Reviews: CYMA M14 RIS EBR (Evil Black Rifle) Custom Full Metal Airsoft AEG Sniper Rifle - Black

$250.00 $200.00

15 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-CM032EBR-B
Location: A3-023 WN1-T3

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 15 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Randall J. on 2014-07-25 11:04:45
"Upon receiving this gun, I was ecstatic to just look at it. It was heavy, realistic and well built. The body is full metal, except for the hand guard, grip and stock. As much as Inloved the looks, there were major issues with mine. First off, mine did not come with a battery and charger. Kind of pointless if there's no airsoft store near my location and I can't use my gun. Second, the bolt gets stuck every time I pull it back. Third, the grip was even looser than the stock. I fixed it easily though by tightening the screw. From what I can see, the CYMA EBR is a great gun for looks, but terrible with some parts of it. I don't know if anyone else has these problems with theirs, but I am just pointing out what is wrong with mine. Overall, I do not highly recommend this gun. Too many issues that I cannot fix.
by Dante W. on 2014-07-14 13:07:41
"CYMA M14 RIS EBR

There are several things I would like to mention about this gun.

1: This gun is quite heavy, although not unbearably so. I know quite a few reviewers have remarked upon this already, but it never quite seems to get it across. I ran with this gun for four hours with no sling, and afterwards I was EXHAUSTED.

2: The EBR is almost completely metal, however, the stock and the pistol grip are polymer. This tends to make the gun seem rather front heavy, although it is slightly balanced by the fact that it has battery storage in the crane stock. I would recommend running this gun with a 9.6v battery, due to the fact that the stock battery is an 8.4v and will not maximize the performance of the gun.

3: I, unlike many of the other reviewers HAVE used this gun stock (airsoft lingo translation: without upgrades), and it preforms very well. It has decent range for a stock weapon, and chrono'd in at 360fps (average) wih a maximum deviation of 4fps. This is ideal for a dmr in the making, because constant and dependable power means the bb will constantly and dependably be going to the same distance.

4: I have a few upgrade ideas for experienced and inexperienced airsofters out there.

4a: The first thing that is essential to the making to a dmr is a scope(Available at evike!). It really doesn't matter what kind of scope you have, but I will tell that for your scope mounts, you will need risers to get your scope above the built-in iron sights. Next, I recommend a foregrip and a bipod (yes, both). Also, if you really want to, ou could put on a tactical light, although I really don't see the point in this (it's not like you're going to be using this to clear rooms).

4b: I recommend that next you get an m135 or an m140 spring(both available at evike!), to get a higher fps rating, and ultimately more range.

4c: My next recommendation is a stainless steel 6.03 or 6.02 500-550mm precision inner barrel (once again, available at evike). I do NOT recommend getting a 6.01 precision inner barrel due to the fact that bbs will jam if you fire too fast in semi-automatic. Another alternative, if you want to skip recommendation 4d, you can purchase a "miracle barrel". These barrels will run you pricey, and usually cost between $70 and $80 (sadly, these are unavailable at evike).

4d: If you do take my recommendation for step 4c, you will now have an inner barrel that is sticking out of the end of your gun. To cover this, you will need a barrel extension or mock suppressor. A good lightweight (although still metal), option is the 'spartan doctrine 200mm mock suppressor'.

6: The final and saddening thing you must now do is to remove the full-auto capability of your gun. Sorry guys, putting in a mosfet does NOT count in most fields. this has been a thorn in my side for quite a while. Three and Four-round burst are life when it comes to long-range assault rifles.

That has wrapped it up for my review and suggested upgrades for the CYMA M14 EBR. I hope you found it useful and informative.

~D. Williams
by Adam C. on 2014-06-12 10:07:51
"Upon purchasing my CYMA M14EBR I have been impressed. Solid metal railing and cage, outter barrel, upper...I bagan a search for plastic and was pleased at how little plastic is there (stock& handle). With only a few more screws,because of the cage, than the CYMA Field M14; this rifle has EEEEZZZZ internals to tech. I too "upgraded" ad found a huge improvement in range and accuracy(6.03innbar. , M90spring, 11.1v lipo). Sorry to the guy who got the lemmon, because this gun is feared and revered. GO CYMA, can't wait for the model without these negitaves:
1.Pistol grip comes loose often, kinda hard to tighten in field
2. Adjustable crane stock is cool, finding an 11.1 lipo with sufficiant mAh that fits, not cool.
3.A potmetal connection that holds under the barrel a crome rod to the bolt feature has broken on this and one of my field M14s. Fixing them was fun. They both broke at a point that was right where the rods come together and sheered all thread off inside.

THANKS TO EVIKE.COM!
ADAM
by Matt Z. on 2014-03-14 10:14:59
"Have had this gun for almost a year and have had no issues with it. However, i modified it as soon as I received it, so i never really used to stock. MOSFET, 11.1v lipo, custom air seal job, and 6.01 barrel were all added by me. And it makes a huge improvement to an already amazing gun. The gun is rather heavy and a 2 or 3 point sling is almost need to haul it around comfortably (it is made to have slings to take advantage of the sling points).

Pro:
accurite
solid build except for the grip, i needed to use locktite on the screws
lots of rail space
version 7 gearbox has minor tweaks from older models.
very quiet

Cons:
heavy
like all cyma m14's, it needed a softer bucking.


being rear wired has its own pros and cons...

this guns HAS A LONG TYPE MOTOR. not a short type like usual ver. 7.
by Rory I. on 2014-03-03 09:53:45
"I love and hate this gun. I love how it looks, how it feels an how it shoots when it is up to it's potential. What I do not love is how it came broke and it has broken on me three different occasions. I think I could have possibly received a lemon but I'm tired of dumping more $ into it and not being able to full enjoy it.

I have had to replace

Hop up unit
Air nozzle
Piston
Cylinder head
Piston head

and it still isn't working right.... maybe I received a bad one but I haven't enjoyed it so far.
by Sean P. on 2014-02-09 13:59:16
"Pros:
Silent
Accurate
Iron sights

Cons:
Weight
Stock
by Milton M. on 2013-12-11 13:18:27
"I have had this gun for a year now and i really love it! It works really great, i have used it in many operations and have never had a problem with it, Because it is pretty much full metal some people say it's heavy (it's 9 pounds), but for me it's no problem carrying it around all day. And i have actually used it in CQB!

The gun has pretty good range usually reaches out about 130-150ft. FPS is okay, I chronoed mine at about 380fps.


Pros:

Pretty good internals!

Awesome look, sturdy construction

Nice range, good fps

Comes with an cool looking flash hider.

good weight

Crane stock for this larger batteries



Cons:

None
by Nick S. on 2013-09-20 09:40:22
"This is a gun that I have mixed feelings for. When I first received it in the middle of last summer, the accuracy, fps and overall performance of the gun was fantastic, but there was one problem. The gear box started to act up and the gun made a low thumping sound. The fps dropped to about 50 fps and I was sure it was a fluke, so I sent it back and I am waiting for them to send it to me, hopefully fixed, but anyway just to be aware that can happen, but it is a great machine gun or full auto sniper.
Here are some pros and cons:

Pros:
Fps
semi auto firing cycles nicely
weight is realistic, but not cumbersome
rails everywhere!
rails readily available by the rear sight for a sniper scope, but it is a little loose
sights are very nice and easily adjustable
mock charging handle makes you feel pretty cool

cons:
my minor mishap
orange tip is a little too much
need a crane stock type battery for this gun and it does not come with a battery of its own make sure you buy one!



All in all this gun is very nice and I am excited to get it back it is a good buy and if you like to have long-range capabilities, while maintaining a constant rate of fire, this gun is for you.
by Shawn H. on 2013-08-01 11:37:04
"Fantastic gun! I love this thing, this is my primary. Heavy, very accurate weight and feel to the real thing, a very solid and smooth shooting gun.

Only has a few downsides like any other gun: Wobbly stock, easily fixed with some electrical tape around the buffer tube. The small rear rail at the aft end is useless unless you are connecting your sight/riser mount to the front as well. If you don't plan on using a crane stock, you will have to re-wire the battery to the front as it is wired for crane stock batteries only. A small length of wire and two simple splices will fix that. V7 gearboxes are not too difficult to work on, but there is much more to it than a regular V2 M4 gearbox. If you plan to upgrade the gearbox like I did, do everything all at once. The last thing you want to go is dive in and out of that gearbox multiple times. Stock internals are good, but not the best, esp since you probably want to make this a DMR or sniper. The orange cap comes off easily from the front, but I could not remove the front muzzle at all. Tried every trick in the book. I ended up adding a tight bore and HALO mock suppressor to it, which did fit with a little electrical tape luckily. can be found here: http://www.evike.com/product_info.php?products_id=27121

Pros:
Looks sexy
Full metal, solid and sturdy
Reliable
rail space a-plenty
can put any extendable stock on there
Decent stock internals

Cons:
wired for rear batteries
Rear sight rail is garbage
Extremely difficult to remove front muzzle
V7 gearboxes are great, but difficult to work on
Very few mock suppressors available
by David G. on 2013-06-03 17:44:09
"Great Rifle, my Primary, my Baby.

It does have a wobbly stock, and butterfly battery, but I replaced the stock with a MagPull Stock, need heavy modifications to it, also I put about 3 layers of electrical tape to the buffer tube, then put the stock back on, now there is no wobble.
I really with the AEG Kart M14 was in stock, I hate the stock this gun has.

Pro:
Full Metal, heavy.
Tons of rail space
Very accurate.

Cons:
A bit low on power
by Tyler C. on 2013-05-01 17:11:43
"I recieved this rifle back in January. it is truely a beautifull peice of equipment. The rifle has a decent rate of fire and a good accurate range. now the problems. This is a cast alluminum rifle, it may be metal but the body is weak. first the compensator broke off. (wich in turn breaking the orange tip therefore killing my warrenty) next one of the nobs on the battery cover on the crane stock broke off. about two months ago some of the guys on my team were fooling around and was pushed into me resulting in my rifle falling on the ground. Its belived this resulted in a craked frame by the rear swing mount. and finaly I ended up biffing it in an airsoft game resulting in the stock breaking clean off the weapon.(note: I am not a noob and I protected my rifle first during the fall) all in all the internals for this M14 EBR are amazing, the body to this is VERY weak. I am very disapointed in the quality of the externals on this product.

Pros:
Accurate
long rang
reliable
hefty weight (con if your in long games)
good look

Cons:
weak body
weak polymer
loose grip
wobbly stock(more of an annoyance)
by Ben S. on 2013-01-16 15:21:55
"This gun is very good, I can hit enemys from 200+ with .28s and no upgrades.

Pros:
Looks
Common mag
iron sights
battery in stock for esy change, unlike g&g or ca
functioning bolt
nice pistol grip
sling mounts
easy hop adjustment
fully customizleable

Cons:

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 15 reviews)

Pages:  1  2