Reviews: King Arms Full Metal Kalshnikov SVD Airsoft AEG Electric Sniper Rifle

$269.00 $140.00

9 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-120936
Location: V3-011

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)

by Dennis N. on 2015-04-22 12:27:28
"Had this rifle for maybe a month or so. I haven't brought it out for any skirmishes, but I feel in its prior, stock state, it would perform on par to slightly upgraded AEGs. As stated in earlier reviews, my barrel was filthy. I cleaned and polished it. There are no known hop-up chamber replacements, though I figure if the A&K uses a similar gearbox and magazine, it must line up a bit. I'll purchase the aftermarket A&K hop later to see if it can be easily MacGyver'd in. Externally, it's not the best. You got that by now. The KA version is not the prettiest. Oh well. I personally never cared about 1:1 replica as long as it looks the same at a glance and is sleek and clean. It looks like an SVD to me. Moving along... The stock box is fitted with a short motor, standard gears, 15-tooth stock piston and piston head, a weird extension between the piston and piston head to make up for the longer v2.5 cylinder, stock V7 cylinder head (inverted), odd tappet plate, V3-ish switch, plastic QD spring guide that will eventually break, 120 spring, and AK nozzle.

For the spring guide, I purchased an all-metal, bearing, QD spring guide. QD guides are a feature that make box upgrades loads easier. This becomes a must-have for boxes with high power springs. The new guide slips right in, but the original piece that screwed into the rear of the guide to stabilize it wasn't able to screw into the new guide. I remedied this with a regular screw and washers.

Alternatively, this could fit v3 spring guides well enough. You would still need to use a screw and washers to stabilize the new guide, as the gearbox lacks the cutouts that the guide wings would slip into.

The spring is a spring. Upgrade it. PSG-1 springs, AEG springs. I put a 140 AEG spring into mine,

With the included piston extension, It can use a standard 15 tooth piston/gear set in the long cylinder. This; however, doesn't utilize the full length of the cylinder. I've changed mine out for a 19-tooth piston/gear set combo. These 19-tooth parts can be found as upgrade parts for the L85 or SR25 which use the same long set-up.

Piston head is a piston head, Everyone has their preferences. Buy what would suit your goal for the gun.

The cylinder head can be swapped out for an upside-down v7 (M14) cylinder head.

The cylinder is from the v2.5 gearbox. Slightly longer. Again, may be labelled as L85/SR25/PSG-1 upgrade parts.

This rifle can use AK nozzles.

Haven't had a hand at replacing the tappet plate or wiring. Tappet looks vaguely like v7? (This is a guess) and the switch is v3 in form, though the way the trigger pushes it is slightly different. Again, I haven't fiddled with them.

The motor is a short type, commonly used in v3 (AK, G36, UMP, whatever).

Do your usual AoE correction, new o-rings, flat hop, sorbo, etc.

If it doesn't need to move, bolt it down.
If it could probably have an air leak, seal that sucker up.

Overall, the gun at its $120 deal was the best on the web at the time (I checked) and I don't regret my purchase. The rifle wasn't impressive stock, but what stock gun is? Every gun can be upgraded to outperform the others. It's a wonderful project for a cheap starting price that is lightweight, sleek, unique, and still intimidating. It has the option of semi and full. How could you go wrong with more rounds down range? About the only thing I dislike about the gun is the 50rd midcap (I prefer mids) and the difficulty of mag removal when the mag is loaded.

Additionally, I shaved the dust cover somewhat because it blocked the safety lever from clicking into place in "Safe." I slapped on the bipod made for the SVD. The clamp loosens periodically, especially with heavy movement. I dislike the lock. But I'm dealing because the only other bipod options are to get a rail or stud on this rifle somewhere or use a barrel-mounted bipod. I think the SVD bipod suits it, anyway. I opted for an AK side rail mount and a 3-9x40 scope. I knocked out the pin so I could push the mount further forward, as in its original position, the scope was all up in my business despite being mounted as far forward as possible on the rail mount. I did this because the POSP scope is left-offset and doesn't suit my south paw ways.
by Glendon C. on 2015-04-15 00:42:40
"I've had this gone for about a month or so now, fielded it twice at my local field for fairly nice results. Gun shipped nicely, no damage upon arrival. Out of the box, it fired absolutely terrible. The inner barrel took about eight cleanings before all the gunk got removed and it started to shoot significantly more consistent. Parts that are metal include the out and inner barrel, gearbox, magazine, and receiver. Polymer furniture on the stock and hand guard. Polymer doesn't feel the best, but it does hold up well and feels very sturdy albeit rather ugly. Default iron sights on the gun are useless, but chances are that if you are getting this gun, you're either getting the PSO scope or the matrix rail mount.

Onto the more meaty stuff, gun comes stock with a TBB. Uses SR25 gears. Internal gearbox seemed fine with me, trigger response was crisp out of the box. Firing 0.28g Elite Force BB's at ~330 fps which is a little bit low for a DMR, but the trade off for accuracy is worth it to me. 5-7/10 hits at ~200 feet on a human sized target. Stock hop up unit is remarkably consistent. V style bucking, but the unit itself is proprietary and plastic. If the unit breaks, there are no replacements, only DIY fixes or buying a new gun. Other notes for the hop up unit, despite its consistency, there is a significant amount of play in the hopup arm, commonly resulting in a right curve to the bb flight path. I fixed this with a pretty serious shimming job on the hop up unit to keep the arm from wiggling around and pressing improperly on the bucking. Finally, the dial for the hop up unit is extremely stiff to adjust. This can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on how you want to look at it. I certainly do prefer it to be difficult to adjust rather than loose to the point where it changes randomly.

Perhaps the gun's biggest downfall comes in the magazine. The loading nozzle has a unique slant to it which makes this gun only compatible with other KA magazines (50 round mid cap and 200 round hi cap) Do not make the same mistake I did and order the A&K or Matrix or CYMA magazines. They will not work no matter how much you modify them. Believe me, I tried. Aside from that, it is extremely difficult to "tactical reload" the gun. Because of the shape of the loading nozzle, the magazine is extremely hard to remove from the mag well while there are still BB's in the track. There is no fix for this other than to empty the mag or use a good amount of force to pull the magazine out of the gun. Forcefully removing the magazine will leave some dents in the plastic portion of the magazine. Thankfully the receiver section of the gun is a high quality metal and shows no visible wear on my gun after a month of fairly solid use.

Pros:
Very consistent out of the box up to a range of 200 feet
Nice weight and accuracy
Crisp trigger response
$120 is a steal (get it while you can)

Cons:
Magazine
Proprietary parts

Somewhere in between:
really really stiff hopup dial
Hop up arm needs serious shimming

End notes: If the gun was at its original $270 price, I would have a hard time recommending the rifle. However, at $120, this is simply a steal. A few DIY mods to the hop up unit and it will be shooting far nicer than just about any other $120 gun out on the market. The gun would have a 5/5 from me except for the proprietary plastic hop up unit and the magazine removal issues.
by Geoff G. on 2015-04-10 07:56:48
"Just got it this last week and have only had time to test shoot in my backyard. Gun has a good weight and feel to is. After reading other reviews I made sure to clean my barrel before test firing and boy was it dirty, but the gun shot straight. Needed ti remove the check guard/pad to be able to see down the sights. I know I will eventually need to add a rail attachment for optics before taking it to an outdoor game.

Only problem I've had with the gun is removing the magazine. After pressing the release button it will not disengage. You really have to pull on the magazine to take it out, and if get afraid I'm going to break the gun when removing the magazine. Guessing a better quality magazine will remedy this problem.

I got this on an epic deal, but over all I am very satisfied with my purchase.
by dylan k. on 2015-04-01 08:43:18
"Hello I just got this gun one week ago. When I first pulled it out the gun was as it describes full metal besides the Palmer stock and hand grip. When I got mine the stock was a Lil bet lose but that's a easy fix. I shot a couple of times and it was on/in the right area. But that maybe because of me using .25g BBS in it the first time. I strongly suggest cleaning out the barrel before hand I did it before I shot it for the second time. The barrel was dirty. All in all very good for the money.
by David S. on 2015-03-09 18:23:36
"It's honestly a good gun but my bb's get jammed sometimes. It can get very annoying.
by Thomas G. on 2015-02-20 01:10:42
"I ordered one of these a few weeks ago and received it 3 days ago - and I was INITIALLY disappointed! It was hooking shots like crazy at close range and the hop up was not helping at all. So I am fortunate enough to live within driving range of EVIKE and I drove over to do an exchange. HOWEVER - the sales fellow asked me some questions - and started carefully checking it over. In short order He sat down and cleaned my barrel 4-5x with silicon and the cleaning rod that came with it - pausing and showing me how dirty the barrel was. Then we took it into their shooting range and BAM! It was shooting near straight and true! Finessing the hop up a bit more and it was spot on accurate in the range. He then suggested I try 0.32 ammo for better results. He added if I had any trouble getting reasonable accuracy when I got home and shot it over longer range then just bring it back so they could swap it for another. SO.... My point - what FABULOUS service support!?! The SVD itself is a LONG gun and nicely finished. I am totally satisfied with it! I already have a Russian PSOP scope which I bought directly Belarious for an SKS not realizing I could not mount the mounting plate. The hardness of the SKS receiver was such that a couple of gunsmiths told me they could not drill it. So I will soon sit down to mount my Russian PSOP sniper scope to this airsoft King Arms SVD!
by ben m. on 2014-09-19 15:06:00
"I got this gun recently and have several pros and cons

Pros:
fps
mostly metal
included battery (though I bought a 8.4 genstar)
extra long barrel
easy spring change
easy hop-up adjustment

Cons:
Some cheap parts
top receiver lock broke (easy fix though with some straps, not a big deal)
side rail mount is unusual, not a weaver rail

I would definitely recommend this gun to anyone who wants a DMR. This is perhaps the finest AEG sniper one can find at this price.+
by Timothy D. on 2014-03-02 12:15:53
"I love king arms this is a great gun highly suggested
by Ben Z. on 2013-05-16 17:47:32
"This is an amazing gun. I suggest this to anyone looking to buy an airsoft gun.

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)