Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Extended Holiday Phone Support M-F 7am-6pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
HAPPY HOLIDAYS - 25% OFF (exclusions apply, see details)   Use code: NEWLOOK

Pre-Order ETA March 2017 WE Open Bolt Full Metal M16-A1 VN Airsoft Gas Blowback GBB Rifle

10 Customer Reviews

by Jesse T. on 03/25/2016
"I have seen some negative reviews on this gun, but I think those people have just had some bad luck, mine has been great. I had used a lot of aegs and I was tired of all the problems that could occur and the poor performance. I tried out a gas gun and it did NOT disappoint! The rifle has great distance with amazing accuracy! The mag holds 20 bbs, and I have gotten 20 kills in a row before.
Perhaps you have seen an enemy hiding in dense underbrush or tall grass and you tried to shoot them with your aeg, but the bbs just bounced off the vegetation. Not with this gun, the gas propels the bbs cutting straight through thick underbrush and keeping power at far distances, and the bbs don't start to drop after 50 feet.
The kick on this gun when it shoots is awesome! It feels great and actually moves the gun, but it is not intense enough to throw off accuracy! The sound it makes from the blow back is awesome! It may not be that practical to shoot it in full auto, but it definately turns some heads when you do! The gun also breaks down almost just like the real m16. For realism and performance, this gun can't be beat!
I run a Vietnam load out, and this gun is perfect for it! I put a lot of time and money into my authentic load out, so I needed a rifle that was just as cool, not any of those crappy Aegs. Also, the gas is held in each mag, as with all gas rifles, so it makes life a bit easier not having to worry about charging your battery, just pump some gas into the mag.

So I have been praising the gun, so now I have to list some cons. This gun needs a lot of maintanence, but no different than any other GBB rifle, you need to clean and lube it after every day of playing. This isn't exactly a con, since you should do this with all GBB, but it is kind of a pain. Every few months the barrel might get a little loose, and need to be tightened, but WE has included a special tool to tighten the barrel with.
The mags only hold 20 bbs, which is t exactly a con, because it is realistic, and great for mil-slim! The mags may not hold as much ammo as an aeg, but the rifle makes up for it with its performance! I have held my own against aegs slinging their torrents off bbs out there, meanwhile I make my shots count! Plus extra mags are $25, which is a good deal for a gas mag! Another con is that gas guns do not really work in the cold, of course aegs don't function at their best in the winter either, but at least aegs work. But so long as it is at least in the high 50s and your gun is well lubed you shouldn't have any problems. The gun feels a bit light, which isn't really a con, because it weighs about the same as the real m16 used in the 60s. Plus the gun has a solid feel to it, other than the hand guard, but the hand guard is supposed to feel that way.
You will want some extra mags if you are going to do matches with this gun. I have 5 mags total, plus my sidearm, and so long as I'm not wasteful, that is usually enough. This gun is compatible with the 30 round mags, but the short 20 round mags are much better. My whole team uses WE open bolt GBB, and they will all tell you that my short mags are better. The long ones seem to have more problems, and the baseplate on the bottoms of the mags come loose, but these short mags are very sturdy and they have a much better feel to them!
People say to only use green gas in your gun, but I have been using propane in my. So long as you keep it well lubed you should be fine, it hasn't given me any trouble.

Overall this is probably the best gun I have ever used. I give it 5 stars. If you are looking for a realistic, high performance Vietnam era weapon, then this is hat you want! I am never going back to aegs... Except for my m60, they don't make GBB LMGs, sadly.
by michael j. on 12/24/2014
"ok so i have had this gun for well over a year. it has couple of problems that are easy fixed but overall this gun is one of the best gbbr i have ever used or owned.

pros
rof
fps
parts
three prong flash hider

cons
inner barrel
bolt catch

this gun if you know how to fix it and clean it is amazing i would definitely recommend this gun for experienced airsofters the internals arent bad but they aren't amazing so i would suggest getting ra tech internals.

P.S. if you want to remove the flash hider you need to use a torch to heat up the muzzle.
by Cole M. on 07/06/2014
"I have had this rifle for 1 month. This rifle is truly amazing when it functions properly. The recoil is amazing and the sound puts the fear of god into people. Its effective to up to 200ft with .30s. The gun is also fairly easy to understand and clean. I started having problems with the valve knocker not making contact with the mags gas release. However, with a pulling the charging handle a few times and lots of lube, It started working again.
PROS:
Pretty much everything.
Range
Accuracy
Recoil
All around feel
CONS:
Takes alot of time and care (not completely a con)
Handguard is very cheap
by Max H. on 09/29/2013
"I bought this rifle a while ago at the Evike Super Store and I got to say, this rifle is very realistic!
I want to point out that my dad had an AR-15 and said that the recoil is almost spot on and the hand guard felt like his ( cheap and plastic feeling, which again is a pro for realism.) I want to mention that i did buy 2 30 rd magazines and they work perfectly fine. those have a matte gray finish and look totally different than the 20 rd mag. also, 20rd mag was way more solid feeling than the 30rd mags. the finish of the gun is a dark black not gray, but it looks good. the paint job is pretty good and the forward assist does work. the accuracy is amazing. I hit a target about 100-120 ft and hit it almost dead center! I love this rifle and have had no problems with it so far I totally recomend it to players with realsteel AR expirience. One thing to mention, when you get it, lube it with good lubricant and baby this rifle. Always take good care of your rifle and it will take care of you ;)
Pros:
highly realalistic
accurate
great paint job
awesome blowback/recoil
no need to upgrade
light
clean
uses 30rd mags and 20rd mags
great for 'nam softing
cons:
comes dry and dirty (a little lube and a good cleaning in the bolt and trigger assembly wouldn't kill you)
by matt e. on 04/17/2013
"I bought this about 3 weeks ago I use it every day its cheeper then shooting my real steel AR and it works the same way. This is my first gas blowback airsoft gun, this is deffently a great training tool im not sure if I would use this in a airsoft game just cause the mags only hold 20 rounds. When I got this It worked good for the first 6 mags then my fire slector broke it also broke bbs in the chamber so I took everything apart and cleaned all the broken bbs out of the lower reciver and upper and fixed the fire slector switch. This is as close as you can get to a fully automatic M16.. do not I mean DO NOT buy this if u can not take the time to clean it when u get home from the field and make sure you lube everything b4 u head out . I used .25gram bbs and they still broke in the chamber so I wouldt recomend using anything lower .
I also would not recomend this to a young kid unless they have someone that can show them how to clean and maintain a firearm (make sure you use airsoft safe lube to clean

Pros
Great gun
Good build quailty
Great FPS
Hard recoil
Good traing tool

Cons
Instruction manual is all in japanese
Since this is a new gun not many videos out on it
Some minor stuff wrong with it (mentioned above)
by Michael S. on 08/08/2012
"This gun is AMAZING!!! not really any problems when i first got it that were not able to fix easily. First off its fps is 430+ and accurate as hell. feels great in your hands and light weight for it's size. the first problems that were easily fixed were the feeding nozzle in the upper receiver, leading onto the barrel, so i sanded it down a little and it fixed it. The other is the hop-up, it is a pain to find the right allen key (the one that mine came with didn't fit) to fit and turning is a pain, i used small needle nose pliers to turn it(left is up and right is down) and fixed the hopup. but it all turned out great and it is a great gun. when i got this gun i never went back to aegs so when u go gas u dont go back. the mags are very efficient but sometimes the bolt catch doesn't work on the mags. couldn't have gotten a better gun. Over-all an amazing gun.
by Nicholas Z. on 03/05/2016
"This is a nice gun. Has a nice weight to it and the recoil kick is something else. I would highly suggest taking it apart and cleaning off all the excess grease and oil, then give it a nice lube job. I have found no reason to file or mod any parts in order to make it work. Maybe some folks have had to do it, but not me. I do not like the "semper fi" engraving on it. Not that I have anything against the Marines, I think it looks toy like without the more realistic trades. I would highly suggest getting the NPAS and installing it. I did, and I can actually use this rifle at the local fields. The NPAS is really easy to install.
by sean h. on 07/16/2015
"Pros:
Kick/recoil
Full metal
Vietnam look

Cons:
Some time gets stuck on full auto even when you put the gun on semi

Mags cost a lot

Weight can be a pro to
by Takuichiro T. on 07/13/2012
"Good rifle for sniper use of reenacting war Milsim games. Very accurate and light, lots of fun to use in a game. Very realistic feel and nice recoil.

Pros:

Light weight can be carried all day
Accurate
Real cap mags for the Milsim junky (like me)

Cons:

Can't use 30rd WE mag (with out changing bolt)
not many accessories for this model

Conclusion:

Don't let anyone tell you this rifle is not good for pick up games at you local field. It holds it own you just have to chang you style of play, but I don't recommend it for close quater combat due to the length, but that choice is yours.
by Aaron M. on 07/26/2015
"Will definitely need modifications. I must admit when people said this gun should be for experienced airsofters they were right. You will literally have to file, scrape, and trim the parts in your rifle for it to function properly, and every magazine that you buy as well. Green Gas Mags Only!!! The co2 ones Do Not work. And the Ra-Tech bolt carrier will not fix the bolt catch either, you have to mod your rifle. It's a shame that you pay good money for something that doesn't work, but I guess if you have the time, money, and patience it will work out.

Pros:
Realistic
Fun
Powerful

Cons:
The quality of the rifle
Expensive

If you do decide to take the challenge of owning a WE rifle, ye be warned! There is a 30 minute how to video on youtube by Non Existent, good luck