Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Holiday Extended Phone Support Hours M-F 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Holidays! 20% OFF with coupon code: HOLIDAY20 (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

IWI Licensed TAVOR TAR-21 Airsoft AEG Rifle by Umarex w/ Metal Gearbox (Color: Black / Competition Series)

48 Customer Reviews

by Stella K. on 12/20/2013
"This gun a is an incredibley well made gun. The polymer that its made of feels unbreakable in your hands. The accuracy is simply amazing as the bulpup design allows a very long barrell. I can see myself being able to dominate in any scenario be it CQB or Field play.

The Good
Compact (for an assualt rifle)
Excellent external build
pretty good ROF
amazing accuracy
battery installation is realativley easy

The Bad
None so far
by Stella K. on 12/20/2013
"Ive owned this weapon for a few months now and I have to say it has held up incredibly well. Now the price tag may seem a bit unreasonable at first but I can with the utmost confidence that every dollar is well spent.

Short Story
I went to an outdoor airsoft skirmish sporting this weapon and was very impressed. The length of the barrel due to the bulpup design of the rifle allowed me to put up an accurate wall of bbs. And because the weapon itself is quite compact, I found it very easy to manuver in close quarters spaces. Near the beginning of the war the ever feared clouds rolled in and delivered upon the mass of airsoft players and unrelenting rain. However, not once was I worried as the Tar was easily able to cope with the strenious conditions and kept firing throughout the entire event. I can also say that the constant "Hey dude, nice Tar" was a nice benefit.

The overall construction of this weapon is incredibaly solid, Ive never felt as though it might break at any point during my use with it. Battery installation is a snap, as the butt plate easily opens up to reveal the compartment. One problem Ive had though is that some of the M4 mags Ive purchased do not fit into the magwell quite as snugly as I would have liked, but this is just my opinion.

Get this gun!!! It is awsome
by Stella K. on 12/20/2013
"Ive owned this weapon for a few months now and I have to say it has held up incredibly well. Now the price tag may seem a bit unreasonable at first but I can with the utmost confidence that every dollar is well spent.

Short Story
I went to an outdoor airsoft skirmish sporting this weapon and was very impressed. The length of the barrel due to the bulpup design of the rifle allowed me to put up an accurate wall of bbs. And because the weapon itself is quite compact, I found it very easy to manuver in close quarters spaces. Near the beginning of the war the ever feared clouds rolled in and delivered upon the mass of airsoft players and unrelenting rain. However, not once was I worried as the Tar was easily able to cope with the strenious conditions and kept firing throughout the entire event. I can also say that the constant "Hey dude, nice Tar" was a nice benefit.

The overall construction of this weapon is incredibaly solid, Ive never felt as though it might break at any point during my use with it. Battery installation is a snap, as the butt plate easily opens up to reveal the compartment. One problem Ive had though is that some of the M4 mags Ive purchased do not fit into the magwell quite as snugly as I would have liked, but this is just my opinion.

Get this gun!!! It is awsome
by JOSH W. on 12/20/2013
"i love my tar i cant put it down. i have alot of money into it that it didnt need it was already to good. now when a bring to the field ppl r scared of me and im 14. its excellent no problems shoots 370 out of the box

please answer: how do i put an m203 on my tar


Pros
range
comfortable
high rof
accuracy

cons
perfict nothing wrong with mine
by JOSH W. on 12/20/2013
"i love my tar i cant put it down. i have alot of money into it that it didnt need it was already to good. now when a bring to the field ppl r scared of me and im 14. its excellent no problems shoots 370 out of the box

please answer: how do i put an m203 on my tar


Pros
range
comfortable
high rof
accuracy

cons
perfict nothing wrong with mine
by Sheelone V. on 12/20/2013
"This is honestly the finest airsoft battle rifle I have ever owned, better than my Masada, better than my KWA SR10. Sleek, sturdy, rugged, reliable, simple, this is truly a one of a kind AEG. ARES have outdone themselves and brought to the table a fascinating airsoft gun thatís not only accurate but short in length.
Pros.
- Nylon Fiber Body
- Tactical Rails
- Bullpup design
- Battery compartment fits 9.6v 1600 Butterfly or Nun chuck with ease
- The guard in front of the Pistol Grip protects your hand
- Completely Ambidextrous aside from fire selector
- Charging Handle and rail can be switched to either side
- QD spring Change
- Tight Bore Barrel comes standard but diameter is unknown (I switched the barrel for an Angel Custom 500mm 6.01)
- Simplistic Design
- Bolt catch button resets internals to a resting position kinda like VFCís M4s but not really.
- Black Flash hider included ( get a more aggressive one, the birdcage style is kinda lame)
- Great Rate of fire, very surprised with results from 9.6v
- Great range due to tight bore barrel
- Very accurate
- Those weird shapes and the circular thing behind the rear iron sight is used for real steel grade Tavor 21accessories and I have a 5x magnifier from IWI itself attached to help out the EOTech I have mounted
- Disassembly is a pain but when you disassemble the platform once you want to do it over and over again, now I know how the Tar 21ís firing mechanism, safety, trigger, charging handle, and most parts on the gearbox work, of course I know how Gearboxes work. (con for most) (visit redwolfairsoft for disassembly instructions)
- Trademarks All around
- Extremely Realistic (my uncle owns a Tar 21)
- Serial number
Cons.
- Magazine catch irritates your hand because it constantly pokes your hand
- Might accidentally bump into the mag catch with trigger hand and eject mag causing you to probably lose a clip
- Iron sights are not adjustable for windage and elevation
- Trigger become squeaky after some time (just spray the springs with lubricant)
- Semi auto stops working but is an easy fix (idk how I did it but I did)
- The Nylon Fiber is kinda smooth so I recommend wearing gloves
- The QD sling mounts attached to the stock are NOT made to fit ANY QD sling adapter what so ever. I tried and because it didnít fit I had to make my own sling point on the stock. The rings that were supposed to be engraved inside the adapter were not present and even if they were my QD sling swivel wouldnít have fit
- Not enough rail space on top for an ACOG
- Outer Barrel is a bit wobbly, not too much but enoug
by Sheelone V. on 12/20/2013
"This is honestly the finest airsoft battle rifle I have ever owned, better than my Masada, better than my KWA SR10. Sleek, sturdy, rugged, reliable, simple, this is truly a one of a kind AEG. ARES have outdone themselves and brought to the table a fascinating airsoft gun thatís not only accurate but short in length.
Pros.
- Nylon Fiber Body
- Tactical Rails
- Bullpup design
- Battery compartment fits 9.6v 1600 Butterfly or Nun chuck with ease
- The guard in front of the Pistol Grip protects your hand
- Completely Ambidextrous aside from fire selector
- Charging Handle and rail can be switched to either side
- QD spring Change
- Tight Bore Barrel comes standard but diameter is unknown (I switched the barrel for an Angel Custom 500mm 6.01)
- Simplistic Design
- Bolt catch button resets internals to a resting position kinda like VFCís M4s but not really.
- Black Flash hider included ( get a more aggressive one, the birdcage style is kinda lame)
- Great Rate of fire, very surprised with results from 9.6v
- Great range due to tight bore barrel
- Very accurate
- Those weird shapes and the circular thing behind the rear iron sight is used for real steel grade Tavor 21accessories and I have a 5x magnifier from IWI itself attached to help out the EOTech I have mounted
- Disassembly is a pain but when you disassemble the platform once you want to do it over and over again, now I know how the Tar 21ís firing mechanism, safety, trigger, charging handle, and most parts on the gearbox work, of course I know how Gearboxes work. (con for most) (visit redwolfairsoft for disassembly instructions)
- Trademarks All around
- Extremely Realistic (my uncle owns a Tar 21)
- Serial number
Cons.
- Magazine catch irritates your hand because it constantly pokes your hand
- Might accidentally bump into the mag catch with trigger hand and eject mag causing you to probably lose a clip
- Iron sights are not adjustable for windage and elevation
- Trigger become squeaky after some time (just spray the springs with lubricant)
- Semi auto stops working but is an easy fix (idk how I did it but I did)
- The Nylon Fiber is kinda smooth so I recommend wearing gloves
- The QD sling mounts attached to the stock are NOT made to fit ANY QD sling adapter what so ever. I tried and because it didnít fit I had to make my own sling point on the stock. The rings that were supposed to be engraved inside the adapter were not present and even if they were my QD sling swivel wouldnít have fit
- Not enough rail space on top for an ACOG
- Outer Barrel is a bit wobbly, not too much but enoug
by Robert H. on 07/15/2013
"This is my first gun and I love it! If your looking for a cool bullpup airsoft gun I'd recommend this gun. At first I was nervous because it was plastic but it's pretty durable, I banged it around quite a bit this weekend and nothing broke or cracked.

I outfitted mine with metal rails a laser and a red dot sight and the weight feels pretty good, others have mention this but I want to point out the weight of this gun is all in the rear so pickup up a two-point sling aswell.

My only real compliant with the gun is that my safety selector broke during shipping.
by Eric M. on 05/24/2013
"I got this gun a few weeks ago, and I have to say, I'm impressed with it so far. It hasn't broken down, like several of my "full metal" M4 AEG's have right out of the box, which definitely puts this gun in my "win" column.

That said, the gun is a little creaky, there is a noticeable seam running down the middle, and where the optics rail is mounted wobbles, and cannot be secured, as far as I've seen (the rail itself doesn't wobble).
The gun fires pretty hard, much harder than I expected. It's range is still CQB, though, this isn't what I would use in an outdoor environment with engagement ranges of over 50-70 meters.

The only real problems I've had with this gun is that the flash hider that comes with the gun is ultra flimsy, it will break if you run into something too hard. Get a metal flash hider as soon as possible.
The battery space is also a lot smaller than you would think. I have an 8.4 mini nunchuck set up, and there is barely enough room for it an all the wires. If you have a PEQ box, I'd suggest using that (though you may need to drill a small hole in the handguard for your wiring, but it's not like this is a 500 dollar investment)

Other than that, this gun is absolutely solid. Lightweight, extremely maneuverable, can accept a good amount of accessories (get the metal rail pack if you plan on putting anything on this. http://www.zahal.org/products/tavor-picatinny-rail?path_pare-
nt=253283
That's a link to a handguard rail for grips or anything else, should you want it. It's expensive, but I haven't found another tavor tailored handgaurd rail out there)

Pros:
-Shoots hard and accurate
-Lightweight
-Tight magwell (little or no mag wobble, accepts Beta project P-mags and many others)
-Full metal gearbox
-Quick change spring
-good amount of rail space (with the rail pack)
-Functioning charging handle (bolt release also relaxes the spring, very handy)

Cons
-Creaky (but still solid, I'm not worried about the gun coming apart)
-Wobbly/loose parts
-Not suitable for ranged engagements
-Stock plastic exterior parts are crap
-fire selector doesn't really lock into place when on semi
by Steve Y. on 04/27/2013
"This gun is great! It's very reliable, accurate, and fits comfortably. Great for CQB. It's got good power and really high rate of fire. Only thing about it is the ABS, but that isn't even a big problem. Recommended!
by Aaron J. on 01/22/2013
"amazing gun i will go straight to the pros and cons

pros:very accurate
fast rate of fire
very comfortable
great fps and is perfect for CQB

cons:iron sights are a little weird (i purchased a red dot and it makes the gun nearly perfect)
mag is a little wobbly when its in the gun (not that much of a con just somewhat doesn't agree with my OCD :P)

It performs great in battle. heads turned when i shot this beastly gun. people were testing it out and getting jealous. 2 friends actually got the gun about a week after i did.

overall the gun deserves the 5/5 considering how measly the cons are
by Aaron H. on 06/16/2017
"I have had the awesome joy of owning one of these rifles (bought at AMS) and it has been one of the best non-M4 or AK rifles that is in my collection. I am a serious airsofter and can tell you that this gun is very decent for the price! The fact that it uses standard m4-style magazines is great, along with the ergonomic and good feel of the gun. I must say that a good red dot sight is preferred for this gun, but that is much up to you! I might also add that this is NOT the same gun from the popular Halo franchise which it states in the description. it may retain similarities, but the design is VERY different. I would recommend that whoever put that in the description that they take it out to avoid confusion. if you type "Halo MA5D Assault Rifle" into a search engine, you will realize that these two guns are very different.
anyway, what a great rifle; would recommend to anyone but the very top tier players!
by Derek S. on 03/05/2017
"This is a very unique weapon, great all around weapon. Good enough range for field play. Not enough power to cut through thick brush though.. although I've been using this weapon along side a hk416, and a CM18-L so far I've only had issues with the hk, just as accurate because it's bullpup( gearbox near the rear) so you don't lose barrel length. Good fire rate good sound. Very mobile. Tough and thick grainy plastic (if you like smooth plastic body this is not for you) battery box is kinda small but manageable. No issues would recommend to any friend
by Zach M. on 11/27/2016
"Disclaimer- first review.
I've used this gun for over a year now and ive got to say I love it more than most of the other automatics I've used. I've custom made a single point sling for it and run with a co2 revolver during matches. Here's what I've found- with no modifications yes I didn't have the slickest or hardest hitting rifle on the field, but I had the highest versatility. I can engage in open combat at range, accurately covering for teammates to move up, then also seamlessly slip into cqb to storm a building. The shorter length and bull pup design make it quick to move around and also for...unexpected situations allow one arm use as you can pull it into your shoulder due to the grip being forward.(bullpup). I have needed to and have used this to my advantage multiple times to draw my sidearm and fire both. (Not recommended) (yes it worked) I would however recommend a sight of some sort, the iron sights at least for me are adequate, but I use a green dot sight.
Pros: accurate
Decent rate of fire
Bullpup
Solid gun
Very stable,maneuverability
Cqb

Cons:(for me) iron sights(they are accurate,but unique)
Bullpup(easy to hit mag release by accident,very not good during a game)
Wish there was more metal(don't we always)

Wonderful beginner weapon
by Matt T. on 08/24/2016
"Ok I recieved this gun about 3 weeks ago, and I've thrown around 5000 bbs through the gun, and it functions phenomenally, not to say it has its drawbacks
the back heavy part is something to get used to and it's loud when you fire the gun
Ok the part that that I'm not to happy with is the pins, they slide out, the back ones the most.
The trigger pin falls out when pushed from the side, and when shooting during a game that happen a lot
overall it's am good gun with a good ROF, and range.
It feels nice