Reviews: KJW Full Metal Custom 1911 Tactical HI-CAPA Gas / CO2 Blowback (Black)

$120.00 $96.00

104 Customer Reviews
Model: GP-KJW-615-B
Location: U13-078 Y1-M17 Y6-M08

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 104 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by Joseph R. on 2015-05-17 11:29:47
"My first GBB pistol, I picked this because I could use the co2 magazines in winter and propane for warmer temps. I do not recommend using co2 that much because I heard its bad on the internals.

Pros
I was shooting 100+ feet with this testing, on par with my AEP jg vz-61 ( I recommend both for CQB!!!!!)
insane FPS for a GBB, out of the box I was 345-355 constant.
can be used in both winter with co2 and summer with propane!
use propane it is much cheaper than green gas
magazine last about a mag and half.
upgrade parts easy to find! unlike EF 1911




Cons,
evike forgot to send my upgraded co2 magazine
bb's dont always line up loading and you dont get a full load. I get between 23-27 bb's per-magazine
it jams on bad quality bb's (typical of guns)
you don't have this yet :)
doesnt have lanyard :(
its a hi-capa you can't put custom 1911 grips on :(

I now have 5 magazine (3 factory KJW recommend these) and two silver WE hi-capa magazines they are nice but OEM is best. Both these magazines last a magazine and a half. I kept them loaded all day and they worked. Use speed loader to reload quickly another 10-15 bb's until gas runs out


Lube the gun when you get it, I am using 30wt silicone oil on the outter barrel and on the slide rails. I use 10wt oil for the o-ring seals. It's important to keep it lubed.

If it wasn't for the co2 option I would not have bought the gun, I wanted the 93r but realized I couldn't use it in the winter..
Almost bought the green OD grips but just wanted a all black 1911.
Didn't buy the TM hi-capa either because it wasn't co2.
Didn't buy the EF 1911 like everyone else I know because no upgrade parts!!!
by Randy T. on 2015-04-20 12:14:42
"I was looking around for a good hi-capa that i could use in a few upcoming cqb games and found this. when i saw it i instantly fell in love with it. for the price of 120-130 dollars it is completely worth it i must say though i had a very small inital issue because when i shot maybe my 3rd-4th magazine (Co2) the kick from the blowback was so strong that the front sight fell off (The screw also got "Cut" in half) but to fix the issue all i did was put locktight on the screw, screwed it in further (not too far) and then used some superglue to reinforce and it works fine

Pros
Powerful
Accurate
Nice kick
Great for cqb
loud (for intemination (:
by Christopher S. on 2015-04-06 13:28:43
"This is my second gbb pistol and I am overall very impressed with this weapon. The pistol I owned before this was the kjw 1911 A1, so I had high hopes for this weapon. I love the 1911 design, both real steel and airsoft. Although the kjw 1911 single stack design was very comfortable I disliked the low gas capacity, which at times had trouble finish firing 1 magazine. because of this I opted for the double stack mag with baisically double the amount of gas capacity.

Price:

The first thing that caught my eye was the price. I got this for sale on evike for $108 with both the C02 and green gas mag, and I also got the holy cow mag special. for very reasonable price, I brought a gun and three mags.

Ergonomics

Grip:
the gun was very comfortable to hold, it has the same grip profile as the 1911, which for those who do not know points very naturally, the shooter does not have to cock their wrist at an unnatural angle, they gust raise the gun up to their eye and the sights are right in front of the shooter. One thing that I did not like about the grip was its thickness. This is an inherent trait because it is a double stack magazine. The Trigger:
The trigger on this weapon is phenomenal, the travel is very short and has a nice, light clean break. Follow up shots with this weapon will be quick and accurate.
Safety/hammer:
I really did not like the ambi safety on this weapon. While it was nice to a have an extended ambi safety, the right side safety was very loose and had significantly more travel in it than on the left side. The safety was also was very large and got in the way a lot. The safety was also a two-piece and the fit between the two pieces was not tight. I ended up switching it out with the solid one piece 1911 a1 safety from my retired gbb and I am very satisfied with it. The grip safety is very comfortable to and is very satisfying. The hammer is a commander style hammer, which adds to the cool factor, its serrations also help with cocking the weapon. The mag release is nice and big, it is easy to reach yet not to in the way where you will accidentally eject the mag. The slide lock is a basic 1911 style slide lock, it’s nothing special but it works. One thing that I love about this gun is the sight. They are high enough profile that they pop out, but are not too high that they are obnoxious. The sights also have nice big white dots that allow fast target acquisition. Overall besides the safety, the ergonomics on this weapon are fantastic.

Fit and finish

Weapon finish:
If any of you have owned a KJW before, you will know the thick coat of black paint they have on their weapons. This coat is nice because it offers a good deal of protection to the weapon, however, the paint does wear and can dirty up they inside of your side. That being said, worn paint gives your weapon a nice weathered look to it.
Chrome parts
The trigger, barrel, hammer, and recoil spring have a brushed stainless finished and has a classy two-tone look to it. The chrome brushed barrel has a wide profile and is of a bushing less design. The barrel is not threaded and has a big fat orange tip to it because of the bull barrel and the non threaded tip, you will have to get a different barrel in order to put on a muzzle device.
frame
The lower portion of the frame is different than any 1911 I have held because the frame is metal, but the grip is completely made of a tough polymer, even the hammer spring housing. A rail is included on the metal portion on the frame if you want to put an attachment on your weapon.

My biggest complaint is that there is a huge amount of play in the slide. While this is not a real steel weapon, I would like my pistol to not sound like chattering teeth when I shake it.

Shooting

The first thing that I noticed was that the C02 worked much better in the gun than the greengas/propane did. The overall performance was increase when CO2 was used(fps, accuracy, recoil, reliability). That being said once broken in, the gg/propane mags worked like a charm, the recoil on the gun was very similar to that of a .22 lr., it shoots about 300 fps on propane and abut 330-350 on c02. The gun is also very accurate out to 100 feet. The sights make for quick and easy target acquisition; paired with the natural grip angle, the gun can be as accurate as some rifles. In short, this thing handles like a in warm weather dream. Speaking of sights, the C02 has so much kick that it knocks the front sight loose when shooting. Keep an eye on the front sight, if it needs tightening KJW included an allen wrench to do so. The gun starts to fail when the temperatures drops on propane. The fps drops and the slide gets sluggish and sometimes the slide will not lock back when it is out of ammo. I got to use this in a cqb game and it performed admirably. This game was during the winter and temperature in the field were in the low 40s but the gun still was able to compete with aegs. This gun is perfect for cbq because its accuracy, fast handling, and compactness. It could be used in the field as a secondary, while it is accurate, it does not have the range of a rifle.

Conclusion

If you are thinking of buying this weapon, I encourage you to do so. Besides the rattily slide and two piece safety, this weapon is flawless. While you can upgrade this gun I recommend leaving it stock, the gun works. The gun is also very affordable and you can get great deals on extra magazines.
by Jonathan C. on 2015-03-31 17:32:29
"Great gun, very sturdy. Shoots great, and feels nice for someone with big hands. No complaints so far, gas magazines get through the clips no problem.

For those looking, a good holster is the blackhawk serpa concealment holster for colt1911 & clones, model number 410503 (the 03 is the size). Fits tight, but does lock in and works great.
by Larry R. on 2014-01-26 16:06:57
"After a few weeks of play time I feel like I can give this thing an honest review, and I can sum it up in two words...pure beast! The weight is excellent, and it gives the hi capa an almost indestructible feel. It seems quite efficient on gas, as I can get usually around 60+ shots or so per fill. There are a plethora of upgrades and replacement parts available everywhere. The recoil is excellent with stock springs, an on co2 it is very snappy.

As far as the issue with Serpa holsters goes with this gun I can tell you from first hand experience that the knockoff $20 Serpa on Ebay does indeed fit the gun, but it is VERY tight initially. I put the Serpa in the oven @225 degrees for about 6 minutes then shoved the gun in, and now it fits great. It doesn't drop in, but it's still nice and snug. A Blackhawk branded Serpa will not fit this gun without cutting.

The We Tech nickel hi-capa barrel does fit this gun, but it requires modification with a file to get the inner barrel, and hopup unit installed. I used the included barrel as a guideline of where to file, and all it took was about 5 minutes work.

All in all the gun is excellent, and as a sidearm it is tough to beat.
by Ramez F. on 2013-10-20 19:06:32
"I just bought this pistol and can already tell its great. nice weight to it and sturdy. about 330 fps and has a nice kick to it. Good range and is pretty accurate, mags are pretty efficient can use about two when i fill them with gas.
Pros: Nice weight, good kick, gas efficient, good fps, good range, accurate, looks cool, easy to take apart
cons: non except orange tip is kinda ugly but its like that on all guns
defiantly recommend, so just buy it
by An T. on 2013-09-16 07:53:06
"After using this pistol for a while ....
Here are some pros and cons that I have

Pros:
1/ shoots hard
2/ Nice feeling
3/ Accurate
4/ Makes loud noise to scare other people

Cons:
1/ Mags fall out if you don't run it with the right holsters

Yeh, that's all about 1911 HI-CAP pistol ....
I will give it 5/5
by JOSEPH B. on 2013-09-09 12:17:29
"An amazing airsoft gas blowback gun and definitely one of the smoothest shooting I've ever tried and now own. I am a 1911 fan and airsoft replicas of the gun are no exception for me. I've tried variants from WE, KWC, and then this. I also love the excellent trigger which is also the most responsive from all those I tried. Claims from veteran gamers about this gun, particularly the tank-tough internals are true. This further cements KJW's claim that you can use CO2 as an alternative for this pistol. (i.e. CO2 magazines are sold separately unless offered together for free with your gun by Evike).

PROS:

- Amazing range made my stock M4 AEG eat the dust. KJWs Hop-Up takes big credibility for this too.
- Satisfactory accuracy, at 60 to 80 feet I love the instant point-and-shoot capability. Some wind and BB drop determines accuracy further down range.
- I get about 3 magazines full with one fill of green gas.
- I highly recommend using green gas than propane for more consistent silicone oil lubrication. It is my honest assumption this contributed to the superbly smooth operation; the slide feel of which I can compare to "as if gliding over a panel of glass".
- Crisp, responsive trigger. No stacking with each pull.
- If you are inclined to gun safety features, the beaver tail grip safety and ambidextrous safety levers do their jobs.

CONS:

- Unfortunately, like most mass produced items, it is imperfect. The right side safety lever has become wobbly and does not engage as immediately as the way the left side lever does. This is comparable to my other 1911 Hi-Capa gas blowback with the same problem. However, my other pistol has been shot for a mere 2500 rounds before the issue appeared. My KJW suffered while it is still considerably new. Well, as long as the safety levers do not pop out of their current location, this should be fine. Otherwise, it would have been a missing piece in the field.
- Some paint has begun to chip at the rear end of the slide.
- While orange tips are a requirement in the USA, end-users who choose to remove the tip will have to deal with a painted orange tip. It is not removable-with-a-pair-of-pliers, simply because it is not an attachment. Removal of this tip can be a risk with lawful violations and for the end-user. FYI only.
by Greg K. on 2013-08-10 08:15:02
"AMAZING! I recently got this gun and it is fantastic. I got three mags with it, the one it comes with, the holy cow deal, and the bonus co2 mag. this is my primary gun in most fights and I beat my friends who have AEGs. The blowback is great and it is loud but not so loud that it bothers the neighbors. When I play with my friends I use .2 or .25g with this gun and it goes through the leaves so I can get a clear shot when they need to go around the bushes to hit me. I love this gun and I highly recommend buying it.
PROS:
full metal
Holy cow deal and bonus co2 mag
realistic weight
accurate
great range
kicks hard
bullets can make it though leaves (makes opponent need to find better cover)
intimidates opponent
looks cool
cheap for what you get
loud- (might be con)
Not to loud that it will bother neighbors

CONS:
co2 sometimes leaks
hard to take apart
requires a lot of cleaning (all gbb pistols do)
I don't have two so I cant have akimbo pistols
by Colin L. on 2013-05-22 21:14:18
"This is an impressive gun. It's loud and it's powerful. I got a sniper rifle that I'm not too worried about safety with. This pistol is heavy weight, and I always am aware of how I handle the thing, because I'm afraid of shooting my nuts point black or something. This thing feels like it could really do some damage. Great gun.
by Sandra B. on 2013-05-05 12:13:00
"This is a great gun! I purchased a CO2 upgrade and I believe the gun can handle it. I have had it for about a year and no problems. I have opened up my pistol and there is no major wear and it still runs beautifully! I also bought extra mags and one of them was leaking but no major problems with KJW. BUY this gun!
by Jacob P. on 2013-04-29 18:37:01
"This is my first gas blowback pistol I have owned (I have shot a few others before) and I love it. Out of the box it has great range, more than enough as a sidearm, and it shoots hard (helps people avoid not calling hits). I was able to hit a torso at 80 feet with it stock and a piece of paper from same distance with a Nine Ball 6.00 barrel. I use only .23 at the moment, but will move onto .28 later due to physics making them better in all ways basically (except physics can't lower the price of heavier bbs). With .23 it shoots ~340 fps and ~370 with CO2 mag.

If you plan to upgrade the gun, I can tell you a 240mm angel custom 6.01 240mm barrel will increase fps by about 50-60, but to cover it up you need a silencer and the weight of the two upgrades combined puts weight on the front which seemed to mess the gun up after a while. The matrix threaded outer barrel you can get here caused problems to and I don't suggest it unless you do have a slightly longer inner barrel than 112.5mm (maybe like 120mm at least) as it gets caught up in a part of the outer barrel.

Pros:
High fps (for a pistol)
Accurate
Good range
All metal (does hurt gas efficiency by some amount)
Gas lasts for over 1 mag at least (haven't actually tested the maximum)
Lots of upgrades
Grip is nice

Cons:
Paint wears off on moving parts (metal on metal)
Thumb safety messed up; it works once you know how to move it. The right thumb safety is loose and basically worthless, but you need it to hold the other side in.
Can't find anything free for it :)

Eitherways:
No thread on stock outer barrel

Well that's about all to say about it. I highly recommend this airsoft gun to anyone. I use it as my primary on the field. Who needs M4s anyways? :)



. . . Yes, I have an M4.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 104 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...