Reviews: Matrix Gen. II Steel 3000rd Electric Auto-Winding Drum Magazine for AK Series Airsoft AEG

$60.00 $48.00

23 Customer Reviews
Model: MAG-MG-B06
Location: D6-008 WO3-07

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2   
by Ethan E. on 2014-10-21 19:21:04
"If your looking for a good gaming drum for your AK/RPK, look elsewhere. It's literally as functional as poop. The insides are hot glued, the wire snap easily, and the plastic gears inside strip, crack and tear. It worked in my cyma rpk for about 1000 rounds before exploding from the inside. Plus it fits with SO much wobble in almost every airsoft AK there is and hardly feeds well. However, even if broken, it still looks cool and is a nice movie prop/for show drum mag. Plus it's the cheapest ak drum out there. I still have it although broken for this purpose, and it looks badass in any AK.

1 star for functionality, 3 for looks.
by Thomas M. on 2014-07-09 18:54:40
"Junky, junky, junk, junk. Hot glue and misfit parts make up this over priced piece of scrap. The front mag lip is too short and the mag tips out of the magazine well. Inside, the hot glue broke loose on the feeding tube. I am not one to return things, so I will make it work. Still a piece of poop. Don't buy it....
by Ben C. on 2014-06-13 18:55:32
"I got this a while back and the unit I received was not as bad as some of the other reviews, it's not terrible, however it does not fit my CYMA Rpk taping the front (sides too if you don't want it to wiggle)

Takes 4 AAA batteries and the feed rate is... acceptable if your firing in bursts.

Overall not a terrible unit but for the money I would prolly just get one of those ICS ones that have adapters. I've heard they are nice. Would be 3 stars if it fit the rpk as that's why I bought it.
by Diego C. on 2014-01-30 21:20:51
"Really bad quality. Everything is hot glued in place and the whole thing screams that the motive behind the whole deal was "get me outta the factory as fast as possible". The soldering job was awful and I actually had to go back in and fix it, as it came with some wires not being connected. Took me about 2-3 hours to finally get it in functional condition.
by justin c. on 2013-12-29 19:07:33
"horrible quality.

I say this because i opened the mag up to install batterys to see that the feed tube WAS hot glued into place. where the feed tube met the gears it had broke off.

also it took nothing for a connection to break off the motor.

so ive put about 4 hours into this box mag for it to work half as well as i expected for $50. if your using a 8.4v battery the motor inside that mag may be able to keep up.

cheap china stuff at its finest.
by kyle m. on 2013-05-18 21:35:45
"I got this 2 days ago and it is flat out amazing! For only $50 you get a mid-quality drum mag. It feeds very fast and never has a misfeed. I use this on my Aftermath Ak47 and it looks cool and works very well.
by Jason S. on 2012-07-24 17:43:01
"Great item!

Pro:
Looks good on your AK!
Never need a spare mag.
Loading is fast
Works on my G&P, Echo1, JG and SRC AK, yes, I have lots of 'em
The entire mag outer casing is made out of steel, very high quality finish.
Remote pressure switch included.
durable, had mine for over a year now
Battery lasts a long time

Con:
None
by Daryl D. on 2012-05-30 12:29:55
"Purchased 2 of these units for echo1 redstar ak47.

The problems:
1. Cheap junk electric motor.
2. Does not feed fast enough with the battery pack it comes with.
3. Will fall out of the gun. It did this on 4 different echo1 redstar ak's.

The good and fixes:
1. Easy to work on to upgrade. Although I do have a full machine shop, so that does help. Replaced junk electric motor with new 12V motor from jameco electronics. This new motor is 3 times faster on its' rpm's. This fixed problem #1.
2. Since it is steel I was able to mount a new battery pouch on the outside. Manufactured and wired up a 4 C123 battery pack. This is wired in series. With the new motor and battery pack, I do not have to stop firing until I run out of bb's. Also the battery pack has lasted 5 full game days without replacement. That is somewhere around 12000 to 15000 bb's. Problem #2 fixed.
3. The drum is steel not pot metal (aka zinc) construction. Welded a piece of metal and shaped it and fixed problem #3. Now it stays in the gun very securely.


So in a nutshell if you have a $1000 mill, $300 welder, skills to use them, can solder and have $50 for parts, you can make these magazines something to be reckonded with.
by Daniel W. on 2012-05-09 13:07:05
"My friend and I both own this drum magazine and there seems to be a number of problems due to cheaping out on the design.

The hotglue that they use is obviously not going to work with metal so i don't know why the used any form of adhesive, i just taped it down and it seems to work.

The wires inside are of a very weak gauge and my friends wires came undone so he had to re-solder them.

I don't know if it's just mine or not but the wire that has the pressure pad on it that plugs into the drum magazine on the outside well im not sure if it's supposed to snap in or something but as soon as my wire gets any movement it will fall out of the plug which is very annoying. Unless i tape it down which obviously i don't want to do but it seems like it is the only thing, the wire will fall out.

It does feed well though.
by eric p. on 2012-04-13 22:50:17
"good but my broke after 1 or 2 months

pros:3000 rds
fast winding
fits on my ak very tight and good

cons:bbs got stuck in the winding gears
loud when winding
50$ not too cheap

over all fun,good,but loud and bbs gets stuck
by brandon b. on 2011-11-17 19:01:16
"very great drum mag looks incredable on my echo1 lmg, when i first got it it had problems fitting in but nothing one peace of tape couldnt fix, it feeds great but my batterys died, how ever its easy to open and replace, quality is top notch.
by Jonathan Q. on 2011-04-03 18:17:07
"So far, this mag has done well for me. The only problems I've come across deals with the wiring, and it is a minor thing, a quick fix. One of the contacts for the wires came loose, but I'm sure a little soddering will fix it, also the plug for the pressure switch popped off inside the drum. Still, an easy fix, a little super glue and it's right back where it was.

It worries me a little due to its weight, but there is only a little wiggle. However, with the problems I've encountered, I realise it's been through a lot of abuse and withstood. I highly recommend this drum mag if you plan to lay down some suppressing fire, flank an entrenched position to hose down the group hiding there, or simply if you find yourself with not enough ammunition in your standard clips.

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 23 reviews)

Pages:  1  2