Reviews: CYMA M14 Socom 16 Full Size Airsoft AEG Rifle (Matt Black)

$133.00 $106.40

12 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-CM032A-S16-B
Location: L4-051

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)

by Andrew S. on 2014-11-18 23:19:16
"I ordered this a month ago. Delivery was surprisingly fast, everything was intact, and what I ordered is what I got. It is around 8-9 lbs but that isn't bad. The mags are easy to find here on the site. The FPS is about whats advertised. I really like it. The battery compartment is not very big but some people have dremeled it out for a large type. Either way, small types are pretty cheap so I stuck with them. I have beaten this gun around so much and its perfectly fine. Looking forward to more of the new Cyma guns.
by Christian G. on 2014-06-26 00:11:28
"Pros: full metal top rail
Textured grip and handguard
Working charging handle
Decent battery

Cons: selector switch is a bit loose, stays still though
Rail location is a bit weird

Very good gun overall
Definitely recommend it
by william g. on 2013-08-23 20:07:33
"I purchased the IM wood edition of this rifle about a year ago.
it performs with the best of them and i have seen semi-pro/ex-mil players use a stock cyma m14 socom over tricked out m4s/m16s. when i got this rifle i hit a head sized target at about 200 ft the hit was confirmed by the clank of the bb striking the helmet. after a year of heavy use it shoots 175 feet and avgs about 355 fps. a new spring will fix this. i will also note that the gun stopped working twice. the first time my trigger switch got dirty so i had to clean it and it required semi-extesive disasembly and nimble fingers. the second time was a dirty barrel. dont doubt the ABS plastic for a second. it works great. the IM wood continues to fool people even from up-close that its not real wood.
Pros:
good range
good accuracy
durable
inexpensive
the list goes on.


cons:
requires maintince, but so does every gun.

Enjoy this gun. DMR it if u can.
by Jack P. on 2012-11-30 17:53:49
"I bought this gun last christmas and i have to say this is a great gun! It is a really good gun for people who want a long range rifle but still want the maneuverability of an assault rifle. I have not had any problems with it yet and i am hoping to never have any. This is a great beginner gun and even though it wasn't my first gun i still use it at almost every war i go to.

Pros:
good handling
good FPS
good range

Cons:
Battery is a little tough to get out

I would highly recommend this gun to veterans or first timers.
by Cody N. on 2012-02-04 01:48:59
"I bought this gun a while back and I put it to the test. I unfortunately was also a victim of a broken bolt. Even though it is metal, it can't withstand the force. I wasn't too happy with that. But shooting it was always an encouragement. Very accurate and had pretty decent range. It is a little heavy. I am a 5' 9" guy with decent build. It wasn't too heavy for me but my 14 year old brother couldn't use it for long periods. Another problem I had was the battery compartment. It was not meant for the battery style that comes with it. The compartment literally expects you to strip all the wires to fit your battery inside, the rip all the wires out while trying to take out the battery. It is the WORST design I have ever seen. I had to MacGyver the wires multiple times due to damage from the small compartment.

Pros:
Comfortable
Accurate
Looks/Feels solid (Lots of metal and the polymer is great. I loved it)
Lasted me about 2 years without having to make internal repairs.

Cons:
Bolt broke rather quickly
Battery compartment is horrible. Makes little children cry at night.
Might be heavy depending on your size and build

For the price I got this at and how faithful it has been, I would definitely recommend it. A little tinkering and fixing never hurts anybody. This is one that will last and feels/looks fantastic. My friends actually found this one as their favorite gun of my collection.
by Jim M. on 2011-04-16 18:37:49
"Ok, so I got this gun maybe a month or so ago, and it's an awesome DMR. I thought the bolt (you can pull the bolt but it doesn't do anything, just springs forward) on it was really fun, but after i used it roughly 30 times, surely enough, the bolt broke on me. And, right before maybe my fourth war with it, my 400+ rd high cap mag broke as well. I was surprised because it fed real well and was full metal.

Pros:
Long ranged
Very accurate
Comfortable feel
Not too light and not too heavy

Cons:
Bolt broke right away
Mag broke right away
Battery compartment is a really tight fit
Only rail is too far forward (that could be just me, though because others who have used my gun liked the far forward rail)

Overall, its a nice gun, and it preforms pretty well for the price I paid
by Collin U. on 2011-03-15 19:19:45
"I got this gun last summer (2010) from a little shop in town for around 200$ and it was a steal! this gun shoots great right out of the box and fells nice to, mine came with 2 Mags so i did get a little extra, i put a red dot on it and its already dead on, now i dont know if that was cuz the store sighted it or it came like that just know its a good gun

Pros
-good FPS
-accurate
-looks/feels nice
-extra mag

Cons
- a tad on the heavy side (you can always take out the weight)
by Chris M. on 2011-02-13 19:06:50
"All I can say is WOW this riffle dose amazing, right out of the box! I was shooting .28's and yes i was hitting something, they were called the enemy players! If you want a decent beginner DMR set up here is you sign. Iat is heavy though so keep that in mind but if your strong enough to lug the thing around then do it. It is semi auto, so dont get the whole super sniper rambo deal in your head bc it wont work. Theres some good old friendly advice. Its biggest drawback is the weight, but i really cant call that a drawback. All in all it stands up to the real steal m14 standard.

The marching song from full metal jacket, " This is my riffle..."
by Robert N. on 2011-01-25 14:54:25
"I bought this gun a year ago and it is a great buy.
Pros-Acurate
Powerfull
Tough
Cheap
Good feel
Solid Construction

Cons-Long
by austin s. on 2011-01-04 17:55:29
"i have had this gun for about 6 months give or take and i got to say it gets the job done. i can use it as a sniper or up in close combat. i have out sniped a couple of snipers on my team and i got to say that's pretty good. i have a utg 4x40 scope which is a great addition for snipers.

i got this gun shooting top...

FPS- 380
Range- 150-200 feet

all together a great gun if u want to be a sniper and also up close in battle a must buy
by Talon S. on 2009-11-29 13:47:22
"After 5 months of owning this and always letting someone else use this, I finally tried this and all i can say is wow. I wont be letting other people use this. This thing is not only dead accurate after adjusting, The mag feeds so good, Better than any gun ive ever tried, there is no need to purchase additional mags for that this thing, but im going to anyways :P I was considering buying a new 300 dollar gun then i thought, why dont i go and shoot this real quick to see if it is as good as my friends claimed it was, sure enough it was.

Pros:
Nice STURDY construction
NO Jams
Rocking FPS & accuracy
Reliable

Cons:
Not really a con but the whole Metal decoration bolt lever thing was confusing and weird
The Selector switch is different from most guns.
Tight battery compartment

:::NOTE::: these cons are not bad cons, i wouldnt even take them into consideration. When your on the field all that matters is getting some rounds down range and it does do that.
by Dan Z. on 2009-11-29 13:36:36
"Just what the description says, Great Range and Accuracy. Great feel in the hands with a diamond grided pattern in the front and trigger areas. Strong ABS plastic body. Shortness is GREAT and more ability to move but does not affect the guns accuracy with the shorter barrel compared to the long version. The hop-up acctually clicks and locks so no need to worrys about it moving. Distributed weight makes the rifle easy to keep up on target. Front top rail basically is tightened around the barrel. All around sturdy gun. Connectors for battery is small type. Only Cons is the Back where the battery goes, very small space with large battery is comes with. Better buy 9.6 small type Battery or could file down the plastic things stickin up in the inside (you'll understand when you see inside the back). Also there is no such thing as threading on the front, so no silencers or different flash hiders (Big con for me). Great Gun for the price. (Suggest getting a Mid-cap mag for complete stealth and nice feed)

PROS

Accurate
Far Range
Strong ABS Plastic Body
Grips
Hop-up locks
Weight
Shoots fairly quiet++

CONS

No threading on front barrel
Small back battery compartment
Magazine sometimes hard to put in if in a hurry. =]

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)