Reviews: Matrix 190R Aluminum Precision Feeding Mid-Cap Magazine for M4 M16 Series Airsoft AEG - Black

$25.00

12 Customer Reviews
Model: MAG-MG-E09-BK
Location: V5-004

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)

by Joe B. on 2014-03-14 13:35:35
"I bought a few of these mags a while ago and was very disappointed at first. It would jam every 5 bbs or so and I couldn't get more than 60 bbs in the mag. I was considering throwing them away but I'm glad I didn't. Eventually just for the heck of it I took the mag apart, put a lot of silicon oil inside them, put them back together and loaded them up with bbs. The difference was almost instant. With a little tlc these mags feed extremely well and can hold a bunch of bbs. I would recommend these mags to anyone for their price and plan in purchasing a few more in the future.
by Susan M. on 2013-09-26 16:54:14
"I bought these in mid September, around the 15th I believe, and I have to say I'm very disappointed with the performance of these magazines.

Pros:
- Solid construction.
- Lightweight.
- Good appearance.

Cons:
- Terrible spring, I'm using the Matrix M4 and it fails to load properly. If it isn't skipping shots, it's not feeding.
- Paint wears off easily (may be a con for some, not that important to me).
- Don't fit properly in a Matrix M4.

Overall I'd like to give these a good review but I bought six and they're all bad for performance.
by brett r. on 2013-03-06 18:50:00
"To start off the magazine is not that bad 'construction' wise but performance is a different story.

Pros: Metal
Holds 190 rd (more that any other mid cap magazines)
Nice price
Fits well
good construction/solid build

Cons: Break in period takes forever with these.
DO not feed very well/skip shots. (This might have to do with how the spring has to be so long for all 190 rounds but that is just a guess.)

Over all if they were to feed a little better they would be very good magazines. You guys might have better luck with the feeding. It could have been my gun.
by Trevor C. on 2012-09-20 18:14:26
"Good Mag. Slides In After Messin With It Alil Got It To Slide In, and Lock Usually Right Away.
I Think Its Alot Easier Of A Mag to Manage Than The Wind Ups.
No Cons So Far!
by Casey R. on 2012-05-18 13:29:50
"Picked up 8 of these for my G&G FN2000 and my VFC MK16. FN2000 owners take note.

Like everyone says, these mags are raw; i.e., they need to br broken in internally AND externally. For my FN2000 these mags did not go in easy at all. I almost called evike about this but I decided to take a risk and just shove it up in the mag well (with some lube) and it fit like a GLOVE. The mag connected with the mag well internals just fine and I heard the click of the mag to mag well notch falling in place. Here's the problem, I went to put in my older mags (MAG brand mags that are like 6 bucks each) and now those MAG mid caps do not fit i.e., they are too loose and almost fall out of the FN2000 mag well. Kinda sucky but understandable. :-( Guess I'll just have to purchase more of these 190R mags darn it.... hehe :-)

The VFC MK16 fits these 190 Round mags with more ease that the stubbern FN2000. Also, I can fall back on my older MAG mid caps with the MK16 and unlike with the FN2000, the older mags do not almost fall out.

Other than the FN2000 mag well problem, these mags are awesome. I rated these five stars since I am going to blame G&G and the FN2000 on this mag well issue.
by Jacob B. on 2012-03-21 17:35:18
"These are very reliable mags, I bought two of them for my DMR build. They are very strong and feed great. There is a small screw on the bottom of the mag that comes lose easily, so be sure to tighten it before you play. Also as you should do with any mid cap mag, load and unload it 5-10 times with some lube to break the spring in. I have found they fit about 150 to 165 bbs safely, anything past that is either going to break the mag or your speed loader.
by Eric C. on 2012-02-19 21:48:50
"These are the best mid-cap there is for M4. High capacity mid-cap magazines will require you to break it in a little bit and it is easy! Spray some silicon oil in it, load and unload 10 times, if you can't do that, you shouldn't use mid-caps. I like thee more than MAG ones that I have 30 of, because they hold much more and the construction is much better.

Pro:
No sound when you move.
Highest capacity out of all the mid-caps I have for M4
Metal case

Con:
None
by Joe Y. on 2012-01-06 19:18:56
"i didnt like these when i first got them. it was my first midcap and i had no idea how to lube it so i just loaded and shot it. i could never get more than 100 rounds in it. But now it works great, not reccomended for a first mid cap though ;)
by Christian B. on 2011-12-29 12:54:01
"This mag is nice after breaking in, but it does not feed all the bb's as it says. Mine leave out 4 including one still in the mag.
by Ron C. on 2011-11-10 12:42:44
"Probably the best mags i have ever bought. Heck, even the G&G mag that came with one of my m4's started to crap out on me but these midcaps are holding strong. I havent used them in an engagement or skirmish or anything like that yet but i cant wait to use these the next time i get to. So why only the four stars and not five? well i will tell you:

Pro: Metal, Strong Internal Plastic, Decent Spring, Reasonably Priced(compared to other metal mags), Durable, and heavy(can be con)

Con: Some mags require modification to fit well(file down or sand down the mag catch notch) VERY LONG break in period, Real Ar15 Pmags cost the same, can break if dropped(i used electrical tape and rubber on bottom to protect them/for grip), and they are the long type magazines, not the standard size ones (comparable to a realsteel 35-40 round magazine i guess)

A tip for breaking in the mags, load them to like 50-60 the first day and make sure to lube the spring(if you dont want to take the mag apart, coat your bbs in silicone before you load as well as the plastic follower inside). Leave the mags alone until the next day then unload and reload them again. Keep doing this while adding more bb's when the spring is loose enough to allow it(like 50 the first time, then 60-80, then 80-100, and so on). Make sure to not leave them loaded for too long but long enough for the spring to wear in.

Also know that the mag is a double stack magazine which means the bbs are scattered and not lined up in a row. This also means that the mag can jam sometimes but this can usualy be solved if you slap the mag against your thigh or something. Note: the spring is VERY FRIGGIN STRONG. Be careful when unloading the mag because the bbs will spray out like a firehose and fly everywhere if you dont release inside of a bag or large container.

In conclusion, i recommend these mags to anyone, but mostly to those who are expericed with them because they can be a hassle at first. Once you get them working right however, they are great to use! Theres a good chance i will buy more.
by David C. on 2011-10-24 14:26:17
"I was very excited to get this magazine last week. I have about 10 plastic 120 rd mid caps which have treated me well, and I was expecting similar results from this. so far, I have not successfully been able to break either of them in.. They won't accept more than 100 rounds, and I almost break my thumb and speed loader when I try to. I have never used mid caps over 120 rounds, but I am assuming that since these have longer springs they need to be more powerful, making it harder to load the first few times. Other than that, they seem to be pretty good. They have a nice alluminum shell, another perk.. metal is always better than plastic. All in all, it should be a great mag once it is broken in, but that takes awhile.

Pro's:

Good capacity
good feeding
powerful spring (could be con)
metal
nice black paint
Mid cap- so silent

Con's:

doesnt fit well in some guns
takes a long time to break in
by brandon O. on 2011-10-23 00:48:18
"Not bad for 16 bucks. Honestly Im very pleased with these magazines, you will definitely NEED to lube and break in these mags. The spring is very strong, maybe better than my G&P mid caps, way to go evike keep it up.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)