Reviews: Emerson Tactical ACU Combat Uniform Set w/ Build in Knee / Elbow Pad for Airsoft (Size: Small)

$90.00 $76.50

12 Customer Reviews
Model: BDU-2727-ACU-S

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)

by Jack S. on 2015-05-20 15:12:57
"Absolutely phenomenal BDU. It fits perfect for me, make sure you match up your waist size with the sizing chart. Nice pockets and zippers that open the entire outside leg at about 6 inches on the inside leg, and handy straps on the inside to hold it nice to your leg.

Pros:
Breathable
Comfortable
Nice Quality
Consistant Camo Patern
Perfect Fit (for me)

Cons:
The large pockets can potentially rip if you tighten the strapa to tightly, but non other i can think of.
by MARK P. on 2015-03-27 09:13:33
"Decided to try this brand & style. Ordered them in LG. Good incorporation of pads on the elbows & knees. They also allow for extra inserts behind the already included knee pads. Order them a size larger than normal so you can move comfortably in them when you have to. (Getting the XL next, for a better fit) They stretch a little, so no worries. The mandarin collar rocks if you don't like gear straps ripping into you. Found a new brand for a great price.
by Mark T. on 2014-11-30 19:45:05
"I'm a 5'6" weighing 150lbs with 31" waist. The small fits perfectly. There are enough velco straps to tighten to get a snug fit. I absolutely love the design, the pockets are not over the top. Certainly don't expect to be able to run around the mags in your pockets. In fact this design is SUPERB with a vest, due to the lightweight (spandex-like) material on the torso. You don't have any protection from this material, but the vest covers this area anyways.

I really want to give this product a 5 stars, its one of my favourite items from evike so far, except after just day in the field, I noticed many scuffs on the spandex part from the small amount of roughness of the inner lining of my vest. I'm not confident this is going to last me most than a dozen days in the field because of this, Holes will form. I really wish the spandex was a bit more durable. Then I'd give it 5 stars.
by Justin W. on 2013-12-05 15:08:27
"Fits very well! The nylon for the chest breathes really well which is good in the heat bu doesn't get too cold in the winter. Arms and legs are pretty firm but bend where you need them too. Really good price for a uniform AND the elbow/knee pads. The straps are adjustable on wrists, knees, and ankles so it's fairly adjustable. My squad currently all own this uniform and we quite enjoy it.
by Michael F. on 2013-08-21 18:47:26
"This set is outstanding. Before this i had some cheap 5.11 (knock off) pants, and a similar shirt. However they did not have built in knee/elbow pads. The pants were very soft material, and the camo became faded fairly fast. The shirt had the same "light weight material" concept, however it was cotton or something. Sure it breathes better than the actual acu material, but nothing like this set. This set is a lot like the "under armor" sports material, and keeps me a lot cooler in the hot weather.

The knee pads take some getting used to. I'm used to my army ACU knee pads which are large, but the most comfortable and protective external knee pads I've ever used. These knee pads aren't as protective, and they simply dangle in front of your knees. Rather than tightening securely around the knee, they just hang right in front of it. It's unsettling considering they might be off center when you fall on your knees, but they actually work perfectly. A huge pro over my old external knee pads, is those pads i could not squat in. I mean i could, but it'd dig into the back of my knees like crazy. These pads do not dig in at all. I could squat for hours, and my feet/toes will hurt long before my knees do.

The pants have many features. The belt loops are very thick, wide, and very dense material. They're about 4 inches wide each. So using a tac belt with pouches and such hanging off isn't advised, however this is a good set to have a tighten belt on, then have a secondary belt over it attached to the vest. The pants have almost full length zippers on either side, much like sport pants. So if you get hit and want to rub the spot, you can unzip and reach in. Or if you're just burning hot, you can unzip them between games (which is so open it's like being in just underwear in the field). They also have boot zippers to fit the material around a boot more easily (though i prefer my pants to be inside the boot) The knee pads do have one internal strap around the calf, however it's mostly to secure the pants to the leg, not the knee pad itself. Above the knee pads are two length straps. These length straps adjust how far down the knee pad hangs from the belt. Very handy, and very ingenious. However i wish the strap would've been inside the pants, not outside. Under these straps are two M4 pouches (one on either side) they are not adjustable, so i doubt they would fit extended m4 mags, or m4 mags with magpulls, but plain m4 mags are acceptable, as well as smaller mags.

Really the only complaint i could have about this set, is how tough the material on the pants are. The material doesn't flex that much because it's so tough, it's like it's almost leather, however it breaks in eventually. And the fact that the material will last a long time because it's so dense, trumps this one complaint.

The shirt has the turtle neck which is very nice for neck protection, and helps when you have a sling holding the weight of your gun against your neck. It's nice that it has a zip up so you can unzip it between games to get some air, especially in hot weather. Though i do wish the zipper was more heavy duty. This has the elbow pads, which also hang loose. I don't think I'll ever dive completely on my elbows, but I'll do more with these elbow pads, then i would without. The sleeves do open and tighten, which is nice to tighten around long gloves.

One downside to the shirt is the soft material, is weak. If you a wearing a vest/plate carrier that has exposed velcro on the inside, it will tear up this material. It's highly recommended that you either cut off any exposed velcro, or put something on it, or something so the hooks don't tear up the material. My old cotton acu shirt was so thick that i never even noticed this. I wish i would've noticed it before, cause the first and only time i had worn this shirt, it got way torn up on the shoulders where the vest straps adjust, and has exposed velcro.

Another thing to note is that this material is meant to be snug around your torso. Not tight, just snug. The cotton and other versions are loose. So when it's snug around your torso, don't mistaken it as "too small", it is meant to be snug. Go via the pant size. I'm about a 32 or 33 waist, so my size is large. Great fit.

90$ is steep for most budgets (including mine). i mean i spent 600$ on my gun, 300 on my secondary, 300 on my loadout, another 90 doesn't sound like much, but i was already about 700$ past my hobby budget. However this 90 is well worth it. I'm so much cooler, so much more comfortable, more camo'd, and more comfortable. That and it's a longer lasting material. I recommend this to any airsoft player, especially one with an ACU loadout.
by Austin H. on 2013-06-13 19:42:05
"When I first ordered this I had my speculations but this is actually a very nice uniform! Ordering the right size is the difficult part however. You will probably want to order a size larger than what you normally are. I am 6'5" and 170lbs so I am tall and slender. I ordered an XL which fit me in length as usual but it was also a perfect fit in waist size in both the pants and the shirt. So if you are a bigger guy you will want to get something larger.

Pros:
Strong, light, breathable material.
You can adjust the knee pads higher or lower via retention straps inside the pockets.
Fits tall guys great!
The spandex is very well made. Won't be tearing any time soon.

Cons:
None so far
by Aaron L. on 2012-05-28 11:52:36
"Great fitting and breathes well. Only problem with the nylon over the chest is when you wear a vest with velcro. It tears it up.
by Noah B. on 2012-04-27 10:45:59
"Absolutely the best uniform I have ever had! Knee pads are adjustable hight so it fits perfectly, the pants and arms of the uniform are made very tough and thick. I live in Canada and we have lots of brush and thorns in our feilds often times and i was able to walk and crawl through prickles withour feeling a thing or getting caught up in it. If you need a combat uniform this is the one to buy, and it is amazingly priced!
by Eric D. on 2012-03-29 07:02:09
"This BDU set is awesome!! Excellent quality materials and the sizes are spot on. I was concerned that the knee pads were going to suck but they're a lot better than my condor ones.

Now for my only gripes out this set: There are two horizontal pistol mag pouches right over your hip bones, I dont know why they'd put them on this as you'd probably have a chest rig of some sort. They also have a heavy duty zipper running down outside of both legs for kinda party boy removal/ventilation.

All in all they're tough, I've used them in dozens of ops/games and they still look new.
by ryder n. on 2010-03-03 12:43:44
"I have a slightly different style and it in multi cam... Its very comfortable with a vest and while not wearing the vest , YOU LOOK JACKED, though i dont need any help (breaths on nails and polishes them on shirt*)
by Andrew E. on 2010-02-11 00:48:38
"I just got this pairing a few days ago, and I'm very impressed with it! The pads are pretty easy to get in, and, once fixed in place, don't shift around in their pockets, due to small velcro tabs. The pants, I think, are the coolest part. They've got large pockets all over which include a mag pouch, a pair of clips and loops as well as extra large belt loops that are ideal for use in conjunction with a leg rig or something with a broad belt and buckle. There are zippers near the bottom of each pant leg that help with putting on tall boots. The zippers themselves are quite nice.
The design of the top makes load bearing vests very comfortable to wear, as the chest portion is tight against your skin. It sports a high collar, a velcro square for patches (one on either arm) and elbow pads.

One thing I'd like to point out: the under armour part, although high quality, is only single stitched. This wouldn't really be a problem, except that whole part does sit comfortably snug around your chest. This poses no issues while you're wearing it, but it probably will when you decide to take it off. It would be a good idea to roll the bottom of the shirt up to your neck and 'then' remove the top so that there isn't any stress placed on the single line of stitches that line the sides of the shirt.
If you remove it as you would anything ordinary shirt and just pull it off, the seam might pop in places. I found this out the hard way, and had to take care taking it off the rest of the way.

That being said, I would just like to mention that while the top is on, there arenít any motions you can make that would otherwise put stress on or damage this part (the stitching of the under armour), and that the rest of the top and the pants are of a very durable make, and overall I'd say these are the nicest set of BDU I've ever owned. They offer a very modern and stylish look and are very functional, thanks to the abundant additions of pads, pockets and under armour.

Iím glad I chose to look around before buying these! If I'd purchased them from a Canadian site, I would have had these in about 3-5 days, but they would have cost me over $200! Evike has a fantastic selection at great prices, so it was well worth the time this BDU spent in customs ;)!
by Benjamin R. on 2009-10-01 15:10:11
"It is very good if you are fit and sweet alot. I have it and it works great! It is bascically like Under Armor.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews)