Reviews: PKM Russian Battlefield Squad Automatic Weapon Airsoft Machine Gun by Matrix / A&K

$560.00 $399.00

9 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-PKM
Location: L2-060 V6-M6 V6-M7 V6-M10 V6-M11 V6-M12 V7-M12 V7-M13

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)

by william r. on 2013-09-24 21:03:42
"First off, I can tell you this is my new favorite gun. I can say that I took advantage of the 4th of July 23% off deal and I can tell ya, I couldn't use it until recently at a Big Op, where I learned that the FPS really was around 450, not the listed above, but either way, it definitely fits the role of support gunner. With it, I held off in a bunker against enemy forces for a total of 4 hours, which the only reason I lost the hill was because the battery died. This hit HARD, people from other states said they were happy not to go against it.

Pros:
Great (adjustable) ROF
449.5 FPS (To be exact)
Intimidating as heck (In favor of other profane words.)
5,000 Round Box Mag (With an accumulated total of 8 minutes continuous, suppressive fire)
Hop up is adjustable (That should be a given)
All steel construction (Cept for feeding tube in magazine, handles and stock)

Cons:
Heavy (23 LBs)
Battery drains slightly faster with auto-wind (So buy an extra one)
Little stiff on bipod preparing
BBs have a chance at falling below the feeding mechanism (The 3 screws on the bottom can help with that)
The orange tip is plastic

Other than that, it's all good and PERFECT for a support gunner role.
by Andrew C. on 2013-08-25 17:04:58
"Very worth it, not that heavy to where you cant shoulder fire it for long periods of time, price is great if it were any lower every casual would have keep it high bros /)

also the rate of fire adjuster doesnt work all that well. bypass with 14v lipo 2 full box mags day one, flawless.
by Michael S. on 2013-08-03 10:10:53
"I'll start off by saying this is an excellent support weapon. It's reliable, it's got range, it's intimidating, it's capacious: both in BB and battery storage. It's massive. It's got a lot of advantages and a few cons to consider. I actually made a video review which is now on youtube, just search "a&k pkm review", it's the one by "taterbuzz"

I'll quickly overview some things any potential buyer should consider. I do recommend checking out the video review if you truly are serious about the PKM, but if you're just looking for some quick info I'll provide it here.

I modified a Romanian bakelite AKM pistol grip to fit, and also fabricated a wooden stock out of cedar to up the looks of the PKM. I'm planning to order some bakelite grip plates for the carry handle to complete the look. I replaced the ghastly orange tip with the shorter, subtler PKM flash hider. I also replaced the inner barrel and bucking nub; the barrel with a Matrix tightbore- which works reasonably well, and the nub with a piece of pen tube (as most do with the A&K M249s and M60s.)

Pros:

-It's got ample space for bbs and batteries
-I've run lipos through it for 10,000+ bbs with no issues
-Gearbox is massive, solid, and loaded with decent parts
-Pushes 420 or so FPS out of the box, giving it decent range of about 180 feet
-Mainly steel components- and where it counts at that
-Very nice reinforced polymer stock, grip, and grip panels
-QD barrel works well and is solid
-Carry handle is thick stamped steel
-Takes upgrades easily
-No parts, internal or external, have broken with hard use
-Gets attention at the field- may annoy some


Cons:
-ROF adjuster crapped out on me after about 1000 rounds, but it's easy to bypass
-Very heavy- I own an A&K M60 which is much easier to carry and wield. I do so without a sling. On the PKM however, a sling is almost a necessity.
-It's long. It's easy to bump trees as well as other players with it. Swing with care.
-It's a bit awkward to hold. The magazine gets in the way of a comfortable grip.
-Fair amount of zinc/aluminium alloy parts
-As others have said, the bipod is rather wiggly
-Accuracy out of the box on mine was just decent with a 12-16 inch spread at about 160 feet
-Somewhat pricy, but it is a PKM after all...
-Most players don't know what it is. A M60? No. A SVD? No. A M249? No. Etc...


Did I mention it's long?
by Alex E. on 2013-08-02 07:52:12
"Had this gun since April and I can say that this is a pretty good gun for the money. I've never had a problem with this gun and it's very fun to use.

Pros:

Accurate
Don't have to downgrade fps to use at my field!
Large, automatic winding magazine
Almost all metal (really good plastic for pistol grip, carrying handle, and stock and can be replaced with wood!)

Cons:

The RoF selector buttons are where you would put your hand if you were to fire from a standing position. But this gun isn't really meant to be fired from a standing position anyways.

Overall money well spent
by Riley H. on 2013-03-28 08:06:00
"I gun a few days ago and it is HEAVY its difficult to play in a 3 hour war with the PKM. I also had a problem with the box mags latch coming undone and me loosing around 4000 BBS but I fixed that. But overall the PKM is the most intimidating weapon on the battle field and one of the best weapons on the battle field. Also the bipod is very wobbley which isn't a big deal. THIS GUN IS THE BEST GUN IVE EVER HAD!
by Carly M. on 2013-03-25 22:45:22
"First off I love my PKM, he is a beast. Love the box mag with its direct feed, runs off the same battery as the gun, has different feed modes. Its a pretty solid gun, gets decent range. Sadly I'd recommend picking up the reinforced switch they are selling, mine went out pretty quickly, luckily it's really easy to switch out. They say it fires between 340 and 390 fps, thought I'd be ok to take it to an OP but when it chronoed he fired pretty tightly around 450 (impressive but about 50 fps over the allowed limit for saws).
In the end the only real issue I had was with the switch burning out and causing the PKM to continuously fire. Defiantly pick up a spare switch.
by Jason M. on 2013-02-19 13:39:44
"Simply Awesome! Buy it! You will not regret it! Best Airsoft machine gun I ever own!
by Henry D. on 2013-02-19 13:38:45
"To add: This piece of equipment will give you the aggressive SAW look but without the weight like the M60 and MK43 series. The gearbox is A&K's newest version that seem to work smoother too (I also have an A&K M249 Paratrooper.) If you are looking for superior fire-power and a squad automatic weapon, look no further!!
by Henry D. on 2013-02-19 13:36:33
"Just got my PKM last week and had a blast last weekend!!! All in all, the gun works flawless and as expected. It came in a Matrix labeled box with manual, box magazine, battery and charger. I would highly recommend using a lipo!

Pro:
Insanely accurate.
The box magazine works like a charm.
Amazing rate of fire and fire-power.

Con:
None!!

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)