Reviews: APS V.2 Full Size UAR Urban Assault Rifle Airsoft AEG w/ Metal Gear Box

$165.00

22 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-APS-UAR-B

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 22 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Connor P. on 2016-08-27 19:20:10
"To be honest, this gun is underpriced. You get the pack of a close quarters gun, with the punch of a well made assault rifle. I used it today in a CQB field, and it was wonderful. No problems, pin point accurate. Lets go right into pros and cons.

Pros:
m4 mags makes it easy to buy mags
Good feeding
Outstanding accuracy. This will even work for paintball masks users that cant look down sights
Good rail space
Great FPS
Everything is ambidextrous
Good trigger pull
Great Gearbox
No jams so far
Comes with 2 Hi-Cap magazines
Great Grip
Lots of storage space (WATCH THE EVIKE VIDEO)
Let me just emphasize how great the accuracy is

Cons:
The battery compartment is a bit difficult to get used to and only works with small types and lipo but you get used to it.
by toby t. on 2016-08-13 06:35:28
"first off i do alot of air smithing... i bought the gen 1 version of this platform we will start on the body and receiver and internal receiver parts 400mm stainless tbb of sorts and a very interesting set of barrel to lower receiver stability mounts and the G.B bolt to the ak style metal hop up this gun is prolly the most accurate ive ever seen. the rest of the receiver is sturdy poly light and durable enough butt someone straight in the face 2 cons with the gen 1 cant use most m4 mags and my firing selector broke internally studied it fer five mins and put a big screw into the lower receiver from the outside it fixed the problem and more durable now. 3 fully ambidextrous mag releases are nice, BTW i run a 9 pound aug usually. the gen 1 also featured its battery storage under the top ris mount could prolly fit a 12 v stick type in there the wiring was front mounted up there it was also silver wire the wiring harness was very long. on to the gearbox.... gears standard aps m130 shreds them good for m120 m125 springs. anti heat selector plate gets alot of wear from changing firing modes. external gearbox metal selector arms may require shimming. take care when u insert the gearbox/remove, fire selector should be on semi . stainless air nozzle almost identical to my baal bore up nozzle, cylinder head is poly with stainless nozzle slide also has a trumpet design fer silent piston head. piston head was aps aluminum lightweight 6 hole. piston was the aps special half metal half poly teeth kinda trashy. the gearbox shell is weak m125 may break the front off lol however if you maintain this weapon and keep it simple the quick change spring feature is well worth it. when i field this gun i use the small mags got 6 and i installed the silent piston setup, so far this was the only platform that could attain a 50 to 65% reduction in noise on single fire and a conservative 30% reduction noise on auto still maintaining 410 fps and accurate. those test runs were fun it is perfect for spec ops missions or just ghosting people out of a base. it got a 4 star cause of the firing selector i had to fix with a screw and the pot metal gearbox shell
by Christian T. on 2016-08-11 02:47:06
"I don't understand why this rifle gets so much hate. I've used this at a few indoor and outdoor events and it can reach out and nail anything from a mile away. I'm gonna keep this review simple with pros and cons but I'll still elaborate. Overall it's a good gun. Not the best out there, but for the price it's a must have for any bullpup lovers.

+ Incredibly ergonomic. It's lightweight but definitely doesn't feel like a toy.
+ Compact and deadly accurate. Can be used at all ranges and indoors.
+ Functional bolt catch and mag release placement is nice.
+ Amazing price for such a unique design.
+ Handling is near perfect. People complain that it is rear heavy but that helps the overall feel.
+ 2 mags and 2 extra fps springs!

- Disassembly sucks at first. You'll need to unscrew the flash hider (glued on) in order to take it apart and this will scratch up the painted finish.
- Battery compartment sucks more. It's located in the rear of the gun and only lipos or small types and fit. Even then it's a tight fit.
- ROF is trash is semi but decent in full auto. The gun isn't competitive in cqb because of the long trigger pull.
- No iron sights.

Overall it's best to use this as a marksman rifle. Play to the gun's strengths and you'll have an affordable DMR that's lightweight and effective.
by Sean B. on 2016-07-08 15:21:09
"Before I start by listing my issues with this gun I would like to start with the pros. I like the look and feel of this gun, its unique and you don't see everyone carrying this around when you meet other people at airsoft events. I like the fact it is a bull pup rifle, although it is built for cqb it can be utilized for taking on farther targets. I like the simplicity of removing the spring to change the fps limit. Not lets list some cons I have, I had this gun for about a month before the motor stopped working. I read so many comments about how well his gun works and I am very disappointed by the fact that it now occupies a corner of my house collecting dust. I loved this gun when it was working but hopefully I can get it fixed soon......
by isaac k. on 2016-06-04 13:50:41
"i used this gun 2 times then the gear box broke. has low fps and feels like a made in china kids toy
by Lazaro R. on 2015-12-07 07:08:45
"I have had this gun for a full year before the trigger selector broke... The UAR still works, the place I went to repair it did not do such a good job (local Miami place). In order to fully repair the trigger selector I would have had to spend the same amount that I did to purchase it, to repair it.

All and all... this is a great gun, while it was running, I never had a complain... it was light weight, small and compact for CQB, but it had the range for a field, even without swapping out the "long range spring" it came with. Which was easy to do... Even adding a new muzzle was easy.
by Lance R. on 2015-10-29 06:56:55
"Great design concept. This will definitely get attention on the field. The execution of the UAR is flawed though. I understood before getting the UAR that there would be magazine compatibility problems, but that was easily resolved. I used the upgrade spring exclusively in this, and the UAR came in at a consistent 1.49 - 1.51 Joules. The stock Hopup is metal, and had a decent seal with the nozzle. Bucking tore after 1500 bbs, and was replaced with a ProWin AK hopup chamber and madbull bucking. Performance in shot consistency improved marginally.

The Version 3 gearbox is decent, but I don't believe it was intended to be used with the upgraded spring on a normal basis. After a year of use, and 8,000 - 10,000 bbs later the gearbox was removed for maintenance. I discovered that several teeth were broken on the gears, and yet performance did not seem to be any different than when I first used the UAR. Piston was in need of replacement after finding a few cracks.

The trigger on the UAR seemed to be more like a two stage trigger, quite a bit of play in the linkage before the trigger made contact with the tripper on the gearbox. This was easy to remedy with a set screw located inside the UAR, but the gearbox will need to be removed to access this screw. Once changed, trigger response improved due to slack being removed from linkage. Still has the same firm squeeze.

All-in-all, not a bad design, with modifications, and upgrading the gearbox, or replacing with an HPA system.
by Ryan L. on 2015-08-19 11:04:38
"I have actually owned two of these rifles, version 1 and version 2. In the version 1 I had issues with the battery, and the feeding. The battery was no big deal, there are easy work arounds. However the feeding issues killed it. I tried multiple brands of magazines, high-cap and mid-caps. Maybe 1 in 10 would feed. It went back. Then they brought out version 2, saying they addressed both the battery and feeding issue. Surprise, it still didn't feed worth squat, same issues as the first.

It's a great concept design, and to be honest, if they could fix the feed issue, I would buy another, but until then, no chance.
by Darrin L. on 2015-08-08 19:02:24
"This gun is reliable, I left it outside all winter in the freezing cold and it still works!

The range is great too!

However, the mags that come with the gun do not work, however, m4 mags work great!


Also, you need a red dot sight, since you need to aim!
by Mike M. on 2015-02-16 20:20:55
"Great design, but very poor execution. Hopup, linkages, even the motor all fail far too quickly. The manufacturer came up with a great idea, but simply didn't have the ability to make it work well. It boils down to being a cheap gun with a good design. I bought both versions and now on my third repair of the V2, an only slightly better product. Buy a gun from any reputable manufacturer, not this one.
by isaac k. on 2014-12-08 20:36:54
"This gun is really good for intermedanats. The only cons are the mags from your other gun (m4,ak47,ext.), the place you put your battery is really small so you can not put many different types of bateries in the gun.
by david p. on 2014-08-10 20:51:37
"This gun is a piece of garbage!! It has a POORLY designed magwell and will drop the mag out all the time just from movement.
This gun is designed solely to attract young buyers because of its looks, I bought it for my son and he is regretting it big time!!
I have done every magwell/magazine mod that is out there and still poop!
Do yourself a favor and stay away from this lemon.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 22 reviews)

Pages:  1  2