Reviews: KJW Full Metal Custom 1911 Tactical HI-CAPA Gas / CO2 Blowback (OD)

$120.00

27 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-KJW-615-G
Location: U13-079

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 27 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3   
by Nick P. on 2011-04-03 18:03:51
"THIS GUN IS PERFECT...i got this 6 months ago and it still functions like new, i would tend to go with the green gas over the co2 mags because i have had issues with the co2 mags (the mags work beautifully but i think they are to high maintenance). The gun shoots strait as an arrow and has a nice weight to it doesnt feel plastic at all because the plastic grip is well constructed out of super thick super tough ABS....over all this gun is perfect for anyone and a blast to shoot
by Linda S. on 2010-04-21 17:06:47
"This gun is GREAT!!! I have had for a few weeks now and have not found nothing wrong with it yet. its all metal, great hop-up (ajustable), and its shoots very hard for a pistol.
by ronald t. on 2010-03-03 15:35:53
"This is a very nice pistol it's got a great feel 2 it but the only prob as soon as I pulled it out of the box the co2 clip that I bought for 10 bucks extra stop punturing the co2 I only got 60 rounds and then I went 2 refill it with another co2 and it keep like not working so I kept tighting it and the co2 like exploded in the mag and this happened about three times and I called evike up and talked 2 them and they said that I must have frozen or cracked the o rings in the mag but i still have warranty so I requested for a new mag but for the short time I shot it, it was very very powerful and good but I yet 2 try it with gas or propane.
Very nice gun evike
by Alexander a. on 2010-01-07 17:46:31
"I've used this gun for a few weeks now, and its great. It shoots pretty accurately, has great kick with propane, and seems like its made of very high quality materials. Its accurate up to 80-100 feet depending on the bbs. (I use .23s but its more accurate with .25s.) Its very realistic in the fact that the slide locks back when its out of ammo, and then flies back forward when you put another magazine in. It seems reliable, and feels very solid, but it certainly has its cons.

Oh, and kudos to evike's customer service team. My gun's mag broke 2 days after I got it (but I got it for Christmas, and so the warrenty expired the day that I emailed evike), but none the less, that same day, I got an email back saying that they had shipped a new mag to my house, no charge. You may have heard bad things about them not responding to emails and such, but just send the emails through the warrenty section, and it will all work out great.

Pros:

Pretty accurate

Heavy for a pistol, very solid.

full metal, except the grip, which is a super duty plastic.

shiny barrel =)

Loud and intimidating (could be a con, but I love it.)

Looks sexy.

Cons:

lots of barrel wobble, and no way that I could figure out to fix it. I've read that lots of people have this problem, and there really isnt a solution to it. It throws off the bullets a little.

The orange tip is painted on to the outer barrel, so you could get the paint off with some paint thinner and sand paper, but then you have 6mm of barrel sticking out.

The mags suck. The first mag mine came with, the seals broke in like 2 days of use, so it wouldnt hold any gas, but the second mag (that evike sent me for free) Still works, but has a slow leak, so after an hour or 2 after you fill it up, pretty much all the gas will leak out and you'll get like 2 shots before it runs out.

The slide gets caught on the hammer when you run out of gas and the slide only goes part way back, and so that gets annoying, but if you just pull the slide all the way back and let it fly foreward, it uncatches it.



Ok, well I havent used it with CO2, but from all the reviews and forums I've read (which is most of them, on tons of websites) Everyone says that CO2 will break your gun, and that the mags suck even more than the green gas ones. So I highly reccomend not using co2.

This gun is definately worth buying, but there are probably better guns out there if you are willing to spend a few more dollars.
by Harley H. on 2009-11-10 20:21:40
"First off, Excellent gun.
Ive had it for about a month now as i wanted to wait to write a review
green gas is the way to go
all metal (save for a couple little things)
metal slide
fun to shoot
Accuracy- great for a pistol i can hit a person, center mass, at 40 yards away
Feel- works well in my hands, i have bigger hands so probably not too good for younger kids
not a gas guzzler, can get a full 30 rd mag off with one fill of a semi full green gas can
I've used this as a primary and trust me, you need at least one more extra mag
easy to clean
replacement parts readily avalible on most sites
if you are borderline on getting this gun, go for it, you wont regret it
~Dizzy
by jesse c. on 2009-02-18 15:22:45
"i have had this gun for about 6 months and i love it. I first tried to use the co2 clip and it worked ok sometimes but most of the time it failed to blow the big heavy metal slide all the way back. and i would get maybe half a clip out of 1 co2 cart. then i switched to the green gas clip witch worked great until it randomly broke for no reason. The gun is awesome the clips just suck but the green gas is the way to go...
by Kevin L. on 2009-01-30 18:42:42
"My first gas gun.
Tried this with C02 magazine and it got hard recoil. Tried the green gas, much softer. I recommend using C02 magazine only when u really want power. I compared the air(or gas) coming out each shot from both magazine, and C02 is 2 times higher and stronger. When i used the gun, the recoil was really hard for this gun but cant blame the C02 AND green gas compatible gun cuz it is prolly built to withstand the power of C02 so therefore harder to break internal material.
Overall, this gun is nice
by Russell C. on 2008-11-25 13:42:19
"Great GBB shoots hard and will take any 5.1 Hi-Capa Mag style. I haven't had any problems other than accidentally breaking off one of the slide safeties due to my owne stupidiy, thankfully i went to kjw's web page and sent them an E-mail about the part I broke and with in a couple of days the sent me an email back. They said I can order the part i need through pa pal and the part was like six bucks. The quality of this gun is great for the price you pay and since KJW will lets you buy replacement part from the factory I highly recommend this gun
by andy m. on 2008-11-11 20:21:18
"All you have to do is buy a threaded barrel and mock silencer and then switch out the barrels then attach the mock silencer annnd thats about it........so ya.
by FRANK R. on 2008-10-08 01:12:14
"This gun has an ideal weight (doesn't feel like junk), disassembles great for cleaning/maintenance, and the realism on everything from the trigger to the dovetail safety and sights are amazing. The OD grip also has a great texture. BUYER BEWARE TOUGH, the gun is engineered to use both Green gas or C02 magazines (Thats a pro) but Evike has it listed as coming with a Green gas magazine, and mine showed up with a C02 mag in it instead. The C02 mags are more powerful, but some places won't let you play with them because of this. C02 mags are more maintenance because you have to partially disassemble the mag at the bottom to replace the C02 cartridge when it runs out, and if you don't tighten the bottom enough you could have it fail in competition. Stick with green gas,
quicker refills between matches.
by cathi R. on 2008-10-02 22:40:52
"dude this is the best 1911 on the market hands down! i stick with the co2 mag and im makin friends bleed. The only thing I would suggest is getting an engraving from a major company like Kimber for instance.
by jesse c. on 2008-09-26 20:18:02
"i just got this gun about a week ago and right out of the box ot performed great. shot very straight even with no hop up adjustments. great pistol for the money. co2 clip works great and so does green gas. very happy with the purchase!

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 27 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3