Reviews: Licensed Metal Gearbox FAMAS F1 Bullpup Airsoft AEG Rifle

$150.00 $112.50

27 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-40901
Location: L3-021 WO6-21(RL)

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 27 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Alucard C. on 2014-09-19 22:40:49
"This is probably one of the best guns I've ever bought for the price. While stock it doesn't perform the best, it easily took a M120 spring and the stock motor pulled it easily with a 9.6 batt.

Stock it shot 310 w/ .25's and with a M120 installed, it shoots 370 w/ .25's.

Look online some tutorials to mod some M16 mags and you'll be set.


Pros:
Easily handled M120 spring with no after market motor.
Rather sturdy plastic.
Cylinder is Ver7.
Ver1 "modified" gearbox is upgrade-able with Ver2,3,7 parts.
Simple Dremel work to make the magwell to accept M16 mags, and to make M16 mags work with the mag release (and can still be used in M16's).

Cons:
Wiring was soldered to motor.

Which you don't need to upgrade the motor anyway. Seriously though, this thing only need a M120 and a tightbore w/ new bucking and you will be all set.
by Jonathan L. on 2014-09-09 09:27:35
"So I personally bought the FAMAS; my first airsoft aeg, because of my love of the look and playing video games with it.

So far I've put everything together, and got to target shoot with it a few times.

Pros: Relatively cheap. Accurate. Bull-pup(personal opinion), sturdy but not too heavy.

Cons: Not digging the battery compartment, iron sights are difficult to use. No top rail mount is featured in this specific bundle. So if you plan on upgrading, youll have to buy the expensive rail mount of $40ish dollars. The FAMAS has specific mags that can only be used with the gun itself, and you get one mag with the gun, but mags are pretty cheap at $15, so no big deal. Also, loading the mag in, is kinda tricky, but youll just get used to it.

As of right now, i have gotten to try it out at a field, but will be soon, will provide update on performance.

If you're a big fan of the FAMAS, and plan to upgrade or use alot in airsoft, i reccomend buying the bundle scope and top rail aeg FAMAS for $200. Youll save money overall.
by Travis P. on 2014-07-11 06:12:05
"Great gun!
Bought this gun a couple months ago and after is many battles, its still holding up great. it has a nice FPS (feet per second) and ROF (rate of fire) but the bipod is quite useless. Of all the airsoft battles I've done with it, I've never used the bipod, but because it is useless in battle doesn't mean its useless out of battle. I have found that the bipod is very helpful when it comes to display. But I'm getting of track. The point is, its a great gun for both the experienced and the rookies and I should know considering the fact that I have owned 4 AEG's (automatic, Electric, gun) in my airsoft career... but just remember. Have fun and play safe. Its up to us airsofters to show the world that we aren't just a bunch of trigger happy nut-jobs...
its up to us airsofters to show the world that we are just men and women doing what we love... airsoft...
by Gabe Z. on 2014-06-12 12:55:48
"I had this gun and it worked great for about a year but its internals are not good at all. By the 2nd year the fps of this gun was terrible. Would not recommend this gun for competitive airsofters.
by Kyler J. on 2014-05-24 08:21:27
"Not bad at all for the price. The others reviews here are accurate to my experience with this AEG.
Some things to consider:
9.6V NiMh battery gives it a very very nice ROF but definitely is not good for the gun. The internals are just too flimsy to be moving that fast.
The gearbox is Ver. 1 and while it claims to be "fully upgradeable"... It is not. There are very few things you can do to the internals of this gun. So while it works well for a beginner at first, it cannot be taken much farther than that.
Externally, it looks sort of cute, and is CQB length, but its cheap. The 'iron' sights (I should really say plastic sights) are painfully easy to bump. There is no way to lock the windage or elevation adjustments so if you sit your gun down and pick it back up, it will probably be aiming wayyy off.
In my experience, M4 mags do not fit in this AEG, so you have to find those rare FAMAS magazines. I guess Marui ones are sold on evike, but they are too expensive.

All in all, its not a bad gun. But, unless you really want the distinct shape of the FAMAS, you should probably get a cheaper G&G m4 for its upgradeability, compatibility, and more practical form factor.
by Brendan K. on 2013-06-03 09:27:02
"Over all this is a very good gun. It has good power range and accuracy. The only issue i have had with this gun is the occasional electrical fluctuation which causes semi auto to sometimes stop working, but it can be fixed by switching to full auto or safe then back to semi. The magazine is not the best, but you can buy better ones here on evike. Over all this works well as an assault rifle, and as a dmr. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a bull pup rifle, or to anyone who wants a dmr set up.
by Fredrick S. on 2013-04-25 19:54:25
"This is a great gun!!!!
I just got it a few days ago and i love it.
It has a really nice weight to it, almost as much as the real one.
I shot .25 gram BBs with it and they were consistently going about 180 feet.
It has a great rate of fire, its very accurate, and its nice and compact.
My one complaint is that the battery is a bit hard to get in, but nothing serious.
I also like that it came with a battery.

All around a great gun, especially for $150.00!!!!
by Lara M. on 2013-04-01 11:07:03
"Really good gun don't be deceived by the price
Pros
High rate of fire
Metal bi bipod
Hicap mag
Easy to work on internals
Lots of attachments

Cons
Needs small type battery
Hard to find mags
Mag tends to miss feed on medcaps
Plastic body but very strong
by Mitchell G. on 2012-03-04 14:12:00
"First thing I will say, DO YOUR HOMEWORK. This gun is a great gun. alot of people complain about "the outside being cheap plastic" It isn't cheap plastic I am 275lbs and I landed on this thing on rocks no cracks or anything. The real gun is plastic on the outside so if you want a metal one well you don't need this gun because you don't know about the real one. The gun is almost the exact same weight as the real one.

You can upgrade the gearbox, the one in it is based on the v1 from TM but there are others that fit in there, just do alot of research.
I have learned that no 2 of these guns are the same for FPS. I have seen video's of people only getting 340. While iv seen people getting 365+. Mine personally out of the box is doing 385 with .20g

Another massive thing I see alot when seeing reveiws for this gun is about the mag, I almost said screw the thing because mine was having problems. The problem is the internal spring, take the clip apart and tighten the spring on the feed wheel. IF that dosnt work you can modify m4/m16 mags to fit in the gun perfectly.

To sum up this is a amazing gun to get. It preforms the same as my friends kwa m4 on everything other then fire rate which can be fixed by using a 9.6v. Where I am from all you see are m4's other then in my group so you get alot of people wanting to hold it and look at it

The price is better then the TM and the gun is better then the TM.
by Doug G. on 2011-12-06 19:17:32
"Great Gun! For everyone who is having trouble with the battery: Rip the grey foam square out of the hand guard and you will have no problem. I would recommend a 9.6 volt battery because the rate of fire is a bit slow, but really its an airsoft gun no big deal about rof as the accuracy of the rifle is fantastic, i added a fore grip to help improve the accuracy even more and i can hit a quarter from 40 feet out with fixed sights and perfect shooting conditions. MOVING ON get this gun if
A. You want an accurate and compact airsoft gun
B. On a budget, defiantly one of the best AEG's in the price range
C. Are tired of lugging around crappy metal guns that are really useless because you won't be breaching anything... i hope. Please guys learn to handle the gun and maintain it and it'll work as expected. Really 361 fps as a con gimme a break... As long as your gun shoots above 300 fps and can hit a man sized target from 150 feet away you got your self one damn good gun. Thanks guys and you can see my video review on Youtube @ R3volutionaryAirsoft's page
by Brendan E. on 2011-11-22 16:36:24
"this gun was not quite what i expected.

Pros-
looks cool
bipod
good trademarks
sights are good

Cons-
the battery is a pain
the ROF is terrible
fps-361
wobbly bipod
mag doesnt feed right
mag is wobbly
mine shot 3 bbs at a time occasionally
6.09mm barrel diameter
a bit lighter than i expected(could be a pro)
EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO UPGRADE
mags are expensive
no threaded barrel
externals are all plastic
one tac rail
horrific trigger response
not good battery space
the stock is not for tall people(im 6'3'')
not well shimmed
not highspeed or high torque gears
bad air seal in nozzle, hop-up, barrel, etc

overall the gun has a lot of problems but it does look very nice. if u are willing to put up with the problems u must invest in midcap magazines(3 for 58 dollars) and get a tightbore and air seal and it might make a good dmr
by Steven J. on 2011-11-21 13:51:20
"This was my first airsoft gun, and it's the best so far! It is ultra-reliable, pretty sturdy, packs a punch, and it's ergonomics are top-notch. I would recommend this gun for anyone who doesn't care much for customization.

Pros:
extreme reliability, ergonomics, excellent handling, easy to use, good mags, powerful fps (averages about 380 fps on a good charge), battery life lasts a while, perfectly balanced rpm, great reputation, beautiful weapon balance, very basic and very infrequent maintenance, worth more than the given price, multi-role capabilities, ambidextrous design

Cons:
maintenance of the bipod, lack of rails (for those who care), weight (for smaller people), putting the battery cover on the gun with the battery inside (for first-time owners), longer-range accuracy

Overall, it is excellent. It is most useful from CQC - medium mid-range combat.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 27 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3