Reviews: A&K Full Metal M249 MK II SAW Airsoft AEG w/ Electric Drum Mag

$350.00

78 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-M249-MKII
Location: L3-038 WSO4-T3 WSO4-T2 WSO4-T1

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 78 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by Shelby E. on 2013-11-28 22:16:41
"I recieved my M249 SAW on the 27th of November, and I was absolutely blown away by this gun. Out of the box, there were smear marks(?) on the stock, but those rubbed off pretty quickly.

It's construction consists of a full metal upper reciever, outer and inner barrel, bipod, ans carry handle. The stock, fron handgrip, motor grip, heat shield, and magazine are made of polymer/ABS (not entirely sure).

I do not have a chronograph, but it shoots hard, fast, far, and non stop.

I pulled it out of the box and was instantly satisfied. If you or your squad need a SAW to keep an enemy position locked down, this thould be your benchmark to make comparisons to. This gun is the most standard and most performance-balanced SAW on the market. Any squad gunner who passes this monster up needs to be taught a thing or two about support guns.
by Nathan K. on 2013-11-22 04:34:03
"This gun is an amazing gun for a player that doesn't move around a lot but if you like to move around you might want to some how attach a fore grip because this gun is really heavy. Besides the fact that it's heavy I think that the metal body makes this gun more durable and the built in bipod is pretty good too.
Pros
Metal body
Box mag holds a lot of bbs
Realistic weight

Cons
It's heavy
No tac rail included
by joseph a. on 2013-10-19 20:56:48
"I've had this system for a couple of years now, and am very glad to have kept it for so long. I am one hundred percent satisfied with it. after throwing on a rail system with a peq-box to house a lipo, and a para stock, it;s damn near perfect. the factory internals are extremely robust. she can run a 9.6 lipo with ease, and I have no doubt about even higher voltages! the auto-winding drum never missfeeds, and can keep up with it's insane rate of fire (so long as you remember to put the AA's in!). the only problem i've had up to this point was that my front sight assembly was mis-aligned by a hair. but that was easily corrected with a slight tap of a hammer, and she shoots straight and true. this 249 is a dominator on the field. when you open up on the poor sods in your sights, they know it's you. loud, fast, and long range to boot, this bad mamma-jamma is a real force multiplier. the bipod is kinda flimsy, and the feed tray cover takes a bit of finnagling with the charging handle to get it to seat and lock, but those are purely external issues. internally, this thing is damn near a perfect fit for a support role. while it does lack in the precision range area, it's not a rifle, folks. higly reccomended.

pro's:
-robust internals
-fantastic feed rate on drum mag
-durable durable durable!

con's:
-feed tray feels like it needs 3 hands to seat
-kidna piddly range
-semi flimsy feel

all in all, buy the damn thing.
by Alec C. on 2013-10-09 01:26:32
"I have had this gun for almost a year. At first it had a couple problems with the trigger, but that seems common and was fixed easily. On the field in the woods the gun performs like a star. Every time I shoot in a direction of my teammates they duck for cover. The gun is very powerful. I personally nicknamed it Big Dog. The box magazine is interesting because it is split into two parts. The first part holds 2500 rounds which can be fired right away, but a second part can hold an extra 4000 rounds.

Pros:
Heavy (Good for a guy my size, 350lbs and 6'5)
Painful (Leaves welts)
Powerful (Almost a year and its still shooting 380 with .25s)
Great Magazine Capacity (Part 1 of the Box Mag=2500, Part 2 of the Box Mag=4000)
Durable (I have dropped it on rocks and it still works, mostly metal)
Takes M4/M16 Magazines
Great Battery Space

Cons:
Heavy (Not good for smaller people and is tiring to haul around)
Comes with trigger problems (Seems to happen to a lot of people, easy to fix though.)
Goes through bbs quickly
Ok Internals (A&K are good, but not as good as other companies like VFC)
Parts for it are expensive

I personally love it. If you want a LMG of medium weight the M249 series is the way to go. I am personally going to upgrade it to a monster.

Oh, and remember to clean the internals for best internals.
by Allison c. on 2013-09-18 16:58:37
"Oh god where do I start,
This gun is Beautiful, I would use this for any day of support, If you are a Support gunner, This is the Gun for you! I Would get an extra box mag for it though. There is so much battery space you could house a 11.V Lipo. Large type batteries. The Iron sights are beautiful, 15 Pounds of Deadly force! It even has a place to store dummy rounds (Aka It can fit belts of bullets) The BB's Go right on the Iron sights. If you where to get this or the Paratrooper, Get this. It has a longer barrel the Sights are beautiful You don't need the RIS Rail on the Praratrooper, These sights are the best, And this gun has more battery storage.

Pro's:
All metal goodness
These things sell faster than a Marathon runner can run.
Long accuracy
Iron sights a Freaking perfect!
Can Put dummy Belts in.
It can use Lipo's


Con's:
The stock is a little long,
And the ABS Plastic Drum Mag, Its strong, But I would be careful.
by zack s. on 2013-07-31 08:08:25
"This is the best suppression weapon i have ever owned. I use .25's and i upgraded the inner barrel. The hop up is kind of a pain to get to but still worth the time it takes. Out of the box i pretty much had to tighten everything and replace a couple of screws. That could have been just mine but still worth mentioning. The box mag is made of abs which is easily cracked or broken. This is easy to fix, just dont drop your gun. I solved the box mag issue by welding a metal housing for it. If you aren't that industrious then you can heed the "don't drop it" advice. Accuracy is good when inner barrel is upgraded. Distance isnt that fantastic, reccomended for close quarters only (this is to save you a lot of aggravation because anyone with an m4 can tag you long before you get in decent range). Now, Pros and Cons

Pros
-Giant box mag included.
-Excellent rpm
-Nice FPS at 370 consistently when using .25's
-intimidating
-full metal

Cons
-Distance
-ABS box mag

I would recommend the butterfly type battery, smart charger, and the bandolier sling listed at the bottom of the page simply because while i listed full metal as a pro it still gets damn heavy at 18 lbs fully loaded.
by zane a. on 2013-06-12 19:14:36
"5 stars, the date is 6/12/2013, and I've had this gun since 1/6/2011, this is a fantastic gun, buy it, you will not regret it. the only problems i have had with the internals were that after about 50,000 rounds through it, the spring broke and the trigger plate was bent, but both were easy fixes, and other than that, there have been lots of cosmetic issues with the gun (It's battle worn), but all in all, it was completely worth every penny.
by yushi s. on 2013-06-09 20:47:28
"The A&K M249 SAW is one of the best airsoft LMG's out in the market, i personally own one and i absolutely LOVE IT!
I have the full stock version, but i would reccomend the para version if you are a smaller guy.
Its a bit on the heavier side when the box mag is completely full, so a sling is HIGHLY reccomended.
There is only 1 part that i would reccomend replacing and that is the trigger switch, it tends to get stuck and you will have to unplug your battery to get it to stop shooting. ($10)
Pros.
The box mag isa bit wobbly and the "sound control" option wont keep up to your rate of fire once you run a 9.6 so a pressure switch is reccomended

Price
solid metal construction (stock is very sturdy for how long it is)
Great performance (~14 RPS with 8.4)
everything else!

Cons.
Trigger tends to get stuck
by Derrick C. on 2013-05-26 17:01:31
"I love this gun.

Pros: beautiful intimidating gun, gets a lot of compliments.
Hit just about everything, point and shoot.
No jamming problems
Cons: Bipod broke off in first game ( It looks like pot metal)
Heavy which is to be accepted
Hop up isn't all that great might want to replace it.

Even with the cons this gun is amazing and I highly recommend it.
by Keo V. on 2013-05-01 23:40:03
"This gun is A BEAST! i've used it in a few games and it shot about 360-365 out of the box. The trigger switch on the gun was a little extended and jams in the gears, so you can take the grip off and move the switch a bit and it will work again. when this happened i was so scared and thought i broke it. The trigger does stick and continue firing if you hold the trigger down too much. to fix this, just keep pulling the trigger. Overall, one of the best guns i got. I'm planning to put a tightbore on it and that will make it deadly. Also my hop up was jammed and i couldnt adjust it without taking the whole barrel out, and my bipod broke off. With a little love and care, this gun will treat you right.

Pros:
Heavy
Shoots hard and fast
Looks awesome
Gets me A LOT of compliments

Cons:
Bides thebipod breaking off, None.
by Kathy T. on 2013-04-27 06:31:56
"Today it is exactly 1 year since I’ve gotten this gun. I’ve already written a review on the gun before but that was when it wasn’t as good as it is now. By that I mean the hop-up. When I got the gun my hop up didn’t work at all so I had my friend fix it a month or so back. Now that the hop-up works, the gun is a total beast! On my first review on this I gave it a 6/5 even with the hop-up not working. Now that I got the hop-up working I give the gun a 7/5! The fps is really high and the bullet spread is a plus in my opinion. The box mag is a whopping 2500 rounds and auto winds. People say it jams all the time but it really doesn’t. If you wind it too much then yes it will jam. I got a nice 10.8v battery in it and it shoots ungodly fast.
Pros:
• High fps
• Nice bullet spread
• Amazing range
• Iron sights are nice
• 2500 round auto wind box mag
• Very sturdy build
• Full metal
• Huge battery compartment (stock)
• Adjustable hop-up
• Adjustable bipod
• Amazing carrying handle

Cons:
• The metal points wear pretty easy
• Heavy (con for some people but not me)

That’s pretty much it, this gun’s a beast and I love it!
by teresa c. on 2013-01-22 00:05:24
"This is a very good gun if you like to be a gunner. When I got this i was going for the Battlefield 3 support loadout. The fps is realy good i hit my friend in the throat with it during a war and it left him bleeding a bit. the only thing bad is I wish the range would be longer because its hard to get up and move with this thing unless you are use to it and it would be good if you could drop people from about 150-200ft but you cant unless you upgrade it. The weight isnt realy a big issue it will tear up in CQB if doing that , but if you get in a field event watch out because a M4 or a assault rifel will hit you before you come close to it.

pros
-good fps.
-full metel probley wont break.
-never have to reload.
-scary to other people.
-good for suppression.
-good for helping out your team.

cons
-range.
-accuracy.
-drum mag jammed on me twice.
-screws come lose.
-bipod will start to wear down.
-

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 78 reviews)

Pages:  1  2  3  4  5 ...