Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Extended Holiday Phone Support M-F 7am-6pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
HAPPY HOLIDAYS - 25% OFF   Use code: NEWLOOK

Echo1 MTC 3 Full Size (Modular Tactical Carbine) Airsoft AEG Rifle

23 Customer Reviews

by Pavlos P. on 11/21/2016
"I bought this 2 years ago and I am not disappointed. This is now my backup gun and has never failed me. If you want a unique gun that will turn heads and doesn't break the bank this is it.

Pros:
Takes m4 mags
Includes forgrip
Includes 2 mags
Includes battery
Metal rails
Sling point
Spring release button
Ambi fire selector

Cons:
Battery kind of annoying to put in and out
Mags a bit wobbly because small magwell
by Anthony B. on 05/17/2016
"I recently got this gun about a month ago and I must say, its a very solid platform at the end of the day.

I at first wasn't a huge fan of the integrated iron sights, there's a lot of space in the sight profile between the rear and front sights, but after a while I got used to them and they end up working out well.

The receiver is just a Matrix magwell conversion kit, but they provide the parts if you want it to take G36 mags again.

You may want to make sure that all of your pins are installed correctly and are set in the gun well, mine has a few pins that appear to be broken off in the rail system and are stuck in the gun, also the pin to my receiver became very loose at some point during a game and decided to run away. (I'm currently looking for another pin if anyone has suggestions)

You can easily upgrade and mod this gun, specifically you can remove the hand guard and replace it for one of the G36c or G36e hand guards extremely easily and add another layer of customization to the gun. There's plenty of top rail space if you want to add a variety of optics.

Changing your battery can be a bit of a hassle, you have to completely remove the adjustable buttpad with an Allen wrench to get to the battery compartment, so quick battery changes aren't this bad boy's strong suit.

As stated in the video, the selector switch is a little awkward, but it's very easy to get used to and I ended up changing my selector the exact same way as demonstrated in the video (using my thumb on the outside to push the selector down and using my whole hand to pull it up).

The rate of fire on this gun is absolutely great!! You can get a ridiculous amount of bbs out very quickly. I'd almost suggest getting an auto winding drum or box mag for this gun if you don't like changing mags often or aren't a great shot.

The only other slight con about this gun is that it has a hard time with APS 190 round mags along with the full metal counterpart the Matrix VN/SPR 190 round mag if you run those like I usually do. Also, the Angel Custom SR-47 mags for M4s are a little tight in the gun, but offer an incredibly unique look to an already unique gun, almost making it a G36/AK hybrid, a beautiful combination that I would highly recommend.

It also advertises a 300 round mag along with a 190 round mag, I ended up with 2 300 round mags, one normal M4 mag along with a Vietnam style stick mag, this might have just been a fluke or something, but they both work great in the gun.

Even with its little quirks, overall I'm giving this gun a 5/5 because in the end it's extremely solid, easy to get used to, well balanced, and simply a fun gun to use. I probably just had a bad luck of the draw with the broken pins and yours probably won't have the same problem as mine.

GET THIS GUN. *mic drop*
by Matthew D. on 05/09/2016
"I received this gun from a Box of Awesomeness and i'm extremely impressed. The gun came with a full rail set up, 2 high cap mags, a fore grip, m4 magwell, 8.4v 1100mah battery, and charger. For a beginner it is a nice set up to get you started but some things can easily be added or changed to make the gun even better. First I got some new Midcap mags because the metal high caps had all sorts of feeding issues. Switched to a 9.6v 1600mah small type battery and almost get 20rps (rounds per second). Added a red dot because it's hard to use the iron sights with a mask since they are so low profile. Put a bipod foregrip for more stability when prone. Finally changed the inner barrel to a mad bull 6.03mm x 407mm barrel with a 30mm x 190mm mock supressor to cover up that extra barrel length. All additions were easily done because of how easy it is to take apart and all the included rail space.

With all the changes I made I was able to hit people out at 250 ft pretty consistently. I am shooting at about 410fps so definitely higher then what was advertised. But at the field I play it's fine, I just can't go full auto,

PROS
Looks really cool and unique
Very solid feel, no rattling parts
High rate of fire
Accurate at long range
Tons of rail space
Adjustable stock with cheek riser
Ambidextrous selector switch
Takes m4/m16 mags

Now for the CONS list, these are things I've herd of and were minor issues that didn't really kill the quality of the gun. Just should be noted but may not happen to everyone

CONS (sort of...)
Magwell pin starts to fall out. Never happened to me but seems to happen to a lot of other people
Battery compartment width is a little tight but can modified.
Charging handle can get stuck but was able to go inside the gun and file some things down so no longer an issue.
Really low iron sights. Just put on a sight.
Single point sling. I like it but could be an issue for some.

In conclusion I love this gun! It out performs a lot of other guns out there and is a great package for beginning players, great working gun for intermediate players, and a great platform for those who want to start modifying the internals. Sure there are some weird issues but those issues helped me learn about the gun and come up with pretty good solutions on my own. In turn this also helped me learn about airsoft in general. This gun has the range and accuracy to be a DMR but shoots fast enough to be a great LMG support type weapon. I highly recommend this to anyone, just be aware of potential issues and there really won't be any.

Also there is a great video on YouTube for teardown if you want to learn how to get inside and change some things around. Hope this reveiw helps!
by Richard G. on 03/03/2016
"Its a good gun over all. the battery could be a little stronger and the mag well pin falls out alot so just put a zip tie in and ur problem is fixed
by Alex D. on 11/24/2015
"Got this gun from a BoA. It is fantastic. It fielded well, and I was continuously surprised by its range. Only thing I do not like is the battery compartment. It is time consuming to get into and it is a tight fit. So you are limited, or you can try to mod it. In the end, this gun is well worth your time.
by Noah L. on 08/25/2015
"I've had this rifle for about a month or so, and I'm honestly loving it. I really recommend it to anyone who likes the H&K rifles but want something that sticks out a lot more than usual or wants a G36C with an EXCESSIVE amount of rail space,

PROS:
- Nice looking and feeling. all of the externals look good and feel good. I'm especially fond of the stock with the thumb hole and the cheek riser. the metal rails are a bit uncomfortable on bare hands (but hey! it comes with a foregrip!)
- Heavy. This rifle has a lot of weight to it and it's lovely, could be a con if you want something light. And even with all the weight it's well balanced.
- Good Performance. I've yet to try it with a 9.6v (as it's in the mail still) but with the stock battery the rate of fire still feels pretty decent. I am able to hit a can repeatedly from about around 70 feet, a piece of A4 paper at 100, and a human sized target at about 150 feet. There is a noticeable deviation in bb trajectory at the longer distances, as to be expected.
- Really easy to disassemble and reassemble. Great for teching and adjusting things internally. echo1 has a good youtube video about it.
- M4 Magwell. This is a great thing about the rifle, a lot of mags are really loose in the magwell but it does enable you to mooch ammo off every m4 user on the field so you will never run out of ammo (as long as people are nice enough).
- Rail space. You will not run out. Ever. There's just so much of it.
- Metal Hi-Caps Included. Enough said, they are a fantastic feel and a good weight(one of mine broke though). The straight style one looks cool which is a plus.
- Compatible with JG G36 parts. I've gone back and forth between the default hand guard and a JG G36 handguard, the four holed one, it covers up the standard length outerbarrel and gives it a cool spacegun/laser gun aesthetic which turns heads. I've permanently replaced the outerbarrel with the longer G36 outerbarrel, it looks a lot better than the smaller barrel with the default handguard and allows a longer innerbarrel. And with the JG handguard installed with the JG outerbarrel makes it look like an assault rifle SL8!
- Almost fully ambidextrous. As a ambidextrous guy who shoots lefty this is fantastically convenient! The only down side is it's hard to get the mag release which is on the left side of the rifle.

CONS:

- Way too much hop up out of the box. The hop up has a maddog nub which is rather stiff. It's easily solved by using either a different nub, if accessible, or using a small radial file to shorten the arm that presses the nub down (echo1 has a video showing this too!).
- Terrible Sights. They are essentially pistol sights on a rifle. A big problem I have with it is that you cannot use the cheek riser and the integrated sights at the same time. It definitely needs some sort of attached optic.
- Magwell pin is very lose. I actually lost mine and couldn't find one, if you have problems I'd recommend picking up a G36C handguard pin as they have a nice locking mechanism and they fit perfectly in the pin slot and is nice and stiff.
- Mag release kind of sucks. I mentioned it already but I realized it's not very comfortable to use even when firing right handed. Not a big thing but It's not optimal.

All in all the Echo1 MTC 3 is a awesome looking, feeling, and shooting rifle. I highly recommend it!
by Alexander K. on 03/20/2015
"All in all, I love this gun. the battery is insanely hard to get out of the stock. but that's about the only con about this gun. comes with so much its a great starter pack for me. the grip that comes with is actually really sturdy, had a bit of trouble putting it on. I really recommend getting this gun if you're starting out.
by Jon C. on 02/25/2015
"Just got this in yesterday, From what I have seen so far this is a good gun for the price.

Pros:

Lots of rails

Foregrip included, (Foregrip is a single piece that slips over the rails and has a knob on the bottom to tighten it up, feels like it could break off if it was bumped too hard)

Popped my 9.6v battery in to test and it has an amazing rof

the two mags that come with it are nice and snug in the gun, no wobble at all

The low profile iron sights are really nice

Cons:

foregrip feels like it could easily break off

battery compartment requires an allen wrench, (included) to access

Iron Sights are not adjustable

All in all, I think this will be a beast of a gun for my airsoft matches. The rate of fire with the 9.6 really surprised me and I reccomend swapping out the stock battery for one as soon as possible. The gun feels really nice and isnt bulky to hold or carry
by Joeseph B. on 02/05/2015
"Let's start this review off buy admitting to ourselves that this airsoft gun looks AMAZING! I have a pros and cons about this gun, but overall, I would say that I you are looking for something unique, reasonably priced, in a package deal, and gives you good, game ready performance right out of the box, this is your gun. It has both solid internals and externals.

Pros:
The gun looks AMAZING and unique! You will definitely be recognized whichever field you play at. Looks KILLER with a red dot scope on top
It has a SOLID weight to it (can be a pro or con) yet it still remains evenly balanced despite having a full metal RIS on the front
This gun has rails on rails on rails to add literally everything you could think to add. These rails are both standard 20mm weaver rails AND are full metal for added durability
The response time with this trigger assembly is great for an AEG
Comes with a vertical grip AND 2X mags (useful no matter what level you play at) a battery and wall charger (good for beginners who want to get out and play!)
Well packaged in it's box
Great internals. I have shot thousands of bbs with this and haven't had a problem internally
Cons:
I have had issues with both of my mags feeding into the gun (you will need to REALLY wind the wheel to get the to work. Other than that they work just fine)
The orange tip is not removable to my knowledge
Limited on what type of battery you can use (not a huge issue)
Quite a hefty gun (I LOVE this about it but I know others do not)
Iron sights are terrible (you WILL need to buy some kind of sighting system to use this gun effectively)
The hop up system doesn't seem to be working correctly (I have had a lot of trouble with this trying to patch it so that the bbs don't fly upwards)
No bolt catch. This makes adjusting the hop up tricky but not impossible

*I know that makes a very long list of cons, but I still gave this a 5 out 5 because even with those cons, this airsoft AEG is still a SOLID buy for beginners and experience players alike.*
by jonathan p. on 01/02/2015
"Got this gun for Christmas it is great and love it had a hard time fitting the magazine in at first but after awhile it slid in and fired perfectly. It doesn't come with instructions so if you don't know how long to charge the battery that can be a problem in which can be easily fixed with a smart charger. Fires amazing and is super accurate. I love the feel of the stock and the rails are very solid

Pros
Amazing look and feel
great rail space very solid
fires accurate and fast
sturdy
ambidextrous
comes with 2 magazines

Cons
Hard to switch between safe semi and auto
no instructions
magazines are hard to fit in at first
battery semi hard to get in and out of gun

All in all an amazing gun :)
by Steven W. on 12/24/2014
"i have had this gun for 2 months now and i have to say that i have to say i love this gun. This is my 5th gun i have owned and by far my favorite. I will say this mine came with two hicap mags and no mid cap. This was a little disappointing for me because i only use midcaps. The features of this unique gun i liked were that it feels great in your hands with the smooth RIS on the sides near the magwell. Also, very SOLID. It is made of a lot of polymer but I am not worried about it breaking.
Accuracy was very good for me, and the chrono shot at 368-379 fps. but i did not get the rps. the only problem i have had with this gun has to be the body pins and certain mags don't like to feed. (i haven't fixed this problem yet i think it is just the way it sits) Also as a side note i have a blankhawk l2a2 light fixed on the side and with the ris being shaved down the light is very easy to control. Also make sure you have some type of optic chosen because the sights are pretty much useless. And one last thing i noticed that when i got the gun on the stock there is some weird lines in it im guessing that these came from the production process they don't bother me in the least but i did want to bring it up for those who might care.

Pro and Con list:
Pros:
-Solid construction, only con is the body pin that wants to try and fall out
-Good accuracy for it's relatively short barrel.
-I live in Georgia and all the fields i go to have a 400 fps limit so its perfect for me
-Enough rail space for anything and everything including a tactical toilet paper holder. :)
-M4 mags big plus

Cons:
-Only a single sling point on the stock/receiver.
-The stock stinks but after a week or two i couldn't smell it anymore
-battery storage i don't have this problem but i can see where it can be if u get a battery and don't check it first.
by Alex G. on 06/18/2014
"I've had this gun for a bunch of matches and I must say it is my favorite, and has become my main weapon. It's great! I'll do what any sensible reviewer does and list the pros and cons. I got mine at $176 during a sale so this may effect my review some.


Pros:
Feels amazing. Like a RS M4 receiver.

Accurate. Nearly as accurate as my G3 with half the barrel length

Madbull blue bucking

Getting to the barrel
by jake h. on 05/04/2014
"Got the is gun and used it for the first time in some games a couple days ago. Loved it. I would recommend this gun to ANYONE looking for a great AEG under $250

Pros: Shoots hard, Accurate, takes M4 mags, lots of rail space, bottom rail stops half way for comfortability, low iron sites, removable cheek riser, shorter barrel for peeking corners, 9.6 volt lasted me 5 hours of playing, nothing shakes or rattles on it, heavy, comes with grip, 14mm negative threading, huge battery compartment, ambidextrous fire selection, comes with 2 high caps.

Cons: Comes with a advanced hop-up bucking so with .20g bbs they still curve up (use .25s or higher!) Magwell pin got pushed out twice during a game almost lost it so i put a little tape over it, had to put foam in battery compartment so it didn't bounce around, you have to unscrew the stock to get your battery out our adjust the stock (time consuming). All of these cons are minor and or fixable. Nothing big to worry about.
by Michael M. on 01/21/2013
"I purchased this several months ago, based mainly on the reviews, the look and the durability. I have not been disappointed. Out of the box, it shoots as advertised, with impressive accuracy. It does come with an 8.4v battery and cheapy charger. The internals are good.

So far, I've only upgraded the barrel (to a 6.03mm diameter, 310mm length steel), and added a 9.6v battery. No problems with jams, shots flying off into space, etc. It's fairly easy to maintain and disassemble. The barrel swap took maybe 8 minutes (mostly because I take my time the first go around to make sure I understand all the parts).

In regards to the smaller VN style mag, the notch on the side that locks it into place is about 1mm too low. If you bang it straight up, or pull it out in the direction of the mag release, the mag will slip into place. It's just a mistake on the mag.

As for the mag well pin falling out, that's DEFINITELY true. What I did was pull it out, spray it will a little LockTite, slide it back in from the other direction (insert from the right side of the gun, instead of the left), then cover it with a small (few inches) strip of black electrical tape (just in case). The only time you need to remove the pin is to swap the mag well type, or get at the internals.

The iron sites are very low, pretty much unusable. But that's okay, there's enough rail space for a site or scope.

Highly recommend. I love the way this gun looks and shoots.
by alex h. on 10/13/2012
"Ok so this is my third airsoft gun , I must admit its like futeristic ak 47 its been in damp humid rainy weather with mud thhat took days to get off my BRUS! ( battle ready uniform that's digital but not used in active service branch's subdued digital). I,m impressed with it I used a 9.6 volt 1600 mini nuncunk which will fit, also gave it a madbull black out flash suppressor. During this rainforest weather as stated above I stress tested dumping 145 rounds. (Mid cap) I did this 12 times not breaks I mean most guns would jam from this abuse . However it s no. Godlike weapon due to the fact the pin holding the rear part of the mag holder (were you but the mag in ), fell out and caused it to stop feeding and the NHS fell out just use some black ductape or super glue if you still have the pin. (Mine was lost in the field and had to do an on the sight repair hence the ductape! ;)


Pros
If you clean the barrel before you use it and use .25 s with a mid cap or box mag it will keep shooting until the ends of the earth.
No wobbles or loose parts. Pretighten before field use to ensure long term realiability
Accurate to about 120 feet , and will DOMINATE THE SUPPRESSIVE FIRE LMG ROLE
I recommend this for airsoft zombie walks just fire and forget ...
Futuristic will always have some attention as long as you don,t admit its by echo 1
CONS
MAG pin requires modification to stay in.
Your battery will FEEL PAIN! And fail before this gun will!
Hungry for souls and bb s ( could be a pro)
Maintenaince is keen. :3

Overall this is a steal for the quality and modularity and if you can fix the rear mag holding pin keep it clean and lubed
aisoft gun will serve ANY role.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$