Reviews: Cybergun Licensed Thompson "Chicago Typewriter Tommy Gun" Airsoft AEG Rifle (Metal Receiver / Gearbox) w/ Drum Mag

$180.00 $153.00

29 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-43901
Location: L6-924

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Corey R. on 2014-08-01 14:12:48
"I've had this gun for a few days now and have already used it in a war with some friends. By far it is my favorite and it dominated the field (My friends were using Aks FAMAS, and M-4s). At first I was doubtful about how well it would compete, but I was soon shown there was no need to worry.
Pros.
Great ROF
Good FPS
Extremely Durable
Heavy (Some may find this to be a con, but I personally like the weight as it adds to the guns realism. Although after a 6 hour war, your arms do get kind sore.)

Cons.
Heavy (Arms get sore after long airsoft war)

Overall, I would recommend this gun to both pros, and beginners.
by Jacob H. on 2013-08-16 18:15:15
"Great gun for a WWII battle. All markings on gun are historically correct as well as the look of the gun. If your looking for a gun that is combat ready out of the box this gun is perfect. The gun is large and heavy though this is not a con. The real Thompson was the same size and weighed approximately the same. If you are a person of small stature and have trouble carrying around a heavy gun then this is not for you. I believe in full metal guns that are heavy weight to simulate actual combat.

Pros:
-Top receiver is metal as well as barrel
-Heavy weight for a more realistic feel
-Accuracy is good enough
-FPS is sufficient
-Drum mag is excellent for look as well as a capacity of 450 rounds
-Looks good and has great character
-Bolt can be pulled back
-Gear box has moderate internals and version 6 gearbox is easy to upgrade compared to an m4/m16 version 2 gearbox
-Has one sling mount for a "under the arm sling"

Cons:
-Feeding system stall fires about every 20-30 shots (easy fix by deburring out the edge)
-Lower receiver is ABS (this does lighten gun but I would prefer to add the extra 1 1/2lbs)[Can be purchased else ware]
by oscar b. on 2012-12-31 15:21:13
"Ive had this gun for about two years now and it still works like the day i took it out of the box. excellent support weapon, and field presence.
by brandon w. on 2012-03-27 17:08:22
"well i will point out some ups and downs, but let me tell you my experiences with it... ive have it sort of just break down on me before.

PROS
big mag
great fps
heavy duty

CONS
terribe accuracy
it feeds OK

my score out of 100
78/100

suggest different gun
by Andrew P. on 2012-03-04 12:33:01
"Overall Pros:
-gearbox
-rate of fire
-muzzle velocity (not as high as advertised, but still awesome)
-drum mag and vertical fore-grip make great partners
-fun to shoot
-can be formatted for cqb

Overall Cons:
-connection of pistol grip (very minor con)
-length (can be shortened for cqb if desired)
-may be heavy for some (vertical fore-grip really helps with the weight)
by Christopher S. on 2011-12-30 00:49:15
"To start off with, this is a great aeg, and as with every gun (airsoft or real) their is always a pro and con with it. First thing is, this is a great gun for beginners and experts alike and can deliver deadly accurate shots. Right out of the box its was very wobbly but no problem just tightened al the screws on the outside and that fixed the problem. I also invested in a wood conversion kit, precision barrell, and a new motor, and after that and a 9.6 the gun was unstoppable.

Pros:
Great Trademarks
rate of fire (with a 9.6)
Huge drum mag
very heavy (can be a pro or con)
very easy to field strip
upgradeable
very authentic
nice conscruction and realism
the stock can hold a large type battery
Cons:
impossible to get the orange tip off
the "touch and move" sight are pretty crappy
only one sling mount
the mag only holds 450 compared to the same size drum mag for mt m4 that holds 2000
you have to be a big/ strong man to hold this beast
by Matt K. on 2011-11-20 13:59:16
"So i got this gun from a Boa, and i get why everyone hates when they get it in the boa, it ussally dosnt go with your load out or match ur other set up ,but once u get past that its a great gun, honestly the most annoying part of this gun was only the blazing orange tip , non removable from what i can see , but other than that this thing is pretty much a make shift lmg with the high cap and if u wind it right it will continuesly shoot for the whole drum ,

pros good fps
good weight
mag size
grip
cons orange tip
lack of a front sling mount
all in all it was worth the boa but i wouldnt say i would buy it for the full 210
by Juan carlos K. on 2011-10-22 20:14:37
"This gun is GREAT! I got mine from the boneyard for 70 dollars and all that was wrong with it was that a red bb had grease on it, and this bb was in the barrel so I fixed it. Lol. Saved myself 140 bucks. Thanks Evike. You guys are great.
by liam t. on 2011-08-19 07:18:39
"This gun really is as awesome as it looks. It fires straight, fast, and with the 500 shots you know it has enough ammo for a game. It is a heavy gun but I dont mind it too much and I'm only 5' 2". I now know why the gangsters fired from the hip because its huge. I can aim pretty well from the hip though because it fires straight and with a good rate of fire and a full drum mag you know youre going to hit your target. Ive got a wingun revolver and this and they both theyre a deadly combo. If you like cool, historic, and authentic guns, then I would highly recommend this and the wingun revolver.
by lee b. on 2011-07-23 21:21:47
"this gun is AWSOME ! i have the cybergun version but there all the same basicly . the gun is the most realistic looking gun i have ever seen the bbs go stright very nice if you have the money BUY IT!!!!
by Wes E. on 2011-07-13 19:00:50
"This is a very nice gun. i havent used it in a war yet, but there are great specs....

Pros:
1. You never have to take out the magazine because it reloads from the side.
2. It has a !!!huge!!! battery compartment for a 9.6v battery.
3. A trustworthy safety.
4. You feel like a gangster using it.
5. Insanely good fps, and is accurate.

Cons:

1. You need long arms.
2. No attachment rails... ( but who cares )
3. Kinda heavy with a drum magazine.
by Robert S. on 2011-04-12 17:18:10
"I bought this gun about 3 weeks ago and I love it. I went airsofting with some of my friends at a CQB course near my house and it was fantastic. I also bought the stick mag on Evike for $26 and it worked like a charm. I borrowed my friend's lypoly battery and it increased the rate of fire for 10 rps to about 15 rps.

Pros:
Good rate of fire
Really good FPS (about 420ish when i used it)
Great Range
Pinpoint Accuracy if you adjust the hop-up correctly (I used .20 bbs)
It is a scale model. I don't really care about that but it is what it is.
The drum mag it comes with it holds a lot of ammo, so you never have to reload in the middle of a game.
The length of the gun is perfect for me and I am a 5 foot 11 inches and 150 lbs.

Cons:
There is only a clip to put a strap on in the back, so its hard to put straps on it.
The battery it comes with isn't very good, but you can buy a lypoly and fix that issue.
If you completely fill the mag, it can get a little heavy (about 10 lbs or so)

Other than that, this Tommy gun is great and I would recommend it for all skill levels of players: from beginners to experts. This gun can be used in either a field match or a CQB course and works perfectly. Haven't had a single issue with it yet and I am looking forward to using it again. This gun is awesome.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3