Reviews: WE Open Bolt Full Metal M4 Airsoft Gas Blowback GBB Rifle - Black

$320.00 $262.40

10 Customer Reviews
Model: GR-WE-M4OB-B
Location: L3-049 L3-T20

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)

by Craig C. on 2014-07-12 17:16:14
"This guns like others is a complete DUMP. I bought four additional and appropriate mags for this gun, as I thought maybe its the mags not holding a charge... but, no.

I fire this dumpy gun at least 4 or 5 rounds and it goes limp. Seems like something is happening internal, were all the gas its admitted at once when just I install my newly charged clip.

Is this a common problem with all GBBRs? Because I also got this WELL M4 Open Bolt GBB, and it does the same exact thing. POW, POW, POW, POW, flaaaaattt.

When taking out the clip, I press the value and no gas is holding.

I tried dunking the clip in water, no signs of leaks.

Bummer, because, I really want something that is reliable. I am new to this sport and I am very discourage.


Its a well built gun, and feels nice.... but that is about it. When firing, I give it a 5 out of 10. Believe me, I have my time logged with this gun before and the mechanics needs a whole lot of R&D funds to get it up to speed. Feels clunky and cheep when firing. Again, feels great, the weight feels great, looks and operates like the real thing.. but, if it actually fired, maybe I would review this better. MEH.
by Kenny W. on 2014-02-20 18:05:53
"I've owned this gun for about a couple months now. I am not hard on this gun so its holding up pretty well. Its amazing how realistic this gun is. I mean that beyond the basic field strip. I watched a video on AR-15 assemblies and have found that the WE is very similar in construct, with the exception of the trigger assembly and how the buffer lock is secured. I currently have authentic Magpul (not PTS) handguards, pistol grip, and a mil-spec stock ( the buffer tube is indeed mil-spec). This gun kicks moderately, not enough to effect accuracy. The stock fps is relatively high (CQB incompatible). A $20 NPAS valve will fix that. The finish wears in any places where metal moves against metal (to be expected). Action of the bolt is smooth, bolt release functions fine when firing. However, bolt might not lock if simply charging with an empty mag. Also, if not lubricated properly, the loading nozzle might not ride back with bolt carrier completely. It will when firing, just not with charging. This gun requires maintenance and knowledge of the how the rifle functions and pieces together. This is not something to load green gas and play or oil up every now and then. It will require cleaning and lubrication constantly. This comes with the territory of any high end gas blowback. That said, I would recommend this gun, given the cheaper price and availability of upgrades.

Pros:
Realistic action and breakdown
Good quality materials and build
Moderate kick
Real steel compatibility
Up-gradable
Affordability (relative to other GBBR)

Cons:
Trigger assembly is not steel (is metal, just not steel)
Polymer loading nozzle and flash hider
The flash hider is glued down but removable
Finish will wear after some use (to be expected)
by jed s. on 2014-01-21 22:04:09
"Got mine for Xmas and boy it was WORTH IT! playing Airsoft for a awhile, i wanted something different then having a AEG with 5,000 rounds and this rifle makes it a challenge to have just 30 rounds, and its ok because the challenge was what i was after. The only complain i have was the outer barrel if you can take it off to make it CQB barrel and adding a suppressor. Overall this gun is meant for EXPERIENCE players who want a challenge then just pulling a trigger shooting 5000 rounds and call it a day. Having this gun maintenance is required with lube after you shoot for fun or after games. 5 out of 5 for me! Thanks We Tech you guys rock!
by caleb f. on 2013-10-13 13:33:02
"I got this gun about a month ago and I must say I'm very pleased with it. it shoot smooth, good trigger pull just a hair of over travel but it doesn't bug me to much. also every one complains about the paint it has only shown metal in a few spots of high wear locations, IE charging handle latch, selector switch, and around the mag well. this was also my first GBBR so the battery of arms took some getting used to

pros.
a joy to shoot
smooth shooting
trigger pull
can out range AEGs in most cases
works in colder whether (especially with C02)
real steel parts
mag weight (could be a con)
NO BATTERY ANY WHERE!!!
real steel training value

cons.
battery of arms takes some getting used to if not already familiar with it
came dirty
need a lot of mags


over all worth it just because of how much fun this thing is on full auto with C02
by Joe S. on 2013-07-16 14:04:38
"I've had this for about a year and a half. Did a few modifications and added a TBB barrel, Daniel Defense rail, mock suppressor, and Magpul furniture. This thing is compatible with my AR15 accessories which was really convenient.

Pros:
-Powerful
-Awesome range (effective of about 60-65 meters)
-Durable (internals are top notch, no replacements so far!)
-Easily customized compared to AEG's because of the real steel compatibility
-Durable mags
-Blowback with bolt stop is a nice thing to have, which is standard on GBBRs

Cons:
-Cost of maintenance and use (Gas, magazine valves)
-Magazines are very expensive and 32rds isn't very practical for airsoft
-Loud (impractical for airsoft)
-Magazines are heavy, you need a VERY high quality plate carrier and quality pouches
-Gas HOG

Overall: It's a fun gun, but be ready for high maintenance, a lot of money along the way, and you're gonna need to be a handy guy/gal to keep the gun and its magazines working properly. I enjoy that part though, because to me working on firearms is fun and this is good practice; along with the simulated recoil and 32rd mags.

I grew tired of this in airsoft, though. I was easily out gunned at times because of people with Hi-caps or midcaps higher than my mags, so I found myself suppressed easily, and I always feel bad asking for cover fire. It's very hard to suppress and shooting on full auto will just empty your mag's gas chamber like no other. Gas is also very inconsistent, making it hard to predict the bb's flight path past 150 feet or so.

Because of these issues, I've decided to sell this gun and all the mags (12), and use the money for a sniper platform.

Now that I have experience with this, I realized it wasn't for me. You might as well make it a DMR because there's just too many disadvantages going against 30rps AEG's or Polarstars with 200+ rounds in a mag. ***BE WARNED*** Having a GBBR is only for those who are very experienced and looking for a challenge.
by Brandon S. on 2013-04-06 09:56:52
"Just got this gun after having the WE PDW for about a year, quality is top notch. I'm a believer in WE GBB guns. I took off the front handgaurd, added a daniel defense omega-x 12" front RIS and a 150mm silencer to house a new angel custom 6.01 500mm tight-bore barrel, fits perfect. You can easily swap out the handgaurd for rails or whatever you want because it has a delta-ring like any aeg, so all the aeg RIS's work on this gun. One other thing I always do when I buy a WE GBBR is get the angel custom vsr-10 hop-up bucking (red one) and an NPAS valve to adjust velocity. This gun is truly a solid platform that performs great out of the box, and wears modifications nicely. If you are thinking about getting this gun, I HIGHELY recommend it, easy maintenance makes it perfect for a first-time GBBR user and it's performance and mod-ability are great, so it's a gun you can keep and upgrade as you want.
by Daniel G. on 2013-03-29 23:05:42
"Just got this gun today and kicks ass!!! Like the heavyness and the easy maintenance

Pros: heavy
High fps
Easy maintenance
Everythinng

Cons: except for the hard reloading in the mag none
by Andrew H. on 2012-04-13 05:55:26
"Just received this today, figured I'd give the public some insight on the WE Tec M4.
This is a wonderful gun, 1:1 scale with an Colt M4A1, everything works perfect, and this weapon it awesome.

5/5
by Branden D. on 2012-02-06 07:05:59
"This rifle rocks! I got this rifle about 6 months ago, I am from Wisconsin so usually gas guns do not work in the winter even for indoor cqb. My local club I play indoor cqb is heated to about 38 degrees and this gun will cycle full mags, on full auto all day with no problem. However I would recommend buying the RA-tech NPAS so you can drop the fps to cqb level. (the NPAS allows for adjustable fps and its only $20). Also this gun will out range a good amount of snipers in the field. Also dont get shied away because the mags are "expensive" and only hold 30 rounds. I take this gun to large MilSim's and can play just fine with the 7 mags I have acquired over time. I know this is alot of money to spend on a gun however, it is more realistic, more reliable than a AEG, and better performance right out of the box. This gun is amazing!
by Brian C. on 2011-12-15 11:02:17
"This is an awesome rifle. I have the 416 which is basically the same gun. It has a nice kick to it, great accuracy and range and simple as heck to maintain. Keep it lubed and it works like a charm. Very gas efficient too, I can get 1 1/2 mags off a 10 sec charge. Fit and finish is spot on to the real rifle (minus trades) tho it does scratch easier than hard coat but I don't care. The thread is 14mm- which is a huge plus to me as all my flash hiders were for AEGs. Few cons include real steel grips DO NOT fit without major mods and the inner barrel is not snug in the barrel so a little ectrical tape would be needed, unless the ra tech barrel is larger. All in all this is the most fun you will have and probly dumps AEGs all together (I have) so with all that and mag compatibility across 8 different rifles you can't go wrong.

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)