Reviews: Matrix QD Tactical Airsoft Scope Defender / Scope Lens Protector Shield

$15.00

18 Customer Reviews
Model: ACC-MTX-1464
Location: D6-126

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 18 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Steve M. on 2014-02-08 01:24:18
"Definitely recommend this to protect your optics! But as mentioned the stock acrylic lens aren't the best. My first game a hit from about 30 feet cracked the lens, it did it's job but wouldn't stand up to repeated hits. You can find polycarbonate replacements online or attempt to make them yourself, they are 30x stronger then the stock lens!
by Steve W. on 2013-09-28 16:44:58
"Could save your scope, (I'm sure it would), but when I received mine BOTH pieces (clear and yellow) were broken in half.
by Hansel B. on 2013-08-16 13:03:58
"The RIS attachment that holds the protective plastic is great, but the plastic lens itself isn't very tough. I broke my protective lens and decided to make some replacement lenses myself. You can buy clear polycarbonate sheets at home depot and make them yourself too, it isn't hard at all. I tested the stock lens vs the polycarbonate lens and the stock ones don't hold up at all. I shot the stock lens from about 50 feet at about 380fps and the lens cracked on the first hit. I shot the polycarbonate lens from same distance and it didn't even budge. I even shot the polycarbonate lens from point blank and it still didn't even budge. I highly recommend making your own lenses. Overall the ideas is awesome, but the stock lenses are fragile.
by Stacy B. on 2013-04-24 13:19:05
"If the lens ever breaks on you, you can make a new lens out of plexiglass and save 15 bucks
by Chase L. on 2013-04-16 10:58:00
"I use a real Tijicon AGO TA01 on my VFC Knight's Armament SR16 and this shield has saved my scope multiple times.

I have had one break on me so far where It was hit but they are still worth the $15 if you use a real or fake scope. I am ordering two more just for a back up.

The shield is made out of plastic, it seems tough but I used it in a day match and it ended up breaking near the end.

I still highly suggest this because of the price.
by Lampson N. on 2013-04-08 13:12:02
"Good buy. The protector is made of glass, not clear plastic
by Nolan G. on 2013-03-18 10:43:06
"I got this thing a month ago to use at my local field and I am very pleased with my purchase. It has saved my red dot so many times on the field and has never shattered or even dented. This thing is essential to anyone running an optic. FIVE STARS definitely!
by Brandon W. on 2012-10-27 19:45:18
"Very useful and effective shield.

seeing as this is taller then my red dot, I angle the lens down a bit making rounds deflect instead of impact...has saved my scope a couple times and I've only had it for a few days! (cqb environment)

a must have!
by george b. on 2012-05-06 19:25:36
"I have a $35 Barska red dot, nothing fancy like a holographic or ACOG. I was out at Desert fox and it got shot and the lens spider webbed. I was able to return it tho! I had it for about a year and airsofted regularly every weekend with it. Another time at Desert Fox I was in a building and the kid next to me got his brand new holographic shot out. What I'm trying to say is your optic is never safe in airsoft!

The protector is great. comes with Two lenses. One clear and one yellow one. Both come with clear removable protectors on both sides so do not worry about them coming to your doorstep scratched. They are not glass they are made up of a strong plastic. both lenses do not obstruct vision and can be angled to accommodate different types of optics. A must have if you want to decrease your chance of having to worry about buying a new optic soon!

Pros:
-fits rails firmly
-Two lenses included, Clear and yellow.
-adjustable
-good quality
-pretty cheap

Cons:
-only protects from the front. A bb can hit the rear of your optic or it can hit the front of your optic if shot at the right diagonal angle. But getting hit in the rear of the optic is highly unlikely and the diagonal angle shot is also unlikely too. This protector greatly reduces the % of your optic getting hit.

Highly recommended!
by Austin G. on 2012-02-05 20:15:26
"Ive used this every time ive played to protect my $110 ACOG and i'm thanking Jesus i got this thing... The first time i used it, it got cracked dead center from a bb. A week later i used it and it stopped the bb only to shatter into 3 pieces. So now i use the Yellow lens, which is kinda hard to see through indoors. If you have a nice scope this is DEFINITELY WORTH THE PRICE
by ryan q. on 2012-02-01 13:24:01
"This is probably the best red dot sight protector you can find online, but out of the 1 game i had it for i dont think it protected my holographic replica sight. This thing broke on my my first game because i was crawling through a tunnel ,pretty roughly, and when i got out i found that the protector snapped in half. Not sure if it was the guy on the other side of the tunnel shooting near my gun, or the fact that i was crawling pretty fast and the amount of pressure i had put on it caused it to snap, but it did indeed break. So if you wish to purchase this then just don't be rough with your gun because the actual screen protector may be wider than your gun, so if you drop your gun on the floor, the protector will take some of the fall too.

Pros:
-i shot the extra yellow screen protector far range and close range and it snapped in 3 shots ,with the barrel of my gun being right up to it. So this protector will indeed protect your rds from 180 degree hits.

Cons:
-if the person shooting you is at an acute angle from your rds, if it does reflect off the protector it can ricochet off and hit your rds. The odds of that are slim to none though.
-also being gentle was a con for me because i am a fast pace airsoft player.
by David H. on 2011-11-17 05:53:51
"Product is as advertised. Easy to install on rail and looks solid enough to deflect any shots that might have hit your optics. Came with clear and yellow shields.

Clear lens had a protective plastic film attached, but was still covered with small scratches. It's still clear enough to look through without much distortion. I'm going to get some type of plastic polish for plexiglass or lexan and see if I can clean up the scratches.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 18 reviews)

Pages:  1  2