Reviews: Rothco 5257 G.I. Type Sierra Sole 8" Boots - Tan (Size: 8)

$46.00

10 Customer Reviews
Model: Boots-RT-5257-8

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)

by Brandon B. on 2015-12-08 22:17:29
"Going to start first off with describing the boots and then giving the pros and cons, then verdict.

First off, the boots are of good quality. The stitching is fair and durable. Had no issues with them or the boot keeping itself together. Color is a light tan, like sand. The sole is hard rubber and solid, with supreme traction. The ankles are unsupported like most jungle boots, so you may experience ankle issues. Laces are long, perfect for quick tying military style and blousing. The boots themselves are form fitting and comfy, however there is one MAJOR flaw that nearly ruined them for me.

The heel on the inside is made of a scratchy rubber. This is an issue because, even with thick socks, the heel managed to scrape the skin off the back of my ankles in only one day. Mind, I was not doing highly vigorous activity the whole time (lots of walking in the MilSim event I was at), yet still they caused extreme pain and caused me to even bleed. The injury did not heel for about a week. Now, for most that would push them away. However, a possible solution could be to line the inside heel rubber with duct tape or foam. This could negate the issue. Mind, this was my first day wearing them. They may have to be broken in further. Will have to test when I play another large event again.

Overall, they are okay boots. Huge cause of pain in the heel if not prevented or played in for a long period, so it may be wise to install preventive measures or get another type of boot completely. Yet, despite the flaw, I still like the boots in general for style, durability, and form.
by Ryan K. on 2015-02-10 11:19:41
"I have had these boots for roughly seven months at the time of this review.

To start off these are good boots for what you paid for. I put these boots through their paces,literally. I airsofted, worked, and wore these boots almost everyday. They held up well and didn't have too many problems.

The problems I did have however were abnormal wear-down of the sole and flimsy boot sides. But that's what you get for a sub $50 pair of boots.

Overall if you need a quick set of boots these do work for what they are worth.
by Ryan R. on 2014-05-15 18:17:14
"I just got these boots in today and I am quite pleased with them. First off the weight. These boots are super light weight, when they shipped they weighted 4.8 pounds. that is 2.4 pounds a boot. adding in the weight of the box and other little things they could weight less. Second size compatibility. I was first unsure if the size would be correct. I went off the size of my Nike free runs I wear everyday. After putting these boots on, they fit as well as my Nike's. If you go off of your shoe size you should be able to get the right size boot. Third is ankle support. These boots give amazing ankle support without weight added on. The little curve in the back is actually solid, this is what gives you the ankle support, the rest of the top is flimsy but that doesn't matter. Overall these boots are amazing. After running, walking, and stopping quickly these boots held up well and where very comfortable. If these ever get wear out, i will definitely buy them again.
by Donovan R. on 2014-03-16 12:12:31
"The quality of these boots is excellent for the price, and the sole has been holding up well. However, Evike.com does not seem to have any of their boots available in Wide. They fit fine in terms of length, but if you have wider feet like myself you may want to get them somewhere else. It's unfortunate that these boots are regular, as they cause serious cramping after less than an hour of use. On the other hand, for people with average width feet you should be 100% fine. They break in well and don't seem to cause blisters (as long as you get the right size.) All in all a decent purchase, other than the fact that they are too tight on me. I guess i'll have to stick with my old Merrell boots.
by Cole L. on 2013-12-27 02:50:54
"I bought these boots for using while hunting and airsofting. The boots were true to size and were everything that they appeared to be. The sides are flimsy and they may wear quickly if they are worn a lot. They look good but for my feet they seemed just a little big because they don't have half sizes. They were also a little heavy for my preferences. On the whole, the boots are good for the low price and I thoroughly enjoy them.
by Justin W. on 2013-12-05 15:10:37
"Poor man's boots lol. They're not awful and they get their job done, but they could be much more comfortable.
by Dustin H. on 2013-12-04 21:23:30
"Save your money for something better!

Where to begin with these. I bought them because they were the cheapest ones here. They are very heavy and they feel like I have bricks strapped to my feet. The bottom sole got badly beaten up after only one game. There is no cushion inside, my feet were aching after only a few matches.
But the WORST feature about these is the stitching on the back of the heel. 10 seconds into my first match they started to cut into the back of my heel. It cut right through my sock and cut my skin. I ended up bleeding inside my boot and stained the whole inside. It took weeks to heal from it.
I had to add some cushioned soles to it, I wear thick padded socks and wrap them in duck tape with medical tape wrapped around my ankle to protect my skin and keep my ankle from rolling.

Pros:
Cheap

Cons:
Heavy
No cushion
Inner stitching cuts feet
The whole boot itself

Don't buy.
by Jason H. on 2013-10-01 22:29:36
"Great boots, just like my standard issue. Tho if you wear a US size 10, buy a size 9. My 10s were almost a size bigger on my foot. Also get the 5.11 socks on here they help!

Pros:
Quick lace
Comfortable

Cons:
Size might be wrong
by Bruce B. on 2013-02-10 16:47:55
"Very nice boots! lets make this review short (and sweet)

Pros:
-comfortable
-look pretty awesome
-thick

Cons:
-go a size bigger
by Louie H. on 2012-12-28 18:24:34
"These are great boots, they look nice with 5.11 pants. I bought these a couple days ago and originally I'm a 11.5 but these 11's felt a little too big so my advice would be get a size smaller than your original shoe size. These have great grip and look like nice military shoes, especially when you have a military loadout.

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)