Reviews: JG VSR-10 BAR-10 Marui Clone Airsoft Bolt Action Sniper Rifle (Metal Trigger Box)

$120.00 $102.00

23 Customer Reviews
Model: SR-JG-366
Location: L6-010 WN8-T1

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Houston W T. on 2012-07-25 13:00:57
"I just got this a few days ago and I can say it is perfect. I'm really new to the whole airsoft thing so it took me some time to actually get used to it. I'd say this would go perfect for beginners and most likely pros. Any one who want to fulfill the dream of sniping.

Pros:
Good Fps
Nice stock (rubber feel)
Nice weight
Accurate (if you adjust the hopup and scope correctly)
Fair price

Cons:
I shot it about everyday so my trigger box took a heavy toll and now it slam fires, but I'm hopping to get new sears to fix it.

The bolt is a bit hard to pull back, but nothing some good old lubricant can't fix

Careful with the mag release the spring is easy to loose


All together it is really nice my advice is don't over fire it unless you're planning to upgrade it as soon as you buy it.
by skyler g. on 2011-12-28 12:36:12
"This gun is awesome. it is heavy, durable, and very fun to shoot. my only complaint is that it wont shoot my crossman .20 gram bbs but otherwise it rocks.
by Trudi A. on 2011-05-15 12:08:31
"I have had this gun for a total of about one week and have played many battles with it so far. The way the gun come it shoots about 300 fps but once you make the fps modification it shoots farther faster and more accurately. As I mentioned I have used it in many battles and killed both brothers one has an echo 1 mp5 and the other has a king arms m4. Also a friend with a kwa g36. The stock has a really nice rubber fell to it and is very sturdy. One of my favorite design features is that it has an adjustable trigger pull. Nothing rattles when shook.

Pros:
Very accurate
nice feel
shoots hard
very quiet
highly upgradable
360+ fps
cons:
hop up needs constant adjustment

I would recommend this gun to anyone new to airsoft as well as experienced players
by corey h. on 2010-09-29 18:51:43
"I just received this gun today and I couldn't have asked for a better rifle. The rubber coating on the stock has a very nice feel to it and is very comfortable to hold. I ordered mine with the scope and bipod accessories, and I was very pleased and impressed with both. They are both full metal and have a nice weight to them, and the scope has a red illuminated reticule. I did a poor mans chrono with .28 bb's and my own results revealed that my bar 10 has an FPS of 450-480. I know other people get different results, and these are my personal own. Keep in mind that my bar 10 is completely stock with no upgrades or mods whatsoever. I do plan on upgrading the internals sometime down the road however. If you are considering a sniper rifle and are on a tight budget, or are considering this rifle in general, I would highly recommend this to any airsofter. I thought a long time and looked and researched many rifles, and I am very proud that i chose this one and wouldn't change it if i could.
PROS:
- high fps right out of the box without upgrades or mods
- very realistic and intimidating look
- very comfortable and sturdy feel
- highly upgradable
- affordable price

CONS:
- had some trouble connecting the barrel into the stock, but it was just a snug fit
- at first trial shooting, my mag would keep falling out. I believe this is my fault though, as i loosened the screw in front of the mag release button and it seemed to fix this
- this isn't a personal con, but for some users could be: if you get the bipod attachment, it is full metal and adds significant weight to the front end of the gun, so, if you are small or on the weaker side you may have trouble if trying to stand and shoot or not using the bipod

Overall this gun is very pleasing and will not disappoint you, or at least shouldn't. If you're considering this gun, as with any other gun make sure you think about other options and your own personal opinion and what you prefer, don't just take others opinions and think you have the same.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review, and I hope it helped make your decision easier!
Happy airsofting =]
by Adam W. on 2010-03-11 15:42:43
"Ok well I just got this gun in the mail today and unlike most people that have trouble with the magazine catch. I have to say it honestly took about 1 minute to put the mag catch in and about 30 minutes to assemble the whole gun because I bought the scope. Which by the way you NEED to get, its only 30 dollars and unlike stated is illuminated and magnifies fairly well. Unlike in the picture though the scope rings aren't as high which is nice because you could add scope riser if you wanted your scope higher or leave it as is. As for the gun its a pretty good gun and shoots pretty straight with .20 gram with hop up completely off. So I assume if you were to shoot a higher density BB such as .25 and adjusted the hop up you could shoot it quite a bit further. The stock has a rubberized feel but it doesn't feel like it has a thick coating of rubber that would scratch off easily. Probably the worst thing about this gun is that it will sometimes double feed and shoot out two BB's. But its not that big of a problem and is very common with the BAR-10.

Overall it's a very good gun.
by Joshua L. on 2010-03-06 21:40:19
"Great gun although mine double or triple feeds, quality is alright for a Chinese clone.
I might have to get a VSR-10 mag to fix the feeding problem.
by Carter B. on 2010-01-18 08:49:34
"I agree mostly with Alex T. You will have to drop some money into it. But, maybe not quite as much. You need: sears, tightbore barrel, new hopup, new spring, and a damper head. Cylinder and new trigger system are not necessary, but are helpful. You could get a good gun for 300ish. If you are short on money, yet really want this gun, buy the gun, buy a new barrel (6.01) and soft hopup, then buy sears and cylinder head for about 80 bucks total. Then buy a new spring, hard hopup and then you have a decent gun. Once you get the tightbore in it, it will be pretty accurate. It will get even more accurate once you get that spring.

For any new player however, buy a AEG. You have to know how to snipe and how to conceal yourself as well as have a good idea of how the game works, then you could go to a sniper.
by melvin b. on 2009-12-15 23:37:59
"Extremly good weapon after several upgrades on both internal and external of the weapon and your bank account to pay to pay for it. Stock is some what descent but you're going to want to do the upgrades fast as you can afford....Regular AEG shoot at the same 300 to 400 FPS but at higher RPM so it only makes sense to obtain more FPS to gain distance on you target so you can stay at a safe distance yourself...

Dont think about it just buy the weapon with as much upgrades as you can afford or buy an AEG...
by Alex T. on 2009-10-11 12:54:20
"Ok. I have owned this gun for a little over three months now. It's a good quality gun right out of the box. I've played in many battles with it and it's decently accurate. And I generously say decent. But after playing long enough, I've come to the conclusion that unless you have $200 - $500 laying around for upgrades you shouldn't buy this gun. My reasons why:

1. When buying an airsoft gun, the majority of people think sniping is the way to go. I'm, here to tell you it's not like in the movies where you pick off some unsuspecting person from a mile away. This gun won't shoot 200ft stock. So unless you have the $200 - $500 it will take to upgrade and make this gun lethal in wars, don't buy it.

2. Everyone of your friends has an AEG. You say, "Oh, I'll be the sniper for you guys!" WRONG! The other team is going to run up on you and light you up while you're on the ground helplessly trying to pull that bolt back. One shot vs. 600RPM (Rounds Per Minute) - 10RPS (Rounds Per Second).

3. Money, Money, Money! Everybody wants it but very few have it. The JG Bar-10 is a fine gun (stock) for small wars and backyard plunking. But, if you want to hit anybody with this gun in a serious war, you are going to HAVE to put $200 - $500 into it. You'll have to upgrade: Cylinder, Piston, Spring Guide, Spring, Trigger System, Barrel, and Hop Up. To buy all those parts from Laylax or PDI, which are the both the best quality parts, it will cost you $400 - $500 at the least.

Conclusion: It's a fine gun. Nothing bad about it. Shoots ok stock, but again I say you will HAVE to put a ton of money into making this gun a serious war gun. Save your money, buy and AEG.
by Adam R. on 2009-03-02 15:35:56
"got the gun and let me tell u its great!!! shoots hard as hell right out the box. all my friends that use it love it. the only thing that seams to be F ing up with mine is that when its realy cold out the bb's dive but as soon as it warms up in my house and shoot it out the door it shoots fine.

PROS: gun looks real and feels good just like a 30-06 or 270 rifle just a bit lighter, shoots hard right out of the box can hit someone in the head form about a 100 ft easy (when its not windy).

All and all buy it and dont think twice about it....
by Stanya S. on 2009-02-25 19:45:14
"I just got this and 2 other guns off evike and it took a while to put together. i had to struggle to put on the mag realesefor about an hour because the little spring inside shot out an di had to look all over my basement for it. after that i only took a couple of minutes. i only have iron sights on it and at about 15 yards i was putting bbs on the same spot so they were hitting the previous one.great fps goes straight through a soda can an makes a huge rip in the can. definatley a good buy for the money for both begining and expirianced snipers a like
by alan h. on 2008-12-22 19:46:03
"THE JG BAR 10 FULL REVIEW

Ok i would first like to say that the BAR 10 by JG is an amazing sniper rifle not just because of its great price, but also because of its performance. Heres the pros and cons

PROS
1)easy and free upgrades to make fps higher without sacrificing accuracy
2)perfect weighting not to light nor heavy
3)the stock feels rubbery and the barrel is metal (thats good)
4)instructions are pretty clear if you read them carefully
5)accuracy is amazing with a little practice
6)nice distance

CONS
1)bolt is kinda heavy but you get used to it
2)mag capacity is only about 15 for mine
3)fps is on the low side for snipers although it is easily upgradable

TIPS!!!
1)buying this gun is pointless without doing the airbrake mod. this will give you anywheres from 30-100 fps. (gave mine 30) go on youtube and search "jg bar10 airbrake mod" very simple
2)use .28bbs they give you best accuracy combined with distance
3)take time to calibrate scope correctly

NOTES
1)as for bipod wobble (as many reviewers mentioned) IT WONT WOBBLE IF YOU PUT IT IN RIGHT!
2)make sure you practice with it before gaming with it
3)the bb will curve if you tilt it EXAMPLE
DONT HOLD IT LIKE THIS
/ or \
DO THIS
____

you might not get it now but you will once you try it
4)i dont have any problems with mag

FINAL THOUGHTS

all in all, a great sniper rifle. do yourself a favor and choose this over utg l96 or jgl96. you may think they look cooler but in reality, performance isnt as good.

FINAL SPECS

FPS with airbrake mod:430 with .2
MAX EFF RANGE (measured with bushnell laser rangefinder to a tree):~200FT
MAG CAPACITY: 15
RECOMMENDED BB: .28


THANKS FOR READING

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2