Reviews: Echo1 MTC 3 Full Size (Modular Tactical Carbine) Airsoft AEG Rifle

$259.99 $199.99

15 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-E1-MTC3
Location: L6-054 L1-T14 L6-T5 L4-T9 L2-T10

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 15 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Noah L. on 2015-08-25 23:55:42
"I've had this rifle for about a month or so, and I'm honestly loving it. I really recommend it to anyone who likes the H&K rifles but want something that sticks out a lot more than usual or wants a G36C with an EXCESSIVE amount of rail space,

PROS:
- Nice looking and feeling. all of the externals look good and feel good. I'm especially fond of the stock with the thumb hole and the cheek riser. the metal rails are a bit uncomfortable on bare hands (but hey! it comes with a foregrip!)
- Heavy. This rifle has a lot of weight to it and it's lovely, could be a con if you want something light. And even with all the weight it's well balanced.
- Good Performance. I've yet to try it with a 9.6v (as it's in the mail still) but with the stock battery the rate of fire still feels pretty decent. I am able to hit a can repeatedly from about around 70 feet, a piece of A4 paper at 100, and a human sized target at about 150 feet. There is a noticeable deviation in bb trajectory at the longer distances, as to be expected.
- Really easy to disassemble and reassemble. Great for teching and adjusting things internally. echo1 has a good youtube video about it.
- M4 Magwell. This is a great thing about the rifle, a lot of mags are really loose in the magwell but it does enable you to mooch ammo off every m4 user on the field so you will never run out of ammo (as long as people are nice enough).
- Rail space. You will not run out. Ever. There's just so much of it.
- Metal Hi-Caps Included. Enough said, they are a fantastic feel and a good weight(one of mine broke though). The straight style one looks cool which is a plus.
- Compatible with JG G36 parts. I've gone back and forth between the default hand guard and a JG G36 handguard, the four holed one, it covers up the standard length outerbarrel and gives it a cool spacegun/laser gun aesthetic which turns heads. I've permanently replaced the outerbarrel with the longer G36 outerbarrel, it looks a lot better than the smaller barrel with the default handguard and allows a longer innerbarrel. And with the JG handguard installed with the JG outerbarrel makes it look like an assault rifle SL8!
- Almost fully ambidextrous. As a ambidextrous guy who shoots lefty this is fantastically convenient! The only down side is it's hard to get the mag release which is on the left side of the rifle.

CONS:

- Way too much hop up out of the box. The hop up has a maddog nub which is rather stiff. It's easily solved by using either a different nub, if accessible, or using a small radial file to shorten the arm that presses the nub down (echo1 has a video showing this too!).
- Terrible Sights. They are essentially pistol sights on a rifle. A big problem I have with it is that you cannot use the cheek riser and the integrated sights at the same time. It definitely needs some sort of attached optic.
- Magwell pin is very lose. I actually lost mine and couldn't find one, if you have problems I'd recommend picking up a G36C handguard pin as they have a nice locking mechanism and they fit perfectly in the pin slot and is nice and stiff.
- Mag release kind of sucks. I mentioned it already but I realized it's not very comfortable to use even when firing right handed. Not a big thing but It's not optimal.

All in all the Echo1 MTC 3 is a awesome looking, feeling, and shooting rifle. I highly recommend it!
by Ryan N. on 2015-08-24 20:14:13
"I've used this for about a year and it's very cool.

PROS:
Looks very cool and stands out from every gun on the field
Lightweight
Decent rof of 20 rds per sec with a 9.6
Changeable magwell to take m4 or g36 mags
Very comfortable rails system
Unique mag release
Low profile iron sights
Lots of rail space
Cool sl9 stock
Durable

CONS:
PIN THAT HOLDS THE MAGWELL IS VERY LOOSE GET A NEW PIN FOR IT!
Iron sights are very blocky; you can't make precise shots with them
Mags that come with do not feed well
Charging handle jams
Unevenly balanced
Crazy hop-up even on the lowest setting
The stock's butt is plastic so it's uncomfortable to shoulder without a vest on

Overall this gun is great for intermediate players because starters will have an unusual platform to begin with.
by jordan d. on 2015-08-05 19:30:14
"To start off, I've had this gun for about half a year prior to writing this review, but that shouldn't change anything.
Once i got the gun, i was hype for new gun, etc etc, it came with everything it said it would, a battery, 2 mags, the gun, and a foregrip. The grip itself is fairly poor quality, it doesn't feel secure to me on this gun, or any of my other rifles for that fact, but its ok because it comes with the gun.
My first time handling it was awesome, it has a solid weight to it, looks like a G36, but it uses regular STANAG magazines. First thing i noticed was the iron sights, they literally look like the front rail and back rail were raised and just had a notch removed from them, lime they're incredibly low profile and hard to use. I shrugged that off and just put a sight on it, because i had a spare.
I charged the battery, put the battery in the incredibly small slot, which requires an allen rench to get into, and fired off a few hundred rounds to get the hop up right and whatnot.
I took it out that weekend for my game, and it was durring the winter too, it started off rough, the mags didn't feed as good as my others so i left them in my trunk after 15 minutes. Then about halfway through the day i notice that the magwell is extremely wobbly, and the pin holding it together was half out, so i had to push it back in of course, then about 30 minutes later in the middle of a firefight, not my mag, but the entire magwell falls out into the snow. The pin fell out, and i wasnt able to recover it, so i had to tape the thing back together and i had even put a stick in it to hold it together.
All in all the gun looks solid, but im fairly upset with how it performed, with feeding problems and the gun falling apart midgame.
Pros :
Looks bad*ss
Solid weight
Fairly well balanced
Comes with a lot of goodies
Uses normal STANAG magazines
Cons
Magazines feed poorly
Horrible battery compartment
Foregrip is cheap plastic
Poor construction
Small irons (could be pro or con)

One last note is that it may have been my individual product not performing up to par, but i personally wouldn't recommend this.
by Alexander K. on 2015-03-20 09:34:30
"All in all, I love this gun. the battery is insanely hard to get out of the stock. but that's about the only con about this gun. comes with so much its a great starter pack for me. the grip that comes with is actually really sturdy, had a bit of trouble putting it on. I really recommend getting this gun if you're starting out.
by Jon C. on 2015-02-25 04:12:11
"Just got this in yesterday, From what I have seen so far this is a good gun for the price.

Pros:

Lots of rails

Foregrip included, (Foregrip is a single piece that slips over the rails and has a knob on the bottom to tighten it up, feels like it could break off if it was bumped too hard)

Popped my 9.6v battery in to test and it has an amazing rof

the two mags that come with it are nice and snug in the gun, no wobble at all

The low profile iron sights are really nice

Cons:

foregrip feels like it could easily break off

battery compartment requires an allen wrench, (included) to access

Iron Sights are not adjustable

All in all, I think this will be a beast of a gun for my airsoft matches. The rate of fire with the 9.6 really surprised me and I reccomend swapping out the stock battery for one as soon as possible. The gun feels really nice and isnt bulky to hold or carry
by Joeseph B. on 2015-02-05 19:58:36
"Let's start this review off buy admitting to ourselves that this airsoft gun looks AMAZING! I have a pros and cons about this gun, but overall, I would say that I you are looking for something unique, reasonably priced, in a package deal, and gives you good, game ready performance right out of the box, this is your gun. It has both solid internals and externals.

Pros:
The gun looks AMAZING and unique! You will definitely be recognized whichever field you play at. Looks KILLER with a red dot scope on top
It has a SOLID weight to it (can be a pro or con) yet it still remains evenly balanced despite having a full metal RIS on the front
This gun has rails on rails on rails to add literally everything you could think to add. These rails are both standard 20mm weaver rails AND are full metal for added durability
The response time with this trigger assembly is great for an AEG
Comes with a vertical grip AND 2X mags (useful no matter what level you play at) a battery and wall charger (good for beginners who want to get out and play!)
Well packaged in it's box
Great internals. I have shot thousands of bbs with this and haven't had a problem internally
Cons:
I have had issues with both of my mags feeding into the gun (you will need to REALLY wind the wheel to get the to work. Other than that they work just fine)
The orange tip is not removable to my knowledge
Limited on what type of battery you can use (not a huge issue)
Quite a hefty gun (I LOVE this about it but I know others do not)
Iron sights are terrible (you WILL need to buy some kind of sighting system to use this gun effectively)
The hop up system doesn't seem to be working correctly (I have had a lot of trouble with this trying to patch it so that the bbs don't fly upwards)
No bolt catch. This makes adjusting the hop up tricky but not impossible

*I know that makes a very long list of cons, but I still gave this a 5 out 5 because even with those cons, this airsoft AEG is still a SOLID buy for beginners and experience players alike.*
by jonathan p. on 2015-01-02 13:46:10
"Got this gun for Christmas it is great and love it had a hard time fitting the magazine in at first but after awhile it slid in and fired perfectly. It doesn't come with instructions so if you don't know how long to charge the battery that can be a problem in which can be easily fixed with a smart charger. Fires amazing and is super accurate. I love the feel of the stock and the rails are very solid

Pros
Amazing look and feel
great rail space very solid
fires accurate and fast
sturdy
ambidextrous
comes with 2 magazines

Cons
Hard to switch between safe semi and auto
no instructions
magazines are hard to fit in at first
battery semi hard to get in and out of gun

All in all an amazing gun :)
by Steven W. on 2014-12-24 00:01:02
"i have had this gun for 2 months now and i have to say that i have to say i love this gun. This is my 5th gun i have owned and by far my favorite. I will say this mine came with two hicap mags and no mid cap. This was a little disappointing for me because i only use midcaps. The features of this unique gun i liked were that it feels great in your hands with the smooth RIS on the sides near the magwell. Also, very SOLID. It is made of a lot of polymer but I am not worried about it breaking.
Accuracy was very good for me, and the chrono shot at 368-379 fps. but i did not get the rps. the only problem i have had with this gun has to be the body pins and certain mags don't like to feed. (i haven't fixed this problem yet i think it is just the way it sits) Also as a side note i have a blankhawk l2a2 light fixed on the side and with the ris being shaved down the light is very easy to control. Also make sure you have some type of optic chosen because the sights are pretty much useless. And one last thing i noticed that when i got the gun on the stock there is some weird lines in it im guessing that these came from the production process they don't bother me in the least but i did want to bring it up for those who might care.

Pro and Con list:
Pros:
-Solid construction, only con is the body pin that wants to try and fall out
-Good accuracy for it's relatively short barrel.
-I live in Georgia and all the fields i go to have a 400 fps limit so its perfect for me
-Enough rail space for anything and everything including a tactical toilet paper holder. :)
-M4 mags big plus

Cons:
-Only a single sling point on the stock/receiver.
-The stock stinks but after a week or two i couldn't smell it anymore
-battery storage i don't have this problem but i can see where it can be if u get a battery and don't check it first.
by Alex G. on 2014-06-18 21:32:40
"I've had this gun for a bunch of matches and I must say it is my favorite, and has become my main weapon. It's great! I'll do what any sensible reviewer does and list the pros and cons. I got mine at $176 during a sale so this may effect my review some.


Pros:
Feels amazing. Like a RS M4 receiver.

Accurate. Nearly as accurate as my G3 with half the barrel length

Madbull blue bucking

Getting to the barrel
by jake h. on 2014-05-04 08:54:42
"Got the is gun and used it for the first time in some games a couple days ago. Loved it. I would recommend this gun to ANYONE looking for a great AEG under $250

Pros: Shoots hard, Accurate, takes M4 mags, lots of rail space, bottom rail stops half way for comfortability, low iron sites, removable cheek riser, shorter barrel for peeking corners, 9.6 volt lasted me 5 hours of playing, nothing shakes or rattles on it, heavy, comes with grip, 14mm negative threading, huge battery compartment, ambidextrous fire selection, comes with 2 high caps.

Cons: Comes with a advanced hop-up bucking so with .20g bbs they still curve up (use .25s or higher!) Magwell pin got pushed out twice during a game almost lost it so i put a little tape over it, had to put foam in battery compartment so it didn't bounce around, you have to unscrew the stock to get your battery out our adjust the stock (time consuming). All of these cons are minor and or fixable. Nothing big to worry about.
by Jean H. on 2014-05-03 20:12:11
"Gave this gun a work out today. Put around 3000 rounds through it today. It has some feed problems. You need to make sure you mag doesn't move around or else you gun wont feed. Also the battery that comes with it is a pain to get in and out of the stock. Other than that its worth the money,
by Michael M. on 2013-01-21 14:23:16
"I purchased this several months ago, based mainly on the reviews, the look and the durability. I have not been disappointed. Out of the box, it shoots as advertised, with impressive accuracy. It does come with an 8.4v battery and cheapy charger. The internals are good.

So far, I've only upgraded the barrel (to a 6.03mm diameter, 310mm length steel), and added a 9.6v battery. No problems with jams, shots flying off into space, etc. It's fairly easy to maintain and disassemble. The barrel swap took maybe 8 minutes (mostly because I take my time the first go around to make sure I understand all the parts).

In regards to the smaller VN style mag, the notch on the side that locks it into place is about 1mm too low. If you bang it straight up, or pull it out in the direction of the mag release, the mag will slip into place. It's just a mistake on the mag.

As for the mag well pin falling out, that's DEFINITELY true. What I did was pull it out, spray it will a little LockTite, slide it back in from the other direction (insert from the right side of the gun, instead of the left), then cover it with a small (few inches) strip of black electrical tape (just in case). The only time you need to remove the pin is to swap the mag well type, or get at the internals.

The iron sites are very low, pretty much unusable. But that's okay, there's enough rail space for a site or scope.

Highly recommend. I love the way this gun looks and shoots.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 15 reviews)

Pages:  1  2