Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Store Locations
Extended Phone Support Hours 7am-7pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Memorial Day Sale! SAVE 25% with coupon code: MAY (Exclude MAP and SALE Items)

Matrix / Element Military Style Tactical Communications Headset Type D (Color: Black)

9 Customer Reviews

by Dean A. on 05/28/2012
"Good headset for the price. As the ear piece is like a little rubber suction cup, it is a little bit uncomfortable at first, but during games you don't even notice. Fits well well with my helmet, and works with my radio, although it is a tad bit loud (I put a small piece of tape over the the speaker and that helped.
Pros:
Loud (Pro and Con)
Works Well
Cheap
Stays on your head
Adjustable

Cons:
Bad ventilation (Gets sweaty, not a huge problem)
Loud (Again, Pro and con)
Slightly uncomfortable. (Like I said, you barely notice this.
by Luke V. on 01/03/2012
"This is a very nice, low profile headset. The sound is great and as I wear a baclava, the rubber ear cup is not a problem. The only complaint I have is that the end of transmission beep on wakis is quite load that close to your ear. Also my large head makes the headset look stupid if i am wearing it alone because I have to make it lob sided to fight. Luckily, I wear a helmet so you can't see it. If anyone has pet-peeves about not looking right, I would recommend getting one of the larger profile ones if your head is big. To sum it up, this is a great product that works great, just take into account what I have said and what other reviewers have said.
by Justin R. on 06/06/2011
"I've had this headset for a few months.

If I had to put it down simply, it's good. The mic is very clear and the earpiece is pretty damn loud. I never need to turn my volume up with my Motorola talk-about.

It's good, and a world better then those damn annoying ear pieces that go straight into your ear..
by RJ W. on 02/22/2011
"Bought this mainly to protect my ears, cause no one wants to talk to me:( But didn't see that there wasnt another speaker. So it only protects one ear for me. but it looks awsome. feel like a seal when wearing it. I dont know if it really works as a head set but im sure it does.
by Ryan G. on 01/27/2016
"The product works great, I ordered this and a ptt for my Motorola talk about and they worked great together
by Seth S. on 02/26/2014
"This is a fantastic piece of equipment! My only complaint is that the rubber cup earpiece starts to hurt after a couple hours of playtime.it's low profile makes it great for use with balaclava, ball cap, our just by its bonsie lonesome. Make sure to get a good ptt with it. I bought mine in a combo deal, and the ptt crapped out pretty quick on me.
by Scott L. on 12/10/2011
"Love it! headset is lightweight and durable, and sounds excellent. the only problem is that it doesn't fit perfectly, but can be fixed as said in the review below. fits mich and FAST helmets easily and stays in place. recommend to everyone, and make sure you get a PTT comm connector to go with it for your radio, sold here at Evike.com!
by Nathan H. on 11/14/2011
"4 out of 5 stars
The sound quality is clear and decisive, the Mic picks up your voice perfectly, but tends to throw some background noise in there as well. This Comms headset is verry light due to its nylon weave construction, you dont notice the excess weight when wearing it.

Pros-
Light Weight
good sound quality
Great Boom Mic
Fits under most headgear

Cons-
Size (my boonie hat size is 7 1/2 and this set dont fit me properly)
Ear Cup

^ The size in height adjustment doesn't fit me properly. However, it is a very simple fix. I just jerry rigged it with ducktape and now it fits perfectly.
The earcup is solid rubber which will make your ear sweat quite badly. A simple fix is to either cut out some thin sports foam and glue it in place, or cut slots/drill small holes into the wall of the rubber.

Given those small cons i would still recommend this headset to anyone looking at getting one. The cons are small, and honestly i have a huge head so it shouldn't be a problem
by James H. on 02/09/2017
"Giving a 2 out of 5.

here's why:
All this information comes from simply trying it on once or twice while trying to wear a helmet over it (I never got to field it)

The stitching and quality of fabric is horrible, it's flimsy and chaffs. The flimsiness and chaffing I can deal with, but just as I was getting use to it, I notice the stitching around the earpiece was starting to give out and come apart. I tried it on one last time, and the stitching started to stretch and break even further, splitting along the broad side of the headset (the side with the earpiece). After only two times putting it on my head, it broke. I'll give it some credit, I was wearing my full head setup (custom protec classic, striker mesh mask and shooting glasses). I would not recommend this product unless your wearing nothing but shooting glasses, goggles, and maybe a boonie or cap.

On a side note, it did look nice when it wasn't shredded to bits.

pros-
looks cool
mic works well

cons-
cheap fabric
chaffs
breaks with minimal strain
can't wear full face/helmet setup without breaking


As a final thought- I love the design. it looks cool and the shaping its well to the head, if it were made of stronger material then it'd be worth the 30 dollars I spent on it.