Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
New Phone Support Hours M-F 8am-5pm PST
Browse by Type or Category
Summer Sale! 20% OFF (Exclusions apply, see details)   Use Code: SUMMER2017

KJW Full Metal Custom 1911 Tactical HI-CAPA Gas / CO2 Blowback (Package: Black / Pistol)

144 Customer Reviews

by Joseph R. on 05/17/2015
"My first GBB pistol, I picked this because I could use the co2 magazines in winter and propane for warmer temps. I do not recommend using co2 that much because I heard its bad on the internals.

Pros
I was shooting 100+ feet with this testing, on par with my AEP jg vz-61 ( I recommend both for CQB!!!!!)
insane FPS for a GBB, out of the box I was 345-355 constant.
can be used in both winter with co2 and summer with propane!
use propane it is much cheaper than green gas
magazine last about a mag and half.
upgrade parts easy to find! unlike EF 1911




Cons,
evike forgot to send my upgraded co2 magazine
bb's dont always line up loading and you dont get a full load. I get between 23-27 bb's per-magazine
it jams on bad quality bb's (typical of guns)
you don't have this yet :)
doesnt have lanyard :(
its a hi-capa you can't put custom 1911 grips on :(

I now have 5 magazine (3 factory KJW recommend these) and two silver WE hi-capa magazines they are nice but OEM is best. Both these magazines last a magazine and a half. I kept them loaded all day and they worked. Use speed loader to reload quickly another 10-15 bb's until gas runs out


Lube the gun when you get it, I am using 30wt silicone oil on the outter barrel and on the slide rails. I use 10wt oil for the o-ring seals. It's important to keep it lubed.

If it wasn't for the co2 option I would not have bought the gun, I wanted the 93r but realized I couldn't use it in the winter..
Almost bought the green OD grips but just wanted a all black 1911.
Didn't buy the TM hi-capa either because it wasn't co2.
Didn't buy the EF 1911 like everyone else I know because no upgrade parts!!!
by Reid W. on 01/07/2014
"Love this gun! Works and fires like a dream. Only problem mag release is a little sensitive :(
by An T. on 09/16/2013
"After using this pistol for a while ....
Here are some pros and cons that I have

Pros:
1/ shoots hard
2/ Nice feeling
3/ Accurate
4/ Makes loud noise to scare other people

Cons:
1/ Mags fall out if you don't run it with the right holsters

Yeh, that's all about 1911 HI-CAP pistol ....
I will give it 5/5
by Kirby P. on 09/16/2013
"This is a solid sidearm. I have been using it for about 10 months now with no broken parts. Since most of you just like pros and cons I will go into that straight away.

Pros:
heavyweight
relatively accurate
hi cap magazines are very skirmishable
nice texture on the grip
low maintenance on the gun*

Cons
loud. I am a sniper so having a loud sidearm has given me away sometimes
no threaded barrel
magazines fall out with every holster I have tried. The only remedy to this is to buy a SERPA holster or a serpa clone
high maintenance magazines*

*this gun is amazingly easy to clean up... But I have spent hours on end trying to keep the magazines from leaking on me (and they still are leaking right as I post this review)

5 stars for solid 1911. -1 star for awful magazines
by JOSEPH B. on 09/09/2013
"An amazing airsoft gas blowback gun and definitely one of the smoothest shooting I've ever tried and now own. I am a 1911 fan and airsoft replicas of the gun are no exception for me. I've tried variants from WE, KWC, and then this. I also love the excellent trigger which is also the most responsive from all those I tried. Claims from veteran gamers about this gun, particularly the tank-tough internals are true. This further cements KJW's claim that you can use CO2 as an alternative for this pistol. (i.e. CO2 magazines are sold separately unless offered together for free with your gun by Evike).

PROS:

- Amazing range made my stock M4 AEG eat the dust. KJWs Hop-Up takes big credibility for this too.
- Satisfactory accuracy, at 60 to 80 feet I love the instant point-and-shoot capability. Some wind and BB drop determines accuracy further down range.
- I get about 3 magazines full with one fill of green gas.
- I highly recommend using green gas than propane for more consistent silicone oil lubrication. It is my honest assumption this contributed to the superbly smooth operation; the slide feel of which I can compare to "as if gliding over a panel of glass".
- Crisp, responsive trigger. No stacking with each pull.
- If you are inclined to gun safety features, the beaver tail grip safety and ambidextrous safety levers do their jobs.

CONS:

- Unfortunately, like most mass produced items, it is imperfect. The right side safety lever has become wobbly and does not engage as immediately as the way the left side lever does. This is comparable to my other 1911 Hi-Capa gas blowback with the same problem. However, my other pistol has been shot for a mere 2500 rounds before the issue appeared. My KJW suffered while it is still considerably new. Well, as long as the safety levers do not pop out of their current location, this should be fine. Otherwise, it would have been a missing piece in the field.
- Some paint has begun to chip at the rear end of the slide.
- While orange tips are a requirement in the USA, end-users who choose to remove the tip will have to deal with a painted orange tip. It is not removable-with-a-pair-of-pliers, simply because it is not an attachment. Removal of this tip can be a risk with lawful violations and for the end-user. FYI only.
by samer s. on 08/29/2013
"WOW
This pistol is amazing When i picked up this gun i was surprised by the weight. Its full metal except for the plastic grip. I disassembled it and found that its lubed up very good, it the internals and mag are greasy from the lube. The mag was leaking slightly, but i disassembled it and put it together which fixed it. It kicks like crazy, even with propane! I shot it alot then realized the front sight was missing:( the recoil must of took it. the C02 mag is good and even kicks crazier. Overall, its a great pistol and with the $10 co2 mag and the $3 holy cow mag, its an unbeatable price.

PROS:
Price
look
Construction (full metal)
performance
range and accuracy(shoots amazingly straight with hopup off)
many upgraded parts
lubed up well
c02 ready

CONS:
grip is plastic and not rubberized
grip is big
loud
mag slightly leaks (very eazy to fix)
by John H. on 05/22/2013
"This is a great gun! It is full metal about 300 340 fps it is an amazing side arm for a sniper or just an assault player. I personally have got on out 25 kills with this gun and probably 75 kill with my sniper in just 8 mil sims..... I strongly recommend not to use the co2 mag I leaks like CRAZY use the gas. I use propane because it is sooooo cheap thanks for reading please don't use the co2 mag it stinks and I can not stress that enough
by Andrew B. on 05/21/2013
"I've had this amazing gun for about two months now and the only problem was that the firing pin was broke but I sent back and had another one in about a week which is pretty fast considering I live in Tennessee so I am really amazed by the helpfulness of the evike staff

Pros:
Shoots hard
Recoil
Slick look
Weight (can be a con)
The durability
The slide lock
Magazine capacity
Rail space

Cons:
Weight (can be a pro)
Co2 mag sucks
Gas usage (it gets about two mags)
Constant lubing
Safety is a little weird
by Jacob L. on 03/25/2011
"Good little 1911. It's almost a dead match for my real one.
Pros:
Shoots hard
Loud
Dead on accurate (1" grouping) at 10 and 15 yards
Not a gas hog (Can easily get off a full clip with two shots to spare)
Stock mag has no problems

Cons:
Shaky slide, but it works good so w/e
Light
Grip and trigger guard is ABS
The holy cow sale gives you a WE mag, and I always have to replace the O rings on WE mags

The main complaint I have with this gun is that I ordered the OD green one, but got this one instead. Not a huge complaint as the black looks pretty good, but still a wrong order is a wrong order and worth the drop of a star.
by Jason R. on 03/21/2010
"OK, first off I am basing this review on using the KJW 1911 Tactical for training compared to a real 1911.


The gun is heavy, same weight and dimensions as a real 1911, except most of the weight is in the magazine on the KJW. The main thing I don't like is that the safety levers are extra large at the base. I have large hands and ride the 1911 in a high grip. The safety rubs into my hand on both sides and I need to grind or file it down. The beavertail seems excessively long. The grip is also a little too wide. The airsoft gun doesn't rechamber a new mag with a slide pull, you have to use the magazine stop/release. Sometimes if you slam it hard it chambers.

It shoots around 100' feet I guess. The BBs seem to sway in the wind really easy...can't rapid fire too fast or you lose quite a bit of power. Up close the BBs seem to do good damage. The gun is very loud and has a little kickback.

Overall a good training tool, but I wish it was more powerful and shot straighter. Hard to make the long distance shots.
by ronald t. on 03/03/2010
"This is a very nice pistol it's got a great feel 2 it but the only prob as soon as I pulled it out of the box the co2 clip that I bought for 10 bucks extra stop punturing the co2 I only got 60 rounds and then I went 2 refill it with another co2 and it keep like not working so I kept tighting it and the co2 like exploded in the mag and this happened about three times and I called evike up and talked 2 them and they said that I must have frozen or cracked the o rings in the mag but i still have warranty so I requested for a new mag but for the short time I shot it, it was very very powerful and good but I yet 2 try it with gas or propane.
Very nice gun evike
by Alexander a. on 01/07/2010
"I've used this gun for a few weeks now, and its great. It shoots pretty accurately, has great kick with propane, and seems like its made of very high quality materials. Its accurate up to 80-100 feet depending on the bbs. (I use .23s but its more accurate with .25s.) Its very realistic in the fact that the slide locks back when its out of ammo, and then flies back forward when you put another magazine in. It seems reliable, and feels very solid, but it certainly has its cons.

Oh, and kudos to evike's customer service team. My gun's mag broke 2 days after I got it (but I got it for Christmas, and so the warrenty expired the day that I emailed evike), but none the less, that same day, I got an email back saying that they had shipped a new mag to my house, no charge. You may have heard bad things about them not responding to emails and such, but just send the emails through the warrenty section, and it will all work out great.

Pros:

Pretty accurate

Heavy for a pistol, very solid.

full metal, except the grip, which is a super duty plastic.

shiny barrel =)

Loud and intimidating (could be a con, but I love it.)

Looks sexy.

Cons:

lots of barrel wobble, and no way that I could figure out to fix it. I've read that lots of people have this problem, and there really isnt a solution to it. It throws off the bullets a little.

The orange tip is painted on to the outer barrel, so you could get the paint off with some paint thinner and sand paper, but then you have 6mm of barrel sticking out.

The mags suck. The first mag mine came with, the seals broke in like 2 days of use, so it wouldnt hold any gas, but the second mag (that evike sent me for free) Still works, but has a slow leak, so after an hour or 2 after you fill it up, pretty much all the gas will leak out and you'll get like 2 shots before it runs out.

The slide gets caught on the hammer when you run out of gas and the slide only goes part way back, and so that gets annoying, but if you just pull the slide all the way back and let it fly foreward, it uncatches it.



Ok, well I havent used it with CO2, but from all the reviews and forums I've read (which is most of them, on tons of websites) Everyone says that CO2 will break your gun, and that the mags suck even more than the green gas ones. So I highly reccomend not using co2.

This gun is definately worth buying, but there are probably better guns out there if you are willing to spend a few more dollars.
by Peter G. on 10/30/2009
"Very nice gun, metal every where thats needed. Very realistic. It has a good recoil system. I got this in August and it has seen many battles. It hasnt broken yet but there is definetly wear on the gun. It is still shooting at about 315 FPS with green gas and .2's. One of my complaints is the mag release. It works fine, but the button sticks out so far that no matter what holster you put it in, the mag will fall out. Mag capacity is great with 30 rounds, but i am not as fond of this because im all for milsim so a 30 round mag is a little much for me. I havent tried CO2 yet but its a great deal at only $10. Overall i would recommend this for all players because you dont really need any more than what this gun presents.
by Blake G. on 04/10/2009
"All I can say is that this gun absolutely the best. The only problems I have had with it are some leakage with the CO2 magazine and the slide catching at first use. However, the slide gets better with a few shots.
by Gabriel V. on 03/12/2009
"This is my 3rd GBB and i'm impressed by performance. It has almost as much range as my friends TM MP5, and is pretty heavy for a pistol. Kick is what you expect from a GBB not very impressive.

There were a few bad things about this, some major some not. The first is that it has less than average gas efficiency. I can barely get a full mag out of a complete fill. The other con is pretty major in my opinion but doesn't affect the performance. The little plastic piece on the top of the mag broke off at the second game i used it at. Now i need a new mag which will cost me $35+

Overall 3.5 or a 4. I would get a TM if you have the money but if your budgeted (like me) get this.