Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Happy Airsofting! 25% OFF (Exclusions apply, see details)   Use Code: SUMMER2017

IWI Licensed TAVOR TAR-21 Airsoft AEG Rifle by Umarex w/ Metal Gearbox (Dark Earth / Competition Series)

21 Customer Reviews

by Benjamin W. on 04/06/2017
"I am a beginner in airsoft, and this being my first gun, I am very pleased. Contrary to what the description says, the gun does come with a 8.4v small battery + basic charger. Not knowing this, I bought a small 9.6v butterfly battery with a smart charger. The battery fits fine, you just need to situate it correctly. Definently recommend the smart charger + upgraded battery. I also immediately upgraded the spring to a m130. The original spring is either a m100 or m110, and I noted a difference. One problem I have is that the bolt release isn't working as well as my charging lever. It only comes back 1/4 of the way, and the bolt release doesn't release it. I believe something happened when I was changing the spring... Any help would be appreciated. I had to also use the hopup alot as well, when I first shot it, it dived down, but with a flat head screw driver that was fixed quicly. Overall, I love it. The butt of the gun is the heaviest part, obviously, from the bullpup design, so you got to hold your arm up. The iron sights are terrible. I use just the front one, and it seems to work okay. I recommend getting an open red dot sight, something I need to get myself.

Pros:
Bullpup
Great accuracy
Easy to manuever
CQB
Easy to Upgrade
Durable
Super easy opening of battery compartment
Mag in back, easy to reload

Cons:
Iron sights
Bolt release and charging lever don't work.

I recommend this gun to everyone.
by Wyatt J. on 08/25/2016
"Awesome gun! I considered the more expensive version, but after having this gun for about 3 games I loved it and knew I didn't need to spend more. It feels awesome, operates well and if you put a 3 cell lipo on it it has a very increased rate of fire. The only con would be the small battery compartment, although a little bit of grinding it out will give you more room for you 2000 mah lipo's.
by Paulo L. on 03/31/2015
"I got this one about 6 months ago, and I have to say that is was worth every penny!

Pros:
Accurate (easily capable of hitting human-sized targets at 170 feet)
Strong construction (accidentally slammed mine against a steel wall during a game, and the gun wasn't even phased)
Approximately 360 fps, it's an excellent rifle for indoor fields (it's not the hardest-hitting gun on the field, but it really does make up for that in accuracy)
Requires very little maintenance (cleaning, lubing, etc)
Accepts a multitude of different model M4 magazines (I've used JG, G&G, G&P, Matrix, and Lonex mags with mine and I've had zero failures)

Cons:
Battery compartment is only big enough to house an 8.4 v small type battery (even a 9.6 v small type battery won't fit)
The gun's battery plug has a tendency to slip back into the its compartment, and getting it out is fairly difficult (needle-nose pliers work best to get it back out)

All that being said, the gun still gets 5 stars from me because it's accurate, reliable, and very simple to use. I would recommend this gun to any airsofter from the brand new beginner, to the well-experienced veteran.
by Tonya T. on 03/12/2015
"I love everything about this gun
by Cade S. on 12/13/2014
"Why is everyone saying it has a high rate of fire. This is probably the gun with the slowest rate of fire right out of the box for it's price. If you are looking for a good aeg do not get this one try one of the Raiders from G&G Raider series thoughs are good.
by John L. on 12/20/2013
"So far this is a wonderful gun. a tad bit backheavy, but that is to be expected from a bullpup. Fun to shoot so far, still tweaking the hop a bit. The only problem I have run into so far is that the gun doesnt seem to want to take magazines other than the one it came with (the mag lock wont lock properly with echo 1 M4 mags). High ROF with a 9.6, but you get an electrical smell from the stock when you fire. havent skirmished with it yet, will most likely be an awesome skirmish gun.

PROS
Good weight
Nice solid composite body
The metal is solid
High ROF
looks crazy
near perfect match to the real weapon

CONS
Wont seem to take echo M4 mags
Electrical smell after short periods of firing
its "that gun" from call of duty.

So all around awesome, Good looking gun, unfortunately they put it into a modern warfare game so now its just "that gun from MWF2". still a very nice gun.
by Stella K. on 12/20/2013
"This gun a is an incredibley well made gun. The polymer that its made of feels unbreakable in your hands. The accuracy is simply amazing as the bulpup design allows a very long barrell. I can see myself being able to dominate in any scenario be it CQB or Field play.

The Good
Compact (for an assualt rifle)
Excellent external build
pretty good ROF
amazing accuracy
battery installation is realativley easy

The Bad
None so far
by Stella K. on 12/20/2013
"Ive owned this weapon for a few months now and I have to say it has held up incredibly well. Now the price tag may seem a bit unreasonable at first but I can with the utmost confidence that every dollar is well spent.

Short Story
I went to an outdoor airsoft skirmish sporting this weapon and was very impressed. The length of the barrel due to the bulpup design of the rifle allowed me to put up an accurate wall of bbs. And because the weapon itself is quite compact, I found it very easy to manuver in close quarters spaces. Near the beginning of the war the ever feared clouds rolled in and delivered upon the mass of airsoft players and unrelenting rain. However, not once was I worried as the Tar was easily able to cope with the strenious conditions and kept firing throughout the entire event. I can also say that the constant "Hey dude, nice Tar" was a nice benefit.

The overall construction of this weapon is incredibaly solid, Ive never felt as though it might break at any point during my use with it. Battery installation is a snap, as the butt plate easily opens up to reveal the compartment. One problem Ive had though is that some of the M4 mags Ive purchased do not fit into the magwell quite as snugly as I would have liked, but this is just my opinion.

Get this gun!!! It is awsome
by JOSH W. on 12/20/2013
"i love my tar i cant put it down. i have alot of money into it that it didnt need it was already to good. now when a bring to the field ppl r scared of me and im 14. its excellent no problems shoots 370 out of the box

please answer: how do i put an m203 on my tar


Pros
range
comfortable
high rof
accuracy

cons
perfict nothing wrong with mine
by Sheelone V. on 12/20/2013
"This is honestly the finest airsoft battle rifle I have ever owned, better than my Masada, better than my KWA SR10. Sleek, sturdy, rugged, reliable, simple, this is truly a one of a kind AEG. ARES have outdone themselves and brought to the table a fascinating airsoft gun thatís not only accurate but short in length.
Pros.
- Nylon Fiber Body
- Tactical Rails
- Bullpup design
- Battery compartment fits 9.6v 1600 Butterfly or Nun chuck with ease
- The guard in front of the Pistol Grip protects your hand
- Completely Ambidextrous aside from fire selector
- Charging Handle and rail can be switched to either side
- QD spring Change
- Tight Bore Barrel comes standard but diameter is unknown (I switched the barrel for an Angel Custom 500mm 6.01)
- Simplistic Design
- Bolt catch button resets internals to a resting position kinda like VFCís M4s but not really.
- Black Flash hider included ( get a more aggressive one, the birdcage style is kinda lame)
- Great Rate of fire, very surprised with results from 9.6v
- Great range due to tight bore barrel
- Very accurate
- Those weird shapes and the circular thing behind the rear iron sight is used for real steel grade Tavor 21accessories and I have a 5x magnifier from IWI itself attached to help out the EOTech I have mounted
- Disassembly is a pain but when you disassemble the platform once you want to do it over and over again, now I know how the Tar 21ís firing mechanism, safety, trigger, charging handle, and most parts on the gearbox work, of course I know how Gearboxes work. (con for most) (visit redwolfairsoft for disassembly instructions)
- Trademarks All around
- Extremely Realistic (my uncle owns a Tar 21)
- Serial number
Cons.
- Magazine catch irritates your hand because it constantly pokes your hand
- Might accidentally bump into the mag catch with trigger hand and eject mag causing you to probably lose a clip
- Iron sights are not adjustable for windage and elevation
- Trigger become squeaky after some time (just spray the springs with lubricant)
- Semi auto stops working but is an easy fix (idk how I did it but I did)
- The Nylon Fiber is kinda smooth so I recommend wearing gloves
- The QD sling mounts attached to the stock are NOT made to fit ANY QD sling adapter what so ever. I tried and because it didnít fit I had to make my own sling point on the stock. The rings that were supposed to be engraved inside the adapter were not present and even if they were my QD sling swivel wouldnít have fit
- Not enough rail space on top for an ACOG
- Outer Barrel is a bit wobbly, not too much but enoug
by Eric M. on 05/24/2013
"I got this gun a few weeks ago, and I have to say, I'm impressed with it so far. It hasn't broken down, like several of my "full metal" M4 AEG's have right out of the box, which definitely puts this gun in my "win" column.

That said, the gun is a little creaky, there is a noticeable seam running down the middle, and where the optics rail is mounted wobbles, and cannot be secured, as far as I've seen (the rail itself doesn't wobble).
The gun fires pretty hard, much harder than I expected. It's range is still CQB, though, this isn't what I would use in an outdoor environment with engagement ranges of over 50-70 meters.

The only real problems I've had with this gun is that the flash hider that comes with the gun is ultra flimsy, it will break if you run into something too hard. Get a metal flash hider as soon as possible.
The battery space is also a lot smaller than you would think. I have an 8.4 mini nunchuck set up, and there is barely enough room for it an all the wires. If you have a PEQ box, I'd suggest using that (though you may need to drill a small hole in the handguard for your wiring, but it's not like this is a 500 dollar investment)

Other than that, this gun is absolutely solid. Lightweight, extremely maneuverable, can accept a good amount of accessories (get the metal rail pack if you plan on putting anything on this. http://www.zahal.org/products/tavor-picatinny-rail?path_pare-
nt=253283
That's a link to a handguard rail for grips or anything else, should you want it. It's expensive, but I haven't found another tavor tailored handgaurd rail out there)

Pros:
-Shoots hard and accurate
-Lightweight
-Tight magwell (little or no mag wobble, accepts Beta project P-mags and many others)
-Full metal gearbox
-Quick change spring
-good amount of rail space (with the rail pack)
-Functioning charging handle (bolt release also relaxes the spring, very handy)

Cons
-Creaky (but still solid, I'm not worried about the gun coming apart)
-Wobbly/loose parts
-Not suitable for ranged engagements
-Stock plastic exterior parts are crap
-fire selector doesn't really lock into place when on semi
by Derek S. on 03/05/2017
"This is a very unique weapon, great all around weapon. Good enough range for field play. Not enough power to cut through thick brush though.. although I've been using this weapon along side a hk416, and a CM18-L so far I've only had issues with the hk, just as accurate because it's bullpup( gearbox near the rear) so you don't lose barrel length. Good fire rate good sound. Very mobile. Tough and thick grainy plastic (if you like smooth plastic body this is not for you) battery box is kinda small but manageable. No issues would recommend to any friend
by Zach M. on 11/27/2016
"Disclaimer- first review.
I've used this gun for over a year now and ive got to say I love it more than most of the other automatics I've used. I've custom made a single point sling for it and run with a co2 revolver during matches. Here's what I've found- with no modifications yes I didn't have the slickest or hardest hitting rifle on the field, but I had the highest versatility. I can engage in open combat at range, accurately covering for teammates to move up, then also seamlessly slip into cqb to storm a building. The shorter length and bull pup design make it quick to move around and also for...unexpected situations allow one arm use as you can pull it into your shoulder due to the grip being forward.(bullpup). I have needed to and have used this to my advantage multiple times to draw my sidearm and fire both. (Not recommended) (yes it worked) I would however recommend a sight of some sort, the iron sights at least for me are adequate, but I use a green dot sight.
Pros: accurate
Decent rate of fire
Bullpup
Solid gun
Very stable,maneuverability
Cqb

Cons:(for me) iron sights(they are accurate,but unique)
Bullpup(easy to hit mag release by accident,very not good during a game)
Wish there was more metal(don't we always)

Wonderful beginner weapon
by Spencer F. on 02/01/2015
"It's a pretty good gun, I feel right in the middle of great and terrible.

Its got 345 FPS, which for a C.Q.B environment (What a bullpup's pretty much made for; tight corners etc.) is just about perfect. Its a semi cheap gun, but I can vouch for it. Me and my friends have had crosmans for 4 years that just broke like...a year ago. All of the crosmans we had were 120 dollar guns and they lasted us 4-5 years. This gun for 175, it'll last you; or it should, last you longer then that. Its not the best quality, nor is it pushing 300 dollar quality, like I feel alot of experienced airsofters are used to. They compare this to a 300 dollar gun and yeah; it cant compare. Its budget airsoft.

As fair as the one metal piece it comes with, the M4 magazine is weird. It fits the Tavor perfectly and fit in my Stag Arms M4, scratching a lil paint off the magazine, however it refuses to fit in my Echo1 416.

I would recommend 2 things when buying this gun. Get the $15 alluminum rail kit, it replaces the ABS rail and gives you a side rail, balances out the gun a lil more. Also keep in mind due to how low the irons & rail are, you will need a raised optic if you intend on wearing lower face protection.

And Yes, it is ABS, but like I said, Me and my friends have had crosmans last us 4-5 years. Crosman plastic is definitely a lower standard then this ABS, you'll be fine.

ON ANOTHER NOTE!! The video for this says it has an ABS gearbox and said there would be a "Metal gearbox version". The one I ordered came WITH a metal gearbox. I dont really know whats up with that, but I figured it was worth mentioning.

I havent fielded mine yet so I will update this when I do.
by Justin A. on 01/08/2015
"The gun is pretty good. Unlike the description says, it comes with an 8.4 1100 mah battery and a cheap charger, which I would recommend replacing. It has a metal outer barrel, and everything that is metal on the real tar is metal, except for the top rail. FPS is about 330 with .2 g bbs for me. The bolt catch is metal, and also shows the hop up while releasing spring tension. When you have the front and rear sight flipped up, it's hard to use if you have a hat or mask, so I only use the front sight. The rof is decent or slightly good, like 12 RPS with a 9.6 and 18 with my lipo.

Pros:
Cqb legal fps
Good external build
Actually comes with a battery and charger
Bolt catch sounds good and releases spring tension
When battery is installed, it isn't back heavy like other bullpups
Looks way cooler than augs (might be a con for LOSERS)
Rof is better than most bullpups
Accurate at a distance (up to 120 feet)
Quick change spring gearbox and easy gearbox access
Gearbox has metal bearings

Cons:
Small battery compartment (won't fit my 1000 mah lipo without lots of adjustment)
Rear sight a bit hard to look through
Weird to wind a hi cap mag
Mags that didn't come with gun have a bit of wobble and the mag that it does come with fits very tight
Can't mount any slings unless you buy sling mounts

Overall, I give it a 4.5 out of 5, but that isn't an option. Compared to other bullpups, it's small and compact. (Unlike the 12 pound aug) The internals are also better than most bullpups at the price for having a quick change spring and 8mm metal bushings. If you want something other than a m4 or ak, or just want a bullpup, I reccomend it compared to other bullpups.