Reviews: Matrix SVD II Dragunov Bolt Action Airsoft Sniper Rifle (Stealth Black)

$150.00 $115.00

67 Customer Reviews
Model: SR-MTX-SVD-BK
Location: L6-060 V4-M15

Displaying 25 to 36 (of 67 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by chris d. on 2013-11-29 21:09:46
"My first gun purchase in several years and with a little TLC it is no disappointment

Out of the box the handguard was very loose and the plate which secures it (at the skinny end, closer to the muzzle) was moving around.

Turns out, the set screw the factory used was much too small to bridge the gap between the plate and the outer barrel. I replaced the tiny set screw with a ten millimeter piece and now the plate is very secure. If you have the same issue, buy an M3x10mm set screw. These are used for certain R/C cars and are readily available online or at better hobby stores

Also, the locking pin on the handguard plate must be removed in order to slide up/off the plate. Some online videos indicate that it only needs to be turned to allow the plate to slide off. Not true. Rotate the pin so the locking tab is free of the plate then pull the pin straight out. It is a very tight fit

Either AIM/TOP or Evike filled the set screw hole at the flash hider/front sight piece with solder. Why is anybody's guess. It took a lot of effort to remove the solder and get to the set screw. Again, the set screw was a bit small. I swapped in an M4x8mm screw I bought at Home Depot

I also replaced the larger handguard plate set screw with an M4x6mm screw that I bought at Home Depot

Gun assembles easily--only have to remove the spring guide block (two screws) then screw the stock on with three screws. Oddly, the factory provides what look like drywall screws. They seem to work well enough though

Cheek rest looks on the cheap side, and the locking mechanism is rickety but functional. There is no way to use the rest and look down the sights, even without a mask on. Use of a scope allows use of the cheek rest, at least when not wearing a mask

The finish on the metal parts (most of the gun) was very even and well done. The plastic furniture is well molded and sturdy. The gun overall is very solidly built

Magazine fits well and feeds well, but is a little difficult to load owing to the slanted design of the feed mechanism. I did experience BBs dribbling out the barrel when first putting the magazine into the gun. After the first shot it is fine. Only happens when first popping the mag in

I bought the Matrix (AIM/TOP) scope mount and it fits great

The Matrix bipod also fits perfectly on the receiver

Cocking handle is tough to pull. Get the AIM extra large bolt handle

Gun shoots very hard

While not totally authentic, since it's a springer, I would highly recommend this gun
by charlie f. on 2013-04-17 11:31:17
"This gun is good but is kinda annoying
the screws are a pain i lost one and my stock is wobbley but a rubberband help ghettto kinda
pros:
good weight feels real
awesome look
mag mid cap
fps
all metal
cons:
loud
screws
weight heavy can be pro or con
small flash hider
spring has to get use to it
scopes are expensive

over all recommended for a starters first sniper and if you dont want to spend to much and if you dont want a regular l96 or m24 4/5
by Aaron A. on 2013-01-24 19:41:41
"UPDATE
So I got a dud, and after getting a dud L96 a few years back I almost lost my faith in bolt actions springers. BUT THEN- Evike repaired it for free, and the front sight wobble is fixed, my hop up is fixed, and the gun (before hop up adjustments and scope adjustments) is already nailing head sized targets at 75-125 feet. when hop is adjusted I estimate 170 as its top range. Great purchase, great retailer.

Pros:
High quality construction
430 fps with .30g BB
Accurate
Quiet
Sexy
Comfortable

Cons:
Hard to assemble with all the screws
Hop up adjusting is a hassle
Mag can be difficult at first
Takes a little bit to "break in"
by Anthony D. on 2013-01-11 17:44:06
"Best sniper rifle I ever owned by far. VERY accurate and consistent to 200 feet. This gun is really awesome. The only problem I had was putting on the scope mount, which is fixable. This gun is highly recommended.
by Aaron M. on 2012-09-25 18:07:02
"This is a great sniper rifle... i cant really say much since i havent gotten a scope for it or shot any bbs heavier than .25s. but excellent gun for the money. i would recommend getting a REAL scope for it, if you dont want to buy a rail adapter. dont buy the airsoft PSO-1 scopes. the cheapest you can find is a Romanian PSL scope for 100.
Pros:
Powerful - about 490-530 fps w/ .2s
accurate
quiet
spring powered (can be a con)
uses AEG hopup and barrel
can be switched to gas
a breeze to dissasemble
Cons:
maybe not as high quality as some others, but still good for $125
other than that, not many cons. its a very reliable gun over all. i recommend it to anyone
by ALICE M. on 2012-09-20 16:44:02
"For the money, this is probably the best sniper rifle you can buy. I've had it for almost three months now.
Pros:
-powerful
-simple to use
-great bargain
-amazing range
-durable (you cannot avoid accidently bumping it as you carry it around, but it'll be fine)
-relative to vsr-10's or m24's or l96's, it's super rare
-predictable grouping

Cons:
-not accurate, scope or iron sights
-any add-ons or upgrades are expensive
-until you get it down, cocking it is very difficult and painful
-hop-up is annoying, if you have the screw too high it'll fall into the gun
-occasional double-feeding and misfires

I recommend this gun to anyone who doen't get mad that their shots don't go down the sights every shot. Once again, it's not accurate, but after a few shots at different ranges you can tell where the shots will go. It's only $125 without any coupon codes, so it is definetly a bargain over other similarly-powerful spring (or gas) snipers.
by Noah L. on 2012-09-07 16:39:03
"Good Gun overall. Very accurate and 500fps out of the box. Hard to pull handle back but after a while it gets eaiser.
by wes j. on 2012-08-06 01:04:06
"My personal list of pros and cons...

Pro:
- high powered, accurate, heavy, blah blah blah

Long story short it's a GREAT gun and I would recommend it, however....

Cons:
- LOUD compared to other m150 snipers I have owned
- bolt is actually annoying to pull back regardless of your arm size
- inconvenient sight and hopup systems
by John W. on 2012-07-30 20:05:47
"Very reliable and durable gun! You will not be disappointed.

Pros:
- Solid heavy Build. Full metal. Some steel parts?
- Not for the weak. (trust me) hand hurts after about 15 shots.
- A solid 450-500 fps out of box with .25's and about 400-460 with .36 ...
- Super simple to take care of. Also super easy to tear down.
- Overall amazing appearance.
- Amazing for the price.

Cons:
- not many upgradable parts available yet... could use spare trigger assemblies, piston catches, springs/guides, varied side rail mounts and other simple internal stuffs...maybe a hello kitty themed stock and forgrip... lol. kidding.
by Charlie K. on 2012-05-05 23:12:33
"Great gun!

Pros:
~High FPS out of the box (519 for me)
~ NOT an L96 or VSR
~Accurate
~Stock hop-up is really good
~Can take with AEG springs unlike the L96/VSR that need their own springs
~Iron sights are fairly accurate

CONS:
~Came with not enough lubricant (nothing a buncha silicone cant fix)
~Not sure about aftermarket parts (L96, VSR?)
~No rails. have to buy the mount separately
by lyndon w. on 2012-05-04 22:49:09
"this gun is great for anyone looking for a somewhat cheap yet high qulity sniper. the fps is great even when using heaver bb's such as .25's witch i recomend i have not tryed it with higher than .25's. this guns accuracy is good and unless your going to be play in a large feild not need for a scope i have exprienced a few feeding issuse and double loading but nothing that will over some the many pros of the gun

pros:
high fps
accuracy
iron sights
great build quailty(polyimer and metal)

cons
minor feeding/jamming issuse
heavy (maybe a good thing for realismim)
by John B. on 2012-04-17 13:19:08
"THe A&K dragunov is a good, affordable sniper rifle, and correcting my previous review:
PROS:
Cost is low
easily upgraded(WOOD, BIPOD, CO2 SYSTEM)
long range
hi capacity mid cap mags (96)
great polymer furniture
Not very heavy
FULL metal
CONS:
NEEDS lubrication to work AT ALL (Mags and gun
Cheek rest's metal twisted on mine (can't repair), they really need to sell replacements.

Over all, this gun is very good, but ONLY with lubrication. I would really like to see replacement cheek rests, and if Evike sent me one, I would be very happy.

Displaying 25 to 36 (of 67 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4  5 ...