Reviews: IWI Licensed TAVOR TAR-21 Airsoft AEG Rifle by Umarex w/ Metal Gearbox (Black / Competition Series)

$174.95

25 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-2278050

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 25 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Matt T. on 2016-08-24 10:17:02
"Ok I recieved this gun about 3 weeks ago, and I've thrown around 5000 bbs through the gun, and it functions phenomenally, not to say it has its drawbacks
the back heavy part is something to get used to and it's loud when you fire the gun
Ok the part that that I'm not to happy with is the pins, they slide out, the back ones the most.
The trigger pin falls out when pushed from the side, and when shooting during a game that happen a lot
overall it's am good gun with a good ROF, and range.
It feels nice
by Gerry H. on 2016-08-19 14:33:51
"Overall, a very reliable gun. I love the look of it and it feels very ergonomic in my hands. Out of the box, it was around 330 fps, so not too bad for a cqb gun. the iron sights are made of plastic, so they are not the sturdiest ones on the market, but they get the job done. Overall, I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a reliable cqb gun or for players on the beginner side of things.

PROS:
- battery space is very good and easily accessible
- accurate to about 75-100 ft
- good for close quarters engagements
- Extremely quiet. you can shoot people from a fairly short distance away and they will not even hear your shots.
- It is a short gun, which helps when turning corners.

CONS:
- my charging handle broke off
- mags are loose, i recommend getting thicker mags
- plastic iron sights
- barrel threads are 14mm positive, so make sure you buy the right suppressor.

Other than that, a very good gun!
by Tyler H. on 2016-06-07 23:22:12
"I just received this gun at about 7 this evening and it was my first bull pup style rifle. The gun shoots phenomenally. The adjustable hop up is extremely easy for people who don't know how to mess with your airsoft rifle to tinker with, children could do the adjustments. The gun shoot spot on, very accurate and very fast as well. If you are looking for a first time airsoft gun this gun would be an amazing airsoft rifle for you. The mag feed is good, the flip up iron sights are good, the hop up is easily accessible, the gun is all around solid.
by Jason P. on 2016-06-05 15:48:57
"I've had this gun for a little over a year now, and for $175 it's not a bad gun. I've used it both outdoors and indoors, several thousand rounds, and no maintenance/cleaning/anything and it still works like new. Overall it performs quite well but the design of it just doesn't suit my fancy.

Pros:
-Takes M4 mags, so if you already have an M4 you can recycle the mags
-Battery compartment fits a 9.6v (8 cell) battery
-Hop up easily accessed by charging handle (also feels great to charge/release the "bolt")
-Very accurate, I've hit people at least 40-50 yards with a couple shots
-Good fps, mine shoots between 350 and 390
-Plastic outer body keeps weight down
-Short, bullpup configuration makes cornering in CQB a breeze
-Looks totally cool

Cons:
-Crappy sights. The rear sight is a peephole you could barely fit a toothpick through. Luckily they flip down and you can mount an optic
-Limited rail space, only the optic rail and it's barely enough space to fit my NcStar reflex. Also, the rear sight is high and it'll get in your way if you try to put anything big on there.
-Low ROF. On auto the gun cycles pretty fast, maybe 500-600 rpm, but on semi it feels a little slow. The low semi-ROF combined with the relatively long trigger pull may have you feeling disappointed if you play a lot on semi like I do
-VERY back-heavy. Yes, yes, I know it's a bullpup, but if you're buying this keep it in mind. Personally I would rather have an M4 for this reason alone
-Mag release. Because the gun is so back heavy, the people at IWI designed that nice little space between the grip and the receiver to carry the gun. The problem is that the mag release is *right there* - I actually dropped my magazine in the field while carrying the gun. (note- this is not a problem with the airsoft gun specifically, it's a problem with the design of the TAR and something to keep in mind)
-FPS was almost too high for the indoor arena I bought it for (they limit 350). If you want to play indoors with this gun, be prepared to downgrade the internals.

All in all, this gun is a great gun - if it's what you're looking for. It performs fine, feels great, shoots awesome, but the design of the TAR itself makes me wish for an M4.
by Niles D. on 2016-03-27 20:21:58
"Owned the gun for around a year and for $175 you're getting a solid machine. This is not a day one review, I've put a few thousand rounds through it and played at multiple fields.

Pros: Nails the big ones
-Easy access to hop up
-Spring decompression system on bolt release switch
-solid range
-good accuracy
-flip up sights
-takes M4 mags and not mag picky

Cons: Bothers me on some little things
-Location of mag release has caused some issues on the field
-Rear pins got kinda loose, never became an issue but bothered me a bit
-somewhat of an awkward gun to hold and use, definitely not the smoothest weapon platform
-stock fire rate could leave some more to be desired
-tight battery space

All in all I would certainly recommend this gun. Had no issues at all with it working and i played in some dusty areas.
by A.J. A. on 2015-12-29 14:00:12
"Had this for a few months now and it still serves its purpose well, just wish I could find more replacement parts. Can't complain with the power, shoots about 350-380 fps after messing around with different weights of ammo. (use .20g for range/ .25g for impact) After some weather wear from dust, there might be a slight issue with the magazine feed, but with semi-maintenance its not too big an issue. Uses JG m4 mags in case you need to find spares. Great battery efficiency with a 9.6v, (take your pick on whatever brand) lasts a whole day of action. Rail isn't much to work with but I don't prefer a lot of attachments on a bullpup rifle, basic red dot is fine enough. Not much else to consider about this gun other than the lack of replacement pieces. For tinkers this gun is interesting to experiment with so long as you aren't using anything too strong.

P.S. - Really would like to find other external pieces to replace on this gun like iron sights and charging handles.
by Jefferson R. on 2015-09-08 07:57:16
"I finally got the gun to work so now I feel I can write a review. This gun is awful! It worked for a solid hour and a half then stopped working all together. Hoping it was a small issue I opened the gearbox up to find the problem. The motor was missing teeth, there were spring missing, the gears didn't line up or sit right, and the air seal was awful. I have spent about a month working on this to try to get it to function again, and now that it shoots again I get about 7 feet out of it. I am very disappointed with the gun, and would recommend you steer clear of this one.

Pros
1. Lightweight
2. Nice iron sights
3. Compact
4. Amazing battery space
5. Easy to access Hop-up

Cons:
1. Very difficult to take apart first time
2. Broken Motor
3. very low FPS
4. Wrong gears in box
5. Missing springs (Can't find replacements)
6. Terrible air seal
by Jadie S. on 2015-08-23 07:40:06
"This gun is a great starter gun with a whole lot of good features.

PROS
Easy to access hop-up
Cool functioning charging handle
just as long a an mp5 with an additional 8+ inches on the barrel
great for CQB
320-360 fps
takes M4 mags
bull pup
easy to access battery compartment
threads on barrel

CONS
need to buy rails if you want to put more on it than an rds
a little wierd to take apart (Not bad once figured out)
mag may fall out if your hand slips back


Great bullpup starter gun, would definetly recomend
by Daniel C. on 2015-06-09 22:28:05
"Do you want a affordable bullpup AEG? Look no further! This amazing platform offers multiple things.
1. Compact Design allowing for more control over the weapon.
2. Easy to operate weapon that takes little to no effort to use.
3. Nice battery space.
4. Excepts magazines from different brands
5. Great range!
6. Steady FPS around 310
But like other things it has a bad side!
1. Back heavy like a **************
2. All plastic. I would have liked a metal body but the plastic is nice.
3. No front rails for PEQ or grips
Other than that its great. Just buy it for the alone times and shooty times
by Heidi O. on 2015-04-23 20:11:07
"best gun i ever totally recomand it for new players best gun in range i have
by Bryan E. on 2014-05-07 07:08:39
"I got to try this gun out in the shop and instantly bought it. Fps is a little slow (380 stock) but it has quite the accuracy at long range. Taking it apart does suck but once you get the hang of it its easy. Its plastic outer shell but its solid plastic. No wiggling room. Overall awesome gun out of the box! I tossed 70$ worth of upgrades into it (motor,spring,piston,air nozzle) and its one of the better guns on the field. Also we dont have too many that come back into the shop to be fixed, so theyre durable.

Pros:
Great out of the box
Accurate
Lightweight
No wobbling
Takes standard m4 mags (yay for cheap mags!)
Easy spring change
Hidden long barrel (hence why the accuracy is so nice)

Cons:
Back heavy (personal preference)
Trigger is kind of far forward from the grip (small hands may not be a fan)
Internals will not last if you only upgrade one or two things (if you want a better spring, you must upgrade a few other things)

Overall great gun! Id highly reccomend it!

Source:
Been playing for several years
Captain of a team
Work in a shop fixing guns
by Luke S. on 2014-04-02 18:25:11
"I received the Elite Force Tavor two days ago. So far, I believe it's a good all-around gun after testing it multiple times.

Pros:
Good velocity (for CQB)
Decent range
Metal where it needs to be (outer/inner barrel, gearbox, trigger, and dust cover)
Comes with a battery (8.4 v)
Very quiet
Accurate at around 30 yards
Compatible with M4 (or v2 gearbox) gears and springs

Cons:
Mostly ABS plastic externals
Can't fit some magazines
A bit rear-heavy, but you get used to it

After all, the Elite Force Tavor-21 competition series has quite a few advantages. It is a very unique design that can compete with most airsoft guns in any sort of game (hence the name).

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 25 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3