Contact Us (626) 286-0360 Walk-In Superstore Daily Deal
Extended Holiday Phone Support M-F 7am-6pm PST | Superstore will be closed early at 4pm Sat. 12/3
Browse by Type or Category
CYBERWEEK SALE - 25% OFF   Use code: NEWLOOK

Full Metal AKS-74U / AK-74 Airsoft AEG Rifle with Imitation Wood Furniture by CYMA - (Package: Gun Only)

37 Customer Reviews

by Ethan E. on 05/30/2016
"I have had this gun for 8 months now, and I am going to be completely honest here and say I did not buy this gun with very high expectations. In addition to playing airsoft at fields, I also occasionally have a large group friends over to my large property to play some casual airsoft, and most but not all of them have guns, so i bought this as sort of an extra weapon I can loan out to people should one of their guns be temporarily broken or they are in need of something to use at some point, mainly because it was inexpensive, looked pretty cool, and I wanted an AKS74U anyways. I already knew that CYMA AKs were really good for the price, so I went ahead and bought this with a few extra mags. But I have to say, upon receiving it I was pleasantly surprised at what just over 100$ can get you.

The whole thing is a block of metal, with the exclusion of the handguard and imitation wood grip of course, which although plastic, it is very hard, durable, and does a good job of replicating wood. The sights are mediocre, but close to true to the real AKS74U. It feels overall very sturdy, and comfortable to hold. The folding stock also closes very solid on the side of the gun with a a very satisfying clang both when being folded and unfolded. So I decided to rig up a sling and when you keep it on your back with the stock folded, it is almost like it is not even there. It is very compact and comfortable to carry.

The gun also comes with pretty astounding accuracy and velocity out of the box. Mine shot between 410-415 fps on my chrono with .2s, which is very respectable. WIth .25g bbs from a range finder measured distance of 150 feet on my range, I could hit 12x12 inch paper target on semi-auto a pretty decent amount of times, about 7 out of 10 shots always hit this target. This is definitely a gun that can be used in woodland, but CQB might give you a heartache with the FPS limits at some courses. I've heard of these things chronoing much higher than the one I recieved, so it seems to vary.

The only cons I could find with this gun were pretty minor. Like mentioned in the last review, the front sight does wobble, but on mine it only wobbles a slight amount when it is touched. It is almost not notable in my case. I don't really see it as anything to be worried about, and I see many ways to fix it if I really cared about this minor issue. The only one that really bothers me is in the disassembly process. The gun is very upgrade-able obviously, but when removing the hop up and barrel assembly from the front part of the gun, one of the two screws holding it in place is very hard to remove efficiently, because of the fold up receiver on the gun being in the way, meaning you need a very small, short screwdriver to remove it, and even then, getting enough torque to get it out from that angle is a pain, and I can see desperate attempts at pulling this screw out leading to stripping of this screw. It is fine on the right side as the cutout for the charging handle allows a path to fit a full size screwdriver in. This does not affect getting to the gear box, but I prefer being able to maintain my hop up easily. Obviously the top cover not coming off is true to the real AKS-74U, and makes handling the gun easier during battery changes, but as far as I can tell, there is no easy way to remove it from the front of the gun to get it out of the way for maintenance.

So what does this add up to? Well for the price, it is simply amazing. For just over 100$ you get a very durable, compact aeg that has a very effective hop-up and a good velocity, and in turn an accurate gun with decent range suitable for woodland. This gun makes a great primary, and it is what I see as a good choice as a starting gun. It also a makes a great secondary, and I can speak for this, as I have personally have run it as a secondary before on a 2 point sling alongside my PKM, which I know sounds pretty ridiculous and too hardcore, but it is very manageable and effective to use in that manner in my case. But if your not willing to carry a heavy kit this weapon alone still makes a great all around primary for outdoor gaming. In more advanced games. I see it being very useful where vehicles are in play. I have had this weapon slung on my back while driving a vehicle around a map once, and it really works and feels like one of the best weapons for such a role.

Although I do understand that the quality control of guns in this price range does vary, and I might have gotten a better one out of the batch, I was very happy with what I received thus far, it has exceeded my expectations, and I have already used it quite a bit. I highly recommend this gun to anyone, whether a beginner or seasoned airsofter, looking for a really good, accurate AEG that wont break your bank. I look forward to going ham on this thing with the upgrades soon.
by Andrew A. on 03/30/2016
"I will try to give a fair review of the product from the perspective I only paid 116 for it.

The stock, receiver, dust cover and front assembly are all metal. It is composite metal but it is sturdy and will hold up to a pounding. The front handguards are plastic "imitation wood". They look OK but nothing special. There was some wobble in the upper handguard which I easily fixed with a small bit of tape on inside of the handguard. The flash hider is all plastic with the entire flash hider being bright orange.

Takedown of the gun is easier than the old Marui AK47. The receiver is taken down just like a Marui with the 4 screws. The front handguards are taken down by opening the dust cover and sliding the handguards off. This is the improvement over the old Marui AK47 design. Also, the dust cover is attached to the receiver via a hinge. This makes it so the dust cover can be opened without it falling out.

The gun takes stick type batteries but they can be pushed all of the way down into the handguards, which is a great feature. Almost all standard round stick type batteries will fit. Regardless of how long it is. LiPos are trickier to find because they are not always round in dimension. The metal stock is excellent. It snaps into place with no wobble. Cant ask for a better stock.

The hi-cap it comes with is junk. Its thin plastic and feels like it will break if it took a hard knock. The hi-cap will probably find its way to your spare parts bin. It also comes with a garbage wall charger and BBs. Both should go in your trash can. No need to jam your gun or burn your house down by using them.

The gun does not come with battery.

Pro's:
-Excellent value
-Mostly metal
-Stick Batteries extend into handguard for extra battery space
-Zero wobble in the stock
-Solid FPS and ROF out of the box

Cons:
-Upper handguard wobble was present
-Handuards are just OK looking
-The charger, BBs and Hi-cap that come with the gun should be sent straight to your trash can
by Riley D. on 01/28/2015
"This gun out of the box is simply amazing. The riveting is really nice, the rate of fire even with an 8.4v battery is pretty high, the stock is very sturdy for being a folding stock. One thing I don't like is the loose sling point on the stock and the magazine is not super high quality, other than that for the price you get an amazing deal and, you probably will not find another like this.


Cons:
1. Loose sling point on the stock.
2. Low quality Magazine.

Pros:
1. Just about everything else.
by Leanne T. on 09/27/2014
"Does it come with a battery? or should I but one?
by Zachary S. on 05/12/2014
"I got this AKS-74u last summer and before I shot even one clip the gear box broke. I returned it and Evike sent me a new gun. This AK has full metal construction, except for the handle which is a very hard plastic and the fore grip which is imitation wood, again very hard plastic. The butt is full metal and is very sturdy both extended and collapsed. This gun is very rugged. I've dropped on tree roots laying across the ground and I've fallen on it while running. It comes with a CYMA v.3 gear box. The fps is pretty impressive, around 450. The Russians made this gun due to the fact that the fight was transitioning from open fields to urban warfare so it is great for CQB though some may argue that the fps is to high I would say that the fps is great for CQB and open skirt sites. The only reservations I have about this gun is that the muzzle brake is attached by a screw that is about half a centimeter long and will get loose sometimes. Also the fire selector gets loose after turning repeatedly. Lastly the aft sling ring jingles a lot unless there is a sling attached and the noise is loud when your walking and gets annoying (but you could tape it down.) So here is my take:

Pros:
Full metal construction
Very rugged
Impressive fps
Great internals
Nice weight
Maneuverable
Takes almost all AK clips
Adjustable sights


Cons:
Muzzle gets loose sometimes
Fire selector gets loose after repeated turning
Aft sling ring makes can be loud

This gun is a must for all air soft arsenals whether your a beginner or a expert at air soft this gun is so good that I personaly think that the price is too low and should be raised to at least its original price. I encourage anybody and everybody to get this gun.
by Danny M. on 03/05/2014
"I used this in a winter game and it worked great. After a day of 12 degrees and a foot of snow, most of the weapons we were using were starting to fail, but this gun was working just as well as it was out of the box. Only problem I've had is that I couldn't put my scope mount on it right away. I had to take a metal saw to the back sight in order for any mounts to fit.

Overall, it's one of the best low price guns I've seen. I recommend it
by Jeannette D. on 05/13/2013
"Great gun, full metal so it's very sturdy. the handgrip is a very hard plastic, but it took me a while to notice.

Pros:
Full metal
heavy
great FPS and ROF
9.6v battery

cons:
the mag it comes with is not good

This is an excellent gun, Buy it!
by Scott P. on 03/01/2013
"CYMA really makes great AEG's whether you're new to airsoft or not. The internals are great. Needs re-shimming if you're increasing the ROF (like I did). Perfect for CQB . The external body is full metal and a very sturdy build. The foldable stock is great for mid to close transitions. Battery compartment is a good size. Stock battery is not bad at all would definitely recommend a 9.6V though. Lube up the hop up and the bb's fly smooth (after a few hundred rounds). Tight bore needed for better grouping. Other than that its dead on. I'm very satisfied for the 74u's stock setup. Great buy. Worth every penny.
by Jerold P. on 03/21/2012
"For it's price it's very good. I just played with it outside and the distance is impressive and it hit's quite hard and good ROF with 9.6v. My friend shot my other friend up close and it made him bleed...

Pro's
Extremely Sturdy
Shoot's Hard
Work's well Outside
All around good Gun for $130

Con's
The button to release the chamber that encases the battery will shoot out sometimes (easy to put back in)

Mag isn't very good... Not horrible but I would get Mid Caps or a different High Cap (I like Mid Caps way more personally)

For $130 definitely worth buying very good gun but i do suggest getting spare mags and a new battery.
by Daniel P. on 03/05/2012
"I recently installed a Matrix Turbo 3000 Motor (you can purchase it from Evike's website) and it is able to withstand that with the STOCK INTERNALS. So if you are interested in increasing your rate of fire, than you can get that motor without any problems (but it is still good to eventually do some changes.)
by Senad H. on 12/16/2011
"I bought this gun a week ago and it came in yesterday, and i gotta say, I'm very impressed. It's made very well, the FPS is outstanding, and the range is excellent. though if you are looking to buy this gun and you live in america THE WALL CHARGER IS EUROPEAN. IT DOES NOT PLUG INTO AMERICAN POWER OUTLETS. i have an Rc car smart charger that i use for charging, and it charges in about 30 min. here are the pros/cons

pros
o Very good FPS
o The ROF is amazing
o Well built and mostly metal
o The IM wood looks realistic, all my friends thought it was real wood.

cons
o Metal scratches easily, but for me thats a pro becuase to me it looks cooler all scratched up...
o As I said, the wall charger is European, and does not plug in American wall outlets.
o It said it would come with a sling, but i didn't get one. Also the manual is in horrible English, like most of these chinese guns.

Overall, out of 10, i would give it a 9. It is probably the best gun you can get in this price range... and amazing FPS and range...
by Daniel P. on 09/24/2011
"I received this gun during Spring Break of 2011. The gun came in a plain ol' long cardboard box with no Matrix design on it. I opened it up to see the stock side folded to fit the Styrofoam cutout. All of the included items were nice and snug in their own little Styrofoam cutout as well as the AK74u. When I took the gun out of its place, pieces of the foam was coated on the barrel (inside and out), the checkered type cuts on the back of the stock, and the checkered design pistol grip. This wasn't a biggy but I would've liked to have to not take the time to sit there just to fish them out. After cleaning the foam out of the gun, I took out the other items. The sling was crap, the wall charger was like any other charger, and the battery was..... a 9.6v?!! Yes, to my amazement the battery was not a 8.4v like most companies included. Talk about a lucky package. From what I read it didn't say a 9.6v but maybe I just got lucky. Due to the high FPS, it is meant for field unless you want to get hit up to about 460 fps indoors. The ROF is unbelievable. I was even told by most of the people I have hit complaining they got sprayed on full auto. Overall, this gun is GREAT for beginners or to people that are on a budget due to the price $130.

Pros:
Full Metal
9.6v Battery
Rate of Fire
FPS
Side Folding Stock
Adjustable Sights
Lightweight (if you can hold 7lbs)
Very High Capacity Magazine (600 rounds)

Cons:
Crappy Included Sling
Side Rail (So You Have To Buy A Mounting Set)
^All of these are not so much of a problem but overall there are no seriously bad cons!
by Kathy H. on 03/10/2011
"This gun is outstanding i have had it for about 4 months now and it is very nice. I penatrated through some stuff for an airsoft gun. I still have the 8.4 volt batery that came with it, but it really needs a 9.4 volt to stop the performance from lugging. Other than this i really love this gun because when i shop for airsoft guns i look for a price that will get me a full metal gun and that is made of good quality and will not break with ease. Very nice Dboys!
by Ben J. on 10/18/2010
"this is probably the best gun you can get for the price, worth about 30 bucks more.

pros
-solid
-intimidating
-folding stock
-sling mount
-very strong
-awesome fire rate

cons
-cant really install anything easily on it unless its internal
-shoots a little to the right, but is consistent, even on full auto
-mag is a little loose, i would recommend getting a full metal 1, hi-cap if u can
by michael m. on 04/02/2010
"this is a response for reiley b. you can get a scope for it but thats pretty much it unless you want the tactical ak74 look in situation you can get an ris hanguard or the ris system that has a rail that goes all the way down the top of the . then you can get a red dot or whatever scope but for the original ak74 look i suggest getting psop scope aka svd scope. it'll make it look better but it all really dependson your budget.