Reviews: Full Metal AKS-74U / AK-74 Airsoft AEG Rifle with Real Wood Furniture by CYMA - (Package: Gun Only)


63 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-CM035A

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 63 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by paul a. on 2016-04-25 13:10:31
"Have owned this weapon for almost ten years now. Great performer and very reliable. Only complaint is that the iron sights do not line up. Definitely worth the money if you're in the market for an affordable ak74u.
by Travis C. on 2016-04-20 19:57:39
"I love this gun! I just got it today and already it is my favorite gun in my collection. With the rifle i received today, i am fully blown away. The wood is a great dark plum color, and is real wood! Also it is full metal! The ROF is great and is accurate! and i mean really really accurate! If you love AK variant platforms get this gun!!

Full metal
real wood
great ROF
folding stock does not wobble AT ALL

no battery or charger is included with this rifle :/
by Nicolas C. on 2016-04-15 05:35:01
"For the price this gun is amazing, sturdy full metal externals and a realistic weight with a very reliable CYMA gearbox. The battery space is amazing, running along the top of the receiver all the way into the wooden handgaurd. You should get a stick-type battery for it, but I was able to fit a 9.6 butterfly type in with a little work. It's range and accuracy is decent considering it is a smg; however, I would invest in a new hopup bucking and tightbore barrel.

-full metal construction
-reliable and easily upgradable gearbox
-folding stock

-FPS too high for CQB
-The sling point hits the stock constantly making a loud noise (cover it in tape)
-the mag it comes with looks gross, but that's my opinon
by Ben and Blake C. on 2016-03-28 18:13:50
VERY solid construction
range is spot on
rate of fire is very nice with a 9.6v battery
folding stock
back sling mount makes that nice "metal hitting metal" sound. (can be a con for a few people)
hop up is easy to use

When i received the gun, it wasn't in very good packaging.
The magazine that came with the gun is very wobbly. (it gets extremely annoying!)

OVERALL: 8/10. for $138, you are getting an extremely well made gun for the budget-minded consumer. it really doesn't get any better than this in terms of price to performance; i'd definitely recommend this gun.
by Nicholas D. on 2016-03-26 14:17:20
"I cant speak for the performance of this guns internals since I bought it to replace the internals with an SMP Inferno but externals are spot on. This is not a lightweight gun. Its small but it does get heavy after a while.

-Strip down of gun for cleaning is very simple as with any AK.
-Spring loaded top receiver which is a plus

Stock mags are very good. I can feed 50+rps without any issues. Was even able to get them to almost feed at around 70+rps just for the heck of testing them(sputtered a little after some bursts), but that's with replacing the stock hopup and bucking and some other mods.

-Gearbox is your usual v3 TM spec.
-no plastic cover over the gear box which is annoying and can break very easily where the screw holding it down if torqued down to much in other CYMA AKs.
-Gearbox has a top slide-on sleeve like all v3s but this one has protruding clips which hold the dust cover in place which i love

I have yet to scratch or scuff the pain off (matte finish) on this gun from running around or getting shot except next to the selector lever which is bound to happen.

-The wood finish on it seems like there is no protected enamel over it but kinda gives it that worn look after a while which can be a plus for some.
-Sling harness is on the right of the stock, so good for lefties but a little annoying for righties and is quite noisy when running around.
-Stock swings to left and not right which is great for righties since it does not get in the way of your trigger hand.
-Orange tip is a pain to get off but can be done. It is glued on but take small bolt cutter to the orange tip and then gradually break it off in pieces with a ice pick and butt of screw driver. (NOTE: This will pull off some of the pain but you wont have that annoying orange tip that everyone can see when your trying to be sneaky and poke through windows in a CQB match. Also be careful not to cut the metal underneath, just take your time and as always when you remove your orange tip get a barrel sock so you don't have any unfortunate run ins with the law.)

If you love AKs and are looking for a rugged AK with a nice feel, get this gun. I'm sure anyone that has bought a CYMA AK can contest to their quality of their AKs. This is not my first and will not be my last.
by Matthew H. on 2016-01-05 12:16:09
"Best AK I've ever owned
This AK has lasted me a long time and still is going great i've taken it to every airsoft game I've been to and only once stopped but because my battery died. If you are looking for a nice AK then you will love this one.

-Weight is great just what i wanted it to be
-Accuracy is spot on for what its made to be
-Price is great for what it is
-FPS for outdoor 378-386

-Accuracy at long distances is not to good
-FPS could be lower

not Really anymore to say but just get it if you are debating it.
by Chris F. on 2016-01-05 12:15:03
"Let me just say for $99.99 BUY THIS GUN! Even if you don't like AK's or AKS's BUY THIS GUN! Let me repeat that... BUY THIS GUN! It's such a good deal especially for the price! I was skeptical because of the softair brand and it only being $99, but this gun is a steal! It fires around 400 FPS and has a good RPS. The accuracy and range are pretty good for a "CQB' weapon. It fires pretty smoothly and internals seem pretty good as far as my small knowledge goes. The matrix AKS RIS system WILL fit this gun for those of you like me that need to attach grips, lasers, lights, etc... It's got good weight to it but not super heavy for being full metal. The real wood is a nice touch, might stain it a darker color just for some uniqueness. The mags feed really well! Hardly had to wind to empty them. The battery is just a basic stick battery. I put an 11.1 lipo stick and it give it a little higher RPS.

400 FPS fires perfect for field games but small like a cqb gun
Good RPS
Very Accurate and has good range
Built very well. Full metal and real wood
Has a good weight to it but not tiresome for long games
Perfect for an infidel pmc look
Mags feed extremely well
No wobble with mags
Handguard wobbles just a bit , same as stock
Battery is a basic but it works well enough

Folding stock isnt long enough for me and folded in is uncomfortable. 'm hoping to be able to change to a fixed stock or just take it off.
The sling mount is only on the right side when stock is out and it's metal and loud
No rails but can be added so no biggie

5/5 This is a MUST BUY! Seriously, buy it just to have it because of how great a deal it is! Don't hesitate because of the price, this thing is by far at least a $200 gun.
by Darren C. on 2016-01-05 12:14:42
"Summary: I picked this gun up when it was running $99, which is an absolute STEAL for a full metal - real wood ak. This gun seems to be a CYMA CM035, which is the TM variant of the AKS74u, which means that without the trades (which honestly aren't particularly realistic) this gun would normally run about $150. This package also comes with an extra high-cap, making it an even better deal.

I'm currently running an 11.1v lipo through it in order to break it down faster. This body is actually pretty decent if you're planning to use this gun as an upgrade platform. I've fired about 6k rounds through it so far and nothing has broke. (I did bypass the fuse though)

Externals: 7/10
Full Metal - Primarily brittle Zinc Pot Metal
Real Wood - Not bad, but clearly isn't the best work
Paintjob - Flat matte black paintjob scratches really easily, which after a hours of gaming gave it a pretty cool "worn" OPFOR look.
Selector Switch - Got loose after 2 games, tightened it up and hasn't gotten loose since.
Handguard - A little loose fitting
Rear Sling Swivel - super noisy, metal to metal contact. Be sure to tape it up to silence it

Internals: 7/10
Basic CYMA CM035A Internals, not as good as the 45A series
Has survived over 6k shots of 11.1v after I removed fused.
Included Battery honestly isn't really sufficient
FPS: 370
Effective Range: 150 feet flat trajectory w. 25g, which is pretty decent.

Overall: 7/10

For the price I got this at? 10/10, there is no better AK at the Epic Deal, price of $99.
by Morten N. on 2016-01-05 12:14:07
"This will be a short but quick review:

HEAVY WEIGHT, it feels realistic and feels just like the real thing.
Battery space is good, unlike my Lancer Tactical, which has very tight battery space
Full metal is always a pro.
Real wood is somewhat of a pro.
Flash hider is not too large and doesn't have a lot of orange on it
Comes with a battery and charger, but buy a smart charger, and the battery isn't too bad either.
It is quite loud, if you shoot inside you might want to consider some ear plugs, as it is quite loud inside, outside your neighbors could definitely hear it (mine sure did).

Not a super con, but the metal on the gun scratches really easily.
The wood is some chinese wood.
Shots go a little bit to the right, and i did not get a front sight adjustment tool.

Overall I would recommend this gun to anyone, pro or noob as it is a good gun for the price.
by Ben M. on 2016-01-05 12:13:45
"So I got the gun 8 days after I ordered it and I wasn't to happy about that but the gun came with 2 mags and a "high quality" battery (8.4)
It's rof is good and you have plenty of room for a 12 volt stick.
The hand gaurd will NOT take a ak handgaurd or motor grip.
It's really heavy and the sling nih ton the back is a little noisy.
I have a 800 rd mag ad it fits with a little push.

Full metal
Normal rof
It doesn't suck

It came 8 days after I ordered it
The sling mout is noisy
The hop up is a little flimsy and hard to move.
by Stephen H. on 2016-01-05 12:13:22
"Ordered it 5/29, got it exactly one week later via ground shipping. Being on the east coast that is not too bad a shipping time at all. Out of the box it is very solid and has some heft to it, which is expected being fully metal and wood. Magnet sticks to everything except the outer barrel receiver, though the reciever does not feel that cheap. The gun will come with a larger plastic tip that can be removed by heating the glue and pulling the two halves of the tip apart. Rail mount can be used, though some modification may be needed to fit some rail mounts on the gun. Folding stock feels sturdy when folded, but mine needed a bit of tape at the hinge to stop some slight wobble. The trigger delay with a 9.6v is short, and the hop up works well. I was able to be very consistent in shot placement with .25g Goldenball brand BB's at 100 feet. Overall a very solid field gun that benefits the user with its short barrel and folding stock. For the 99.99 dollar price I paid, it's a steal.
by Will G. on 2016-01-05 12:12:52
"I got this gun today and its very nice. It has a nice full metal body an ok wood grip that camre dented. The hicap mag that comes with it fits snug but does missfeed occasanially and isnt the best plastic. Ive only put in an 8.4 volt into this (the one that came with it) and ut shoots pretty good with the hop up turned all the way up. So overall this is a pretty good gun for beginners or experienced. The only reason i bought this is because it was on sale for 100 it was definately worth it. This is definately one of the higher quality aks on the market

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 63 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...