11lbs to me. Actually does shoot 250ft+ and does shoot about 480-500fps. Metal is strong around bolt. Overall I Think it is a really good gun I give it a 4.7 out of 5.0 because when you take the bolt out to clean it is hard and difficult to put back in. PROS: Awesome Fps!
Good Range
Good Sturdy Feel
Bolt Feels Realistic - Pulling Back is Like 20lb Bow.
Metal Parts!


CONS: When bolt is took out it is hard to put back in.


YOU DONT HAVE IT [email protected] GET [email protected]
by Tanner B. on 12/04/2012
"This is a great gun, I have used it for years. Amazing accuracy. I recommend .25g or higher. I mean you are a sniper right? Worked great all the time I had it. The inner workings are made of a cheap plastic, so if you pull the bolt to hard or mash the trigger with the excitement of the kill, you could very easily break its extremely crucial inner works.

Pros:
-accurate
-solid outer plastic
-plenty rounds per mag
-reliable
-realistic weight (could be a con, I loved it)
-dead silent

Cons:
-weak trigger structure
-mags would sometimes drop if not smacked or a shot loaded while the mag is in
-no easy access to threads in the barrel for silencers and such

Overall: Great gun, would recommend this to anyone looking for a sniper with a great feel and pin point accuracy
by Elijah g. on 08/01/2012
"Just got this gun today, and I have to say, Amazing gun. It is hands down the best airsoft gun I have bought (there was one problem I had with it, these two little screws fell out of the inside and messed up the bolt, but I figured it out and put them back in and it works great), other then that, best gun for the price, shoots so freakin far it's not even funny. Five stars~

Pros:
Nice weight
Realistic
Accurate
Feels and looks nice

Cons:
None really, except that one fact that the screws came out, but other then that, a perfect gun!
by Thomas G. on 07/13/2012
"This is a great gun, I would not change anything, it's great. A couple of days ago I was going to play airsoft, and I felt the barrel was loose, it was an easy fix, what happened there was a screw loose on the bottom of the gun. It's still a great gun

Pros:
Durable
Medal mag
Medal barrel & bolt
Easy to pull the bolt back

Cons:
Plastic outer (that doesn't effect anything)
by rob p. on 06/30/2012
"this gun is fairly accurate until you brake it in. this gun shoots about 460 fps or 480fps with .25 gram bbs. it doesn't come with scope rings so it you have your own scope you want to get scope rings.


pros cons
lightweight the sling
accurate orange tip
reliable
mostly metal
fps
looks real
by Chris S. on 06/06/2012
"This will be the third L96 type Airsoft sniper rifle I've owned and thus far it is the best. I recommend at least .23g BBs and at most .30g BBs for optimum accuracy/velocity distribution. I use .25g BBs as a sort of happy medium and in this rifle, they offer great range and accuracy with this gun as it comes (stock.)

Over all I highly recommend this L96 rifle.

Pros:
High velocity (measured with .25g BBs)
Smooth bolt pull
good weight
(Mine came with) 2 Mags

Cons:
In-Trigger safety is a little wide but this doesn't affect the gun
by Sean K. on 05/28/2012
"overall a very good sniper for someone who knows how to be paitent and take their time on a target.
pros
-accurate
-nice full metal mag
-durability
-mobility

cons
-hard to pull the bolt at first
-very difficult to zero in your scope unless you are experienced
-bbs that it comes with arent good
-bipod is not very good