Reviews: AGM / Dboy Full Metal M4 RIS Carbine Airsoft AEG Rifle w/ PEQ2 Box

$180.00 $150.00

26 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-MP032A

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 26 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3   
by Joshua S. on 2016-08-21 05:52:15
"This was my first AEG, and this review is based on 3 months of ownership and ~6,000 rounds of use in casual field and woodland play with a 9.6v nimh battery.

This M4 has a very nice weight which was the first thing I noticed. Definitely heavier than some of my friend's full-metal M4s, but not so heavy that it is burdensome. Due to the front wiring with mock-PEQ battery box on the rails, and the 16" outer barrel this M4 is noticeably front-heavy compared to others. Before purchasing I read several reviews that indicated little or no RIS/front-end wobble. This was not the case for mine. At least 1/4" probably closer to a 1/2" of wobble was immediately noticeable on the one I received. The cheap wobbly vertical grip included, combined with the RIS wobble was virtually unusable. I ended up ditching the vertical grip, moving the PEQ box to the right hand rail, and putting a hand guard over the top joining the top outer barrel rail to the upper receiver. This 100% eliminated all wobble and now feels incredibly sturdy, but of course it doesn't look quite right. But this was preferable to the very high amount of wobble present out of the box.

Within minutes of u-nboxing and messing around with this M4, two metal pieces of the charging handle also simply fell off. I did not drop it, I did not pull it hard, but nevertheless they simply broke off. The charging handle is still completely functional without these small pieces, but it did not make me feel great about the build quality of this M4. A piece of the PEQ box also fell off and was lost during my first woodland game with this gun. Overall I am disappointed with the quality of the externals.

However, in terms of performance I was pleasantly surprised. I have not chrono'd the gun but subjectively it easily keeps pace with $200+ M4 AEG's used by others I play with. Consistency, accuracy, and power all turned out better than expected for an M4 at this price point. I have used several brands of mid-cap and high-cap mags and all have worked and fed very well. I have no complaints about the stock, it seems sturdy and works as expected.

Overall I give this gun 4/5. It does what you need it to do, especially for a first AEG at the $150-180 price point. It keeps up in the field without any additional money being spent on it, just beware that some of the externals may suffer from being cheap, brittle, and fragile. If you are looking for a gun with no wobble out of the box, this is not it. If you are looking for a solid first full metal AEG M4 I would definitely recommend it.
by Chayan D. on 2014-04-03 18:09:00
"This was my first AEG over 100$. Had it for 6 months and still works like new. Deffinately worth the money. I could hit a crayola marker from 80 feet. Everything is metal and the grip,stock is abs plastic. It is as heavy as the real thing. Im still using the stock battery and its shooting 340fps with .2 bbs. Shoots about 17 bbs per second i reccomend a 9.6 2000mah large type battery for more than 20 bbs per second. Ris is very sturdy does not budge. Perfect gun for begginers or even pros. Youll love it if you get it
by chris a. on 2014-04-03 18:08:17
"this gun is very accurate and my dad said its exactly like the real thing because hes in the air force
by Austen M. on 2014-04-03 18:04:18
"This is a good gun i own it get a 9.6v high milliahmp battery Imeadiatly it will keep it from locking up also get the Guarder infinite torque up motor increases fps rpm's and trigger response
(new tougher gearbox should be added later for better performance)

also the metal is a little soft and make sure all pins are very secure us super glue to hold them in better the fake bolt release flaps in the breeze

also the inner barrel seems to be almost an inch short on my gun if the flash hider is a biggy to you get a new one as these ones has shotty treading that makes the look bent (threads are 14mm ccw counter clockwise)

otherwise good solid gun not to heavy not to light close to real m4 weight and the sling mounts a re a little wobbley also make sure your stock is tight it also hass light wiring try not to kink or pull it it will break but

overall great gun kinda cheap paint good distance and range buy extra mags for the hell of it but a good buy fps is around 350 sends a good whack on the receiving end of fire Definite buy for a first aeg or cheap upgradeable Good gun rugged tough body Buy It!!!
by Austen M. on 2014-04-03 18:03:58
"I own it's a good starter metal gearbox gun if you want better results get the

guarder infinite torque up motor
http://www.airsoftpost.com/guarder-infinite-torqueup-mag-
-
num-long-type-airsoft-motor-p-27935.html

tuff body
good accuracy
good fps
get a 9.6v immediatly it will stop the gun from jamming
also it is a good base gun just for body parts
get a matrix 8mm gearbox the guarder motor and a few higher quality mags and you have a simple metal body gun that rips
good buy of a gun
get it while its around
by marshall t. on 2014-04-03 18:03:19
"I got this gun last week and when I fired this beast, it surprised on it's range and accuracy. The ability to hit target up to 150ft + is a good for stock. That easily could make this gun a DMR or a snper weapon.
by Robert B. on 2014-04-03 18:02:46
"I bought this gun about a year ago as my first AEG. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! I've purchased several rifles since, and this one has outlived the rest. its fps is fair(especially for $135(bought off a different web site)) but what really stands out is its reliability. It feels so solid I would feel safe dropping it from a two story balcony(although I would never do that) . After having it for a year its never had an internal problem. With other assault rifles I've had striped gears and cracked air nozzles.

pros:
VERY solid
great look
good fps
good price
EXTREMELY RELIABLE
great for starters or intermediates

cons:
um..... oh ya I forgot the battery box(when on the top rail) blocks the iron sights. lol. so I made my own ghetto version. Yes it involved duct tape. :p

I would highly recommend this for anyone.
by June M. on 2014-04-03 18:02:05
"Ok I have had this gun for about a year now and all I have to say that it was great and definately worth it. While it may not be as good as other guns same price shooting it is definately the must durable gun I've ever had. Hence the full metal. This gun has been in snow dirt and even underwater during freezeing conditions ( I fell in a river ;p ) . So this gun will definately last you a long time. However I did encounter some problems I fixed them all first a fuse was blown so I picked a pack of 5 30amp fuses (25 or 20 will do also) another problem was at times the battery would not work the gears so buy a 9.2 v battery for this. Now getting to how this thing shoots. Once you have your hop-up adujsted it is very accurate until it drops from range. Good range too, FPS is decent and fire rate is low but the durability and accuracy make up for this. I love the way it sounds when you pull the charging handle and the magazines hold a good amount. I HATE THE PEQ BOX I'm not big on looks but I just couldn't stand it. I camo taped to the button of the gun. If your wondering how to replace the fuse open the bottom rail to the gun this may be difficult do to the strong delta ring there will a cylinder shaped price of plastic inside is where the fuse is kept simply open remove and replace getting the bottom rail back on will be challenging too. Overall great gun and great bang for your buck. Still running great.
by Michael G. on 2014-04-03 18:01:33
"I bought this on another site, a good gun, but after light-moderate use, the stock unscrews itself.

I really like the stock, and was a consideration because I wanted similar to military issued M4's, however the stock has wobble.

The fake AN/PEQ2 box blocks the sights of the gun, unless mounted on side, or battery is attached using other means (I took the RIS mount from the PEQ box and used black duct tape to attach the battery to the mount, and then mounted it using the RIS on the top (and covered the battery with electrical tape for aesthetic reasons)).

Since my stock got unscrewed, I attempted to get the to rescrew it. Failed, now left with a pretty nice looking display.

The fake bolt is a nice touch, it is used to adjust hop up hidden under the dust cover. However the spring that it uses failed on me too.

The forward assist does Absolutely nothing :)... It's still fun to press though.

So a great gun for starters, but be careful when messing with internals.

Comes With:

Three-Point Sling
Mounts for three point sling
ABS Plastic foregrip.
Two RIS Heat Guards.
One Mag's worth of .20g BB's
One D-Boys Hi-Cap Magazine
Entry Level battery
Charger
by Sidney B. on 2014-04-03 17:59:56
"This gun is great had it for maby 4 1/2 months now working fine. There are some lose parts and a cheap peq box but heck its worth the money.

Pros:
Good fps skirts 400
Durable
full metal
RIS
Fore grip and rail covers (not cheap at all!!!!!)

Cons
RIS is loose
Cheap peq box
by William S. on 2014-04-03 17:59:27
"Great little gun when you take care of it. This was my first higher quality AEG, got it in the mail, ordered a spare higher output battery to crank up the BPS, this gun worked great, barrel is accurate, but one day it just jammed up and the motor stopped working. I was rough on the gun, and take responsibility for it breaking. But over all good gun, great for begginers
by ben c. on 2013-03-19 04:44:11
"I have had this gun for about 6 months and it is my first AEG after many months of chairsofting. I can safely say this is a SUPER amazing beginner rifle and will pose very few problems. Mine came defective but evike RMA'ed it so it was alright.

pros:
full metal body, DURABLE
decent accuracy
decent rate of fire
decent range w/.25
easy sight adjustment
accepts a wide variety of m4 magazines
upgradable

cons:
i would have to guess the gearbox will eventually conk out on me...
wobbly externals, RIS and stock wobble. __ easy fix


overall, an amazing beginner/intermediate rifle.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 26 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3