Reviews: A&K Full Metal M249 MK II SAW Airsoft AEG w/ Electric Drum Mag

$350.00

80 Customer Reviews
Model: AEG-M249-MKII
Location: L3-038 WSO4-T3 WSO4-T2 WSO4-T1 WSO1-T5 WSO1-T6

Displaying 49 to 60 (of 80 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4  5 ...   
by Ronnie R. on 2009-02-02 16:11:29
"This gun is an exceptional m249 for the price. For 270 dollars you will receive the gun (which has the bipod built), an auto winding 2400 round box mag, a 9.6 1200 mah battery, a standard wall charger, and a manual. The gun is pretty heavy for an airsoft gun, but definitely not as heavy it can be. I am pretty sure it weighs around 15lbs, but i am not sure. The plastic parts on the gun are the fore grip, pistol grip, heat shield, stock, and butt of the gun. Even though they are plastic they are very strong and durable. Unlike the para, the MK2 does not come with RIS on the feed cover, so before mounting a scope or rds you will need to buy the feed cover with RIS. The bipod on the gun is pretty nice and is sturdy (at least on mine it is). The box mag is not great but it gets the job done better than a mid-cap and hi-cap m4/m16 mag will. The box mag feeds my gun which is shooting about 20+ bps on auto wind, but the sound control is not great. The gun comes out shooting about 18 bps with the stock battery so i bought a 9.6V 4500 mah battery for it which boosts it to 20+. The gun has a small/mini connector so if you have a larger battery you will need to buy a large to small battery connector form here and an external battery pouch. The gun itself is a pretty nice gun stock, but the accuracy is definitely below average. But this can be fixed with a new barrel and hop up bucking which are easy to install because of the realistic barrel removal. The spring and guide can also be interchanged easily. I bought a madbull black python 6.03mm tbb and a new bucking and the thing works a lot better. Next you may need to put in a little bit better spring like a 110 if you want a little more range, but remember the higher the spring the less ROF. The max effective range of the stock gun is about 150-160 feet. With my new tbb and bucking it is now at about 175 feet and the spread is a lot tighter. Overall this gun is a nicely built gun that feels very sturdy and will definitely intimidate your friends and for 270 it is definitely worth it. An M249, who wouldn't want one and the possibilities are almost limitless.
by Justin C. on 2009-01-20 22:10:57
"Nice SAW to be sure, but my only problem with it is that it has a bad tendency to foul up even using the standard box mag. still great outer construction compared to my friends CA SAW. and one more thing does anybody know if this gear box can handle a 9.6volt? I asked on the forum and no one seems to know... any help would be great
go Evike!! : )

Webmaster: Yes, the gun can handle a 9.6V
by Erlend O. on 2008-12-13 16:13:53
"I Finaly got my M249 today... it was defiantly worth it... the gun is grate, used it in my first fight the same day i got it:P, it shoots grate, end even with the 8.4V it has a very high ROF, and its just Awsome to use:)
by zach a. on 2008-12-07 17:16:31
"Can this gun take the standard M4A1 magazine? If so i am most likely getting one!

Webmaster: A&K, Classic Army and Echo1 M249 series takes M4 magazines. But they work best / feeds best with Box magazine.
by Chun T. on 2008-12-01 11:47:26
"Just received this gun after buying it from evike, and it's an awesome piece! The full metal body is really well constructed. It is solid and weighs alot. It's also a pretty long gun with the full stock. No quality problems on mine. It's really cool how the gun can be stripped, including removing the barrel and flipping open the top.

The ammo box is the only low point on this gun as it is made of plastic. I was hoping that it would be metal too. In terms of function it works pretty well. I had a mild jam issue but it was nothing much to fix.

ROF is excellent on this gun and when shot at 15-20 feet the accuracy is really good. I was able to cut a piece of cardboard in half just by holding the trigger down and following a steady line. The tripod is sturdy and allows some wiggling by the gunner.

It does use 6mm BBs and definately using the 0.20 or 0.25 is better than the lighter ones. The heavier BBs seem to hold their shape better so they are less likely to jam the ammo box mechanism (don't ask me how I know ;). Also, the gun does use a small stick type battery which is included in the package.

As for can a lipo battery be used, there are two concerns. Mainly whether it will damage the circuit (or blow a fuse) which it might, but more importantly, there is an electric circuit for lipo batteries built into guns that can take them that will shut down the gun when the battery discharges to a certain amount. Lipo batteries are not like NiMH or NiCADs in that you CANNOT fully discharge them. If you do then they will not recharge fully. This is probably more the reason why you ought NOT use a Lipo in this gun. It will fire with it, but you're best not to run the battery all the way down otherwise you will more likely damage the battery before you damage the gun.

Overall, I highly recommend this gun. I showed it to one of my buddies who was in the army and he thought it looked and just like the real thing (I got the dummy bullets and all) Oh, BTW, I placed the sound amplifier tip (available at evike) on this gun (just screws in) and it give a VERY cool and loud metallic clinking noise. Sounds really sweet!

I highly recommend this gun!
by Chris D. on 2008-11-30 20:18:51
"hey don't use a lipo battery in this gun, it will break, what battery do you use
by Jackson F. on 2008-11-26 08:21:17
"Is this gun li-poly ready??
Please get back to me ASAP
by Brian N. on 2008-11-19 09:25:35
"Would it be best to use .20gram bbs or .25gram bbs?
by Karen D. on 2008-11-13 19:28:23
"looks awesome, but does it shoot 8mm or 6mm, I rated it only 4 stars cause it would stink if it shot8mm
by Matt S. on 2008-10-16 16:16:38
"joseph, no, that isnt a comment, SO ASK QUESTIONS ON THE FORUM RETARD!!!
by Alec E. on 2008-10-12 23:54:07
"wiring is terrible. battery is terrible. box mag u have to fiddle with a little but u can get it t work decent. i recomend a new spring and possibly a lipoly. its also really fun to shoot. it literally shoots forever.
by Ryan Y. on 2008-09-30 08:12:07
"You can fit the foregrip on it if you buy the RIS for it first. You can fit up to a lipoly and/or larger battery / spare battery for it. Please direct questions to the forums.

Displaying 49 to 60 (of 80 reviews)

Pages:    1  2  3  4  5 ...