Reviews: KJW Full Metal Custom 1911 Tactical HI-CAPA Gas / CO2 Blowback (O.D. Green)

$120.00 $102.00

19 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-KJW-614-G
Location: U13-077 WN3-M03

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Andrew R. on 2015-09-27 12:05:21
"Overall the KJW 1911 is solid. The gun has a great build and a nice weight; I've yet to find a part that isn't full metal. The blowback on this gun is ridiculous (a good ridiculous mind you) and the intimidation factor is huge. I've been complimented many times on its weight, kick, and sound.

-Full metal
-Heavy (pro for me though it might not be for others, especially kids)
-Very accurate for the amount of kick it has
-Good fps, I haven't chrono'd but it shoots hard and far with .25's
-Nice gas efficiency. I can usually squeeze two and a half mags out of a co2 cartridge. I haven't had experience with the gas mags yet.
-Rail space, always a plus
-Comfortable grip
-Functioning grip safety. If the safety is held, the gun has a hair trigger. If it isn't, you need to squeeze hard on the trigger.
-Good trigger response

-Magazines fall out in soft shell holsters. I have to keep magazines unloaded or else they'll fall out. The magazine release is on the same level as the highest part of the grip. Even a slight bit of force causes the magazine to release. This is probably the gun's biggest flaw. I'd highly recommend using a form-fitting hard shell holster to avoid accidental magazine release.
-Front sight falls off easily. When I got this gun my friend had already lost the front iron sight. Apparently this is a common problem so I would recommend gluing it down.
-Trigger safety extends a bit far back. You can't smoothly cock the hammer without moving your hands around. This doesn't affect the gun's performance as the hammer will cycle automatically, however, it slightly decreases the realism. On a side note, remember to pull back the slide before firing to chamber a round. The amount of time's I've been "killed" because of my negligence is to great to count :P
-Slide cocking is a bit awkward without bb's in a mag. I've had the slide get stuck halfway back when trying to cock an empty magazine. No big deal though.
-Slightly finicky safety. Although it's ambidextrous, it seems that only the left side is compliant. The right side appears to be broken or at the very least loose. This is most likely not a defect found in all guns, it's likely that the previous owner was responsible for mine.
-Co2 magazines are terrible. The valve breaks after a short period of time and the co2 all shoots out the top. I'd stick with the gas magazines.

-Noise factor. This is not your ideal stealth pistol. It's loud and intimidating and probably wouldn't be the best sidearm of a sniper. If you're going to go full Rambo, this is a great choice!

Overall this gun is a good sidearm for the average assault loadout. The pros outweigh the cons (although not by as much as I'd wish). At the price of $120 I simply can't recommend this gun over many other more "wallet friendly" guns. There's a lot of pistols that are just as good and at least $40 cheaper. Don't get me wrong, this gun is a beast and I've thoroughly enjoyed using it, but it seems a tad bit overpriced at $120. However if you get the chance to pick this gun up for a cheaper price by all means go for it! You won't regret it!
by Eddie S. on 2015-07-01 14:20:22
"I previously wrote a review but I have found more to add over time. I like this gun but it could be better. To start the front sight is not integrated into the slide which I personally don't like because mine fell off and it is hard to replace, however some people like the adjustability. This gun also is not very gas efficient and requires more maintenance than most other pistols.
Realistic weight
Mag capacity
Front sight falls off
Not gas efficient
Expensive magazines
Safety comes loose
by Eddie S. on 2015-03-31 15:04:35
"Great gun. If you come across this buy it. The only con is that even though it is modeled after a 1911 it doesn't fit in the hardshell holsters because of the tac rail
by Thomas C. on 2014-11-02 19:21:23
"Overall LOVED this 1911. I'm currently running green gas out of it, but plan on switching to CO2, as it's more powerful.

Full Metal
Ease of operation (If you know how to use a 1911, then you'll know how to use this.)
Hard recoil
Grip ($60 tactical grip STOCK! Wouldn't trade it for anything)
High capacity (25 rounds can't be all wrong)
Gas efficiency-KWA pistols take up one mag with a full charge, and this one does a mag and a half. Not the best, but better.

Mag price ($40 is asking a lot for a spare mag. But being the typical airsofter, I'll bite)
Maintenance-As with any GBB pistol, you've gotta keep on top of PM. This one doesn't require as much TLC as others, but it's still something else you've gotta stay on top of.
Front sight-It fell off at first, I added some epoxy, and haven't had any other problems with it.
Ambi safety-Maybe this was unique to my gun, but the safety on the right side of the gun was VERY loose. Got it tightened, no more problems.

One thing that's not completely necessary, but I wish this gun had, was a power release. The newer KWA's have this, and I'm infinitely envious. When the slide is locked back, and you lock in a new mag, and you pull the slide back to chamber a round. This pistol doesn't do that, but I hear that can easily be modified.
OVERALL-Loved it! Get it! It's worth every penny!
by Kian P. on 2014-09-27 12:55:41
"This gun is amazing! I did a lot of research looking for a reliable GBB pistol, and I chose this over the KWA versions (mostly because I run propane and I think that voids KWA's warranty, and this gun also can take co2). Also, replacement parts can be found at multiple stores.

The only problem I've had with this gun is that the front sight fell off immediately and I lost it. Super glue it to the gun right when you take it out of the box! I'm handy with wood and paint, so I made a perfectly good new front sight.

25 rounds (and all 25 get fired before the gas runs out)
Crisp Blowback action
realism and comfort
Compatibility (can take WE TECH mags, but the slide does not lock back)
FPS is pretty reasonable
CO2 and Green Gas/Propane (Although I do not recommend only using co2)

Front sight fell off...
Constant maintenance (But it's a GBB, what do you expect?)

Overall: Highly recommended
by Chris G. on 2013-12-27 18:29:57
"Pros: This gun is great! Full metal and awesome build. The slide action is so smooth! Really durable and paint stays on well unlike other guns. Best airsoft gun I've ever owned. I would highly recommend it even for amateurs because it is easy to use and fun to shoot. Adjustable sights, great trigger, and overall look and feel. Sights are great, easy to de-assemble and assemble, full weight.

Cons: slide is just a little wobbly, no big deal though. Magazines are pricy and the one it comes with is a gas resivoir type. Mag is a little bit wobbly, no big deal, can be fixed with electrical tape for a filler.

Minimal cons and overall a great gun. I would highly recommend this gun and would buy a second if I could!
by Roger C. on 2013-08-14 20:28:31
"I love this 1911 made by KJW! It is well crafted and weighted pretty close to a real loaded handgun. It is very sturdy and has survived wear and tear. It has dead on accuracy and a great kick. The magazine is double stacked or staircased zig zag pattern. It efficiently uses gas. I used a single mag twice with the 25 .20 gram bb's. I have had this gun over three years now and has not failed me, effective since 2010.

Great weight feel for big hands.
Strong kick
Efficient gas usage
lots of shots for a pistol
Very durable for a full metal gun with special coating. FYI (Handle is a polymer)

Weight and size of handle can be an issue for some.
The mag likes to slide out fast which can be good for fast swaps, but also is prone to dropping.
The mag is also very heavy, makes up a little less than a quarter of the gun's total weight.
Learn to use safety on 1911's. Dont break it on accident.

Find the right Holster for this. The button protrudes a little far out so be careful if you feel your waist lighter while crouching and running.

Overall I love this Model!
by corey k. on 2012-06-11 20:41:58
"I've had this gun for six months ( December 2011) so far it is great

full metal slide
my mag does not leak too much
conserves gas
accurate up to 100 feet (if shooting at cans)
nice kick
easy take down
looks real
high fps
hurts like a mother flicker

wobbly barrel construction

other wise i love this gun and if you maintain it will last a long time i give it a 4.75 of 5 stars because of the barrel
by vicky m. on 2012-06-03 12:22:58
"i received this gun about a month ago and it was just SEXY. this gun has a hard kick and works perfectly. the only problem i have had with this gun is that when i took it apart and tried cleaning it the slide would lock when the pin wasn't in yet, also the slide would fall off when the pin was in the gun but i managed to fix and i still love this gun. Overall. its an awesome gun and i'll still give it 5 stars
by yolanda g. on 2012-06-02 19:28:41
"this was my first sidearm and its amazing

pros: accurate, high fps, very reliable, double stack mags, only 99 $

cons: front sights can easily fall off, spare mags are expensive, hard to load mags unless you have a speed loader,
by Christine K. on 2012-02-26 19:32:49
"I have had this gun for about a month and is amazing! It is very accurate and full metal. I think this is a really good gun for its price. The only bad part is the slide seems slightly wobbly, but still functions how it should.

-Full Metal
-good fps
-very similar in looks and function to real 1911

-slightly wobbly slide
-magazines tend to not work unless loaded properly
by Samuel L. on 2011-12-17 13:10:32
"This pistol looks great, shoots great, and is overall fantastic. I use propane by the way. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS: The first day I used this gun in an airsoft event it fell out of my holster and when it hit the ground the handle broke into about three pieces. Now it acts as if the safety is on constantly because I can never pull the trigger. I will be sending it back to evike soon as it is underwarranty.

Plastic Handle (brakes)

I'm rating this a 4 out of 5 because the gun is exceptional, but it broke... I'll enjoy it again when it is fixed.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2