Reviews: A&K Full Metal M249 Para Trooper SAW Airsoft AEG w/ Electric Drum Mag

$300.00 $240.00

40 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-M249-PARA
Location: L4-013

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 40 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4   
by Josh C. on 2010-03-02 15:48:22
"I got this gun for christmas and I was amazed. this thing can pack a punch. This has to be one of the best airsoft guns in the $300 range. the para model is just cooler because it adds a nice look and feel to the gun. I prefer the unique guns like this one. The carrying handle is also a big plus. You can find this gun at other websites, but evike.com ships these babies with an extra magazine and a carrying case with the gun for the same price. This is a pretty good deal.

Pros:
High fps
All metal
Carrying handle
Extremely durable
Bi-pod
Case
Extra mag with box mag
Can fit most or all m4 mags
Adjustable sights
Accurate
High ROF: 16 bb's per second
Speed loader included

Cons:
Heavy, but you get used to it
Box mag is a little hard to figure out, but can easily either figure it out or just use m4 mags
Goes through bb's like pac-man goes through pellets
Manual just has pictures and is a little hard to understand

Other than that this gun is amazing. I would seriously recommend getting this gun, though I would recommend that this SHOULD NOT BE YOUR FIRST GUN. this thing is for someone with a little more experience
by melisa b. on 2010-01-25 18:47:20
"This is a great gun. I would recomend it. I use this as my main and it surpresses great.

Pros: Great Rof, Accurate, easy to upgrade, with a 9.6v battery it performs well. It has a fear factor.

Cons: The bi-pod is loose, its not a biggie. The box mag misfeeds for me, but that can just be me.

all in all this is great gun. Note it is heavy so if your weak i reccomend you dont get this gun. I would also say to get some m4/m16 mags in case of box mag jamming.
by peyton w. on 2009-10-25 16:37:48
"got mine a few days ago with internal upgrades and its a positively amazing gun. it shoots very smoothly.

pros:
heavy weight
solid
electric winding box mag
can take m4 mags
retractable stock

cons:
crappy bipod
box magazine will wobble
box mag is very awkward to put in the gun
by Talon S. on 2009-10-08 22:55:46
"Went out to a Scrim a while back hadnt ever shot it before, everyone there was curious as to how it would shoot, after 3 shots had a bb Jam took a few mins to fix, everyone tried to rush me but i managed to get it back up and the supposive "rush" ended up with them running back to there little hiding spots, i was laughing the whole time on a 2nd story fort at everyone try to get a shot off on me this gun is pretty much the best, was Accurately shooting 70 yrd away i was impressed, finally got my moneys worth after 4 expensive airsoft guns
by Matt J. on 2009-10-04 01:48:54
"Been using this gun with my friend who bought it for a couple months now, and have taken it to multiple large game scenarios and it has performed above and beyond expectations without fail. Using the stock battery, I will address now, is for testing only; to get the best rate of fire and performance, get yourself the PEQ2 style 9.6v 2200MAh Matrix, or small type Li-Poly, either will do, but from experience, the Li-Poly wins.

My friend mucked up the hop-up on his 249 pretty early on, disassembling it and such, but without one of the key pieces to push down on the bucking, it can still hit a target easily from 150ft away. At the first game we brought it to, it was hitting targets 300ft away from an elevated platform on a ridge so despite its small barrel, it's pretty freaking good.

It Chronographed at both competitions between 350fps and 380fps, both with hopup buckings tuned in and pressing down on BBs. This gun does not need a spring upgrade.... Or any other gearbox upgrade save for the hop up bucking, which is not a GB upgrade; ours is running a 12c 11.1v 1250MAh Li-Po, and it's put out over 10,000 rounds without a single feeding/internal issue save for a pre-existing trigger problem. Doubts aside, this gun is 'Li-Po Ready' for sure. It can sustain consistent streams of fire up to what I have put out which was around 500 rounds in one spray; I know, I know, it's not safe, I'm aware, but duty calls(ie defend from a rush) and the gun held up like it was nothing.

It's heavy; if you don't already know that, you don't know this gun I'm afraid. I am 5' 10" and went through 3 years of weight training class in high school and am 230lbs, and this gun is still heavy after a short skirmish. Get the sling for it, you will NOT regret it.

The trigger seems to jam on our 249 though; for some reason I cannot get it to fire in less than a 10 round burst despite simply tapping the trigger. I have considered replacing the trigger mechanism but it is not my 249, so I will not tinker. Other than that, and having troubles with the stock on ours, this gun has been a downright monster on the battlefield; having 2500 rounds at your command on the drop of a dime is power that.... well... money CAN buy, and it is money well spent.

For anyone looking for that authentic feel of the machine gunner, and doesn't want to buy a cheap AEG and drop a drum magazine on it and say 'Oh look, machine gun!! XD' - This is your gun, it is the real deal and will get you instant aggro on the field versus some G36c or M4 with a drum/box magazine, and do it with style. A solid 5/5 support weapon, and I am definitely getting myself the A&K M249 SAW when I get the money, this thing is the textbook definition of BEAST, and I want one for myself. The only thing better than one 249 in your bunker... is two! _:]
by marshall w. on 2009-04-28 16:02:22
"Iv had my SAW for 3 or 4 weeks now and have trained and skirmished with this like it was real. When I received it the stock was trash. I've lok-tited it since but it needs to be replaced. The bipod is a bad zinc alloy and will need to be replaced in the near future, and a rail system is desperately wanted when the box mag is inserted.
Pros
Awesome weight
great materials
become part of an elite group of airsofters

Cons
Bipod is weak and will not stay in position
Stock is trash
box mag needs fiddling
by marshall w. on 2009-03-31 16:13:04
"Day 4 with my new Para SAW. My favorite that iv ever used. For 3 years iv been dreaming of this weapon and the ability to lay masive firepower down range.
PROS
Awsome meterials
lighter then I thought (at 15lbs)
easy to use and maintain
HUGE mag (now i can fill my position)
rails on feed tray
CONS
The WORST stock Iv ever seen, Iv had better on walmart guns
the mag was not assembled correctly and must be reassembled
the bipod looks like it might fall of in game
by Lyndsay H. on 2009-03-14 08:34:43
"Got here yesterday, with Internal upgrades.... I LOVE IT!

Even though all its weight is pushing on the grip and makes your hand sore after a while its awesome!

I was really happy to find out that the boxmag you get with the gun can be remotely controlled by a pressure switch. On the bottom of the boxmag where the switches are located for soundcontroll and Autowind, you can plug in a remote switch.

You definatly get your moneys worth, thinking of getting a longer inner barrel for it though.
by Erik H. on 2009-02-23 11:35:16
"Well lets see, ok it Rocks! I put 5,000 rounds through it at a small OP on Sat. not a single problem. Would recommend using a Intellect 9.6 instead of the factory battery. The intellect raised my ROF by almost 30% +\-
The font bi-pod is the weak point in the design, just don't plan on using the bi-pod too often.
4/5 stars Weak OEM battery, Weak bi-pod.
by Spencer E. on 2009-01-20 16:33:03
"So this A&K Para is a pretty good gun.

i used it at the place i go airsofting at and it did alot better than i expected it to.

its got a pretty nice ROF, nothing INSANELY fast, but its definately not a slow shooting gun!
FPS is about 315 more or less....

Pros:
Magazine is Good. i had one tiny little jam but it was seriously a no-brainer haha
gun fires really nicely
good ROF
reliable
finish is nice
Good finish on the gun
easy to disassemble and reassemble
metal, way sturdy and tough

Cons:
its a lil bit on the heavy side
the pull-out stock came a lil loose, but that got fixed...no biggie
the gun case that it came with is a lil wimpy but watever haha your buying the GUN not the case



So overall, its well worth the money
If i could do it all over again, i'd get this same gun.
4/5 cuz i think te case could have been a lil better.
the gun rocks haha
by Michael A. on 2009-01-13 00:00:39
"Bought this with the a case.Pretty fun playing it even on skirmishes.Need a bit more power/fps.Does anyone know what the stock spring on this gun.I want to upgrade not sure which should I go with...
THX!!!!!

Webmaster: M120
by Paul T. on 2009-01-11 11:09:10
"I've only been firing mine for a couple hundred rounds, so I can't comment on long term reliability. I can say however, this is a big, heavy, solid firearm. It's loud, heavy, and definitely intimidating. If you're looking for a good support weapon, this is the way to go. If you want to rack up kills and get all the action, avoid this. Definitely ill-suited to run and gun. I'm thankful it comes with the bipod.

Displaying 13 to 24 (of 40 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4