Reviews: FN Herstal Full Metal SCAR Light STD Airsoft AEG Rifle by VFC - Dark Earth

$389.99 $331.49

19 Customer Reviews
Location: L3-056

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Lyndon Kevin D. on 2015-07-03 17:05:02
"Just got my scar today and only had brief opportunities to operate it. I'll give a more detailed review when I get more trigger time with it.

One piece of advise, just get a lipo. I tried 8.4 small butterfly and small brick and they won't fit in any intuitive way. Butterfly 7.4's fit perfectly however and out of the box, my gun was chronoing around 380-390 which I'm sure will decrease as I break in the gun.

The build is solid but I only have 1 complaint about the lower receiver. The polymer doesn't feel as robust as I think it should be, especially around the mag well. If the mag well was lined with some kind of metal, I think mag insertion and dropping would be better. Speaking of mags, I tried a lonex flash mag (fell metal, reg m4 style) and it fed through my scar great. Overall, I think this a great field gun platform.

- Tan Version is beautiful
- Upper Receiver is absolutely solid.
- Light weight with nearly 400 FPS out the box with .25's (Elite Force)

- Magwell could feel a bit more sturdy
- Bolt catch is finicky, doesn't catch all the time.
- Will require you to get Lipo if you don't have them already.
- the grey used for the bracket like thing that attaches the barrel to the gas tube is hideous.

Overall 1st Impression: 4.5
by nicholas t. on 2015-05-29 06:55:23
"I've had this gun for about 6 months now. out of the box, the gun is great for the intermediate players. this disappointed me due to the fact that the grand total was ~$400. regardless, out of the box, the gun is well constructed. the external finish is incredible, and some of the internal parts were desirable parts. however, the piston rack was plastic, and stripped after moderate use. that was not a problem as I had a metal rack piston laying around. the wiring used for this build seemed to be 14 awg wiring and not the best quality. it did its job, however wasn't fast enough for my cqb fields. this was replaced by a nuke fet. with a metal rack piston and any mosfet really, this gun will run great. on an average 9.6v 1600mah battery, the gun ran 20rps (this is after the piston and mosfet upgrade). PLEASE PLEASE DON'T GET IT TWISTED. this gun is wonderful. other than the wiring and piston this gun has good internals. the compression was outstanding clocking at 395 fps, and the motor was of decent torque (though also replaced by a G&G high torque). the gears are a good idea with the self shimming concept. the gun has little problems with mags. it will fit G&G, VFC, Elite Force, and any stanag magazines. this is the go to gun for anyone who is tech savvy, and not afraid of upgrading the rifle. if you are afraid, the please save yourself the cost of upgrades. to sum up the gun, I love it. there isn't a better scar out there IMO. the range is above the average airsoft guns range ( im guessing 180. although I installed a tight bore the first day). if you want a killer rifle, then do not be afraid of buying this gun. just be prepared to fix the piston eventually, and buy a 0.9mm hex key for the selector switch.

pro :
ambidextrous and all the parts are sold here on evike incase of a damaged part
right under 400 fps
gorgeous externals
good angle of engagement ( after the new piston )
self shimming gears
decent torque motor
realistic and easy takedown
consistent range and accuracy
trade marks
robustness of the paint on the metal ( very scratch resistant)

cons: this is what makes or breaks a gun
jank piston ( for 389.99 should have installed a metal rack)
high resistance wiring
difficulty in installing aftermarket wiring
lose hop up wheels ( the hop up unit can take G&G aftermarket wheels/dials)
battery space ( you will need a nunchuck!)
the bolt assembly does not like fingerprints (turns a purple tint from finger oils on metal)

im sorry for how picky I am. I just want to cover everything for the next buyer to learn off of
by Dustin D. on 2015-04-20 12:05:23
"I recieved this gun a little over a month ago and Ive been able to actually play with it a couple of times since then. Like most people will and have said, this gun is incredibly light. Of all the AEG's Ive handled, this is by far the lightest. The externals are what anyone expects from VFC which means your going to get the highest quality available. Internally unfortunately this gun is much to be desired though functionally, this gun will likly outperform most stock AEG's. Mine has been pretty accurate and was shooting right at 400 fps with .2s with very little variance. Just like others have said, the biggest drawback externally to this gun is the battery housing for the stock. DO NOT USE A STANDARD MINI TYPE BATTERY! I had to modify my 9.6 T-eng Nimh to fit in the stock whereas the nun-chuck style battery I have fits with little effort. With a big automotive style fuse and fairly fragile wiring, you really have to be careful about collapsing your stock and good luck getting it to collapse the entire way. After my last game, the positive connector to my fuse has aready broken off and Ive always been very careful with it. The wiring snags on the collapsing mechanism all the time. If the mechanism used to collapse the stock was better designed many of these wouldnt be an issue. I wouldnt run a 11.1 on this just because it isnt neccesary. This gun should be used more as a sub-DMR field rifle and not as a CQB weapon despite it having a folding stock.

- Incredibly light, great for all day events
- Externals are what VFC is known for

- Stock and battery housing could have been better designed
- Wiring could be better as well
- Only Nun-chuck style or maybe some lipos will fit
by Racheal L. on 2014-10-23 06:17:26
"I got my scar 3 months ago and I have been impressed by its performance it shoots great and it's accuracy is amazing the only problems I had was the select switch isn't the best you have to make sure it gets in the right spot on both sides but nothing to extreme the other problem was the bolt catch is touchy I was play with my friends and had to adjust my hop up and I hade the handy tool in the hop up unit when my gun was shot witch released the bolt snapping my hop up tool but it's easy to replace and you could go with out it over all it's s amazing gun recommend it to anyone who wants a good AEG
by Scott T. on 2014-10-04 17:27:17
"The gun is amazing. I mean, its made by VFC, all of their guns are good in my opinion. The gun shoots perfect right out of the box. Do Not run anything lower than .20 gram BB's through this. UPS dropped mine in the delivery process, so my front sight and charging handle wobble and make noise, but that's a personal problem. Don't dry-fire this excessively or pull the trigger whilst the gun is on safety, Doing this will break the trigger contacts. I recommend a 9.6 nun-chuck style battery for this gun, as the battery compartment is TINY.

Exactly like a real SCAR series weapon
External and internal build quality is amazing
Range is superior to other AEG's
Will last you forever if you take care of it

Price (even considering this is below 400$)
Battery Compartment is Super Tiny
But-plate pin is very easy to lose.
by stuart b. on 2013-05-30 00:22:01
"I have to say that right out of the box this gun is fantastic. It shoots about 400. After my first game it performed flawlessly. The rate of fire is great with a 9.6. You probably could use a lipo but in the manual it says that lithium batteries are not recommended. The gun has a great feel to it, nice weight, awesome look(awesome trademarks), and great features all around. However when i first got the gun it did not fire. This was caused by the motor not being in tight enough so easy fix. Be aware the battery space is VERY small. You can fit a nunchuck but its going to be very tight. Also the bolt catch is somehow jammed and will not go back all the way. I can access the hopup but it wont lock back. Overall i would give this gun a 9 out of 10. Its a great AEG and its definitely going to last me awhile. Buy it while you can!

-Great ROF
-Really nice weight
-Awesome look. The trades make it that much better.
-Pretty quiet.
-Takes just about all stanag mags.
-Functioning bolt catch.
-Lots of rail space.
-No exposed wires when stock is folded.
More that i cant think of.

-A little hot out of the box. (could be a pro)
-Really small battery space.
-The button for the stock to retract is really stiff.
That's all i got. I would highly recommend this gun to anybody.
by zack o. on 2013-03-06 20:19:32
"awesome gun right out of the box for any use you may need to put it to. mine is shooting 380 fps out of the box at 26 rps with an 11.1v 20c 1000mAh lipo although many of you looking at this review might be turned off by the price and only being at 380 that is not all that matters the hop-up is impeccable and has an effective range of nearly 70 yds. also the internals are incredibly reliable and super upgradeable with any v2 parts. all in all you get what you pay for

fast rof
great range
good fps for most fields

a little bit pricy(as i said you get what you pay for though
by Riley L. on 2012-08-29 20:48:24
"When I first got this gun the both shipping and actual gun box was heavily damaged. But the gun was still in tact. The gun has an ok fps if using .25 the range is great

Fps/rof if using 9.6 nun chuck
Built quality
Good weight not too heavy not to light
foldable stock/calapisble

Lower receiver is plastic but high quality
Charging handle doesnt lock into place sometimes
Small battery compartment
Hard to put and take out the battery
Fire selecter is a little annoying it doesn't do semi auto if u don't put it on full auto first
But plate is annoying
by stephen f. on 2012-08-11 09:19:20
"This gun is a beast. I just got it yesterday and it was so amazing! Although I got the extended version, so the inner barrel is longer.

self shim
really sturdy
goes far
take down just like the real steal

wiggly charging handle
battery space (the main problem with it is the car fuse gets in the way).

I recommend this to anyone who wants a scar l, 5/5
by Rhonda A. on 2011-07-23 20:27:25
"i've had this gun for about a year it's awesome you can disassemble sooooo easily it's durable and looks sick
by Calin P. on 2010-11-24 19:40:49
"This, by far, is one of the best airsoft rifles I have ever owned. At around 180 ft. fairly accurate, and at around 75 ft. you could hit a quarter, I would say this gun is accurate. I currently use a Holographic on mine. I have yet to try the iron sights though. Here are the Pros and Cons

*Great CQB because of folding Stock
*Excellent Range
*Good Quality
*Hidden wires in folding stock
*Realistic weight, and stripping
*Not too much rail-system like the popular M4, just enough

*Small battery compartment, have to force battery in and out. I wrapped my battery in electrical tape to fix this
*The lower receiver is plastic. I was a little upset about this, but I got over it. High-Quality Plastic.
*Internal Upgrades done to mine. Not the safety does not work properly. If enough pressure is applied to trigger, it will fire.
*The Extended barrel has a orange tip that will not come off.Only for Long version barrel, not CQB.
*Can be picky with some mags.
by Spencer d. on 2010-04-29 13:53:19
"This is a great gun, everything is solid. I've read some reviews on this gun that say that the stock doesn't lock very well in place when it is folded, but I never experianced that problem, in fact it is a VERY tight lock. I also liked how there is a sturdy click. I only have one complaint and it is that the wires in the battery are very hard to put back without worrying that it will break in half.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 19 reviews)

Pages:  1  2