Reviews: Elite Force M4 CQB Airsoft AEG Rifle by ARES - (Black)

$204.99 $165.00

This item is currently Out of Stock

18 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-UREX-2279300
Location: A4-094

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 18 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Jeffrey M. on 2014-07-10 12:23:02
"Ok so I've had this gun for a while and if your going to buy it please buy a 9.6 battery it's going to last longer. Other than that what is there to say it's an m4 cqb wired to the rear and a rail. I did have 2 gearbox jams from using the 8.4 volt battery. All I can say get the 9.6
by Kevin N. on 2014-05-05 17:32:14
"Had the rifle for about a week. new to the airsoft scene. bought it for my 14 year old son. all in all, seems like a well built rifle. As mentioned in other reviews, the foregrip is definitely a joke and I highly recommend while ordering the rifle, that you also order a good 9.6 battery. So far, the only problem that I have had with gun is the front barrel cover and the front sight assembly is held on with four small allen screws and evidently they came loose and the front of the gun fell off. I highly recommend if you buy one of these, you double check all of the allen screws to make sure from the factory that they are tight. Even with the small problems I have had with this gun I would still recommend it. All heavy metal seems to be constructed fairly well.
by Jake N. on 2014-03-01 21:03:52
"I've had this gun for about 2 years now and although I love it, I've had numerous problems with it. From the beginning I noticed that the picatinny rail on the upper receiver is deformed so it doesn't quite fit right on the gun. The base gun is actually a great weapon but it needs to be upgraded. The fore-grip that comes with it is terrible and the 2 mags that are included tend to jam. The front sight is not removable so if you want to use any type of ACOG or Red dot sights you either need a riser or you have to cut off the front sight. The rear sight is well made, full metal, but has a tiny pipe hole that's hard to see through with a mask on. The wires on the motor grip have a tendency to become loose although it's a simple fix. As well, the pad on the stock falls off constantly exposing the battery, the replica charging handle broke off without any physical contact to it, and the included battery is garbage. The things that this weapon excels in is a high rate of fire (with a 9.6v battery), great accuracy, and it's short barrel makes it a killing machine at close quarters. All in all I would recommend this weapon if you have the money for a new battery, a couple of higher quality mags, at least a new rear iron sight, and a descent mechanical knowledge to fix any minor issues alone the way.
by Jacob B. on 2014-01-25 18:41:32
"Great inexpensive gun with tons of perks, and not many flaws

PROS:
-Shoots about 345 fps, which is PERFECT for most indoor fields
-Good rate of fire (when you use a 9.6v)
-Nice weight (5.25 lbs), feels realistic
-Short barrel, ideal for close quarters
-4 position retractable crane stock (Battery is held in stock)
-Removable, adjustable, and collapsible rear iron sight
-Charging handle sounds awesome when you pull and release it
-Includes a 8.4v battery, a charger, 2 hi-cap mags, and a "stubby" fore-grip
-Metal RIS (rails), metal buffer tube, adjustable metal sights, and metal outer barrel
-Comes with a 45 day warranty (return to Umarex)
-Great internals (by ARES)

CONS:
-Removing the battery takes forever, you have to:
1. Take off the rubber backing of the stock
2. Use a screwdriver and unscrew the butt plate
3. Finally, unclip the butt plate
-The front iron sight is NOT REMOVABLE, so some red dot sights will not have a clear picture
-The rear iron sight is the type with a very small hole, definitely not my favorite
-The black paint on the rails doesn't quite match the black paint on the receiver
-The included fore-grip and battery are poor quality, but the are fine for using until you save up money for a better battery (9.6v highly recommended) and grip

All things considered, this gun is great, and I do not regret buying it at all. I would recommend it for anybody who plays indoors, and also to beginning players, because it includes everything you need to start playing, right out of the box.
by Alex B. on 2014-01-17 21:53:54
"Its a good gun, but the foregrip just sucks, it doesnt fit tight on the rails, and its oddly shaped for whatever reason. I would reccomend getting a 9.6v battery because the 8.4 it comes with just isn't enough. I love the metal quadrail and the polymer receiver. It has a very good trigger and works well with my ErgoGrip. If youre a beginner or an intermediate player, buy this gun, its a great platform to build on.
by Marl C. on 2013-12-08 21:11:53
"I've had this for about 2 months this AEG is very good. It is a nice starter weapon if your just getting into airsoft. I got it for $160 rather than the full price because it had the sale, and it is worth every penny, much better than any other starter AEG out there. Let look at some pros and cons:

Pros:
*It comes with 2 Hi-Caps which can last you very long in games, however it is plastic, so be careful. [If they break, just buy better magazines, it is a starter AEG after all.]
*It has a full metal RIS on the barrel. It gives the M4 a nice heft to it. However, I did find it hard to fit some attachments. To be specific, Magpul products such as the AFG2 and the XTM Rail Covers. It also has a full metal buffer tube. [And yes, the crane stock is removable.]
*It comes with its own charger and battery. Though it is a weaker 8.4v 1200mAH and a regular wall charger, but if your budget is $200, it wouldn't hurt to buy a 9.6v 1600mAH and/or a Smart Charger.
*It comes with a nice stubby vertical grip. A nice addition until you get a new grip, but still will do you good.
*Version 2 ARES gearbox. A very reliable system that's full metal, widely used, and fully upgradable.
*Adjustable hop-up. [Adjustable hop-ups isn't really a big thing to speak of highly as most AEGs have it, but it is always a nice addition to point out.]

Cons:
*The usual FPS on this AEG is 320-350 with .20g pellets, but mine fired somewhat hot for me (around 360-370FPS), as I play in indoor CQB fields. However, I did change the battery to a 9.6v 1600mAH, changed the motor grip and didn't quite adjust it as well, and also use a tracer unit, but I still do not know why it fires so hot. [This is only on a few models I guess. But hey, at least I'll have a nice transition from indoor to outdoor.]
*The sights are somewhat of a pain. The back post is adjustable for windage and elevation which nice, but very difficult to use because the view is very small, which makes it near to impossible if you're using a full mask or half mask. The front sights (which is also the gas block, and also part of the barrel assembly, which is not removable) is a bit wobbly, which makes it hellish if you're zeroing your various sights. [This is only on a few models I guess]
*Like I said above, the front sight/gas block is part of the front barrel assembly, so you cannot remove it. [It is fine for me, but for everyone else, probably not.
*The flash hider is a 14mm negative/left threaded/CCW and is plastic and glued in. It might have a chance of stripping the hider if put too tight because it is plastic, but can be replaced with a metal one once removed. [I heard some models have metal pins, so be always check before removing!]

TL:DR - It is a fantastic AEG to own and has a nice transition to other, more higher quality M4s if you bought attachments and internals. I've already gotten Magpul attachments, red dot sights, flashlights, etc. If your just starting to play airsoft and you want an inexpensive, great quality, well equipped AEG, look no further and buy this, you will not regret it. Just start buying better externals/internals when you get more experienced.
by Chris D. on 2013-09-11 22:42:27
"I've had this gun for about 4 months now and love it! It was a great gun right out of the box. Great fps and accurate; however ROF was a little low on the 8.4v, but its great with a 9.6v. Here in Colorado it chronos at about 360fps, a bit over the cqb field limits but hey, I like it shooting a little hot. Since buying this gun I have installed the madbull 3 in 1 hop up, a 6.02mm 247mm tight bore barrel and this thing is preforming great. I also bought an after market sling mount. Both the hop up and the sling mount took a bit of modification to fit the gun.

I will say from reading another review, the stock inner barrel is not plastic, it is black powder coated aluminum.

If your looking for a great gun at a great price, look no further, but definitely upgrade to a 9.6v battery, you won't regret it!
by brian d. on 2013-08-05 09:37:03
"I have had this gun for two years now, and its a great gun, especially for starters. It has a great ROF and FPS. With a 9.6 battery, my piston got shredded and the spring guide broke, as well as the motor getting really hot, but nothing a few upgrades cant fix. Definitely recommend this gun, its a great buy, and since i bought it all my friends wanted to use it.
by Zach S. on 2013-07-10 11:31:44
"This is one of the best guns I have ever used. I love the look, feel and performance. I would absolutely recommend this gun. Plus, its made by ARES, a great company. I do recommend buying a good battery for this or your ROF will be too slow for life.

Pros:
-Maneuverable
-Good Looking
-Good Performance
-Made by ARES
-Accurate with .20s and up
-Good FPS
-Great out of the box
-Good rate of fire with a nice battery
-Nice hop up system
-Good range

Cons:
-Bad battery that comes with it
-Terrible grip that comes with it
-Plastic inner barrel(works fine)
-I personally had internal problems but they are fixed and it works as good as new.

Overall I give this a 5 out of 5, it is an amazing gun and I love it haha.
by Jackson V. on 2013-03-26 18:31:31
"I have had this gun for about 6 months now, it's a pretty good gun for the cost. There is a very small amount of wobble.

Pros:
FPS 350 with 8.4 and .20 gram bbs
Battery and charger included
Metal rails
Comes with fore grip
Cheap

Cons:
Little wobble
Not that accurate with .20s, I would use .25s

Well in the end this is a great gun for the price. Get it you won't regret it!
by Joshua B. on 2013-01-26 08:54:37
"I got this gun 2 weeks ago and I can this guns is incredible!
pros:
- Study polymer body with nice trade from Elite force.
- Ares gearbox with metal bushings and one heck of a motor.
- Dead accurate with .2 bb's at a CQB range, and decent at a 50-75 foot range.
- Metal rail on upper receiver.
- Metal quad rail system.
- Small battery, Stubby grip, 2 (poly) hi-caps, flip up back sight, and paper weight (charger) included.
- 4 screw pistol grip connected to gearbox (instead of the usual 2).
- Noticeable and pleasant click when either pulling the trigger or when switching firing mode.
- Good hop-up
- Semi functioning bolt and charging handle.

Cons:
- Quad rails came a little off center (only by 1-2mm)
- Top rail on upper receiver (being not poly and screwed on the top) is bent up near middle.
- No opposite side indicator on fire selector, just a fixed nub that indicates the gun on Semi (even when not).
- Buffer tube could be a little more high grade, It seem that the crane stock can not be removed.
- One piece barrel, Literally one piece, the front front sight is fixed and cannot be removed with out taking the entire barrel with it.
- Sights, the Forward triangle sight is non-adjustable, Rear sight tends not to lock into up position and fold back down.
- Loud as sin front sling point, nothing a strip of wiring tape can't fix.
- Non-functioning: Bolt, Forward assist, opposite side mag release.

These are all miner thing and do not hinder anything at all, I would recommend a 9.6V 2300mAh NiMh battery and a smart charger. This is a must have for anyone looking for a CQB rifle!
by David B. on 2013-01-03 15:29:45
"This is an amazing gun! It's not too heavy, it has a good weight. I love that it came with a stubby grip and a battery. An extra battery is always nice. This could just be me, but the mags are plastic and don't feed well. Otherwise, awesome buy!

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 18 reviews)

Pages:  1  2