Reviews: Cybergun Licensed Thompson "Chicago Typewriter Tommy Gun" Airsoft AEG Rifle (Metal Receiver / Gearbox) w/ Drum Mag

$180.00 $144.00

34 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-SA-43901

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 34 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Thomas Y. on 2016-03-22 00:32:23
"This gun is a BEAST!
When I first took this gun out for actual airsoft games, I was extremely surprised at how easy it was to see the BBs fly out. It was a great advantage since I could whether or not I was hitting my targets or not! The drum mag is not only great for looks for ammo capacity as well, at 450 BBs.
PROS:
*Stylish period gun
*Visible line of fire (able to see the BBs fly out)
*Great and stylish hi-cap drum mag which is easy to use
*Compatible with Thompson stick mags
*Built in fore-grip
*Easy hop-up adjustment
*Extremely light
*Doesn't feel awkward when firing on semi


CONS:
*Kind of awkward to hold, you have to lean in to shoulder and fire (You can always hold the drum/ stick mag as a fore-grip though)
*Battery rattles around the stock a bit but you can put in bit of tissues to fill in the empty spaces
*Not a lot of places to put away the drug mag on your load out unless you have a big pouch
*A bit expensive as it is almost $200
*Can't be used it in indoor airsoft fields
*Faux wood (eh... not too big of deal)
*Compartment on the stock to change battery sometimes gets jammed if the wires are pushed up against it inside

Gun is totally worth buying, I'd definitely recommend it to anyone buying their first airsoft gun.
by Nathan C. on 2016-02-05 14:47:36
"I highly recommend this gun. I've had it for many years now although all it does it collect dust for me now. But anyways, when i used to use it as my primary weapon i loved every second. The only complaint i can say i have for this gun is the mag. I didn't tell my friend when i lend it to him that you have to crank it a certain way. If you don't follow the arrows on the mag to wind it, it just about breaks instantly and they are around 45 bucks to replace which is a downer. Also i am a smaller guy so the stock is somewhat large for me but I've found that if you just tuck the end of the stock under your armpit instead of holding it like you should, its a perfect shot down the sights. Overall I highly recommend this gun and it has lasted me many fun years and maybe even more to come. If you are debating between getting this or not, id say get it. You"re not wasting a penny.
by Adam W. on 2015-11-15 09:54:28
"This is a gorgeous gun, heavy metal frame, and quite good for the price. I've had this gun a little over 3 years, the only thing that you need to do, is get a better battery, probably about a 9.6v small type, the stock battery mine came with was bad and gave me a lot of trouble, it would jam, and things like that. And I recommend getting a stick mag for this, the drum is very nice and showy, but the winding mechanization isn't all that great.

PROS:
Heavy
Durable metal frame
Good FPS around 400
Beautiful Sub machine gun

CONS:
The heavy plastic handle, stock, and grip can be a bit flimsy at times
Stock battery
Drum mag has flaws

Overall, it's pretty good.
by Zack F. on 2015-08-03 11:13:49
"This is a very nice gun, but I have a few dislikes about it.

Pros

Hits hard
Has an okay range
Hold a lot of bbs
Nice full auto
Pretty quiet

Cons

Heavy (can be a pro for some)
Handle (or grip) hurt my fingers a little becouse it has a sharp corner.
by Jacob F. on 2015-06-04 21:44:57
"This gun is just amazing! It is a heavy beast with all full metal construction, besides the wood stock, pistol grip and forward grip. The internals are great. You should get a better battery then just the one it comes with. The stock doesn't have a lot of space for the battery so be careful with the size I had to kind of just bunch everything in the stock to fit it. And oh my god the drum mag just makes this gun even more of a beast, it is sturdy and feeds great and holds a crap ton of bb's. I didn't happen to get this gun from Evike because it was on pre-order, I got it at my local sporting goods store. The gun is a hard hitting gun and has great distance. I do recommend using heavy bb's because of the high fps. 0.20g bb's worked great. It is a heavy gun too, with the weight so be prepared for that. I do approve of this gun and if you think about getting it then you should! GET THIS GUN, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
by Corey R. on 2014-08-01 14:12:48
"I've had this gun for a few days now and have already used it in a war with some friends. By far it is my favorite and it dominated the field (My friends were using Aks FAMAS, and M-4s). At first I was doubtful about how well it would compete, but I was soon shown there was no need to worry.
Pros.
Great ROF
Good FPS
Extremely Durable
Heavy (Some may find this to be a con, but I personally like the weight as it adds to the guns realism. Although after a 6 hour war, your arms do get kind sore.)

Cons.
Heavy (Arms get sore after long airsoft war)

Overall, I would recommend this gun to both pros, and beginners.
by Jacob H. on 2013-08-16 18:15:15
"Great gun for a WWII battle. All markings on gun are historically correct as well as the look of the gun. If your looking for a gun that is combat ready out of the box this gun is perfect. The gun is large and heavy though this is not a con. The real Thompson was the same size and weighed approximately the same. If you are a person of small stature and have trouble carrying around a heavy gun then this is not for you. I believe in full metal guns that are heavy weight to simulate actual combat.

Pros:
-Top receiver is metal as well as barrel
-Heavy weight for a more realistic feel
-Accuracy is good enough
-FPS is sufficient
-Drum mag is excellent for look as well as a capacity of 450 rounds
-Looks good and has great character
-Bolt can be pulled back
-Gear box has moderate internals and version 6 gearbox is easy to upgrade compared to an m4/m16 version 2 gearbox
-Has one sling mount for a "under the arm sling"

Cons:
-Feeding system stall fires about every 20-30 shots (easy fix by deburring out the edge)
-Lower receiver is ABS (this does lighten gun but I would prefer to add the extra 1 1/2lbs)[Can be purchased else ware]
by oscar b. on 2012-12-31 15:21:13
"Ive had this gun for about two years now and it still works like the day i took it out of the box. excellent support weapon, and field presence.
by brandon w. on 2012-03-27 17:08:22
"well i will point out some ups and downs, but let me tell you my experiences with it... ive have it sort of just break down on me before.

PROS
big mag
great fps
heavy duty

CONS
terribe accuracy
it feeds OK

my score out of 100
78/100

suggest different gun
by Andrew P. on 2012-03-04 12:33:01
"Overall Pros:
-gearbox
-rate of fire
-muzzle velocity (not as high as advertised, but still awesome)
-drum mag and vertical fore-grip make great partners
-fun to shoot
-can be formatted for cqb

Overall Cons:
-connection of pistol grip (very minor con)
-length (can be shortened for cqb if desired)
-may be heavy for some (vertical fore-grip really helps with the weight)
by Christopher S. on 2011-12-30 00:49:15
"To start off with, this is a great aeg, and as with every gun (airsoft or real) their is always a pro and con with it. First thing is, this is a great gun for beginners and experts alike and can deliver deadly accurate shots. Right out of the box its was very wobbly but no problem just tightened al the screws on the outside and that fixed the problem. I also invested in a wood conversion kit, precision barrell, and a new motor, and after that and a 9.6 the gun was unstoppable.

Pros:
Great Trademarks
rate of fire (with a 9.6)
Huge drum mag
very heavy (can be a pro or con)
very easy to field strip
upgradeable
very authentic
nice conscruction and realism
the stock can hold a large type battery
Cons:
impossible to get the orange tip off
the "touch and move" sight are pretty crappy
only one sling mount
the mag only holds 450 compared to the same size drum mag for mt m4 that holds 2000
you have to be a big/ strong man to hold this beast
by Matt K. on 2011-11-20 13:59:16
"So i got this gun from a Boa, and i get why everyone hates when they get it in the boa, it ussally dosnt go with your load out or match ur other set up ,but once u get past that its a great gun, honestly the most annoying part of this gun was only the blazing orange tip , non removable from what i can see , but other than that this thing is pretty much a make shift lmg with the high cap and if u wind it right it will continuesly shoot for the whole drum ,

pros good fps
good weight
mag size
grip
cons orange tip
lack of a front sling mount
all in all it was worth the boa but i wouldnt say i would buy it for the full 210

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 34 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3