Reviews: IWI Licensed TAVOR TAR-21 Airsoft AEG Rifle by Umarex w/ Metal Gearbox (Dark Earth / Competition Series)

$174.99

9 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-2278051
Location: L6-018

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)

by John L. on 2013-12-20 15:22:37
"So far this is a wonderful gun. a tad bit backheavy, but that is to be expected from a bullpup. Fun to shoot so far, still tweaking the hop a bit. The only problem I have run into so far is that the gun doesnt seem to want to take magazines other than the one it came with (the mag lock wont lock properly with echo 1 M4 mags). High ROF with a 9.6, but you get an electrical smell from the stock when you fire. havent skirmished with it yet, will most likely be an awesome skirmish gun.

PROS
Good weight
Nice solid composite body
The metal is solid
High ROF
looks crazy
near perfect match to the real weapon

CONS
Wont seem to take echo M4 mags
Electrical smell after short periods of firing
its "that gun" from call of duty.

So all around awesome, Good looking gun, unfortunately they put it into a modern warfare game so now its just "that gun from MWF2". still a very nice gun.
by Stella K. on 2013-12-20 15:18:12
"This gun a is an incredibley well made gun. The polymer that its made of feels unbreakable in your hands. The accuracy is simply amazing as the bulpup design allows a very long barrell. I can see myself being able to dominate in any scenario be it CQB or Field play.

The Good
Compact (for an assualt rifle)
Excellent external build
pretty good ROF
amazing accuracy
battery installation is realativley easy

The Bad
None so far
by Stella K. on 2013-12-20 15:17:26
"Ive owned this weapon for a few months now and I have to say it has held up incredibly well. Now the price tag may seem a bit unreasonable at first but I can with the utmost confidence that every dollar is well spent.

Short Story
I went to an outdoor airsoft skirmish sporting this weapon and was very impressed. The length of the barrel due to the bulpup design of the rifle allowed me to put up an accurate wall of bbs. And because the weapon itself is quite compact, I found it very easy to manuver in close quarters spaces. Near the beginning of the war the ever feared clouds rolled in and delivered upon the mass of airsoft players and unrelenting rain. However, not once was I worried as the Tar was easily able to cope with the strenious conditions and kept firing throughout the entire event. I can also say that the constant "Hey dude, nice Tar" was a nice benefit.

The overall construction of this weapon is incredibaly solid, Ive never felt as though it might break at any point during my use with it. Battery installation is a snap, as the butt plate easily opens up to reveal the compartment. One problem Ive had though is that some of the M4 mags Ive purchased do not fit into the magwell quite as snugly as I would have liked, but this is just my opinion.

Get this gun!!! It is awsome
by Patrick C. on 2013-12-20 15:14:18
"I have owned this model Tavor for close to a month now. The performance is pretty good, but does not have the same range as my Ares G36. The battery compartment is a tad small, but more than enough to fit my MadBull LiPo. The gun is indeed difficult to take apart, highly recommend that this be done by a pro if you are not very proficient. The Ares quick change spring feature lets you change the FPS of the rifle in as little as two minutes, allowing for incredible game flexibility.

I have decided to upgrade the internals, as the piston is not very sturdy and a want to juice as much performance as I can from this little big gun.

Pros:
* rock solid externals
* awesome performance out of the box
* Ares quick change spring feature
* Unique looks on the field

Cons
* difficult to take apart
* small battery compartment
* gearbox and hop-up are one unit
* known for some problems with weak piston and air seal

Overall:
One of my favorite rifles. I recommend it to anyone who has the skill to use it and the patience to tweak it right.
by JOSH W. on 2013-12-20 15:12:18
"i love my tar i cant put it down. i have alot of money into it that it didnt need it was already to good. now when a bring to the field ppl r scared of me and im 14. its excellent no problems shoots 370 out of the box

please answer: how do i put an m203 on my tar


Pros
range
comfortable
high rof
accuracy

cons
perfict nothing wrong with mine
by Sheelone V. on 2013-12-20 15:09:23
"This is honestly the finest airsoft battle rifle I have ever owned, better than my Masada, better than my KWA SR10. Sleek, sturdy, rugged, reliable, simple, this is truly a one of a kind AEG. ARES have outdone themselves and brought to the table a fascinating airsoft gun thatís not only accurate but short in length.
Pros.
- Nylon Fiber Body
- Tactical Rails
- Bullpup design
- Battery compartment fits 9.6v 1600 Butterfly or Nun chuck with ease
- The guard in front of the Pistol Grip protects your hand
- Completely Ambidextrous aside from fire selector
- Charging Handle and rail can be switched to either side
- QD spring Change
- Tight Bore Barrel comes standard but diameter is unknown (I switched the barrel for an Angel Custom 500mm 6.01)
- Simplistic Design
- Bolt catch button resets internals to a resting position kinda like VFCís M4s but not really.
- Black Flash hider included ( get a more aggressive one, the birdcage style is kinda lame)
- Great Rate of fire, very surprised with results from 9.6v
- Great range due to tight bore barrel
- Very accurate
- Those weird shapes and the circular thing behind the rear iron sight is used for real steel grade Tavor 21accessories and I have a 5x magnifier from IWI itself attached to help out the EOTech I have mounted
- Disassembly is a pain but when you disassemble the platform once you want to do it over and over again, now I know how the Tar 21ís firing mechanism, safety, trigger, charging handle, and most parts on the gearbox work, of course I know how Gearboxes work. (con for most) (visit redwolfairsoft for disassembly instructions)
- Trademarks All around
- Extremely Realistic (my uncle owns a Tar 21)
- Serial number
Cons.
- Magazine catch irritates your hand because it constantly pokes your hand
- Might accidentally bump into the mag catch with trigger hand and eject mag causing you to probably lose a clip
- Iron sights are not adjustable for windage and elevation
- Trigger become squeaky after some time (just spray the springs with lubricant)
- Semi auto stops working but is an easy fix (idk how I did it but I did)
- The Nylon Fiber is kinda smooth so I recommend wearing gloves
- The QD sling mounts attached to the stock are NOT made to fit ANY QD sling adapter what so ever. I tried and because it didnít fit I had to make my own sling point on the stock. The rings that were supposed to be engraved inside the adapter were not present and even if they were my QD sling swivel wouldnít have fit
- Not enough rail space on top for an ACOG
- Outer Barrel is a bit wobbly, not too much but enoug
by Frank H. on 2013-09-15 06:18:34
"So I picked this gun up for my brother a week ago, straight out of the box it seemed pretty nice. It has a good weight and looks pretty cool.

However, when we were taking the gun out to zero his red dot, we noticed a problem with the mid-caps we got. He slapped a mag in, and as he stood up to head outside the mag slid right out of the magwell and onto the ground.

Now this is not a problem for the Hi-cap mag that came with the gun. The problem seems to be with the little tab on top of the mag that houses the spring that keeps the bbs in the mag. The little tab on the mid-caps was longer than the one on the hi-cap.
(The mid-caps i bought were the Matrix 120rd Metal mid-caps)

As long as you take a close look at that tab on the mags you're going to buy you should be fine.

Also, you have to get really low on the weapon to see though a normal red dot or your iron sights. If you are wearing a full mask, it is impossible to use sights on this gun (iron or otherwise). You will either have to get a rail riser, or a sight with a cantilever mount.

Pro's
-Feels Solid
-Bolt locks back for hop-up access

Con's
-Pain to use with full mask
-Less of a selection of Mags

If you have to wear a mask, I would give it a 3/5
Otherwise a 4/5
by Sean C. on 2013-06-16 15:24:09
"I got this out of a mystery box and I have to say I'm impressed. Like the other review said, there is a noticeable seam along the gun, but it is only visible if you are within 5 feet of it. The top rail also wiggles a bit, but is not so bad as to where I'm upset. Also, mine has a small burr mark from molding on the underside of the gun, but that isn't visible and I'm pretty sure it is not on every model that gets out.

Other than that, this gun is amazing. Mine only has the CQB range, and I would not use it for field gaming, but a new right bore barrel will do wonders on this gun. Also, mine is shooting a bit hot at 370 fps, and with the new barrel performs better than any other gun in this price range, especially a Combat Machine, (which I have and have compared it to head to head). I am able to fit a 9.6 volt nunchuk battery in it, although it haut fits. This gun also has a functioning bolt catch and decocker, something I just stumbled upon and very pleased with. However, if you have a full face mask the iron sights are too low, but I don't use them because I don't like the rear sight at all, but that's just a personal preference. It is a simple fix if you have a red dot, or I took an M4 rear sight and with that on the iron sights are useable. Also want to mention it has full Tavor trade marks.

Pros:
Best out of any other gun in price range
Very nicely textured metal body
Accurate
Quick-change spring system
Functioning bolt catch and spring decompresser
Can fit a 9.6 nunchuk
Full trades
You get so much more than what you pay for with the internals

Cons:
Shoots hotter than 350 (not really a con just not what I was expecting)
For field, range leaves a lot to be desired
Wobbly top rail/piece
Bad rear sight
Seam
Small molding mark underneath
You get what you pay for with the body
by Eric M. on 2013-05-24 10:20:36
"I got this gun a few weeks ago, and I have to say, I'm impressed with it so far. It hasn't broken down, like several of my "full metal" M4 AEG's have right out of the box, which definitely puts this gun in my "win" column.

That said, the gun is a little creaky, there is a noticeable seam running down the middle, and where the optics rail is mounted wobbles, and cannot be secured, as far as I've seen (the rail itself doesn't wobble).
The gun fires pretty hard, much harder than I expected. It's range is still CQB, though, this isn't what I would use in an outdoor environment with engagement ranges of over 50-70 meters.

The only real problems I've had with this gun is that the flash hider that comes with the gun is ultra flimsy, it will break if you run into something too hard. Get a metal flash hider as soon as possible.
The battery space is also a lot smaller than you would think. I have an 8.4 mini nunchuck set up, and there is barely enough room for it an all the wires. If you have a PEQ box, I'd suggest using that (though you may need to drill a small hole in the handguard for your wiring, but it's not like this is a 500 dollar investment)

Other than that, this gun is absolutely solid. Lightweight, extremely maneuverable, can accept a good amount of accessories (get the metal rail pack if you plan on putting anything on this. http://www.zahal.org/products/tavor-picatinny-rail?path_pare-
nt=253283
That's a link to a handguard rail for grips or anything else, should you want it. It's expensive, but I haven't found another tavor tailored handgaurd rail out there)

Pros:
-Shoots hard and accurate
-Lightweight
-Tight magwell (little or no mag wobble, accepts Beta project P-mags and many others)
-Full metal gearbox
-Quick change spring
-good amount of rail space (with the rail pack)
-Functioning charging handle (bolt release also relaxes the spring, very handy)

Cons
-Creaky (but still solid, I'm not worried about the gun coming apart)
-Wobbly/loose parts
-Not suitable for ranged engagements
-Stock plastic exterior parts are crap
-fire selector doesn't really lock into place when on semi

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)