Reviews: King Arms Licensed Thompson "Chicago Typewriter Tommy Gun" Airsoft AEG Rifle (Metal Receiver / Gearbox) w/ Drum Mag

$180.00

29 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-43901
Location: L6-924

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3   
by Jack Z. on 2011-03-17 12:46:02
"Fantastic gun. Careful with the drum mag. Mine broke the day I got it and it was only a stripped gear. You might want to buy the set of five box mags if you want to be quiet because the drum is loud. If you do buy the box mags buy a speed loader because they are manual load, as by ONE BY ONE. Otherwise a great gun and is a great buy!!!!!!
by Patricia B. on 2011-03-02 12:25:25
"This was the first airsoft gun I bought, and I gotta say it's hard to beat. The fire rate is amazing, the accuracy is beautiful, and it just looks gorgeous. Everything about it makes me never want to put it down. The only "bad" thing about it is its battery which only lasts 5 hours, but all aeg's come with those sorta stock batteries.
So, all-in-all:
Pros:
Full metal
Amazing plastic stock and grips (Its amazing how much itlooks and feels like real wood)
ITS A TOMMY GUN
Weight makes it feel real
Great FPS
realistic fire rate(for a tommy _=])
amazing accuracy
EVERYTHING

cons:
weight(if youre a whiny 3-year-old)
length(allotta people say its a long gun, but I dont feel it, and Im only 5'7-ish)
stock battery (which is expected)
by Samson J. on 2011-02-10 19:01:52
"ive had this gun for a year or so and its really nice. i mean reallllyyy nice. i got a 9.6 volt battery for mine and that bumped up the rof to about 15 bps.
Pros:
Very accurate. i got a 6.04 mm barrel for it but when i first got it it had about 150 ft of ACCURATE range. range is almost always on my side in a battle with this gun.

it looks awesome

the front handle is nice because you can hip shoot it and you feel like a beast =D

the mag is really nice and its very easy to wind. you can also reload it without taking out the mag which is nice during a battle.

i've found that you can prop the gun up on a piece of plywood so the top of the plywood is behind the foregrip and mag and it serves as a really nice mounted support gun and you can shoot it while staying in cover.

cons:
its heavy and awkward to carry if you are using a large forest to airsoft. i suggest a shoulder strap.

the mag can sometimes get in the way if you are trying to crawl or something but its not a big deal.
by griffin p. on 2010-12-22 07:14:41
"exact tokyo-marui clone but about 100$ less with dual pistol grips and a drum. this was my brothers gun but i traded him my upgraded echo-1 ak-74 u for it. totaly worth it! only thing i can think of that is a con to most people ( or me anyway ) is its a version 6 mech-box. if your new to airsoft that means aftermarket parts are much fewer than a version 2 or 3. but honestly you really dont need to overhaul this thing. from what i can tell this is just as accurate as my old ak-74. only complaint i have is it dosent feed reliably in semi auto at all. this should be an easy fix though. i suspect it might be the mech-box. but its a 1928 style thompson! why would you want to use semi?!?
by Joshua S. on 2010-12-01 21:56:17
"This gun is a BEAST!!!
I used it in one major-ish type battle so far and totally dominated. The range is awesome, and accuracy is consistant once you play with the hop up. Plus 450 rounds at your disposal is nothing to turn your nose up at.

In answer to some questions

yes you do need to wind every 50 shots or so, but its MUCH easier with the large winding mechanism on the front rather than a little wheel on the bottom.

Yes the gun is heavy and noisier than a baby rattle

Yes it comes in the mail with a smaller battery and lower rate of fire than is normally desired, but this is easily fixed for a relatively small price

Yes this gun leaves welts

Yes i did dress up like a '20s gangster on the guns maiden run (which was not fun since it was near the middle of summer, but i did make promises...)

yes this is an overpowered gun to take to backyard skirmishes (I use a cheaper wal mart substitute for these)

And yes, your friends will come up with specific tactics and gear (mostly gear) with nothing else but countering the tommy gun in mind, such as riot shields, snipers, and c02 pistols with a rediculously high fps... trust me

Catch my drift yet? this gun rocks your targets world lol. its an incredible buy, and when the gun does die, it will make a nice decoration to hang on the wall.
by Erika A. on 2010-10-03 19:32:14
"GREAT gun! Extremely reliable, shoots great and hard. Fake wood looks very real but I bought an m1a1 wood kit for it anyway(had to be modified a bit and needed different screws to fit but it's possible).
Perfect gun if you want something that works well straight from the box.
by Azriel R. on 2010-09-22 15:49:20
"Just wondering about the mag. I doesn't say anywhere, is it like a mid-cap or do you have to wind every 50 or so shots? Wanna buy it but i dont want a high-cap mag, those are a pain and make a lot of noise when running.
by Cole C. on 2010-09-14 20:18:01
"This gun is a beast! I seriously recommend this to anybody looking for a Tommy Gun. Mine cronoed at about 438 fps. I am a huge fan of gangster movies and and stuff in that general time period and this gun is amazing. The only thing that i did not like is the "wood" that is not actually wood but you can pick up a replacement kit for that.
by Paul G. on 2010-09-05 01:10:27
"Very nice gun, picked up from the boneyard for $65 at the evike super sale '10. When I got home I hooked it up to power and heard nothing but grinding gears. I took the grip off, made a minor adjustment to the positioning of the motor and made sure it was meshed with the gears. Tried it out again and works perfectly!
by Ronald K. on 2010-08-29 17:01:33
"Freaken Huge! If you have long arms and can hold a load, this is for you. This gun is somewhere around 15lbs with a full clip and everything! NO KIDDING! One of the best airsoft guns you could ever get for this price right now. At big 5 they have the same gun for 310.99. Same exact gun! This gun is extreemly accurate and i can hit a sign from 50 yards away atleast with still full power! Shoots fast and far, hurts really bad at point blank, gave me a welt for 3 weeks, and it bled for 20 mins! Overall great gun. Use the 25g's black High Impact Crosman bb's at walmart if you dont like to spend too much on ammo like me (9.97 at my Walmart for 5000 bb's),they work really good for everything including wars and have never let me down. dont get the 20g's white crosman, they shatter from shooting a rock because gun is so high powered.

Cons:

Orange tip not removeable

Jams about 3 out of 10 times while twisting thing on clip

Jams on semi-auto if pressing to fast and growls at you kinda, happens sometimes

Not good for the gun to use single shots on Full-auto

Battery only 8.4 volt! lasts about hour and a half- 2 hrs for a 5 hr charge! Can support a huge battery, cause the 8.4 rattles, so cut some foam off and put it in there with the small battery, the foam comes in the battery slot. Need to find bigger battery

Really Heavy after holding with 1 arm 30 min

13bb's per second on full auto on average and runs clip out fast

Full-auto runs about battery in 30 min constant shooting on 3/5's charged

Again needs bigger battery that lasts longer for such a beast




Get this gun!!! You won be dissapointed!!!!!!!!!!
by Chris G. on 2010-04-18 19:56:03
"Its a very good gun i've had mine for a very long time now and it's always served me well. The only bad things i've encountered are that the screws come out, make sure to tighten them up and never ever wind the mag the wrong way cuz it will break it and then only shoot like 5 rounds before you have to spin it instead of like 20-30. also there isn't any place to really attach a sling on the front. but otherwise it is really heavy, the mag holds 450 rounds which is nice, its all metal and the ABS plastic really looks and feels like wood. i'd reccommend this if you like old style guns. although i have no idea what you would use to upgrade anything in it. if anyone knows that would be helpful.
by Johnathon D. on 2010-03-15 14:32:37
"I got this AEG for a birthday present, and I couldn't be happier with the performance. The only drawbacks I could find was that it is a bit too large for smaller players, and not quite historically accurate.

On the real M1928, the charging handle was situated on the top of the main receiver, whereas this model uses the side mounted charging handle found only on the later (and much simplified) M1A1 model adopted by Allied forces during WWII. The M1A1 was unable to acommodate drum magazines, due mostly to the stick type magazines being much more affordable and less prone to rattling or jamming than the drum versions. The trademark forward grip was also removed to cut down on costs, as well as the cooling fins along the barrel.

But enough of my gun-nut rambling. If you want a hardhitting, dependable and intimidating as all h*ll AEG, there is none better at this price. You won't regret it.

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 29 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3