Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Holiday Extended Phone Support Hours M-F 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Holidays! 20% OFF with coupon code: HOLIDAY20 (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

G&P Complete M4 Metal Receiver & Gearbox Airsoft AEG ProKit (Skull Frog) (Version: Rear Wire / Black)

13 Customer Reviews

by Lawrence T. on 01/18/2017
"Excellent rps and rang, I absolutely love it very strong and dependable.
by Neal R. on 12/28/2015
"I'm guessing the guy above got a bad one out of the batch my receiver was perfect in every way bolt catch worked flawlessly , selector switch had a nice firm click on every selection the gearbox was shimmed darn close to perfect , with a 363 mm 6.01 tightbore and prowin hopup maple leaf bucking I was getting 447 fps perfect for dmr 👍 great gearbox high rate of fire the absolutely only con for this is the m120 motor has ferrite magnets which get extremely hot after one match my hand was burning on the grip it stung. i recommend buying a lonex a1 or tienly 45,000 motor and its good !!
by Jack K. on 05/03/2014
"This thing was incredibly amazing for my M16. It was full metal, nice engravings, amazing motor, great RPM, high FPS, all around good.

Pros:
Great quality
Looks cool
Works well for M4s and M16s

Pros/cons:
Heavy( full metal)
High RPS
Deans connector

Cons:
Short deans wire protruding from the back
No hopup included
Dust cover stays open, you cannot latch it back so it protects the hopup
by Tommy S. on 04/09/2014
"This kit is for sure worth the money. The engravings give it a nice touch. The metal is of a really good quality. This is really made for a field gun unless u downgrade the spring like I did and add gears designed for high speed.
Pros:
-around 420 fps
-decent speed-18rps
-good internals
-ball bearings
-laser engraved
-decent motor
-no upgrade needed
-underpriced
-lets you build YOUR dream gun
Cons:
-The wiring sucks; buy new 16-18 gage wiring and solder it yourself
-The motor takes a second to get to max speed unlike a lonex so trigger response isn't the best
-gear ratio is normal which isn't good if u want high speed
-Wired to deans (easy fix with a $10 soldering gun lol)

The gearbox is great if you like tinkering. I've taken mine apart over 30 times and it still works fine. Fare warning, don't try upgrading this with other parts if you don't know what you're doing. If you do, no harm done because there's not a lot you'd have in this kit. Honestly this kit is a great deal by evike. Because evike offers sooo many m4 parts, you are able to build what you want. It makes my m4 seam more personal because I built it from the ground up. Get this kit and you won't be disappointed!--If you want a cqb set up, buy a lonex, high speed gears, an m100 spring, and new wiring (16-18 gage). It creates a SICK weapon and is what i use now!
by Kristian B. on 02/01/2014
"I would like to modify my original review as I was frustrated at a minor nuances but after looking at the receiver kit I let those minor things skew my view of the product. The receiver is not only visually appealing but it feels very solid, giving it a very realistic feel to any AEG you make out of it. The special Seal Team Six receiver engravings and the trigger guard are also a very nice touch. I one thing I didn't like and didn't expect was the fact that the bolt catch is non functioning, causing the bolt catch to rattle and fall out when breaking down the receivers in a breakdown case. Also the dust cover does not close due to a bulge in the part that clips on to the inside of the breach. Now here's the original problem & solution that caused me to be frustrated and write the negative review: The fake bolt has a bulge at the bottom of it that does not clear part of the inner upper receiver and it causes problems overall. the solution is to sand or file down the bottom of the fake bolt in order to allow the bolt to slide back and forth.

Pros:

- Full metal (CNC Aluminum)
- One of the few Dark Earth full metal receivers
- Self retaining pin making it easy to field strip
- Inexpensive internal and external upgrade for a performance AEG
- Comes with M120 motor and Deans connector

Cons:

- Have to modify the fake bolt to use the charging handle
- Dust cover does not close
- Bolt catch lever non-functioning, loose so it can be lost easily when field stripping
- Some Hop up units need to be modified to fit alongside the gearbox.
by wayne c. on 08/07/2013
"g&p metal reciever was a excelant upgrade from the g&g plastic unit. very solid construction. i purchased the g&p outer barrel assembly that fit perfectly.
by Marc R. on 04/09/2013
"Great lower , and gear box . Totally worth the money and if you can catch it with one of there coupons its even more worth the price , so just to let everyone know it does come with a m120 G&P motor and gears as well as an M110 spring it runs about 388 - 393 with a 10.5 inch barrel on it , I had to change the spring to an M90+ just to run it indoors and its now running 335 -338 . I Liked it so much I bought another one but in tan so I can have it for out door games and still use the same barrel..
by Chris C. on 03/12/2013
"Just got mine today and all I can say is wow!

This is absolutely worth the money.
-I opened up the gearbox and am going to throw in high speed gears because I've only heard bad things about G&P gears.

Great build for a cheap price
gearbox is $80
body is $100
motor is $40
pistol grip $15

PROS
-Cheap price
-Great BODY
-Motor

Cons
- i can't think of anything (just deans, i run tamiya)

OVERALL BUY ANY ONE OF THESE SET UPS BECAUSE ITS A GREAT DEAL
-I PAID 140 WITH ALL THE DISCOUNTS
by Bill B. on 05/13/2017
"This is my review of my very own G&P Skull Frog Gearbox and Receiver. Yours may be different:

Pros
-Very nice and sturdy construction
-Cool trades
-Different Trigger guard from your standard M4
-Nice ROF out-of-box with 7.4 1200mAH
-Around 420-400 fps (depends on barrel)
-Deans!
-Relatively straight-forward compatibility & assembly with various RISes and outer barrels, as well as stocks.

Now, for the cons... (does not outweigh Pros in my opinion)
-Charging handle. The spring seems longer than necessary, and bunches up when smushed together with the lower, complicating putting in a hop-up and getting good air-seal.
-Bolt catch does not function (not really super bad, just a little realism would be cool)
-Dust cover does not lock into place.
-Pro-Win HO is a little finicky, may just be mind though.
-Piston made need an upgrade

Overall, 4.3/5. Extremely impressed with exterior quality, interior is normal G&P quality, however a chain is as strong as it's weakest link. Would recommend a new piston for AOE, but it's not a huge issue until you put a lot of rounds in it.
by Trenton S. on 12/17/2013
"I got this as a base for a dmr that I am building, so far it's been great! Fires like a champ, externals make me cry out of happiness every time I see them. I like deans but I had to go and buy a new battery because I have been using tamiya for a while now. the mags I used (pmags) wobbles more than i thought comfortable but a little electric tape in the magwell and it's solid as a rock

Pros:
-metal
-logos
-g&p internals
-deans connectors

Cons:
-deans connectors
-mag wobbled alot
-charging handle on mine was rough and barely opened (had to do a little sanding)

All in all it is a great base with just a few little quirks that are easily fixed
by Cardanas E. on 06/21/2013
"WOW is all i have to say for this gun i just finished building mine today and shot it for the first time it has a nice little kick to it! load and shots at a fairly good range with a 250mm barrel and 10.3 outer barrel only bad thing i cam say about this is not all hop ups fit well with it i would recommend getting the g&p hop up
by Jayson H. on 04/02/2014
"Its a good starting build for a dream gun and all but I've got a major issue; My rail is half way onto the top receiver. I have a PWS MK112 rail and then I was putting it on it stopped half way onto the receiver. i cant take it off or move it other than if I bash the side of the rail with a rubber mallet to avoid damaging the thing until it is not the right place. i got it upright and straight but now i can't take off the top receiver if I wanted to switch it out, there's a bit of a gap, and doesn't look as nice as i wanted it to. And the wiring to the motor grip is one of those screw on types where you literally need to screw the wires onto the motor which some/most motors do not have so I'm stuck with the stock until told otherwise.

Pros: Good start, high ROF, nice change from plastic to metal, Light (Can be a con)

Cons: My rail, Screw on motor, A bit too light for a good hefty feel, with rail, tube, crane stock, and rail it weighs only 6.48 pounds, Mag wobble, fixable with tape but the inside of the magwell is really rough so it can be tough to pull mags out sometimes.
by Kristian B. on 01/30/2014
"I got this receiver kit hoping for good internals and externals. I can honestly say that the receiver itself feels very solid but there were a few things I couldn't ignore.

Pros: Solid construction

Cons: Bolt and charging handle have too much resistance, do not fit well
- Bolt release does not function like most G&P guns
- Selector switch is not responsive.