Reviews: Full Metal AKS-74U / AK-74 Airsoft AEG Rifle with Imitation Wood Furniture by CYMA

$135.00 $116.10

37 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-CM035-RK01-STD

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 37 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4   
by Matthew T. on 2016-05-09 20:58:19
"I received this CM035 from Evike a week ago. i called to inform them of the front sight wobbling. I tightened the screw as I was advised to do. Took it out, shot it, problem repeated itself. Apparently the TINY screw and the place where it threads into is all stripped out. The front sight wobbles and not the inner barrel assembly does as well. Sending back to Evike. Such garbage.
by Andrew A. on 2016-03-30 13:01:43
"I will try to give a fair review of the product from the perspective I only paid 116 for it.

The stock, receiver, dust cover and front assembly are all metal. It is composite metal but it is sturdy and will hold up to a pounding. The front handguards are plastic "imitation wood". They look OK but nothing special. There was some wobble in the upper handguard which I easily fixed with a small bit of tape on inside of the handguard. The flash hider is all plastic with the entire flash hider being bright orange.

Takedown of the gun is easier than the old Marui AK47. The receiver is taken down just like a Marui with the 4 screws. The front handguards are taken down by opening the dust cover and sliding the handguards off. This is the improvement over the old Marui AK47 design. Also, the dust cover is attached to the receiver via a hinge. This makes it so the dust cover can be opened without it falling out.

The gun takes stick type batteries but they can be pushed all of the way down into the handguards, which is a great feature. Almost all standard round stick type batteries will fit. Regardless of how long it is. LiPos are trickier to find because they are not always round in dimension. The metal stock is excellent. It snaps into place with no wobble. Cant ask for a better stock.

The hi-cap it comes with is junk. Its thin plastic and feels like it will break if it took a hard knock. The hi-cap will probably find its way to your spare parts bin. It also comes with a garbage wall charger and BBs. Both should go in your trash can. No need to jam your gun or burn your house down by using them.

The gun does not come with battery.

Pro's:
-Excellent value
-Mostly metal
-Stick Batteries extend into handguard for extra battery space
-Zero wobble in the stock
-Solid FPS and ROF out of the box

Cons:
-Upper handguard wobble was present
-Handuards are just OK looking
-The charger, BBs and Hi-cap that come with the gun should be sent straight to your trash can
by AUSTIN D. on 2015-09-14 18:38:45
"this gun is a lemon as soon as i brought it out to the field it broke every other shot would go like 15 feet at most. and it was only shooting at 320 fps after i fixed those problems i took off the flash hider on the gun and the threads on the gun stripped also the metal on the stock is crappy it bent after i put a one point sling on it. but i have to say the battery included is actually pretty good and the rof is not bad i actually really like that feature on it but that doesn't help when its in accurate.
Pros:
good rof
nice weight
comfortable

Cons:
bad hop up
cheap metal
not accurate
unreliable

i would suggest spending the extra money for a kwa, e&l, g&g, or an evike custom made gun
by Richard S. on 2015-05-26 13:53:39
"This gun was good for about only a few months. Only after 3 months this gun started to misfire and make a clicking noise every time I would pull the trigger and nothing would come out. I tried getting new batteries, cleaning the inner barrel, and opened up the gearbox to diagnose and then fix the problem. Nothing worked. I highly recommend a different gun made by a different company, like Echo1, KWA, King Arms, and some of the other well known Airsoft companies. You don't even need to spend over $150 to get a good AEG. Some good, "budget friendly" guns (meaning well-built guns made by other companies excluding CYMA and DBOYS, which most of their products suck) are G&G CM16, A&K M4, Echo1 Genesis, and even a few Lancer Tactical AEG's, and all of these guns are under $150. There are not even words to describe how mad I was that this gun broke and how POOPY it is. DO NOT BUY THIS GUN. I REPEAT DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF POOP GUN. IF I WERE YOU I WOULD SAVE UP AN EXTRA $20-$40 AND BUY A GOOD AEG. I EVEN RECOMMEND A FREAKIN' MATRIX OR G&P !SHOTGUN! OVER THIS GUN.
by Mac O. on 2015-03-29 15:09:26
"I've got to say this gun is an excellent bang for the buck. The gun is full metal aside from the pistol grip and the handguards. The handguards feel a little flimsy, but I changed them out anyway so it doesn't matter. The gun shoots fine and it will serve me well.

Pros:
-Mostly metal
-Quality built
-Great for those on a budget.

Cons:
-Flimsy handguards (I would recommend the real wood version unless you're just going to change them out.)
by Riley D. on 2015-01-28 17:19:21
"This gun out of the box is simply amazing. The riveting is really nice, the rate of fire even with an 8.4v battery is pretty high, the stock is very sturdy for being a folding stock. One thing I don't like is the loose sling point on the stock and the magazine is not super high quality, other than that for the price you get an amazing deal and, you probably will not find another like this.


Cons:
1. Loose sling point on the stock.
2. Low quality Magazine.

Pros:
1. Just about everything else.
by Leanne T. on 2014-09-27 17:46:40
"Does it come with a battery? or should I but one?
by Zachary S. on 2014-05-12 07:46:49
"I got this AKS-74u last summer and before I shot even one clip the gear box broke. I returned it and Evike sent me a new gun. This AK has full metal construction, except for the handle which is a very hard plastic and the fore grip which is imitation wood, again very hard plastic. The butt is full metal and is very sturdy both extended and collapsed. This gun is very rugged. I've dropped on tree roots laying across the ground and I've fallen on it while running. It comes with a CYMA v.3 gear box. The fps is pretty impressive, around 450. The Russians made this gun due to the fact that the fight was transitioning from open fields to urban warfare so it is great for CQB though some may argue that the fps is to high I would say that the fps is great for CQB and open skirt sites. The only reservations I have about this gun is that the muzzle brake is attached by a screw that is about half a centimeter long and will get loose sometimes. Also the fire selector gets loose after turning repeatedly. Lastly the aft sling ring jingles a lot unless there is a sling attached and the noise is loud when your walking and gets annoying (but you could tape it down.) So here is my take:

Pros:
Full metal construction
Very rugged
Impressive fps
Great internals
Nice weight
Maneuverable
Takes almost all AK clips
Adjustable sights


Cons:
Muzzle gets loose sometimes
Fire selector gets loose after repeated turning
Aft sling ring makes can be loud

This gun is a must for all air soft arsenals whether your a beginner or a expert at air soft this gun is so good that I personaly think that the price is too low and should be raised to at least its original price. I encourage anybody and everybody to get this gun.
by Danny M. on 2014-03-05 23:07:33
"I used this in a winter game and it worked great. After a day of 12 degrees and a foot of snow, most of the weapons we were using were starting to fail, but this gun was working just as well as it was out of the box. Only problem I've had is that I couldn't put my scope mount on it right away. I had to take a metal saw to the back sight in order for any mounts to fit.

Overall, it's one of the best low price guns I've seen. I recommend it
by Jeannette D. on 2013-05-13 22:34:04
"Great gun, full metal so it's very sturdy. the handgrip is a very hard plastic, but it took me a while to notice.

Pros:
Full metal
heavy
great FPS and ROF
9.6v battery

cons:
the mag it comes with is not good

This is an excellent gun, Buy it!
by Scott P. on 2013-03-01 22:06:28
"CYMA really makes great AEG's whether you're new to airsoft or not. The internals are great. Needs re-shimming if you're increasing the ROF (like I did). Perfect for CQB . The external body is full metal and a very sturdy build. The foldable stock is great for mid to close transitions. Battery compartment is a good size. Stock battery is not bad at all would definitely recommend a 9.6V though. Lube up the hop up and the bb's fly smooth (after a few hundred rounds). Tight bore needed for better grouping. Other than that its dead on. I'm very satisfied for the 74u's stock setup. Great buy. Worth every penny.
by Jerold P. on 2012-03-21 10:26:14
"For it's price it's very good. I just played with it outside and the distance is impressive and it hit's quite hard and good ROF with 9.6v. My friend shot my other friend up close and it made him bleed...

Pro's
Extremely Sturdy
Shoot's Hard
Work's well Outside
All around good Gun for $130

Con's
The button to release the chamber that encases the battery will shoot out sometimes (easy to put back in)

Mag isn't very good... Not horrible but I would get Mid Caps or a different High Cap (I like Mid Caps way more personally)

For $130 definitely worth buying very good gun but i do suggest getting spare mags and a new battery.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 37 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4