Reviews: DBOY Full Metal AK74 Airsoft AEG Rifle w/ Real Wood Handguard and Side Folding Stock

$146.00 $131.40

9 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-BI-RK03
Location: A4-069

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)

by Ron C. on 2014-03-21 08:59:12
"Epic gun but be warned:

-Latch that holds the stock unfolded is plastic and may wear down or break
-Must be modified to fit magazines from other brands(My G&P midcaps dont work without modification) file down the mag latch or sand down magazines
-motor may come loose and must be tightened
-stock, front sight, and gasblock are all crooked (little pet peeve, of mine but can be fairly annoying)
-fitment of all the externals are not that great and some small things are plastic instead of metal. What is metal though is good quality metal.
-sharp edges, use gloves when gaming!

Pros
-9.6 volt stick battery of decent enough quality (use a smart charger not the included wall one)
-decent wood furniture(i recommend sanding off the original finish they put on it and refinishing it yourself)
-the metal bits are good quality metal
-folding stock
-battery space(stick types)
-afordable

all in all, its a good gun for the 130 bucks i got it for. i have more expensive guns but this guy kinda fills the gap as a good quality alternative to loan to friends or as a backup gun or to fit that OPFOR look. its ready to use out of the box but can use a little work to make it truly your own.
by Jackson S. on 2011-11-14 16:36:20
"weapon is great, just like the real AK74S issued by the Soviets during the Soviet Afghan War (1979-1989) people have been complaining about plastic mags, the real AK74s DID NOT HAVE METAL MAGAZINES, they were made of a composite plastic material called Bakelite. nice wood foregrip, over all a VERY STURDY GUN, magazine wiggles a little bit but hey so do the real ones. as an added bonous it comes with an actual Soviet issue AK74 sling. The collapsable stock is very sturdy
by michael o. on 2010-12-22 22:35:21
"one of the best guns EVER i have had this gun for 3 years and it is great
PROS
full metal and real wood
shoots hard
accurate
great for the price
some people say mag is wobbley but it is not (some mags do not fit at first but with slight moding it will fit great)
sick looking
folding stock
lots of battery space
high rof
high fps

CONS
magazine jams (rarely barely a con)
mag is plastic
battery is not that great
by Kathleen K. on 2010-11-30 10:20:37
"Bought this gun a week ago and it works great. I put a new barrel in it, Matrix 407mmx6.03mm, and the disassembly is extremely easy. The only thing is that 407mm is too short a barrel, if you do buy this gun an extra barrel, get the 500-509mm one that fits it. On the RK 06 page it says the inner barrel is 407mm, which is why I bought the 407mm, but it really isn't. Overall the gun is very sturdy, zero wobble anywhere. The mag it comes with is crap, so buy some extra marui mags and file down the tab so they fit right. Shoots about 400fps with the new barrel, and the effective range is somewhere around 150 feet. I would recommend buying .25 bbs for maximum range and accuracy, but it works well with .23s. I had an issue where the motor came loose a little bit and wasn't gripping the gears right, but I was able to fix it pretty easy. ROF is pretty good, I would say 8-10rps. I'm planning on buying a type III #2 gearbox upgrade kit with a 509mmx6.01mm new barrel, high torque motor, 260% spring, new bucking, 9.6v battery, and new mags. It's going to be insane (probably around 500 fps, with .3s with an effective range of 200 feet and 16-19rps).

Pros:
Good out of box rof and fps (about 400fps)
Extremely well built
All metal except pistol grip, but the grip is solid as a board
Good stain on the front grip, not orange or yellow, very sturdy
Heavy, about 8-9lbs (Could be a con, but I love it)
Folding stock is extremely sturdy and heavy duty
Sling it comes with is very good (although the metal clip is a pain to get on and off, but extremely sturdy)
Easy to disassemble for upgrades/fixes
Supports pretty much any marui/matrix internal upgrade
Has a side rail mount for AK compatible mounts
Very realistic
It DOES have a negative 14mm thread, so it can support barrel extensions if you want a 509+mm barrel, but mine was glued on and a pain to get off (I was able to get the flash hider off and scrape the glue off)
Awesome price ($150 is amazing for this high quality)
Not pot metal, all steel (Except for the charging handle, but it's very well built)

Cons:
Crappy mag (It works, but it wobbles a lot)
Sights are a little off
Motor came loose after a couple days (easy fix)

Overall 5/5, very good
I would recommend this any day over CYMA or CA just because of the price and ease of use.
by Joshua S. on 2010-09-20 16:46:42
"@ Helen-
The sight that flips up is not supposed to do that...the way you see it in the picture is the way it is supposed to be used. The reason it flips is because it is adjustable for elevation. That is a pretty standard sight configuration, especially in the civillian market.
by Helen J. on 2009-09-17 14:07:39
"Ok i actually own this gun. when it came in the mail the box was in good condition. the box was in good order. when i got everything out everything looked good. I got the holy cow deal so i got 2 Metal mags for a penny. first of all one of the mags had a old bb inside it was all brown an nasty and they dont fit in the magizine. But i was expecting that because its a known problem with the dboy ak. I fixed that problem by taking a dremel and shaving some of the plastic of the mag that goes next to the mag realease and it fits fine. The mag the gun comes with fits fine but it has allot of wobble on it but it doesnt effect anything. Now to the actual gun. The metal and the wood it great. charging handle isnt smooth but it works. it shoot decently about 370-400 (havent cronoed it yet). so yea 4 out of 5.
Pros
Good FPS
Sturdy other than the Mag
ok Accuracy
metal
Wood
feels nice

Cons
Wobbly Mag
oh and the site that you flip up is crap but i dont use it any way so Just get this gun.
by Dorota S. on 2009-04-09 11:06:26
"Featuring full metal construction and real wood furniture the RK-74SF is an amazing looking rifle and is incredibly realistic. With its weight being nearly exact to its real steel counterpart it both looks and feels like the real thing. The RK-74SF is equipped with a metal side folding skeleton stock which once folded reduces the length of the rifle from 37 inches to 28 inches making it more manageable in tight quarters.

The receiver is finished to have the appearance of crude stamped metal and is complimented with natural steel colored receiver pins. The rifle has no markings with the exception of the stamped serial number in its receiver, matching serial number on the ribbed receiver cover and the designator symbols next to the selector switch. The receiver also features a side rail for attaching an optics mount such as our AK Side Rail Mount (MNT-973). Other realistic features include an authentic click adjustable rear sight, adjustable front sight, barrel heat sync and ported muzzle brake.

At the heart of the RK-74SF is a metal Version 3 gearbox which produces a very respectable 390 fps at the muzzle. Coupled with its long 500mm inner barrel this rifle can pull off some pretty impressive shots from well over 50 yards away making it a highly effective sniper hunter. An AK type stick battery is used in this rifle which is housed along the top of the receiver. Thankfully, unlike other AK models which are restricted to using an 8.4v battery unless you do some serious modifications to the battery compartment of the rifle, the RK-74SF has enough room to hold up to 12v stick type battery pack (please note that the rifle in stock form is only rated up to a 9.6v). While a battery is included with this rifle we highly suggest getting an Intellect 9.6v AK Type Stick Battery which drastically improves the rifles overall performance.

Comes with: 8.4v 1100mah battery and 450mah output trickle charger. Charge time: 2.5 hours

PLEASE NOTE: While the RK-74SF is supposed to be compatible with Marui type AK magazines it is very finicky what ones it will work with.
by Adam K. on 2008-11-15 09:56:38
"Im seriously considering getting this gun. But i have one question, does it have threads on it? if it does, are they CW or CCW? Thanks.
by David N. on 2008-10-31 19:31:17
"This gun only has a stock FPS of about 370 unless you upgrade it.I have tried two samples and came up with this finding.Over all build is excellent.The sling that came with the package has very good quality and looks durable.the real wood hand guard adds character because no two guns can have the same wood pattern,so it is very good as an collector item.this model also has provision for fitting an AK type side mounting rail to help utilize it's long barrel accuracy.I highly recommend this gun for collectors and players alike

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)